We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect chilled out holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect chilled out holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

we have just returned from the Steigenberger in Makadi Bay and it was the most relaxing holiday we have ever been on. We have stayed in lots of 5 star hotels but this was exceptional. We could not of stayed in a better place. The staff where fantastic and so helpful, nothing was to much trouble. Osama and Michael at the hotel bar and pool bar made a fuss of us every time we saw them. The food was fantastic (put a little to much weight on) lol. The rooms are very clean, Yahia always had a smile and was so helpful around the pool. We will definitley go back to the Steigenberger if not October then we will go next May.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    92
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
575
50
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent golf in a beautiful setting, the golf course is well maintained and you can see some wonderful birds and wildlife whilst enjoying a game. Each hole on the 18 hole course has six different tee positions so suitable for all golfing abilities and there is also a 9 hole course. Gamal the Head Pro and his team are very friendly and, although we didn't have lessons, we heard very good reports from people who did have tuition.

The other reviews on this hotel speak for themselves - if you want a 5 star, relaxing holiday with excellent service you cannot get better - this was our second visit and we will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: the higher floors have the best views of either the golf course or the sea. The golf course view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is just such a super little hotel, we keep returning and every time, we are welcomed back like family returning home.

The Team at the Makadi have got it just right, superb service with the personal touch. Every area of the hotel is so well looked after, from the restaurants, bar and golf course, to the gym and pool area.

Reda our waiter is a delight to be around, saving your table at breakfast and dinner and remembering your drinks. Michael, Osama and Baseen looking after you with such care and attention in hotel and pool bar and of course Yahia is so helpful round the pool looking after you - a great team and always so kind.

The chef and his team present fabulous food and are happy to explain all the different dishes. They take such great care over the presentation.

Makadi is probably the only hotel we have stayed in where they genuinely do take their customer service seriously and Jasmine the Client Representative comes down to the pool and has a chat with all of the guests, taking careful notes on any concerns or suggestions they might have and then, unlike other Client Reps, actually does something about them and comes back with feedback. We've never had any concerns but it's nice to see her to say hello.

The golf course is very well maintained and a good mix of long Par 5s and tricky Par 3s - the birds and wildlife you see when you are out there is incredible as well.

Of course a Team can only ever reflect it's management and Mr Saleh's genuine care of his team, his hotel and his clients are obvious and clearly the root of what makes Makadi such a very special little place.

We will be back there again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms are very highly specified - we prefer a golf view for the sunset and so we can see the las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WannabeCZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked the hotel for its nearby golf course. The idea was to prepare the upcoming golf season in Europe and with the help of the Golf pro Mohammed this was done in a very efficient way (remarkable coaching skills, so I was impressed by the pro!).
The hotel itself was fantastic: nice architecture, good food, very friendly staf. The swimming pool was an oasis for calm relaxation (less noice than the beach). The rooms were excellent and in our case with a terras overlooking hole 18.
At the end of the week when I played the 18 holes together with another golfer who I got to know during the week, I did better than my handicap which was amazing (thank you Mohammed).
I am already looking forwards to next year, in the same hotel, as a start of the next golf season.

Room Tip: Choose the golf course side if you are into golf. Views are better on higher floors (3-6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you want peace & quiet then this is your place, we just needed some sunshine & relaxation to recharge our batteries and that is what we got !! if your looking for a hotel with any nightlife then go elsewhere.
We arrived at Hurghada airport and as you go into the arrivals go to the left and get your visas from the banks, its a lot quicker and cheaper AND you don't have to queue. Our transfer company was Sun International (booked through Travel republic) we got to our hotel without any hitches and went to check in, where we were told that we was at the WRONG hotel, we were at The Steigenberger Golf at El Gouna !! the guys at the check in desk were lovely and rang the transfer company countless times to try and get us taken to the right hotel, after sitting there for over an hour ( we wasn't offered a drink or anything which we thought was a bit naff) the same guy that took us came to pick us up, he said "I'm not happy, I was at home", to which my reply was were in a foreign country at the wrong hotel which YOU brought us to, how do you think we feel ? we were then bundled into his car again & he went on the highway and drove at 160 kpm, to say I was pooping it was an understatement !! we eventually got to our hotel and I could have cried, the man on reception ( sorry I forget his name) was lovely, the drink on arrival and cool towel was very welcome, check in was quick & smooth and we were shown to our room, which was gorgeous, and our cases were brought about 5 mins later, and a knock at our door was one of the men from the restaurant bringing us a light meal as we arrived so late.

Restaurant Breakfast & Evening meals only
The meals are beautifully, cooked but there is not a lot of choice, but this is a small hotel. But we found something lovely to eat for every meal. The staff are very attentive and Alaa even had our table ready for us before we got there, everyone greets you with a smile.
Room
Our room was gorgeous, the bed was huge, and the bathroom was big as well. The balcony had a sea view and was lovely to sit out on in the evenings (except for the mossies). cleaners came in and cleaned everyday, and also in the evenings they came in a turned the bed sheets down for you. Fridge was filled everyday, soft drinks were free but the beers you had to pay for, which seemed a bit silly to me as they are the same beers you get at the bar on All Inc ! The only thing I can could find fault with was that there want enough plug sockets, for the things we needed to charge.
Pool
You are greeted with a huge smile from Yasim at the towel hut and that is how he is all day, polite, smiling, and nothing is too much trouble for him, he takes you to whichever sunbed you want, and we didn't find a shortage of them, lays your towels out for you then goes to get you a drink, now that's service !! the pool was lovely and cool but not too cold for the 34o weather, the gym and spa is also by the pool, the salespeople from the spa took no for an answer and left you alone, there is no entertainment by the pool, just music playing low in the background which was just right, there are sunloungers at the edge in the pool but I found them to be quite uncomfortable. The restaurant by the pool serves lunch and there is a nice choice and you can have something different everyday,serving everything from pizza to seafood.
Bar
Michael Ateef at the bar works tirelessly, and he is also a credit to the hotel such a lovely guy and always remembered what we drank and brought us nuts & crisps (although we did ask him for some chicken crisps), there is some entertainment in the bar from pianists to singers on different nights, we did hear the worst singer ever on our last night but it did provide us with a really good giggle, I don't know if she was being bad on purpose or not lol, we did meet some lovely people in the bar Les & his gorgeous wife and Colin & Carol, it was a pleasure to have met you all.

The hotel has a shuttle bus that goes to the beach every half an hour, but the beach to us seemed a little like playing sardines, we just enjoyed staying by the pool. There are also some shops in the area around the beach and you can also go to one of the restaurants there in the evening, just book it through reception.
On the whole this hotel gave us just what we wanted and that was to chill and enjoy a bit of sunshine, and it ticked all our boxes. we would not go again as we don't like to go to the same place twice but I would recommend it to anyone else. The staff are all lovely and greet you with a smile and a hello and they make this hotel what it is !!! the manager seems to always around and even gave us a lift to the beach when he saw us waiting for the shuttle, which was out of his way, but that is how this hotel is run, by just going that extra mile for the guests.
Thank you to all the staff and managers at The Steigenberger Makadi for a wonderful holiday x

Room Tip: When arriving at the airport, go to the left as you go into the arrivals, go to one of the banks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annjugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Firstly if you are looking for lots of life and entertainment this is not for you. If you want peace quiet and lots of attention stay here. Its only a small hotel and at the moment due to bad publicity for Egypt not very busy. The staff are always happy and very attentive your glass only has to be put down and another drink will be offered. The buffet restaurant is ok the food fine (no dodgy tummy) the selection is not that large but then thats probably because of the low occupancy try the dine arround you can use it once but makes a nice change to eat out.. The hotel is off the main beach and it can be walked in 15 mins but a shuttle runs regularly at no charge. Rooms clean and pleasant, pool warm and inviting with a lovely lunch served in the restaurant. Michael in the bar is always ready with a drink and game for a laugh ( we teased him regularly about chicken crisps if you go just mention them and im sure you will get a laugh).
The golf course looked lovely we dont play golf but it looked a good challenge. The spa is good Janet does a good massage haggle a bit you will get agood deal.
All in all a good hotel with fantastic staff nothing too much trouble can recomend for some R&R.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lofty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just returned from the Steigenberger Makadi hotel, what an amazing hotel!
It was so good I have literally made it my first job, to leave this review.
Firstly, our check list after having had an awful last holiday, was good accommodation, good location, good food, and most importantly, to relax.
Let me make it clear, this hotel ticked all those boxes! and much, much more.
This really is a 5 Star hotel, and experience, 5 star in our UK standards, not egypt standards, having seen some of the other so called 5 star resorts.
The location is lovely, situated on a Golf course, I must say we don't golf, but it looks amazing, and Gamal, the resident Pro golfer, was very polite, and professional, even though we didn't use his services, always chatting and smiling.
The beach is a shuttle bus away, this runs every hour, which is a nice touch.
We were shown to our room by Mohammed, the receptionist, nothing is too much trouble for him, he sorts out any issue in a flash, our toilet developed a leak during our stay, these things happen, it was tended to immediately, with an army of maintenance men, and our cleaner to remedy the situation.
The cleaner himself a pleasant, happy professional, sorry, didn't get his name.
The room itself is luxury, immaculate and clean, with plenty of space, amazing bathroom, great view, just perfect.
We then went for dinner, having experienced many all inclusive canteens, we found our self in a top class restaurant, the whole ambience of the place, was professional but welcoming, of special mention is Reda, he was one of the waiters, he had an infectious smile, passing the time of day without being intrusive, a genuine Star of the restaurant, as was Alaa, again, attentive, and happy in his work, never letting a glass go dry.
A little tip, gents, no shorts or muscle t-shirts in the evening, as I say, this is a restaurant, not a canteen, we loved this aspect, making it feel very classey.
The food is simply amazing, with lots of selection, and cooked to perfection, it was so good, we didn't even bother eating in one of the other restaurants our package allowed for, the chefs are the unsung heroes! again, nothing is too much trouble, and all of them masters of cookery, we ensured we thanked them every night, which they seem to love.
The pool was spotlessly clean, and Michael, and Yahia (massive smile) tended to our every need, the secret once again was there attentiveness without being intrusive, the staff are the Hotels success here.
And heaven-NO ANAMACION team! Just peace and quiet, with two great staff to see to your every need.
The food at the pool was as good as the restaurant, I can highly recommend the portofino pizza! literally the best tasting pizza I have ever had.
The gym is spotlessly clean, and has everything you need to burn some of those calories off.
In the evening, after our meal we would go to the cocktail bar, every night they had entertainment on, but again, nothing cheesey, just professional piano players, singers, it was so relaxing, and Michael, having a joke, and serving us amazing cocktails, with snacks all night, a real star.
I nearly forgot Jasmine the guest relations rep, she was so lovely, and genuine, again helping with everything she could, a real gem.
But all this could not be possible without the ships captain, MR Saleh, the general Manager, what a Lovely man, he had time for every guest, meeting us at the cocktail evening, and ensuring throughout the stay that every thing is just right for the guests, the staff all respect him, and he respects them, if only I worked for MR Saleh! Thank you.
The only sad thing of the whole holiday, was we were the only British guests, this did not bother us, as we met some lovely People from other countries, but clearly, the best hotel in hurghada, is not being sold by the UK tour operators, they are clearly missing a trick here, only 14 rooms were occupied during our stay, but testament to the hotel was everything was running as usual, no cutting corners.
So, if your reading this review, don't waste time looking at other hotels, BOOK STEIGENBERGER, you will not be disappointed.
We will definitely be going back. 100%
If your a tour operator reading this, get it on your books.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and boom an executive room with it's own relaxing pool, but all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bookfair1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
2.8 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
6.5 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Address: Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing