We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good dimsum”
Review of Royal Seafood

Royal Seafood
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Avenel
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good dimsum”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The best dimsum place around Edison - not that there's that many. Crowded on Sundays, so get there before 11AM or after 2PM if you dont want the wait. But much less crowded compared to NYC Chinatowns.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank waikong c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gimmie sum Dim Sum!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place a few years back used to be called Route 1 and 9 Seafood restaurant. At that time it was probably the best dimsum place in the neighborhood. On the weekends, there would be a line outside before it even opened on weekends.

Now back to present time November 2013. The place is now called Royal seafood restaurant. First impressions: ambiance is the same as before. Service is not bad, but you have to be patient since food servers not fluent in english. Food: Generally good and delicious:

siomai: very good
Steam vegetable(chinese broccoli?): well cooked, cripsy but not raw
sticky rise: fail, it seemed lacking in flavor and I prefer it served in leaf wrapping as opposed to glass bowl.
Douhua?/(taho in the philippines) a soybean based silky smooth dessert with caramel on top is pretty good but I would prefer they put tapioca beads on it like other Chinese restaurants.
steam buns (siopao) I did not like.
NEW FIND: I don't know what its called, a dessert of black bean wrapped in rice layer and covered in peanut crumbles never had it before but it tasted good.

Generally speaking it was a pleasant experience and I would go again. But I would suggest a lot of time to be there so you can see all the food being paraded around before getting full

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toyomansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“i hate this place the waiter the manager and all of the staff are soo rude as if,if you dont speak the language or your not chin”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

they are racist all of my order is not available thats what the waiter said but later a group of chinese people order the food that i was looking for they serve it but they just told me its not available!!! soo rude!! and they wanted me to give them a 15% tip?? well i dont mind giving them a tip if im satisfied and happy with the service i just dont understand why it should be compulsary!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetsexylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best dimsum in NJ area”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I love dims um, and have had the best in San Francisco and NY, however for NJ this place is quite good. The noodles, shrimp, eggplant and chinese greens are good, so are the shrimp dumplings.
The cheong fun is a little bland, have had better ones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tashak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dim Sum is on a par with top rated restaurants in NYC & SF!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We try to make a mini-family reunion every couple of months at Royal Seafood. What can I say? My personal favorite is the Clams in Black Bean and Oyster Sauce! The Eggplant is the best we've had anywhere. The weekends (especially Sunday) get quite busy, but James and his staff handle the hungry crowds with grace and finess. He (James) has come to know our family and makes a point of greeting us by name whenever we appear.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Seafood also viewed

 
Parsippany, Morris County
 

Been to Royal Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing