We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clear , fantastic beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magawish Village & Resort
Ranked #141 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, clear , fantastic beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. The staff is very helpful and allowed us to choose the room from the empty available without any additional charges. The hotel is clear. The room was very comfort and including air condition, small tv with cable which we did not have a time to watch, hair dryer, very big and nice mirror at the bathroom, minibar, sofa, and very comfort big king bed. Our bungalow was very nice and clear and the house keeping service was everyday without additional charges or any payment for the housekeeper. If you call the reception for anything they response immeditly in few minutes.
Manta is the main restaurant that we have breakfast, launch, and dinner. The food not so fantastic and quite repeated. The drinks are available at restaurant's bar. The water also fill yourself during you have your meal. The staff of manta helpful and if you need anything they help you. I onnce have 2 cups they helped me to take them to the table. the fish meals not nice.
The Dolfin restaurant is a bar and I liked its ice cream which from 12 to 1 at noon. there also very nice light pitzza and pasta . the staff is very nice at dolfine restautant.
The orienal bar was at night and it is very amazing to set at it at night and breath the wonderful clean air that smells like at "sahara" clean air.
Shamousa bar I did not join it as I was all the day on the beach.
There also a small bar at the reception but I did not use it morr than twice. I can say it was clear.
The main WC behind the reception not so clean floor.
The other bars was closed.
The animation team is weak but try to do something with us. There is a wonderful music half of the day on the beach, so we swim and dance in the wonderful sea. The beach was wonderful but the sand have some not clean location specially where there are kids but the staff at the end of the day I saw them cleaning all the beach. and the next day the location was clear on the sand. there is a diving center but I did not use it. there also a colona watersports but I also did not join it.
The gardens between the bungalow are very green and full of flowers. Our bungalow window was next to amazing purple flowers.
The hotel is very nice, cheap, clear, and helpful staff. and very close to the airport. one problem the wifi is not free but I used mobile internet so it was not my problem :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShineStare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    200
    139
    96
    106
See reviews for
205
239
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

To summarise: This is NOT a 4-star hotel! It is AWFUL. The food was DISGUSTING. The room was DIRTY. Reception staff were UNHELPFUL and RUDE - they OVERCHARGED us on taxis. There was LOUD Russian dance music on repeat on the beach ALL DAY. There was a smell of sewage EVERYWHERE. Half of the bars/restaurants were CLOSED. Toilets were dirty with NO soap. Gym was TERRIBLE with NO air con. The only hotel WITHOUT free Wifi for guests.

• Upon arrival, we were shown to Reception which smelled awful and, after checking in, were shown to our room, number 424. The room was very tired and the fixtures and fittings very old and often dangling off the walls. Specific problems included:
o Bathroom was dirty and the bath was stained
o The light in the bedroom was a 15watt bulb so it was impossible to see anything (this was changed after asking Reception THREE times)
o There were ants in the room
o The water availability was intermittent and sometimes non-existent
• We went to the main restaurant for our first meal that evening and it was disgusting:
o Much of the food was stale and unhygienic
o Food was left on tables long after guests had left
o There was no sense of order and as a result there was no formal queuing leading to an appalling experience for us (two polite Western guests)
o Breakfast ran out of fruit salad (tinned melon) very earl and never replenished.
• Many of the bars and restaurants at the hotel were closed all week and this was not highlighted in our welcome information. Instead we were provided all of the opening times for the individual bars and restaurants, most of which was irrelevant. It was left to us to visit each location before we discovered whether it was open or closed:
o Mermaid restaurant – SHUT
o Panorama bar – SHUT
o Cave bar – SHUT
• When having a drink at the bars, it was very difficult to get a proper glass rather than a very cheap and flimsy plastic cup. The Oriental café, which was nowhere near a pool or the beach, had a large supply of glasses and yet the staff were VERY reluctant to provide one as it meant they would have to wash it up afterwards
• There were only 3 food options available at lunch in the Dolphin Bar: pizza, pasta, small salad
• There was a lot of rubbish around the hotel and a lot of the bins were over spilling
• The toilets around the hotel were disgusting and there was often no soap available
• There was a smell of raw sewage when walking through the resort
• On the second evening, having had such a harrowing experience in the restaurant on our first evening, we asked Reception to order us a taxi into Hurghada. We were charged 35 Egyptian Pounds for a one-way taxi. When returning later that evening in a proper taxi, we were charged only 20 Egyptian Pounds. Reception had ripped off its own guests. This trait continued all week as we had to eat out every evening due to the disgusting food and every night, Reception tried to charge us MORE THAN NECESSARY to get a taxi so that they could rip us off. This therefore meant that we didn’t trust anything that anyone in the hotel said to us and they are meant to HELP their guests rather than rip us off!
• The beach was a pleasant place to spend the day, or so we thought until the extremely loud music began on the first day. This was played on repeat ALL DAY, EVERY DAY and there was nowhere to go to escape it. The music was played by the resident Animation Team and when asked if they could turn it down, we were told it was not possible. If there had been background music on the beach, this would have been fine but instead there were 4 x stage speakers blaring awful Russian dance music ALL DAY ON REPEAT
• When we went to use the gym one afternoon, to get away from the music on the beach, we found yet another disappointment. There were some weights and that was it. No running machines. There was also no air conditioning so the room was like a sauna
• We could not believe that the hotel did not offer complimentary Wifi for guests. Whilst we would not expect this in all the rooms due to the layout of the hotel, we could not believe that we were asked to pay for usage in Reception. Every bar that we went to in Hurghada offered free Wifi so why on earth could the hotel not offer this, at least for half an hour a day or something similar?

Room Tip: "My tip is AVOID this hotel AT ALL COSTS"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank abeags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This may have been 4* when it opened, but sadly, 35 years it's only worth 3. Some parts of the site are looking quite tired and in need of refurbishment, particularly our room. The beach is beautiful and clean, the pool and main dining area were also clean and well maintained. The food was good but a little repetitive. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.
Considering what the holiday cost (and what the hotel receives after the airline has taken the lions share) I can't really complain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLRR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here as a single female and I must say that the staff couldn't do enough to help. They were very proffesional and were not disrespectful at all (which I have encountered at other hotels)

snorkeling - I was given a beach front bungalow, with the largest bed I have ever seen. The room itself was a little dated but cleaned on a daily basis.

restaurant. The food was ok - you wouldnt starve, although kids may find it difficult to find something they like. I would say if you like your food piping hot with lots of choice then this probability isnt the place for you. The staff however couldnt do enough to help - particularly aba. Who arraned for bottled water and a complementary fruit basket in my room. And also arranged for the chef to make my favourite desert to bring back to the uk (for a very small fee).

Beach - the beach was clean and beach towels and bed's provided free. Use if the beach bar was also included in the all inclusive option which was great. Essa was very welcoming and could organise snorkeling and trips into town (very informative). My only recommendation is that when the beach is as quiet as it was that waiter service could be offered for drinks (and im sure this would increase tips for staff too).

all in all and considering the price this is a great budget conscious hotel. Facilities are 4*, quality of furnishings is more 3* but the helpfulness of the staff is definitely 5*.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The sea is wonderful there. very close to the airport. The hotel is a 4 star hotel. The stuff is very kind and helpful. I book it by phone and when we arrived we have a good bungalow and Mr.Ayman at the reception is very kind and helpful man. The bungalow is nice at size. the shower and toilet are clear and have a liquid soap for shower and hands. For each person the there is one big towel for shower and one small and the two are changed everyday. The room also have a hairdryer, minibar, air condition, tv. the room have a sofa which replaced by a bed for the third person if you book a room for 3 adults. All beds are comfort and the bungalow is very interesting at its design.The beach have dolphin cafe which is very nice and Mr.Salah and Mr.Mohamed are very kind and helpful. The beach divided into parts for swimming for diving and watersports. The swimming part not need to wear any shoes and the sand have no corals. the diving side need a shoes to prevent any injury. every day there are tides that make able to collect wonderful small and big shellfish. there are very large number of crabs that moving and running on the sand . The mountain view at the sunset on the other side of the beach is amazing. manta restaurant have a kind and nice staff specially Mr.Waleed and another Mr. I do not remember his name now. The food is normal not so good and not bad. you can drink what you want multiple times and select the food too. the restaurant is clear and nice design. The all staff is nice and helpful. The oriental cafe is very wonderful and perfect staff and there are Mr. I do not remember his name but he is very helpful and very kind. the animation team is only work at the night show at the amphitheater but on the beach they are very weak and I did not see them do anything only once they did something on the beach but you will not need the absolutely as the beach activity you will do take all the time. the beach is nice for kids and adults too but for family or friends as solo person can feel that he/she lonely there. the hotel have a taxi service that you can use when you leave the hotel or want to go anywhere out of it (additional fee). really recommend to visit this wonderful place for relax, swim, watersports and enjoy the time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was in this hotel twice. Beach is very long with nice sand. I had a comfortable room with sea view. I liked that they have few restaurants on the territory of hotel with a big variety of testy meals. During daytime they have nice anymation on the beach. Stuff is friendly and very helpfull. A bit far from downtown but they have taxi service so its not a minus)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahmoud Abd ElA... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel and Amenities:
Rooms are old but reasonably clean. Food, as expected, wasn't a highlight and you have more luck with the alternatives which are freshly prepared (omelettes for breakfast, burgers for one day at lunch and a roast veal one night). The pool is clean while the toilets at the restaurant could certainly benefit from more frequent visits by the cleaning staff.

Black Henna Tattoo: AVOID
The beauty salon at the resort has both a small stand by the beach and a parlor in the shopping area outside the front of Manta Restaurant. Our first day, we were approached by one of their employees while lying on the sun beds (this sales technique of approaching guests daily is also undertaken by the massage parlor, diving center, trip agency on a daily basis). Of course the children wanted to get them and after being assured that the henna was completely natural and simply the dried crushed leaves of the henna plant and water, we agreed to a price of 250 pounds for two small designs. Both complained about some stinging, but swimming put a quick stop to this.
Everything seemed fine until they had the henna re-applied the day before we left. My daughter started crying and saying it hurt while my son said it stung but wasn't too bad (the man at the beauty parlor removed the dried "flakes" with some water and paper towel when he saw she was crying). The next day, the design was still sore as well as being red and swollen so we applied some soov (antiseptic pain-relieving cream) and went back to Norway. We searched online for advice on whether the allergic reaction required medical attention and we were floored to discover that black henna does not exist naturally and has an additive which is banned in skin care products (PPD). Now our children will have a lifelong allergic reaction or sensitivity to hair dye, darkly dyed clothes, PABA sunscreen and natural rubber latex. Attached is a picture of my daughter's blistered skin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#101 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
7.6 mi away
King Tut Aqua Park Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#67 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea World
Sea World
#85 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magawish Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magawish Village & Resort

Property: Magawish Village & Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#101 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Magawish Village & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the hotel: Hotel Magawish Village & Resort is ideally located in the tourist area of 1.2 km of natural sandy beache overlooking the Magawish island. Everybody likes to stay at the beach, especially if it takes place on the Red Sea coast, where 365 days a year heat. On our proposed resort for a large variety of outdoor activities and sports - from diving and snorkeling to extreme kite surfing. Location: Located on the beach, 8 km from the airport and 15 kilometers from the center of Hurghada. Number of rooms: 425 Types of rooms: 332 bungalow,24 studios, 56 apartments, 9 family rooms, 2 family villas, 2 royal suites. Room Description: The hotel provides accommodation in the hotel type buildings and bungalow-type, which are distributed throughout the hotel to ensure privacy during your stay. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV, bath or shower, minibar, terrace or balcony . Guest Services: - reception desk and information desk - limousine - laundry - internet cafe - professional animation team - kids club - supermarket - shop - two freshwater swimming pools (one heated in winter) - two children's pools - tennis courts - squash courts. - an international diving center - windsurfing and kite surfing - riding (for beginners - with instructor) For children: - playground; - children's club. Restaurant and bars: Restaurant Manta: buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. beach bar and restaurant The dolphin: pizza, pasta and salad at lunchtime. Restaurant Mermaid: a wide range of seafood dishes, both international and local, deluxe sea view and a fantastic view of the sky. Stylish pub Bogart's pub & Disco: excellent place to have fun for a pleasant drink. A bar Panorama, bar Divers, a poolside bar Shamousa, a poolside bar, and Lotus Oriental Cafe. Beach: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Magawish Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magawish Swiss Hotel Hurghada
Magawish Swiss Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing