We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a very good hotel, I really planning to get back there again.”
Review of Giftun Azur Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giftun Azur Resort
Ranked #108 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Giftun azur resort is a very big resort with a lot of green area. Our room was big, bed was a little bit small for 2 adults & an infant (my son Michael 2 years old).The view from the room terrace was great, seeing the sea & the pool.Room service is very good, when we arrived we found only coffee in our room, but as I drink only tea I asked for it & in less than 10 min. Came the room service guy with a lot of tea packets.Night shows are good they made in the shisha corner, but you can watch it also from the terrace. Breakfast & dinner are served in the main restaurant. You can take dinner either in the main restaurant or in the oriental restaurant. Lunch is served in beach restaurant. Food was average wasn't so tasty.Sweets needs improvement.waiters are doing their best to serve guests by bringing always drinks & napkins. ..etc. also when they made kofta it was very delicious.the resort has also an Italian restaurant but isn't included in the A/I package.animation is so poor. The resort has a lot of shops outside it including a pharmacy. they had no elevator in the hotel. the staff was kind & helpful.when you go to giftun you think you are in a German territory as everything is written first in German, also I looked for English books to read on beach, I only found german books & magazines. sea & pool were cold.snacks on beach are average.gym is fine.you will find a diving centre there . You can book there for snorkeling. overall it was a very good vacation. I just want to say don't compare the giftun resort was Hiton for example as it isn't a fair comparison. Of courde if you wanna pay more you can go to Hilton or otherwise save a little bit money & go to the giftun resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ramzy_raouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Giftun Azur Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Average hotel,
Animation team are very bad,
Food is not healthy at all quality of food is normal but they lake the food interview
Very aggressive staff , and never speak in a polite way
Poor activities , and very expensive compared to other hotels
Many gardens around but they are missing feeling of sense , they need more care and their smell is horrible

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cedemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend in the middle of August. First time for me at this hotel and first time in Egypt. We booked a charter package and ended up at Giftun.

The hotel is large with a lot of rooms. Most of them are at the ground floor with sliding glass doors instead of regular doors. The rooms are divided into sections and from A, B, C and so on. The check in was simple and the only thing we had to do was fill in a paper then we got the key to our room. The staff at the reception was not the nicest. A bit rude and not helpful at all. This was the same with almost everyone that worked at the hotel, with a few exceptions. Most of the staff talked very bad English and we had a hard time understanding each other.

Just outside the hotel there are a few small shops that sell ice-cream, candy and souvenirs. There are no restaurants so if you're going to Giftun, choose all inclusive.

We stayed in a ground floor room. There was two beds, bathroom and a tv. You don't need a key in the rooms the get electricity and that was great because you need to have the AC on all the time otherwise it gets to warm inside.

There were four restaurants at the hotel. Oriental, Italian, the main restaurant and also a lunch restaurant.The oriental and Italian was smaller than the main one just as the name suggests. The food was a little different between the orientals and the main restaurant. Overall the food was OK, 3/5 but in the end, almost everything tasted the same.

The pool arena was good. But if you like to sleep in, be prepared to lay in the sun all day because the spots in the shadow are taken early. The pool itself was big and clean. Also there was a pool bar. The beach was right outside the pool area and the hotel had sun beds there free of charge. The beach and water was clean and a nice place to relax.

A thing to remember is that the do not disturb sign doesn't seem to have any meaning to the staff at the hotel. They knock twice then enters if you don't get up and say no.

I would recommend this hotel to people that have normal standard. It's not great but neither is it bad. It's right in between. We enjoyed our stay here but if we are going to Hurghada again we would try something else, but Giftun is a safe choice. One last thing to remember is to choose all inclusive, that's a must if you're staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank experiencedtravelIer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were in this hotel with my wife. The hotel is small and very nice. Green territory, good beach and sea entrance. Variety of food is enough, always meet, seafood and vegetables. Good breakfast. Room was nice, with teapot, tea, coffee. Every day they bring new water and tea and coffee packets.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

In a lush garden you find those little chalets, side by side, as they where built in the 70th. A little terrasse and the facilities you need. It might be e bit "worn out".... But, really, I loved to stay here! The breakfast was absolutely satisfying, even the coffee was good! The beach of the hotel is big and nice; all in all you will be happy to stay at this hotel - which is, btw, "all inclusive" clientele is European, lots of Germans, mostly elderly people, which might guarantee a calm holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sakkara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Hotel is old which brings very nice memories as for the past 20 years this was the only place for summer vacation, rooms are cozy, just fitting in space and clean.
Amazing beach at all day times, beautiful and sunny in the morning, relaxing with amazing sky at night.

Staff are friendly and food is OK.

Whenever I go there, no need to go out of the hotel if your stay is for 2-3 days

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Hana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Old hotel,but still quite nice,very nice beach,and a big pool.Food was ok,lot of bars,even at the beach.Staff was friedly,but begging all the time.Very,very hard beds,but they tryed to fix it somehow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninaSandefjord_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.1 mi away
Bel Air Azur Resort
Bel Air Azur Resort
#88 of 222 in Hurghada
199 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#104 of 222 in Hurghada
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
4.1 mi away
Arabia Azur Resort
Arabia Azur Resort
#49 of 222 in Hurghada
905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dessole Marlin Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giftun Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giftun Azur Resort

Address: Youssef Afifi Road, Hurghada 54811, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £31 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Giftun Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Giftun Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giftun Azur Hotel Hurghada
Giftun Azur Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing