We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Need I say more a lovely relaxing holiday. The Staff can not do enough for you, our room was like a suite with a great view looking onto the golf course towards the sea. Room was spotless, hugh bed, tea/coffee, large flat screen tv, mini bar soft drink included in all inclusive package. Our laundry was taken every day free of charge so no big pile of washing to do when home (what a bonus). Food excellent, great choice, presented well and if you needed any special requirements nothing was to much trouble. Plenty of sun beds so no need to get up early. Pool was lovely an warm so clean and no kids jumping in and out so quite and relaxing. Cocktails watching the sunset looking over the golf course is a lovely way to end the day highly recommended. What you waiting for get it booked and enjoy we did!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on fourth floor 6416 lovely views (sun in the morning)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    92
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
575
50
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

First, a quick mention about your visa. When you enter the arrivals hall, you are herded towards the Thomson desk, to buy a visa, don't!! You can buy them at the bank booths, immediately to your left, as you come through the doors. They are 15 US Dollars, about £10. These desks are empty, then you can walk straight through, without queuing.
Back to the hotel, as many have said, a beautiful hotel, sitting on a hill, overlooking the bay.
The rooms are large, clean and very we'll equipped. Toiletries are replaced as you use them.
The staff, led by the Manager,Emad Saleh are excellent. They always have a smile and couldn't be too helpful.
You go for dinner and the waiter has your drink waiting on your table. You go to the bar and they remember your drink.
The whole complex is spotless, with cleaning and groundwork ongoing, constantly.
As the hotel is away from the resort, you don't really have anywhere to go for a walk, so, if you don't golf, then sunbathing and relaxing is the only thing to do! You could, of course, go excursions, if you wanted.
We made one trip down to the beach area, which made us realise what an oasis of tranquility we were actually staying in.
You are charged for wi fi, but there are deals which give you free days and reduced rates, the longer you pay for.
The laundry service is a big plus. Have your stuff picked up one evening, and it's returned, washed, ironed and folded the next day, all for free.
The one down side is that smoking is allowed in the bar!! There is a small no smoking area, but no one told the smoke not to enter!! Some evenings when people were smoking cigars, the smell and taste were unbearable.
The vast majority of people were not smokers, so in view of the fact that most European countries have stopped smoking in enclosed public areas, I think Mr Saleh should follow their example, and have smokers do it outside.
Overall though we had a great time.

Room Tip: I would ask for the 5th or 6th floor, as they have the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Makadi Bay. The hotel was lovely we had a room with a view of the golf course which caught the afternoon sun. The Manager and his whole team could not do enough for you and the place was spotless. We are looking forward to a return visit next year. My husband enjoyed the golf it was a testing course.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

When I say a Dream Holiday if thats all you want from a holiday Golf/and to relax after your golf then this is the place to come.Yes there are trips and a beach but we decided to stay around the hotel.Staff and Management were very helpful (NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE)our room was 6401 facing the Golf Couse I would say rooms from 6401/6501/6601 are the best!!!! higher the better view,s. Went to Hurgarda town for a few hours in the evening with a few friends we met at the hotel John and Jackie and another couple Carl and Earl we all decided it was not for us.Yes We would go back I do hope that the Hotel dose not change and I thought that the Manager is very caring and attentive,even to his staff.I do not have ONE BAD WORD TO SAY ABOUT THE HOTEL.Just some of the things I thought was nice--- Door Bell around 6-30 pm a young man with chocolates on a plate, cold wet towles around the pool , curtesey calls to see if every things OK1!! and on leaving two small gifts,and Manger saying waving goodby.I have never seen this at any of the holidays I have been too.

Room Tip: 6401/6501/6601 have better views of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic break...we didn't go for golf but had a wonderful relaxing time. The hotel was fantastic, our room was large and very comfortable. The whole place was spotless and the staff were the most attentive we have ever come across nothing was too much trouble. The Manager and his whole team were fantastic. It's v quiet at night but that's what we wanted we will be booking again. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was the perfect spot to play golf and enjoy winter sun. The staff are unbelievably attentive and caring. We could not have wished for more. We like small quiet hotels so this suited us very well. Lots more life nearby if you want it and a shuttle is provided. Rooms spacious and clean. The laundry service was wonderful. Occasionally the food might have been better, but you can always rely on the hot tasty soups. The golf course is a true test and the Golf Professionals show an interest as well. Altogether a great holiday and we will return again.

Room Tip: If you want sun in the morning then look over the garden, in the afternoon then look over the golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We wanted a week of doing nothing but relaxing and that is what we got, didn't go for the golf. The hotel has a lovely pool and pool bar during the day, very nice restuarant for breakfast and evening meal and comfortable lounge to enjoy a coffee and brandy at end of the day. Our room 6112 was great with a big comfortable bed however we did find the pillows a bit strange, just like large marshallows. Our room cleaner decorated our bed every day with towel animals and flowers which was a nice touch, even more so as it was my husbands birthday while we were there. The hotel arranged for a birthday cake for him at dinner the night in question and a note from the manager and staff in the room wishing him a happy birthday. Food was very good and plentiful and a nice qualilty of wine.

All in all a very enjoyable week but we should have booked 2 weeks and then we would have missed all this snow here!

Room Tip: if you want a good view need a high room, if you want a short walk to the pool pick our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
2.8 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
6.5 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Address: Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing