We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Ranked #27 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good value holiday”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We thought the Grand Plaza Hotel was excellent. Our hotel room overlooked the beach with a side view of the Paradise pool and was fantastic. All the staff from the gardeners to the Managers were extremely polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. Upon arriving the Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Our Room Attendant, Ibrihim was first class, we couldn't have wished for a nicer person. Of the Bar Staff one stood out in particular his name is Ino. After the first time of meeting him he remembered us when we went into the bar and always took the time to chat to us. We had a problem obtaining fresh orange juice on our all-inclusive package and we mentioned it to our Red Sea Holidays rep who brought it to the attention of the hotel Managers who immediately resolved this for us. The Managers also arranged a special evening meal for us of fillet steak which was outstanding and we met the chef to thank him. We would definitely recommend this hotel and are looking forward to returning there next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 900's range are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher S, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear gawelly

Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada for your vacation. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
I do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    317
    140
    58
    41
See reviews for
476
329
54
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at the Grand Plaza Resort, across the road from the Hotel which is on the seafront. You can use the pool and beds at either but only eat at the one you are booked in.

This is quite confusing, not least for the driving of our shuttle bus who had no idea where we should be. (Tip, if you're flying into Hurghada, get a taxi from the airport, not the hideously disorganised shuttles, this was the worst part of our trip.)

The Resort and Hotel are very pleasant places to stay and all of the staff could not be more helpful. The people really make the place. Our room was a little grubby and dated, no plug in the bath, a cool shower and squeaky door, dark poor lighting... But we booked a cheap all inclusive break and what we got was great value for our money. When we visited the place was 95% Russian, but that seemed to make everyone happier to help us, being English.

There is one heated pool, at the Hotel which is busy, the others were quite cold. The beach is quite thin so gets very full.

We made friend with our taxi driver and we visited the Marina, the food there was amazing and great value. Don't be afraid to leave the resort.

There is building work going on across the road, so that could annoy some visitors but we knew we could go back to sleep, so not a problem for us.

All in all a great break. Not sure we'd do two weeks, maybe we'd go to Luxor or somewhere else for an excursion.

Thank you to the staff and everyone who looked after us. The people really make your stay great.

Room Tip: Ask about the building work and get a room on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cencible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear cencible

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort Hurghada. We are glad that , staff, beach, and services was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us
Looking forward to host you again the soonest

Best Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good variety of nice food - Beach is good - Aqua park is small - Staff are polite and friendly - No fuss - Clean rooms - one heated pool - Egyptians are charged at a higher rate ! Pizza at lunch (pool restaurant) needs variety- Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Mostapha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear ‎Mostapha S
Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. We were ‎delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the ‎time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
We do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to ‎have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.‎
Best Regards,‎
Guest Relation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is our first negative review but we want others to know our experience.

We thought we had booked the 'Grand Plaza Hotel' situated on the beach as all our booking documentation indicated with the 'On The Beach' tour operator. On arrival we were told that we were in the 'Grand Plaza Resort', a sister hotel across the road. For anyone booking for a hotel 'On The Beach', ensure that this is what you are getting and not the resort.

It’s not that the resort has nothing going for it as it has very pleasant grounds which are kept well, but this is not an 'On The Beach' hotel.

Although we could use some of the facilities of the 'Hotel' we had to eat at the 'Resort'. We are not fussy on our food but even for us the food selection and quality was very very poor compared with other hotels we have stayed at in Egypt of a similar price and rating. It appeared that they had all the ingredients to make decent food but it was prepared in a very dull and unimaginative manner with little variation between days. Perhaps the Chef was simply not good enough or maybe he only had limited staff and time to prepare the food.

A recent response from the hotel indicated that there were theme nights in the restaurant. Well we never saw any indication of theme nights. They had a Pasta station which we thought could be interesting. But this consisted of a chef taking pre-cooked spaghetti, adding it to a heated pan, adding some tomato sauce with your choice of a few tablespoons of onions, peppers etc, twirling it around for about 30s and plonking it on your plate.

There was a massive fight in the Hotel on the beach, as described to us by one of only two British couples staying there. Although we didn’t witness this it sounded violent with bottles and vases being thrown. To our amazement it was between the staff! We didn’t find out the cause but there were children in the midst of the fight which must have been worrying for the parents.

The resort was 95% Russian. This is not a personal dig but you have to be able to put up with their lack of social graces!

The staff were what you may expect with some more friendly than others although if I had to put up with some of the abuse they have to take from some of the guests then perhaps I may be a bit pee’d off at times.

We would not return to this resort based on other hotels we have been to. If they could vastly improve the food it would make a big difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear StephSimon


Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
Regarding your comment, it is notified and we apologize, corrective actions were taken where appropriate.

Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had perfect holiday in gwilland plaza hotel starting from check in, I arrived early morning the reception staff was friendly I got the room very quickly it give Me the impression that it will be a great holiday, the room was cleaned with nice sea view, the beach is beautiful, food was delicious and varied staff are amazing, helpful, it was great experience in grand plaza and I will come back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear marisanke,

Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. We were ‎delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the ‎time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
We do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to ‎have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.‎

Best Regards,‎
Guest Relation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

worst hotel i ever check in .. no way to go back again

night manger Mr/ Magdy not a professional to deal with guests ..
also some stuff of reception ..
also security and security manger Mr/ Adel (Impolite) and u always feel like they watching you food is average ..
noisy sleeping ( Cutting the grass early ) ..
u can hear some of stuff swearwords ..
and when u complain of someone he doesn't apologize..

i am very very diss-pointed

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sherbo0

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.

Regarding your comments, it is notified and we apologize, and we would like to clarify that the night manager, security manager and reception staff were trying to explain in polite way the hotel regulation that it is not allowed to host another guest in the room

Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just returned home after spending a week at the Grand Plaza Hotel. I must admit I have been disappointed by the whole experience. We experienced highs and lows at this hotel. First, the beach is wonderful (if too small!) The rooms are small but perfectly formed with all the usual trimmings. The food is the big let down here. There is just not enough variety, it comes as fish and chicken or chicken and fish. The speciality restaurant Casa Mia is just not worth the extra cost they charge to eat here. In all honesty I would not waste my money for a return visit. I would like to add that the staff are very helpful and always happy to serve you. Those little extra touches are needed here (better lounge areas are needed along with more attention to detail in the buffet dining area). Attention to these areas are badly needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Valerie R

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
We are delighted to know that , you liked our rooms, staff and beach, regarding your comments about the food, Please note that the buffet is including beef, lamb, fish, chicken, burgers, French fries different kinds of vegetables and rice, potatoes, plus 2 kinds of soup, Pasta Station and life Cooking Station, many salads, fresh fruits are always available in the buffet and pastries.
And everyday we have different themes night like Oriental, International, Italian

Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,535 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#108 of 222 in Hurghada
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Sea Star Beau Rivage
Sea Star Beau Rivage
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#67 of 222 in Hurghada
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort

Property: The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Address: Touristic Promenade, Hurghada B.O 376, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#42 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Hurghada, a 4 stars hotel & Resort with 230 rooms and suites, some overlooking the sea, is situated in Hurghada at a carefully selected spot, nestled among the majestic harmony of nature. The crystal clear water of the Red Sea, crowned with the unique golden beach is a paradise for you to enjoy. Your dream vacation starts only five minutes from Hurghada International Airport, with your choice between a soundless relaxation and endless recreation. The Resort is all-inclusive property offering full board accommodation. All local drinks (soft and alcoholic) are also included, first diving as well as non-motorized sports.facilities, 3 restaurants, theme nights, 3 bars, kids club, animation group, wide range of recreational facilities, aqua - diving center, health club, shopping arcade, doctor on call, airport/meet/assist, limo service, rated very good for family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing