We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three star at best!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makadi Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunwing Family Star Makadi
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Three star at best!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My family and I stayed here for a week over Christmas this year. The resort looks spectacular, the pools and palm trees and well maintained buildings. It is very well maintained, on the outside. However, when it comes to the rooms things are definitely lacking attention. The hallway and bathroom of our room had plaster work peeling and a very strong and constatnt odour. The metal holders for soap,etc. in the bathrooms were rusted. Worst of all, staying there for a week, the beds felt like sleeping on the pavement. Beneath the sheets (which I would accept were clean) the matesses were clearly several years old and very dirty.

Apart from that, as I metioned the resort is spectacular. Stay away from the dodgy taxi service they promote in the lobby and the shops on site where everything is fake or very bad quality. Overall this is a three star resort disguised in brochures with a four or five star looking pool complex.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

A lot of people rose their eyebrows when i said a was about to spend my Christmas in Egypt by my self. But it would be my third time in Egypt, so I felt confident and was looking forward to go. My main purpose of the trip was to relax and catch up on some books and of course lay on the beach and get some SUN!!
I was there 7 days, and it was wonderful. I love the buildings, in lovely colors and the atmosphere they gave. Rooms were clean and spacious. I think I ate dinner at new restaurant everyday - a lot to choose from, and good food!!
The staff were friendly, and even though I was alone at the beach, I was not hassled by people trying to sell me stuff or give me massage. It was very pleasant and the perfect place to relax - but saying that; there were also plenty of options of things to do -- sports, snorkling, horse riding near by etc etc :)
I spent Christmas day by my self, but were taken very well care off by super friendly staff!!
I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kajajOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel ticket all the boxes and left little to be desired. The two floor, two bedroom, two bathroom apartment had plenty of room for myself and the three friends I travelled with. And the best part was the upstairs balcony/terrace where we would start our mornings with breakfast in the sun.

The staff were really friendly and always there to help. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from in the resort and it was exciting to try out a new one every day.

Evening entertainment was fun, I loved the atmosphere in the Piano bar. There were also plenty of daytime activities to choose from, although we spent most of the time sunbathing.
Will definitely be exploring more next time I visit this lovely resort. Fingers crossed it won't be too long till next time. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

My wife and I and our 3 teenage boys all enjoyed the resort and staying at the Family Star. The room was a good size and was comfortable. A few things did not work but were quickly and effectively repaired. We found our room to be very quiet and were very rested after our weeks holiday.

We enjoyed the large selection of facilities that the Makadi Place had (The Family Star is just one of the accommodation options of a large resort) The restaurants we tried were all good with plenty of choice. With 3 growing boys who can eat and drink their own body weight each day being all inclusive was excellent and worked out very good value. Especially at it was over 40 degrees and we all needed constant drinks.

We went at the start of the UK state school sunner holidays and sun beds were very hard to get. Because of the extreme heat and other things we did we only need sun beds on 3 days but special effort was needed to reserve them. (I am not sure if there is a definite link to the fact that the majority of guests were German!) The rep joked that the other guests got up at 3 am to reverve the sun beds. The first time we wanted them I went down at 7 am and got the last 3 beds in the resort (there are hundreds) when we wanted 5. The next time I went down at 5.15am and about a third of beds were already reserved (none were reserved the night before). This was the only thing which we would change as I like to get up later than 5 am on holiday. It was also anoying as poeple reserved the beds but found it too hot to use them so they were empty all day apart from the odd book/hat/tee shirt left on them.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJKDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.0 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#7 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.2 mi away
JAZ Makadi Saraya Palms
JAZ Makadi Saraya Palms
#1 of 51 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunwing Waterworld Makadi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Family Star Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Family Star Makadi

Property: Sunwing Family Star Makadi
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Family Star)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#24 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunwing Family Star Makadi 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for families, Sunwing Family Star offers suites sleeping up to 6 people, with a separate bedroom for the parents. This informal and relaxed hotel is in a peaceful location just a few minutes walk from the neighbouring Sunwing Waterworld Makadi Hotel where guests have access to all restaurants and facilities including the waterpark. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makadi Family Star Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing