We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are great but sadly the hotel is sad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We arrived to be told by the receptionist that he would upgrade our room, this sounded great, but the room was dirty and we then asked for another room, this was better but it too had sticky marks on a bedside unit, after 3 days I had to tell the manager where the sticky mark was as they could not find it..I think someone had a sugary drink or maybe jam.
Food was OK but as others have stated this is an Egyptian Hotel, Ahmed Rasheed was appointed to look after us as we had complained about the food and the choice. Meals were specially prepared for us and we have to say thank you for this, but it was repetitive, The layout of the restaurant was bland and in need of refurbishment, it was tired as was the whole hotel.
We were told that the hotel is being updated, but this has been held back because of the instability of Egypt's government.
I have never had some many cold showers in a hotel
They complained as to the drunken state of certain visitors and are desperate to get more British visitors. But why if there is a problem sell Vodka, Whisky or Rum at £3.50 for a litre bottle, a waiter walked around the restaurant selling bottles...
The staff were great fun and most spoke good English, but none of the bar staff could make good cocktails, these have been a feature of the 4 Egyptian hotels we have previously stayed in Egypt.
The holiday was booked with Low Cost Holidays and that's what we got..

Room Tip: They tried very hard to make our stay enjoyable, but sadly it will go down as one of those things
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelmate84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

I chose this one because of the coral reef, however it has been damaged quite a lot, but it's nice to rent the fins and a mask from the beach and just lay on the water and check out the little fellas life. There are quite plenty or them and different kind. However I totally recommend to go diving as well, if you want to get a real picture or the underwater world there. The hotel does look magnificent on the pictures of course, so be ready to disappoint a bit, but you'll get use to it in a day or so that it's not so sparkling. It is dated, as many have said. The staff is very kind, most of them enjoy their work. I would like to point out the janitor Ibrahem, who has a great sense of humor and his smile really brights up your day! The least I liked that the salesman on the beach territory who were like jackals and most of them turned to you in Russian. I understand there's plenty of Russians, but it shouldn't be a must to expect that everyone are Russians. If you are untanned and looking around like you are there the first time, be ready to be invited to all kinds or tours and trips. However this is their bread so you should understand that and should remain polite. They are perfect salesman.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Went here with Low Cost Holidays for a short bargain break. Our first room was not very clean but was changed immediately to a better one. The décor is rather dated but acceptable. We were not very happy with the restaurant on our first evening and complained to the management. We discussed everything with Haitham Samy Front of Hse Mgr who was very helpful. He then made sure that the staff looked after us for the rest of the week with special meals in the restaurant and fruit and drinks in the room including breakfast on several mornings. The restaurant staff were particularly good expecially Ahmed. All the staff in the hotel were exceptional and we could not fault them. There are not many Brits in the hotel and the management are keen to encourage more to come. It is an Egyptian style hotel so don't expect international food etc but what you do get is very good and nothing is too much trouble. For what we paid it was good. Beach and swimming good and swimming pool lovely. Had great trip to Dolpin House and swan with wild dolphins - amazing.

Room Tip: Make sure you change rooms if not happy with the first one. We had one overlooking main pool and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I will start with the positives,,, the restaruant staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us, the bar staff were also good fun apart from the manager who forever was trying to sell us evening entertainment which we didnt do as thought that would be part of the package and was also always on very late which wasnt an option for us as we had to get up at 5am every morning to be ab;e to reserve a sunbed!!! was far too many people and they could not cater for all, the pool boys did as much as they could to help us but just too many people staying there...second night i had my handbag stolen from the beach bar as i was sitting there...the security didnt really have much of a clue what to do so decided to search our room as they didnt seem to believe me at first, my husband lead the handbag search in the end but was too late and never to be seen again, i had to write a report at reception with one of the managers raising his voice telling me to hurry hurry finish finish!!!! So rude he made me feel like i was the criminal so i complained to our rep who was amazing thank goodness...but even then the hotel was being awkward they said they would give me a fruit basket as an apology for talking to me the way they did but took five days to turn up in our room,,the security manager was fantastic after i had a moan that we didn't have any towels in our room and had asked four times for some, he got us towels and had our whole room cleaned from top to bottom...so all in all not the best hotel, it was too small for the amount of people staying there........never again!!!!

Room Tip: BY the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our first visit was in August, it was excellent vacation that's why we decided to come back again. Welcome was really warm,the same staff in the reception. marina recognize us and said that we are already VIP guests and send fruit basket for us. The same great service, hotel was this time almost empty, beach was also empty. there was some changes and all inc system already 24 hours. Were at the Fish Party and were fully satisfied. i hope that we gonna visit the hotel for the third time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romany s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

hotel is very good for the little money which we paid
welcome from the reception was ok, all the staff nice and lovely, bell captain and girl from the reception marina escorted us to the room and she told all the information about the hotel
room was at the ground floor, ok, but furniture need to change for a new one
food was tasty, but small variety of salads
animation was ok, especially in the evening
beach is fine.
General impressions is good for the little money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bastiaans A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hotel and location very good.
Immediate access to the sea.

Hotel is used 365 days a year so a little wear and tear not unreasonable.

All staff were very helpful and attentive.

Food was good, changed most days with reasonable choices.

Evening entertainment was provided, but preferred a few drinks and people watching - very entertaining.

Note for the disabled or infirm:
No lifts.
Stairways between floors do not have handrails.
Also no hand rail leading up restaurant step (although there is a ramp - just steady yourself using the wall)

Restaurant floor not all on one level so a step with no hand rail has to be negotiated.

Wheelchair is provided on request, although can not be used on different floors as no lifts, unless staff are involved in the transfer.

Will return when a short break is required.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piers657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.8 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
7.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#38 of 222 in Hurghada
2,548 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
1.8 mi away
Triton Empire Hotel
Triton Empire Hotel
#171 of 222 in Hurghada
802 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & Spa

Address: El Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £25 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most breathtaking & distinctive U shape designed resorts in the Red Sea with its white sand beaches that prolongs to the middle of the refreshing turquoise sea which gives a panoramic sea view to most of the hotel's rooms. The Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & SPA offers to guests an exceptional hospitality, for both unique services and modern facilities to ensure maximum comfort is experienced for both business and leisure travelers. Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & SPA is a 4star hotel is consisted of 196 rooms with Red Sea view. The hotel is located around 10 kilometers from Hurghada International Airport and it takes about 15 minutes by a taxi, and the distance from City Centre is 3 kilometers. Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & SPA built into the sea itself, which gives 95% from the guest room's direct access to the sea. Plus the longest coral area in the down town which offering you amazing, safe and easy snorkeling Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & SPA is a lively, all-inclusive resort on the Red Sea coast. It features white sand beaches, landscaped swimming pools. The spacious guest rooms at Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & SPA each have a private balcony or terrace, offering views over the sea. All rooms feature satellite TV and air conditioning. Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & SPA has a wide range of on-site restaurants and bars including a large international buffet, a specialist seafood restaurant overlooking the sea. Recreational facilities include beach volleyball, water polo and a fully-equipped fitness centre. The hotel also has its own water sports centre, offering diving, windsurfing and sailing. Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & SPA has a shopping arcade with allot shops to meet your requirements, as well as an internet cafe and a hairdresser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing