We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Ranked #73 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good palace”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Arriving at the terrace of the main building in front of you opens a view of the beautiful resort. The sides are accommodation building, the center of the lead pools. Everything is a lot of bridges and beautiful garden. For children there is a slide in the form of rocks. One pool is a bar and restaurant on the second. The beach has a bar, restaurant Camila. It is also possible to use all the services sub Garden Hotel. The beach is maintained. Gradual entry into the sea or input or input from the pier. At the end of the pier are seen in the sea corals and fish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel19732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr. Daniel,

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback, we are very happy that you had a lovely stay in our resort

We hope to welcome you again in SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort

With best regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,790
    697
    212
    73
    47
See reviews for
1,602
1,357
89
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Disappointed with the hotel this time.
We have stayed 3 times previous and really enjoyed our holiday here, seems this time to not have the homely feeling.
We arrived 4 1/2 hours late thanks to Thomas cooks got to hotel around 3:30 am then had to attend the welcome meeting at 10:00.
The restaurant manager was at the meeting and head chief as well as English entertainment manager, this was really informative and always worth going to.

On our 3 rd day the restaurant manager spotted us in the main restaurant at breakfast he spoke to us quite a few times during our stay which was a nice touch, he told us about the breakfast for English in the Mexican - this was great and the guy running it and the chief are brilliant.

The main restaurants food is not very good I am a very fussy eater so just ended up with a cheese salad 7 nights out of the 10 . We booked the Italian as we love the people running it and the food out of the 4 nights we booked we got to eat there twice which was fantastic the team in there are brilliant, we booked for the Wednesday and Thursday again 1 hour before our meal was booked we had a letter delivered to the door saying it had been canceled I was very disappointed so salad it was that night.

Thursday was the night before we were coming home and my husbands birthday so we went for our booking at 7 there seemed a lot of people as we got there but the manager who we know sat us down and got our drinks organised.

5 minutes later some manager from the main hotel who we have not seen before came over to say we hadn't got a booking I explained I had booked on the Sunday - he replied you can stay though how rude was he doing this I got very upset with the whole situation and we left 1/2 way through our meal.


Also we had been talking to someone at the hotel who had said if you've been before you should have yellow bands as your VIPs we did ask for these and we're told they had been locked in the safe the hotel operates 24 hours a day check ins so what would the other people have got mmm.
We actually put we had been 3 times on the check in card as well perhaps if we had had the yellow bands the manager in the Italian wouldn't have been so rude.

We had a relaxing holiday which we had gone to the hotel for but would not return again.
We did fill in the feedback card before we left about how we felt and paid to keep on our room but no one approach us so what's the point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hogan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamloukpalace, Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Fam Hogan,

First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback about our resort.
We are sad to see you did not enjoy your stay did like the 3 visits before.

Please be informed we did forward your comments to the department head and improvements are made​​. Action is taken against the staff member and training Mentioned givenName to all our service staff.

Unfortunately our management didn't receive your feedback form. Could you please contact us in person so we can take all your comments for improvement. (see email adress below)

We hope that we will have the honor to welcome you again in our resort and give you a positive impression about our resort

With best regards,

Susan Kooij
Resort Quality Manager
Susan.Kooij@sunrise-resorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and i stayed at Mamlouk in May.After arriving at the airport we were screamed at to follow the crowd.
After reading on the forum to go left to the banks we did, much to the discust of the 'reps'
We sat on the coach and arrived at Mamlouk late evening.
We were upgraded to a sea view room (thankyou)
Our room was a long walk from reception but we did not mind.
Our room was large and well decorated, with plenty of wardrobe/drawer space.
The shower was powerful and a good size.
Our room was kept clean with the exception of one day when it was not done.
That may have been or fault for not putting the 'clean the room' card on the door.
We spoke to another couple who actually had wet towels folded and replaced back into their bathroom!
Breakfast next day was like a cattle market.
We went to the rep meeting and was informed that the Mexican restaurant was available to British guests for breakfast. After that breakfasts were a pleasure. The waiters Ahmed and Mustafa were pleasant and friendly. Ahmed made omelettes to die for, and went out of his way to mingle with guests.The food was plentiful and always looked fresh.
We cannot comment on daily activities or the pool at Mamlouk as we found an adult only pool at the sister hotel 'Gardens' and spent our time there as it was quiet.
We had to get our towels from our hotel from Mohamed (pool guy) who was so polite and pleasant.
We also spent most of our evenings at the 'Gardens' too as it was quieter.
Our first few days there were some sand storms which caused Mamlouk to close the pools, many guests were not happy with this, but it wasn't the hotel's fault. The pool at 'Gardens' were kept clean for guests at both hotels to use.
There was a very high number of Russian guests at the hotel, which made mealtimes horrendous.
We had to fight for a table...fight for a plate...fight for food.
At one point we couldn't get a table in either hotel, inside or outside.
We eventually went for lunch later which meant the choice of food was zilch!
Everything went, even food from the displays, whole lettuce, peppers and cucumbers. Nothing was safe.
Whole plates of bananas whisked away, along with whole gateau!!!
We decided to eat Ala Carte in the evenings to 'escape'

Gamilla restaurant

Meze to start, with good choice of main.
Unfortunately at one point we had 3 courses all crammed onto the table at once.
A member of staff asked if everything was ok, we had to tell him to take some of the food away until we were ready to eat it.
The staff member said it was because the staff were 'inexperienced'

This may well be true. One afternoon a British lady sat down only for her chair to disintegrate and she ended up on the floor.The staff promptly removed the broken chair, replaced it and walked away as if nothing had happened. No on went to see if the lady was ok

Asian.

Lovely food and staff with a great ambiance.

Mexican.

Great food but busy and noisy.

Italian.

My favourite, great food and staff.
Throughout our stay management asked how our holiday was going. they seemed genuinely concerned about British guests welfare.
Unfortunately for the staff, they had to put up with being shouted at by the Russians, and at one point i actually witnessed a woman manhandle a waiter and push him away. Disgusting treatment.
During our stay we both had upset stomachs and were recommended Antinel tablets, but be warned. Do not buy from the shops across the road from the hotel.
They tried to charge us £20 for one packet! We bartered them down to £4 as we needed them, then later found out that you can purchase them at the Senzo Mall for 10 LE (£1)
Be very careful walking to the mall, especially in the evening.
There are pickpockets waiting to pounce.
They hide in the bushes and there are no street lights even though it is a busy road.
A young girl of about 8 years old and a young man pounced one evening. The man was distracting my husband by waving Papyrus in his face while the girl was frisking his pockets. this happened on 2 occasions that we went there.
Luckily i had the money in my handbag, which they did not appear to be bothered about.
Egypt is a great country, with lots to see and do.
Mamlouk is an impressive Hotel.
Unfortunately we will not visit either again.

.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mrs.

First of all thank you so much for taking the time for this detailed feedback
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay but also sad to see that you had some comments during your stay.

Please be informed that we are a Travelife Gold awarded hotel. towels in the rooms are only changed if they are on the ground. This is clearly written in all our bathrooms. On request of course we can change them more often (free of charge).

During your stay both hotels were fully booked what is making the restaurants during the meal times very busy. For our Thomas Cook guests we provide breakfast and lunch in a spearated restaurant to make the meals more comfortable for our partner guests.

Our pool was closing for the guests own safety. we are woking with a strict Healt & Safety program for our food, water and pools to guarantee health and safety for all our guests. In the time the pool was closed we had another pool opened in our resort and in our sister resort SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa another 3 pools incl. one with slides.

All your comments are forwarded to the department heads for improvement

We hope that we could have the honor to welcome you again and give you a positive impression about our resort

With best regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The resort is huge and always busy. It is about 6-8 km from airport. Arrange your own transfer by airport taxis, one of several private companies or get hotel limousine (150 Egyptian pounds or $ 25 each way per car). I enquired at the hotel web site; it took them more than 10 days to reply!
Check in is usually smooth except if arrival coincides with a big group. On check in, clients are offered colour bracelets which is fixed around the wrist for the period of your stay.(red colour means alcohol is included in the package). Also, precious towel ticket worth of 75 Egyptian pounds (if lost) to get towel at the beach or pool. Leaflet full of guidelines and explanations is clearly written regarding the name and timing of restaurants etc. New comers are escorted to their rooms with a bellboy to carry the bags. Though most booking sites counts three different types of rooms; garden , pool or sea view. Practically, the cheapest is garden view but they usually offer pool or sea view. Each block of rooms starts by 2 digits (say 15-22) followed by 3 digits starting with your floor then room number. Those who prefer to be near reception, restaurants and evening entertainment (It is noisy ,mind you) should express that option to receptionist to look for a room probably in the first 1-3 blocks. Those who are pool lovers should opt for the middle blocks. Those preferring the sea and like to be quiet should opt for the blocks by the end nearest to sea. My room was 17302, midway, we could walk easily to either side, away from noise, could see the sea clearly. The ground floor is easiest to get in and out and especially with kids. Top floor has best view and sitting in the balcony in privacy (Not looked/starred at by all by passers). Rooms are the same size (Except suites), about 42 m2. Quite spacious with a double or twin beds, a couple chairs and small table and another two chairs and a table in the terrace. wardrobe built in the wall, with a water heater and electronic safe. Tea bags and exactly two sachets of Nescafé are replenished every day. The bathroom is big enough. Our basin was blocked, it took about 5 hours to get a plumber and another 5 hours to clean the mess after the plumber!. TV is a flat screen with some channels in different languages especially Arabic English Russian etc. The room is cleaned everyday , towels replaced. Sea beach is beautiful but always busy. The best times are before 8 am( Sunrise is at 6 am) and after 6 pm (Sunset at 8 pm). The sea will be yours without any rush and to avoid the great midday hot waves and bad harmful UV irradiation. This is simply because breakfast starts at 7 am so everybody will be there on time while the towel man vanishes at 6 pm and most people will get ready for dinner at 7pm so, the beach is empty by 6 pm. Though it's a sand beach, there is some gravels and bebbles in the first few meters from shore. thereafter, sea floor is a bit muddy and the water is not clear. But the sea water is enjoyable. Pools expand over a huge area almost 500 meters with variable depth with areas for kids. Maximum depth is 1.6 m and diving is not allowed. The main Restaurant near reception offers Breakfast (7-10 am) Lunch 1-3 pm and dinner (7-10:30pm). Wide selection of food but will be repeated every day. Though clearly advised not to take any plate to the rooms; some are packing a lot of fruits, cakes etc. Snack bars near the pool (Pargolla) and near the beach offer snacks till 6 pm (Pizza , fries, sandwich of day as well as cold and hot drinks.
Free Internet is very slow and limited to a small area near the lobby. If you need real internet, buy your own SIM from Senso centre (500 meters) from hotel or city centre. The 1.5 Giga costs around 25 Egyptian pounds (the hotel charges 50 pounds /hour I think!?
Staff overall are helpful and really still efficient even under stress of crowd and overwork.(Hotel was fully occupied).
My wife had a twisted ankle which was proved to be broken foot. We got crutches from bellboy till we bought ours. We enquired about local hospitals .We went to Nile hospital where she had xray and cast done swiftly and professionally and at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMedhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Dr. Medhat,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about our resort

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.

We hope that we could welcome you again in your "second home"

With best regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

my first visit to Egypt and i was not disappointed on arrival late at night we were welcomed by friendly and professional staff and offered a cool drink before being taken to our room.Our room was spacious very clean and thankfully cool due to the air con, for anyone that doesnt like extreme heat Egypt in june is not the place to go. The pools of which there are several are clean, cool and manned with lifeguards. we did find our preferred one and tended to use that daily, plentiful sun loungers offering shade and clean pool towels daily.
There are a lot of wonderful things to say about this hotel, the food in the al la carte was exceptional and i am a very fussy eater so was delighted to try and enjoy new things.
However the highest compliment must be paid to the wonderful staff of the Mamlouk, myself and my sister were treated like queens, it is evident they love the British, maybe it is because we do not take them for granted and show them the respect they deserve which sadly i observed cannot be said of other nationalities.In particular the animation team and of those Jade and Sacha stood out, friendly eager to help and please. My favourite members of staff i must admit were those of the El Paso mexican restaurant who welcomed us every morning and when we dined with them in the evening. Warm and lovely people without exeption, the lovely gentle Mohamed who served my pancakes with a smile, the entertaining Ahmed, assistant manager who made us laugh every day, and all of their colleagues , to the hotel management i do hope you value these lovely people. speaking of management nothing was too much trouble for them and i would like to especially mention Ahmed Rezk who was a real star in his own right.
To summarise i had a wonderful ten day holiday which i found relaxing and entertaining and i make no apologies for making this review sound like a thankyou speech, people are what make life exeptional not just beautiful surroundings and mouth watering food

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Julie,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about our resort.

We are very happy that you had a joyful holiday

We have personally thanked all the mentioned staff for their efforts

We hope to welcome you again in SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace and make your stay just as comfortable as this one

With best regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The Mamlouk is a lovely hotel but what makes it stand out is the genuinely lovely people who work there. They cannot do enough for their guests especially the British who they love - I think because we treat them with courtesy which other nationalities do not.
I do not think I can think of any member of staff who was not courteous and helpful and many went above and beyond what was expected.
The team in the El Paso were amazing. The manager and his team made our stay special from the way they looked after us both at breakfast and Mexican al la carte.
We enjoyed meals at most of the al la carte restaurants with the Asian and Mexican being our favourites. We also paid to go to the Grill Bar - if you enough steaks etc this is a must place to try . Again staff friendly and helpful.
The animation staff made sure we were ok every day even though we did not join in any of the activities due to the heat which was +45c most days. Jade and Sasha were 2 of the team who always stopped by to talk to us - genuinely lovely people. Lovely to hear Sasha talking so positively about his country -Egypt.
Would definitely go again but in cooler months.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda_9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Dear Linda,

We would like to thank you for your positive review - we do appreciate your high appraisal of our hotel and the staff. It is great to know that you are happy with your holidays and it will be a real pleasure to us to welcome you again in SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace.

Best regards,
Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Myself and my partner visited the Sentido Mamlouk Palace Hotel, in Hurgada. We went for a fortnight, on 27th May, 2014.
We had never been to Egypt before but we absolutely loved our holiday and found the hotel to be outstanding. The Egyptian staff were very friendly and welcoming, they made us feel like royalty, whilst we were there.
There were four restaurants to select from, an Italian, Chinese, Asian and Mexican. You can book these once each, per week. This meant that we had waiter service meals for half of our holiday and every restaurant served lovely food with plenty of choice.
The food in the main restaurant was also to a very high standard with lots of choice and they did not stint on portions - you could have had platefuls of any of the food, including meat, if you had wanted, (many of the Russian guests did exactly that).
All the staff were friendly but we became particularly friendly with Mohammed, who worked at the 'towel hut'. He couldn't do enough for us and was always friendly and polite. One day he even brought us a towel which he had folded into an intricate design, with flowers woven into the folds. We used to look forward to our chats with him.
English people can go for breakfast at the Mexican restaurant and it is nicer than battling with all the ignorant Russians. The chef and waiters in there are lovely and the chef always gave us a big smile, when we went in. One morning, he tapped me on the shoulder and told me that he had made a cheese pancake, especially for me - it was delicious.
We had a cleaner called Haiba and, again, he was friendly and welcoming - always asking if you had everything you needed. The minute any toiletries ran out they would be replaced by the time we got back and the fridge stocked up with water. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms comfortable, with air conditioning and a safe included in the price.
We would like to go back soon and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Sue S and Geoff R.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room '32108', which we don't usually like. We decided to stay wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Dear Sue and Geoff,

We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and we want to thank you for sharing your experience about our resort. We hope we can welcome you soon again in SENTIDO Mamlouk Palaceand make your stay as comfortable as this one.

Best regards,
Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
8.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.3 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#32 of 222 in Hurghada
6,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
0.5 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#24 of 222 in Hurghada
3,971 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort

Property: SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Address: Safaga Road | 20 Km Safaga Road - Red Sea, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#41 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Egyptian hospitality at the 5 star (local category) SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort with the oriental flair and a special family friendly atmosphere and hotel facilities. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea. Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Mamlouk Palace Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Mamlouk Palace Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing