We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a week holiday in Hurghada and got a very good rate from TRIVAGO. We originally booked the resort and then relocated to the hotel (across the street). I looked up the pictures on the web which were identical for the too. It is only after reading the trip advisor reviews I realised that they are different and in fact the hotel is better. In the hotel, you get what you pay for... and hence the excellent rate from me. I disagree with the comments about the food, There were 2-3 meet choices in every meal and the local alcohol is not bad at all and included. There were activities in every evening and if you have kids, they will have the greatest time ever. We also went snorkelling and diving which was our first time and we were absolutely amazed. One tip, HAGGLE!!. The massage in the spa is also very good and Ahmed Sami has brilliant skill. If you want to go to town, take a cab from outside the hotel, there, you can smoke sheesha (hooka) and have fresh juices for very good prices. The wifi in the hotel is expensive. The swimming pool, beach and aqua park are all great too. Staff is very good and friendly, I didn't need to pay anyone anything. Be wary of mosquitos. The kettle broke down twice but was changed. The room is basic but very clean. The place is very safe

Room Tip: We stayed in 213 which faces the sea but not the pool so less noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear
Dear ZA001

Thank you for your candid review, and thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada for your stay in Hurghada.
We are thrilled that you found our property and our level of services up to your expectations, and that your holiday was relaxing.
looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

JUST NEED TO STRESS HUGHADA IS SAFE!

We have just come back from a fab holiday with my boyfriend just 2 days ago and had such a great time that felt a review was necessary.

We checked trip advisor before leaving and left worried about the food! But we both thought it was all brilliant ! We went with the idea that we would eat out most evenings but the hotel provides such a friendly atmosphere and selection of buffet style foods that changes daily that we didn't need to.

We were some of the only English there which was a shame as everyone is missing out!
All was perfectly safe, absolutely stunning with great staff plenty of activities going on with the animation team and lots of excursion s available.

We're a young couple and were looking forward to nights out that we were a bit cautious of at first not knowing what to expect, but the animation team are great and organise transport and accompany anyone wanting to go out to different Venus each night which were all great, just like the more upmarket club/bars you get at home.

We had a great time and came home with a good tan, no tummy upsets at all and wanting to go back!

We had a massage packet the first day and have to say the spa and gym was impressive. We then did a snorkelling trip which was brilliant, the reef was stunning with hundreds if varieties of sealife!
We also booked up the quad safari which is safe to say good value for money! a 50 minute quad through the desert to the Bedouin village, camel riding, a bit of culture dinner and show and a 50 minute return quad ride in the pitch black (very exciting and different ) ladies be sure to pack a sports bra!

We have to recommend the dolphin swim too which we must admit booked outside of the hotel with a friend we met it was fantastic 20 minutes one on one with your own dolphin was worth every penny, it's newly opened in the last 6 months and is called dolphinia.

Overall we couldn't fault a thing everyone was great, food delicious, settings beautiful, trips good value for Money and not far from the resort, probably worth mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms as well as hotel and the bed was the biggest I've ever seen and very comfortable!

My only bit of advise would be that if your a spirit drinker get a bottle at duty free on way in as the local spirits included in all inclusive aren't great ( but that was expected)

Would definitely recommend to couples family's even groups as they have it all :)

Thank you to all the staff who made it so great just wish we were still there

Will and Becky x

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear rebecca h

Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada for your vacation. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
I do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked very last minute without doing much research, but arrived to a lovely hotel, lovely spacious rooms, nicely landscaped grounds and good sized pool with swim up bar overlooking the beach and sea. Very good location, with shops and restaurants a short walk away.
Hotel staff are very accommodating and helpful, doing anything to help if required. Plenty of options for food and drinks, kids club and regular activities all day with the animation team, "Fox", the newest edition to the team was amazing, always up for a laugh or a serious chat, great all rounder always with a smile!
Overall a great place to stay and will be going back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Jeanette444

Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
I do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is a good 4 star hotel. But it has a problem regarding food quality...good beach...good pools especially in the resort... spacious rooms clean and renovated.,,,, Nice hotel, very simple.the staff is really great and cooperative from the reception to z housekeeping through the animation, they are very nice and very fast in responding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MohNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear MohNash

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, liked our rooms, beach, pools, reception staff, Housekeeping and animation.

We hope you have many nice memories of your time in Grand Plaza and we would love ‎to have ‎the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel has everything necessary to make a good 4star hotel. But it has a bad management that did nothing towards all the complaints of reviewers regarding food quality.. food is not my priority but bad food exceeded all my expectations..good beach...good pools especially in the resort... spacious rooms clean and renovated.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Ragy98

Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. and thank you for taking the time to give your comments on our product and service delivery.

Please note that the buffet is including beef, lamb, fish, chicken, burgers, French fries different kinds of vegetables and pasta, rice, potatoes, plus 2 kinds of soup, many salads, fresh fruits are always available in the buffet and pastries, Pasta Station and life Cooking Station.
And everyday we have different themes night like Oriental, International, Italian and B.B.Q.

Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, very simple but cozy.the staff is really great and cooperative from the reception to z housekeeping through the animation, they are very nice and very fast in responding. Regarding the food, it is repetitive and simple but tasty specislly the dessert which was great, rooms are wide and clean.the beach is small and safe for kids

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank RababE31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Администратор at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear RababE31!

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hurghada, and thank you for posting your ‎‎review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.‎
We were delighted to know that you had a great vacation here with us and we would like ‎to thank you for ‎taking the time to give your very positive comments about our product ‎and service delivery. ‎
We hope you have many nice memories of your time in Grand Plaza and we would love ‎to have ‎the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation‎ Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hurghada is SAFE right now. Please do NOT be put off by news of the troubles in Cairo. Hurghada is many miles away. Their livelihood depends on tourism. We heard that some 97 hotels had closed. Our lovely hotel was the Grand Plaza and they are rightly concerned they will have to close if trade does not pick up! Their hotel was running at less than 20% capacity.
We have just had our best ever holiday at the Grand Plaza hotel in Hurghada, Egypt. Our holiday was from the 20th September to 4th October. We know Hurghada is SAFE. The news media has the effect of making you feel the whole of Egypt is unsafe which is FAR FROM the TRUTH. We wanted a holiday where we could relax, be pampered and make the odd boat trip for snorkelling. The staff made sure we had just that. They had their own ‘Animation’ team who had holiday makers participating in activities such as Volley ball, water polo, dancing etc. plus they provided a show each evening.
The staff were so helpful, welcoming, friendly but very attentive and were always ready for some good natured humour/banter. The Egyptian holiday makers were likewise very friendly and eager to chat to us.
The hotel and it’s facilities were well thought out and deserved it’s 4 star rating. The pool and beach facilities, like their staff, were first class.

Lin and Roy Lockwood.

Room Tip: Good to have a room overlooking the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Lin and Roy Lockwood

Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
I do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
2,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,736 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#78 of 222 in Hurghada
1,118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#25 of 222 in Hurghada
4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort

Address: Touristic Promenade, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#42 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £27 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Hurghada, a 4 star hotel & resort with 230 rooms and suites, some overlooking the sea, is situated in Hurghada at a carefully selected spot, nestled among the majestic harmony of nature. The crystal clear water of the Red Sea, crowned with the unique golden beach, is a paradise for you to enjoy. Your dream vacation starts only five minutes from Hurghada International Airport, with your choice between soundless relaxation and endless recreation. The resort is an all-inclusive property offering full board accommodation. All local drinks (soft and alcoholic) are also included, first diving as well as non-motorized sports. Facilities: 3 restaurants, theme nights, 3 bars, kids club, animation group, wide range of recreational facilities, aqua - diving center, health club, shopping arcade, doctor on call, airport/meet/assist, limo service, rated very good for family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing