We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Nice Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We were having our holiday on May 2009 & we decided to go to this new established hotel & it was our surprise, this hotel is a real wonderful very wide new hotel with professional staff at our services, nice location, a very big open area for swimming pool, another area for heated pool adjacent to the spa center. Moreover, you can find the Chess Island within the swimming pool, jacuzzi island .... nice beach ... wide room .... very nice view (pool & beach view). It was a real nice holiday in Hurghada

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rimooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,246)
There are newer reviews for Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,815 - 1,821 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just returned from our first stay at this Hotel and can honestly say it was magical. The Hotel was spotlessly clean, food was exquisit with three choices of fine restaurants. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the staff just simply could not do enough for us. From the friendly bar staff and waiters to the fantastic guest relations staff Anna who made our holiday very special with fantastic attention to detail for what turned out to be a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECMsteigen, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Mr. Simon,

Sunny greetings from the Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel.

We hope you had a safe journey and have arrived safely back home.

Allow us to take this opportunity and sincerely thank you for sharing your holiday experience with the Tripadvisor community.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to not only satisfy our guests’ expectations but to exceed them. Your praise is our biggest motivation to keep striving for this goal.

We would be very happy to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards

Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I just returned from my third stay at this hotel, and arrived home again refreshed, thoroughly relaxed and very happy.
It feels like this hotel is becoming sort of my getaway-home at the Red Sea, where I'm able to fully unwind and enjoy a truly luxureous holiday, completely worry-free.

There were some points where I think the hotel could improve: see bottom of review.

First, some of the highlights of my experience:

The Management coctail:
Free champagne (continuously served by ever-so-friendly waiters) and live music in the spacious, marvellous lobby of this hotel.
The hotel's key personnel is introduced by the GM, and there is an opportunity for all to have a chat with each of them which goes a long way to show the managements involvment with the guests. Good job!

Ambiance:
An oasis of calm and class, especially the lobby.
I still marvel at the finishing touch of Mr. O. the pianoplayer.
He's a kind gentleman who treats his public to soothing tunes, played magnificently on the lobby's piano. I hope he will stay for many more years.

Staff: Overall, the service was good, worthy of the hotel, and all personnel were polite, friendly and respectful.
There was only 1 instance where we had to wait on our drinks for about 10 minutes, all other times in the week, we were swiftly served.

Guests: This hotel attracts guests from good standing. You will not find drunk or loud guests in this hotel, in 99% of the time, your fellow visitors will adhere to normal social protocol of the well educated man or woman.

Space: eventhough the hotel was at near max. capacity, there was always place to sit, be it in restaurant, at the pool or at the beach.

Rooms: very clean, maintained every day.
There is however an opportunity for the hotel management to improve;
This year we found a few, albeit minor, flaws; whereas in previous years we did not.
A periodic inspection perhaps?
For example: towel rack in bathroom was loose, function of air conditioning was sufficient, but didn't reach low temperatures) bathroom door lock was loose. Also, showers would have been more enjoyable had the water pressure been higher.

The entertainment program in the hotel was something else I appreciated; every night during dinner there is a few hours of live entertainment which gives you something interesting to look / hear during the meal.

My thanks goes out to the Saxophone player who not only provided a great performance on numerous occasions (sometimes in duet with violin), but also turned out to be great conversationalist when we got a chance to meet her during a short break.
I hope to see her again when we return.

About the location: It's great. Check out the pictures, there is little to add.

Also, I applaud the hotel's "Repeat Guest" program which offer you many benefits, including:
Discount on All-In arrangement
Discount on Room
Free minibar
Free internet
Free Airport Shuttle
...and much more

Finally; here's a few things that the hotel could use as pointers for improvement:
- On 3 occasions, we were presented with an incorrect bill after consumptions.
This happened once at the beach, once in Karibu and once in Ukumbi.
-Despite my repeated written requests before our arrival, our room did NOT have a third bed
in it when we arrived. Eventhough my emails were acknowledged, the information apparently did not reach the front desk staff.
I booked the elite family room, which was advertised to be bigger than "Deluxe", and supposed to accomodate 3 adults, but be advised that our room had 2 single beds when we arrived.
When we contacted the front desk though, this was solved in a matter of minutes.

-The hotel Wifi does not extend to the pool or the beach. This was something that did bother me. Also the connection was unstable and slow.

-The pool, which was great on previous visits, was very cold this time (21 deg.)
I was unable to do my daily excercise, because of the temperature.
- The loud music from the neighbouring hotels (disco) can be somewhat disturbing because of the prevailing wind direction. I hope Steigenberger can find a way to reduce this.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday once again, the few minor inconveniances really did not take away from all the other great things this hotel has to offer.

I thoroughly recommend it, although I do say, keep in mind, perfection is only found in heaven. On earth, this hotel comes pretty darn close!

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side if at all possible. When in the North End, there is a chance you may...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiziger801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spend a great nice in this hotel, definatly will be back to the Rea Sea and specialy here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Heaven on earth!
Each year we go 2 times on holiday, once to the Steigenberger Al Dau (since 4 years already) and once to another hotel but still in Egypt, and we decided that from now on it will be the Steigenberger Al Dau on each vacation!!! And this for several reasons. Friendliness, politeness and helpfulness of the entire staff, they can’t do enough to make your vacation a real dream, we European want everything we ask for right away what is not so evident in foreign countries but here you really have it as you’re speaking! Without any doubt, the food in this hotel is far the best of any 5 star rating hotel in entire Egypt, so you can enjoy every single day of your vacation instead of lying with a sick stomach in bed. Important to mention also, is the impeccable cleanliness off the rooms as well as all the other areas throughout the hotel. And last but not least is the outstanding professionalism of the management!!! Thanks to their continuous effort to keep the level of the Steigenberger Al Dau at such a high position they make us realize that heaven on earth exists!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lise12310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

the first part of my honeymoon was to this hotel, I heared a lot about it before going there , but once i was there I found out that all what good things I heared about that hotel did not really describe how great is it , me and my wife spent 5 wonderful nights, great rooms, have any thing you may need, even coffee and tea set, the most wonderful food I had ever tasted in any hotel in Egypt, extreemly clean in all aspects, great service every where, Dinner Buffet was different every day, we never saw the same food twice during our stay, great entertainment, beach is wonderful as well as the swimming pools.

Room Tip: rooms are arranged like a U shape , so better view are for the central rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Egyptian_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The al dau beach hotel is perfect for a relaxing break, the staff literally can't do enough for you and are so polite and helpful, yasser Adam Mohammed a adrek Sara with her cold tea and iced face towels around the pool were all brilliant. The pool and beach cafes were spot on, we loved the lebonese restaurant beautiful meze style way to much food though!! The dinner buffets always had something for everyone, nothing is a problem for them.alexanders is set in a beautiful location right on the beach, try the Chablis if you have a spare 90 sobs.. The lagoon pool is one of the most refreshing and clean I've had the pleasure to bellyflop into , and the kids loved the lazy river. Thanks to elana for getting us adjoinig rooms ( handy if the kids have a problem) the Marina was nice and only ten minutes by cab , as is the airport so convenient , all in all I prefered hurghada to sharm. We are definatley going back and the October half term is an ideal time to go. Book direct with the hotel luxury all inclusive get in early with easyjet and bobs yer uncle a five star break that won't break the bank

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcbwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#46 of 222 in Hurghada
2,308 reviews
13.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
891 reviews
10.4 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 222 in Hurghada
6,296 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,358 reviews
10.0 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Address: Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada 84111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £119 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel is an exclusive luxury hotel built in fascinating Swahili architecture, situated directly on the beach at the southern tip of Hurghada with a spectacular view of the sea. The hotel is famous for its luxurious spacious rooms and superb restaurants, and it presents a variety of unrivaled features; from a unique Lazy River, inviting you to lose yourself in the tranquility of a gentle river ride, floating through the landscaped gardens until you disembark straight into an amazing pool covering 5,000 m3. A private beach that is almost half a kilometer in length, just to relax or to play, with "Ilios" the world class dive club and aqua center, where you can scuba dive, snorkel, go windsurfing, water skiing or parasailing. A 9 hole par 3 golf course, floodlit, for playing a challenging game of golf under the summer night sky. As for the feeling of complete well-being; immerse yourself in 1000 m2 of the "Algotherm Red Sea Thalasso & Spa" for pampering body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Resort
Hotel Steigenberger Al Dau Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing