We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Ranked #28 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Bad”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Actually .. it was my second time in this hotel and it was completely different than yhe first one ..
The first time was in a winter their were not alot of guests so the service was amazing
But this time it was completely full so they couldn't control the service food was so bad, service was so bad and cleanless was so bad ... it wasn't only my opinion ..

But I would thank the animation team ( Dali , kristina , Rooney ) ... for they were only the best in my holiday..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashraf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Dear Ashraf M

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
Regarding your comment, it is notified and we apologize, corrective actions were taken where appropriate.

Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager


Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
Regarding your comment, it is notified and we apologize, corrective actions were taken where appropriate.

Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    301
    134
    58
    39
See reviews for
433
304
51
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I went to Hurghada for a sunny spring time getaway and we were very glad we picked the Grand Plaza Hotel. It's not the poshest hotel on the seafront, the service from all the staff was fantastic - they absolutely loved us just because we are English! Whilst the bathroom could have done with a bit of an update, the room was lovely with a HUGE bed and a view of the pool and beach. The food was average all inclusive food - it was perfectly enjoyable but we got a bit fed up of it by the end of the week so we went to the Casa Mia a la carte restaurant which once again had beautiful service, had the best pizza and was a nice change from the busy crowds in the all inclusive restaurant - and it was cheap too!

On our first day there were several people walking around the sunbeds by the pool trying to sell us trips - the good thing is that after the first day they won't bother you anymore. We went on the Sahara Safari which was quad biking into the Sahara Desert and then a camel ride and some tea with the 'Bedouin' people. This was amazing. We paid £10 more (£60 in total for both of us) for a private tour which meant we could go as fast as we liked! - my husband particularly enjoyed that! Aladin was our salesman for the trip and he truly was brilliant - he could not do enough for us! Even after the trip!

We also went scuba diving with the diving centre which is based on the beach of the hotel. It was just spectacular - I was too scared to try it at first but then Tito (the salesman) explained that we have a practice in the pool first and if we didn't like it we got our money back. In the end we went on the all day boat trip and got to scuba dive in two different places and we saw the most amazing fish and even a few sting ray! I'd say this trip is definitely a must whilst at Grand Plaza!

The hotel staff were always more than happy to help and always seemed to be pleasantly surprised that we were English (which meant we got the best service). There are a few shops by the pool which sell gifts and jewellery etc - we bought two beautiful watches from a very negotiable man in the jewellery store and Tony from the gift store is completely hassle free - letting you browse and just pointing out what he has without forcing your hand. Stay away from the tea and spices shop! We bought some lovely tea but it cost us £30! For tea! Admittedly there was a lot there but when we found out how much it was and didn't want it, we felt pressured into buying it (he did bring it down from £45 to £30 but still!)

Overall our experience at the Grand Plaza was a lovely one. It's just a short taxi ride from the airport and the staff could not do more for us. One thing I would say is try and take smaller denominations of Egyptian pounds - no where seemed to be able to give us change so we kept getting money back in Euros! (they accept all currencies though which is helpful) and also try and leave tips as much as you can - the staff really rely on their tips and they will add in little extras too if you do. The food was nice enough, the cocktails were lovely, the pool was clean and had a free swim up bar! Our room felt homely, the staff were outstanding and we didn't want to leave! We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstevo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear mstevo13

Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada for your vacation. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
I do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Everything was perfect in this hotel, we got excellent service and personnel was very friendly. Everyday you had to choose from variety of foods, deserts and ice cream. Even our spoiled friends liked it and they were happy in the end. Environment inside and outdoors are looking nice, personnel was taking care of it everyday, there's no trash or anything dirty. Beach is sandy and clean.
In general we are very happy with our stay and we would gladly come back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Edgaras S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear ‎Edgaras S,
Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. We were ‎delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the ‎time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
We do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to ‎have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.‎
Best Regards,‎
Guest Relation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Excellent service, every day the rooms get cleaned. There are many sellers on the beach, but of you dont want they disturb you, you can get a red flag.
Holland people are there friends, when we stayed in the hotel there were a lot russian people.
There is not much variety in the food. During breakfast, lunch and dinner there is an chef who makes pasta or omelet, you can choose youre ingredients.
When you walk out of the hotel, you walk on the boulevard. When you want to go to Hurghada stad, the hotel had an taxi by itself, the taxi on the street is maffia.
You can book an trip.by your travelagent, but you can book it by sellers form the hotel also. The trips are both good, at the hotel they are cheaper.
The weather was really nice!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ‎Dinly,
Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. We were ‎delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the ‎time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
We do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to ‎have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.‎
Best Regards,‎
Guest Relation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel in March. The cozy atmosphere and energetic staff (especially, the animation team - Phillip, Rooney, Jackson, Katia) were the highlights of our stay there. Although the bathroom (especially the shower) could use some refurbishment, Grand Plaza felt like home. Once again, in my opinion, a perfect choice for the price we have paid. And don't be afraid to try the safari and aqua center services at Grand Plaza - a lot of fun to be had there! Grand Plaza - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DimDim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear DimDim2014,
Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada for your vacation. We were ‎delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the ‎time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
We do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to ‎have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.‎
Best Regards,‎
Guest Relation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hi we have just spent a week in the grand plaza resort hotel . When a waiter says welcome to Moscow you know what too expect . Russians everywhere . If you are British you will be given some small perks . The young lad on the towels would place the best quality towels out onto your sunbeds . Also poolside barman would give you slightly larger glasses in size than our Russian friends. As far as the complex goes the pool area and surroundings are very nice and relaxing , but you will be surrounded by your new russian neighbours . The rooms do need a little updating but are large enough , but our bathroom as seen better days .The food was ok if you are prepared to try something a little different , the Russians try everything all at once ,soup,mains,cakes and fruit all brought back at the same time . Then waste most of it . We witnessed one evening a russian female who you would not want to confront ( shot put looks ) filling a carrier with fruit cakes to take away from resteraunt . A story we where told is that a female was stopped at the airport and brought back too hotel after cutlery she had stolen from hotel had been detected at airport scanner. Another tip would be too take a pair of earplugs as the doors to the rooms slam very loud during the early hours and will wake you from your sleep. Location of this hotel is at the very far end of hurgarda , so it's about twenty minutes walk to some pubs along the main road , running the gauntlet of the pestering shop owners and Oscar the camel lol. Taxi to the marina are well worth taking , but be warned only offer to pay 20 eygptian pounds , there are plenty of taxis if the don't say yes get another , one of there cons is not to have any change . A must for your stay would be to go snorkelling with one of the boat trips .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Argongas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Argongas,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your ‎review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
Regarding your comment, it is notified and we apologize, corrective actions were taken ‎where appropriate.‎
Best Regards,‎
Guest Relation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham Manchester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Well not one to beat around the bush with my comments so straight in to it.

The hotel is like most Egyptian hotels and resorts saying that it is a 5 star. This as most of you know isn't the case this hotel is 3 star at best.
It has to parts to the hotel the old (needs renovating side ) and the beach side which is 100% betters it is like night and day the difference .

So the hotel it is 5 minutes from the airport we got a taxi which should cost you no more then 20/30EGP. the taxi drivers will try to rip you off but you need to be firm and just say you will get another taxi they soon back down.

Hotel Pros /Cons

Hotel side which is across the road from the main resort Cons

1. Very disorganised just a door on the side of a street for you entrance. (not welcoming)
2. Old dated furniture really needs a face lift in al parts of the Hotel side
3. Bar in the lobby not really a bar just a few optics put up serving cheap imitation alcohol
4. The pool slides were not working and looking like they needed a clean.
5 The internet dreadful in that part of the resort /hotel best place is the lobby
6. Rooms really bare and old there is no duvet cover just a old itchy scratchy blanket with a dirty old
throw over. veranda not clean old plastic chairs needed cleaning and changed.

It looks like a lot of Cons but i had the pleasure of getting one of these rooms first before i changed to the beach side which i will come on to.

the Hotel Pro.s

1. friendly staff that is it.

Right now for the Resort side at the beach as me and my wife did not like the Hotel side we asked if we could look at a room in the resort side but it would cost us 20euros each per night to upgrade so to speak with out hesitation we did as like i said before it was night and day the difference from the hotel reception to the gardens to the pool to the rooms to were you ate was just better still with its down sides but i a TIP defo confirm which side of the road you are staying as you want to be staying on the Beach side.

So the Resorts Pro,s and Cons

1. Reception area was nice very welcoming and clean
2. Rooms were layer out more for your comfort you have your nice clean duvet with all your white linen etc
nicer amenities in the room from lcd tv on wall to nicer mattress just all in all clean er and how a hotel room should be
3. food was good same thing most nights but for an All Inclusive you can't complain as it was March we were there the hotel was having work done inside which ment food was served outside at night a few times etc but this didn't bother.
4. Pool was nice bit cold but they do have a heated pool as well which is ok the sunbathing beds are a little old and could do with being updated.
5. All drinks at the pool bar were out of small plastic cups (TIP bring your own beer cups plastic and use the to fill up as you just end up going back and forth to get a drink
6. the beach is small and gets very over crowded
7 sea it self u can swim in it to a point but it is very shallow there isn't any coral reefs near by in the hotel beach grounds we just stayed to the pool
8. be aware like most resorts the animation team are always out doing there thing which as good but for sum people may get to much with al lthe loud music at parts of he day
9. also you will get bored of the spa people the excursion people asking you everyday if you want this or want that. so be patient.

It looks like i am nagging a lot but i try give my best opinion of hotels as i can .
Over all the hotel/resort was ok they really need to bring the hotel side of the place up to the same standard as the resort beach side. it is ok for a week i would say but from what i seen of Hurghada there was other hotels which were better for the same money.

A couple of things other then the hotel. there are taxis outside the hotel on the road which will take yu were you want if you go to the marina is will cost you no more then 20/30EGP you need to be tough with them they will try to rip you off.
the hotel is out of the way and does need a taxi to get most places the main part of Hurghada itself is 30mins walk from hotel wi the marina 10 mins in a taxi and 1hr walk from hotel
There isn't many bars in Hurghada so be warned if you looking for good night life i would say stay to Sharm holidays .
Road works as it is low season there is a lot of roadwork going on so it does look a little dirty in the area.

Room Tip: On booking with tour operator ask which side you are on try to get the beach side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taher K, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Nick L
Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your ‎review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
Regarding your comment, it is notified and we apologize, corrective actions were taken ‎where appropriate.‎
Best Regards,‎
Guest Relation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#36 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#70 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
4.3 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#27 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#69 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort

Property: The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Address: Touristic Promenade, Hurghada B.O 376, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#42 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Hurghada, a 4 stars hotel & Resort with 230 rooms and suites, some overlooking the sea, is situated in Hurghada at a carefully selected spot, nestled among the majestic harmony of nature. The crystal clear water of the Red Sea, crowned with the unique golden beach is a paradise for you to enjoy. Your dream vacation starts only five minutes from Hurghada International Airport, with your choice between a soundless relaxation and endless recreation. The Resort is all-inclusive property offering full board accommodation. All local drinks (soft and alcoholic) are also included, first diving as well as non-motorized sports.facilities, 3 restaurants, theme nights, 3 bars, kids club, animation group, wide range of recreational facilities, aqua - diving center, health club, shopping arcade, doctor on call, airport/meet/assist, limo service, rated very good for family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing