We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has all u need”
Review of Golden Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Rose Hotel
Ranked #153 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was great to stay in golden rose. You are only 200 yards from the beach. 300 yards from shopping area and 10 minutes from airport. Very friendly people just ask and you will get help. Nice roof restaurant and bar very good room and large compare to other hotels. Will visit again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank Hamad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is quite average for Egypt, and a 1 star hotel compared to what you'd find in Europe or elsewhere in the world. Just watch out for the hidden charges, taxes, etc that boost the advertised price by upwards of 30%.

Also, there is no view of the sea, unless you're on the roof of the building. The neighbouring properties have put in large trees that obscure the view.

Customer service is also lacking, but that's typical for Egypt.

Room Tip: You must be insistent that you want a room with a view if you're paying for it, or booked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JasonT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very spacious, with in room built-bar, very clean, very nice staff

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Owing to some renovations the hotel sign had been taken down and I had trouble finding it: it's on a side street off Al Arosa sq: look for the Gad on the main street and head towards the sea. When i was there (3 days in Oct/11) there was nothing else on the street but a bellydancing joint and the sides or backs of some other building, although it's being developed for small market shops at the top, which also makes the finding not easy since you get the feeling you are completely wrong and should turn back just before you actually arrive.

The hotel doesn't have its own beach, but has an arrangement with Papa's beach club (5 min walk) to use theirs for free. I would NOT do that, but go to the closer private beach which is 10LE entry but reasonable prices inside so you will easily make your 10LE back on the first drink you buy. Walk south a bit on the main street and you can use the Moon Valley for only 5 LE, they even have a little beach volleyball court for your use.

The beach is for sale in Egypt, and so the private beach thing is a real problem in my mind but it's unfortunately the way of life in Hurgahada: no matter which hotel you stay at, you will have free access ONLY to their beach, or the beach of an associated nearby hotel, and access to any other will require payment. You CANNOT walk down the beach at sunset, you can just pace back and forth on the piece of it that is owned by that private hotel or beach club. A very wide range of prices (I saw prices from 5 - 30LE for entry, plus never bringing food or drink from outside so a similar variation on food and drink service inside) and none of these beaches I would have thought to ever pay to sit on). Again, this is a problem in all Hurghada not just the GR but it's important to know.

Back to the GR, i found the service very good, and mostly polite and friendly. My single room was amazingly spacious, having a minibar arrangement with sink and all in the corner of the room. Room was clean, had AC and TV (didn't watch it) hot water (which wasn't working briefly one night when I came home at 4am) and a tropical style stand up shower that sprays all over the room the first time you use one but who cares, it's the desert. I arrived a bit late after the restaurant had closed (9pm) and, since I had been lost for a bit and was tired, they sent one of the guys to grab a bite and fetch it back for me, personal delivery style. I thought that was pretty awesome.

The wireless intyernet is free in the lobby, typically unimpressive Egyptian quality, and there was also a bar/resto there charging reasonable local prices which is always very convenient. If you want a genuine Egyptian quick bite, go to the GAD I mentioned at the top of the street; 2 falafel pitas for 3LE. No kidding. Breakfast at the hotel was served until 10AM, which is a bit early for me, but I made it once and it was typical Egyptian breakfast fare. I also had a shish taook at the hotel for lunch one day and it was pretty good.

I would recommend this happily at the budget price, with the only drawback really being the very short walk to the next door 10LE cost beach (10 LE ~ USD$1.66) or longer walk to Papa's where you get in free with your hotel key, so factor that in. But as i say that will be a very common problem in Hurghada.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TorontoGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was the idea place for our fist stop in Egypt. Friendly and helpful staff, good central location and clean comfortable rooms.

Hopefully, once the tourists start returning to Egypt, this place will gain a bit more life and the lovely roof terrace will be back in action.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I was having a diving trip last weekend with my family and it was shortly planned, the hotel was used only for sleeping at night as during the day we were in the middle of the sea so we stayed there. Rooms are big however not much furnished and not very clean.
Place is near the Hurghada main street which is very good, around the hotel is not clean but acceptable. Breakfast is good but with no varieties, and staff are very nice and willing to support so much. I do recommend that you take your own soap, towels and hygiene staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shady_Hagag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had some contradictory feelings while we stayed in Golden Rose. We think it is easiest to start from the negative feedback.

When we arrived they informed us that we have to pay 100 USD extra even we had booking recipient which said that there shouldn’t be extra costs. This extra cost was Christmas and New Year’s Eve dinner which was mandatory to every customer. We paid it but we think it really shouldn’t be customer’s problem if hotel can’t keep their prices updated in online services.

They said that they accept credit cards and they even had Visa and MasterCard stickers in their front door. Well, they didn’t accept and that made even more extra costs for us because we had to withdraw the money from ATM. Almost every time we used Egyptian pounds they didn’t have proper change. Bigger amounts were in US dollars and if we paid using Egyptian pounds the exchange rate was poor - more extra costs.

They say they have mini-bar in room but it was empty. We never got free drinks they promised and it was not allowed to take any food or drinks to room from outside – they don’t tell this on web page. They stated that it is not allowed because they have everything we need. They didn’t. Actually the range of drinks and food was quite poor and expensive.

Promised Internet access in lobby was extremely slow and many times it didn’t work at all. It is OK for checking emails but that is pretty much it. We decided to take own prepaid SIM and it was faster than the connection in lobby. Sound insulation in room was poor. Most of the time it was quiet but there were some nights when people were yelling in lobby and staff didn’t do anything about it.

Like I said it wasn’t all negative. Rooms are huge and the price is one of the cheapest. Cleaning service worked and the staff was helpful and happy though some of them weren’t so customer-oriented – maybe because of the language barrier? Female travelers can expect to get special attention from male workers. Just ignore those slimy (but polite) gestures, they’ll leave you alone.

Breakfast was good enough: pancakes (!), eggs, yogurt, bread, coffee etc. They even made extra breakfast for us when we went to diving safari at 5 AM – and we didn’t ask for it. Christmas and New Years Eve dinner was very good and well organized.

The location is perfect. It is only 200-300 meters from the beach and Sheraton Road but it is still quiet. There are many good restaurants and travel agencies just few blocks away. Yard next to hotel is dirty and there are many construction yards around but we think that is the case with every hotel next to Sheraton.

All in all Golden Rose is decent little budget hotel if all you need is a place to sleep and rest. There are some annoying little glitches but if you can handle them the place is just fine. Just prepare yourself to pay some hidden surprise costs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3 mi away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#174 of 222 in Hurghada
816 reviews
2.9 mi away
Empire Inn
Empire Inn
#191 of 222 in Hurghada
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#104 of 222 in Hurghada
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Luxor Hotel Hurghada
Luxor Hotel Hurghada
#131 of 222 in Hurghada
36 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,653 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Star Beach Resort
Royal Star Beach Resort
#76 of 222 in Hurghada
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rose Hotel

Address: Sheraton Road, Hurghada 61111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Price Range: £14 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Golden Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing