We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Makadi
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort(Makadi Bay)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Makadina(Makadi Bay)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberotel Makadi Beach(Makadi Bay)
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,095)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
912
145
25
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
145
25
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf hotelchef georgegolf viewthe pool bar restaurantthe hotel manager mrsmall hotelquiet locationmohamed elgolf buggydressing roomcold towelsrelaxing holidaythe general managerbreakfast and evening mealother hotelsspecial thankshuge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Although there wasn't many guests at this hotel, we had a great time and met with some lovely people. Our room was one of the largest and cleanest we have ever stayed in! The hotel and golf course staff were great and nothing was too much of a problem.
If you require to visit the main resort or the beach you can get free transport or walk if you feel energetic.
As for the golf, the course was challenging, especially the slow greens but with temperatures of 31oC and great company it very enjoyable!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our first time to this hotel, but I wouldn't hesitate to return - the staff were excellent, always there to see to your every need, but they did it so well you hardly noticed them. The hotel only had a few guests but we enjoyed this as we were looking for a quiet break, the small number of guests did not make the standard of food or service any less.

We loved the position of the hotel away from other hotels, you could go down to the beach and other hotels, but we preferred the hotel so didn't venture down to Makadi Bay.

If you are looking for a good quality hotel away from it all go here it's a wonderful away from it all rest - an excellent restful break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

have just returned from this little gem of a hotel it certainly deserves all the great reviews could not fault anything.Mike in the pool bar we miss you already! what a great bloke, knows just how to look after you. Shame the hotel is so quiet only 8 guests at one time rising to thirteen when we left! would definatly return here

Room Tip: for grat views stay on higher floors
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank google88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Makadi Bay and Golf Hotel. As on our first visit we were so impressed with the courtesy and friendless of all the staff. We have never stayed in a hotel as clean and so comfortable as this one. You don't need to be a Golfer or a fitness fanatic to enjoy a stay at this hotel, just lazing by the pool was enough for us. The political situation in Egypt meant that the hotel was very quiet but last year with more guests staying there was still so much attention given to everything which made it a completely relaxing holiday. Hopefully the brave Brits will continue to stay there during the political unrest in the major cities which did not affect our holiday at all. I hope that this hotel will continue to be supported by First Choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 510Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned from the Jaz Makadi Golf Hotel and cannot express how wonderful the experience was and cannot recommend a trip there highly enough. We went with friends and had emailed ahead and asked for Golf Views which we were given and what a view it was. Although due to incidents in Cairo and Alexandria the hotel was virtually empty which is a great shame for all the wonderful staff, there was certainly no signs of any unrest in the Makadi Bay area. Michael at the pool bar was unbelievably attentive and would bring my husband and our friends drinks without being asked, Mohammed in the main restaurant was also a credit to customer service. The suites are beautiful but to be honest the normal rooms take a lot of beating.
Gamal the Golf pro was also great but we felt for him as there were hardly any golfers playing the course, I would question the rates at the course and any decent management company would put on special offers to get people on the course rather than have it empty, we played and it is a cracking course but I have played better courses both in the UK and Overseas for a lot less than 85 euros! I know that the cliental is predominantly German and they are probably happy to pay that green fee, but they are not travelling there at the moment as there government do not deem it safe so accommodate the visitors that you do have. After all you can play the Belfry for £80!!!!
That said it really was a fantastic 10 days and I was very very disappointed to learn that First Choice/Thomsons have dropped it from there brochure they now only offer a two centre deal that incorporates this marvellous hotel, shame on you.
I do hope that things pick up for the resort it really is a shame that such a lovely place and lovely people are suffering needlessly.
PS massages are great too and boat trip/dolphin swim was great value.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms get the sun in the morning and Golf views in the afternoon
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisastamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews