We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey hotel for golfers or non-golfers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Excellent hotel for golfers and non-golfers alike - I can add very little to this review that has not already been said in other reviews:

• Superb service
• Lovely spacious, clean, modern rooms with a huge bathroom/dressing area
• Marvellous food
• Very peaceful

This was our 9th visit to Egypt - when we visit again it WILL be to the Zaz Makadi

The only slight niggles were:

• Not enough sun beds for all the guests if the hotel is busy and not enough mattresses for the sun beds that are available - something the management could try to address.

• The beach is not worth visiting

• Very little entertainment of an evening.

Having said that, we only had problems getting a sun bed and mattress a couple of times and the staff always tried to rectify by finding more sun beds (but without a mattress or parasol).

The beach is out of the hotel's control and the hotel pool area is so nice you don’t need to visit the beach

Personally we don’t require entertainment every night and the six nights (of 14) that there was entertainment were very enjoyable.

We are both golfers and thought the course was very good but even for non-golfers a walk around the cart track would be very pleasant.

Room Tip: As high as possible overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Not sure where to begin.
We wanted somewhere lovely and warm to recharge our batteries and we couldn't have wished for anywhere nicer.
The hotel lives up to the fabulous reviews on here, but the service and the general ambience of the place is just wonderful and second to none. From walking through the door, all of the staff (from management to pool guy) cant do enough for you, and their manners are impeccable!
The food was delicious, the room was very spacious and furnished to a very high standard (loved the rain drench shower and the extra comfy bed with marshmellow pillows), the pool area spotless and, to top it off, fabulous mouthwatering cocktails!!
Now if you want lots of entertainment at night, then this isnt the place for you as its very quiet, however, there is a singer once a week and there's the managers cocktail party too. We were more than happy to play cards, people watch, explore the entire cocktail list and simply put the world to right.

Cant recommend enough :)

Room Tip: We asked for a high room overlooking the golf course....which we got (6602). Perfect to watch the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mshelsbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went on the "all inclusive" and quite frankly I do not know how they do it at the price!
The food and drinks are of excellent quality. The staff are well trained, friendly and very obliging.
The management team are visible (not usually the case in hotels). The rooms are
clean, modern and spacious as are the public areas. Even the efficient laundry service is free.
Good pool and pool area with the bonus of no children.
We had a great time and credit is due to the manager and his staff.
We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Golf course view rooms are the best but all are identical in size etc. except those by the pool whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Jaz Makadi Bayview hotel is a smal boutique hotel where you can find full service.
The rooms are big with a full equiped bathroom.
The staff is doing anything they can to serve you and make your holiday perfect!
Congratulitions to Mr Saleh en his whole staff!
Kindr regards of "Lutvi" en Tania, we would like to go back in november!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loetvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed, the room felt up to European standards of excellence and everything that was complimentary just helped you feel more special, went down to the beach though really wasn't our cup of tea as felt crowded but that was because the hotel felt the opposite. The staff prided themselves on remembering your drinks and could not do enough for you. There were always room at the pool though there was still a hint of the usual towels on the beds yet no one to be seen. Mohamed who drove the shuttle helps find your way to pharmacies shops etc ...only fault was broadband only being available at the foyer, though was told they are trying to sort it out. Overall the best hotel we had stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentSlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It was such a lovely experience to spend few days at the jazz golf hotel ,, the first thing i felt good about was the always smiling staff ,, no one presents you with a service except giving it with a big hearty smile ,, i read about it in other reviews , and it is REALLY TRUE. the second most appealing thing for me was the fact that the hotel is away from other hotels and resorts in makadi city , this made it much more conclusive and i loved that ,, and it is just few min, away from the other places or the beach or the market thanks to the hourly provided service of shuttle carts which is powered by electricity ,, a concept i valued MUCH along with most other means the hotel provide to save the environment. i loved that as well.
rooms are spacious with sitting area , tv , refrigerator , tea and coffee supply to make any time . cleanliness is obvious everywhere and the place is well maintained in all aspects
plenty of staff to help and plenty to food and drinks to choose from and with a good quality.
the hotel also offer a gym center with breath taking view, sauna and jacuzzi. and on request massage services.
i would like to thank all the people working there and in particular Reda and Tamer working in the dinning room and ahmad for all the help and the kindness they showed to us and to all the guests.
i dont usually say this ,, but whatever you read as a positive feed back regarding the"" Jaz Makadi Golf Hotel "" IT IS ALL TRUE. it is a place worth to spend time in.
p,s,
am no golfer , but that didnt mean i didnt enjoy the place or that if you are not a golfer you wont have a good time ,, it is a great field to even walk or run along.
p.s.s.
stary nights are awesome ,, dont miss it to stay out on the grass and look at the sky ,, it is really worth it

Room Tip: room with sea view are great to wake up on the morning , but also the golf field view is so lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaya119977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Good overall experience with just a few minor niggles. The beach is awful, it's like sardines, rammed packed with no privacy, loud Russians and it reminded us of Benidorm on a bad day and the sea is not like other areas of Egypt we have visited. Luckily the hotel pool made up for it and to be honest there was no need to visit the beach. Did get a bit cross that people were getting up at 6am and placing towels on the sunbeds but not actually appearing until mid morning to sunbath. Service is excellent, place is immaculate, room large and good choice of food. If you want a holiday to relax, sun bath and not much else then this is a great choice. We did a couple of trips, VIP cruise and ultimate desert safari, but both not up to much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurse1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
2.8 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
1.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#3 of 222 in Hurghada
1,406 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Address: Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £62 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Steigenberger Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing