We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,036)
Filter reviews
3,036 results
Traveller rating
1,356
1,018
388
136
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
1,018
388
136
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barpiano divinglong jettymain restaurantfishanimation teamindian restaurantquiet poolwave poola la carte restaurantspastahorse ridinggreat holidaycoral reefsomething for everyonespa treatmentssoft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 3,036 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Our holiday began in style.. in the VIP airport lounge. I would definetly recommend this. We arrived in Hurghada about 16.30, and i was suprised just how warm it was. After travelling through the desert, we arrived at our hotel, and already started making friends with other fellow english guests!! There was no welcome drink on arrival, so i was a little disapointed.

We were shown to our room (facing the pool) and it was a little basic but still bery nice. There was a shower, but no bath. And to be honest i didnt 'miss' a bath for the rest of our 15 night stay!! The beds were extremley comfortable. And during my stay i requested a few more pillows. Reception were more than happy to help. We then headed down to the buffet area, which was literally a two minute walk. We were greeted by many friendly smiley staff. Lovely welcome. You may also be greeted by the hotels stray cats..and a few of them are friendly.

I wasnt overly impressed with the buffet area at first...the food i found was healthy, and there were lots of things i hadnt tried before. They do a different theme every night, and this makes it very enjoyable. Some nights there is a little bbq on entrance, and it was delicious.

Now i did get a slight funny tummy during my first week, but i get that everytime i go away. So i can pin point as to what causes it...but it didnt stop me from having a great time!!

The next day our holiday suddenly began. We met up with our new friends, and had such a good laugh. They have two swimp up bars, bout 5 pools...even though we didnt get chance to discover the entire hotel..but do so if you can!! It was big enough where we were!

The beach is a sand and shingle beach. PLEASE ignore the comments about this being a 'mud beach'. This is NOT a mud beach, it is made up of live coral. The hotel boasts its own house reef, and let me tell you. It is amazing. It was teaming with wildlife whilst we were there. The jetty walk takes a good few mins...but its nice. Half way across the jetty if your're not that adventurous, there are ladders which allow access into the sea, which is only waist deep. This part is coral free (most of it) and is lovely to swim in. Accessing the sea at the end of the jetty is like a huge aquarium. Stunning fish. We normally go to the caribbean this time of year, and the snorkelling here beats that. Very deep, but worth it. The coral reef itself is huge. You will usually find Ahmed here at the jetty, and he is more than happy to answer any questions. My partner envied his job, after all who wouldnt want to be in charge of looking after this beautiful reef!

If you are planning to go in the next couple of weeks...there may still be a few jelly fish around. Ahmen assured us these beauty's do not sting, as he proved when he let me hold one. So there you go!!

You will encounter some guys on the beach. They are extremley friendly, well mannered and simply understand if you are not interested. My partner and I, and our new friends were finally persuaded to go quad biking. What a truley exhilarating experience that was. They took us into the desert, visited a desolate beach, and took us up hills etc. It is all very safe, and they are such gentlemen, looking after you all the way. SO come on ladies...these bikes are'nt just for boys! A huge thankyou to Alli, for assisting me, and also teaching me a few tricks!! For about £20 each...it was worth it. Thomas Cook did advise us not to take part in such things....but we dont regret it.

I also took part in camel and horse riding. These were both great fun. Do make sure at some point during your stay that you greet Casanova the camel with a chocolate ice cream. He loves them!!

Back to the beach..you will find the beach bar which starts food around 12.30. Be sure to sample one of Fady's little pizza's, they go down a treat! A big thanks to him aswell. All the bar staff were excellent, always smilling and kept making me 'special cocktails everytime i visited the bar!

Back to the buffet. If you make your way down to the far end...near the 'kids' area...you should be greeted by 'Foud'. This man made every night of our stay very enjoyable. He got us a table, and had any drinks of our choice ready and waiting. As soon as they were empty...he would fetch another. Some nights he even put flowers on our table. Wonderful man. Tipping is accepted, and you will recieve fabulous service in return.

The entertainment i found was good fun. I took ended up taking part most night! The african dance theme was good. My goodness...those guys can move!! Also a huge thanks to Sasha, Karina, Darina and Jimmy for really making our holiday for us.

The drinks here are drinkable, i would strongly recommend the wine. Especially red. They also have a little cocktail bar, just outside the 'Mazeek' bar...and here you will not be disapointed ;-)

They had a beach party one night. It was probably the best night of my life. Especially with all the friends that we met. We had an absolutle scream. Music was fab. There is also a little nightclub on site, just to the left of the entrance of the hotel. We spent many nights in there! If you see 'Mina' he will be able to sort a group of people out, where you pay £8.00 each...and free bar till 3am. But we are on holiday to relax...this is just an option. Although most nights...we werent quite ready to go to sleep! The same applies at the beach party. Alternatively you can go to either for free, and pay for your drinks. They are quite cheap anyway. Do bear in mind that 'all inclusive' ends at 11pm, so just make sure you round them all in before hand!!

There is Sheesha tent on the beach, and is very relaxed and quite inside. And no...you dont have to be a smoker to experience this. It is simply steamed fruit if you like. Or, you could sit with your drink watching the entertainment, and they can bring one to your table, with your chosen flavours. Lovely. We enjoyed it so much...we bought a mini one and brought it home with us. My partner does not smoke...and enjoys this most nights.

There is a shop on site, and Maridonna was always happy to greet us. Do not be afraid to barter with there guys...its cool. They will help you with anything. Service was great.

If you want to try the restaurants...there is an additional charge...but they are so worth it. We went to the indian, it was absolutley out of this world. We both love our food, and know what we want! So you should check this out.

Also would like to say a huge thankyou to George the hotel manager who was always happy to talk to us, and assist us with anything we wanted. We already told him we might be back in August!!

Please feel free to ask me any questions, it would be a pleasure to answer.

Charmaine and Simon

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Giles_H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

First and foremost this will not be the best hotel you will ever experience in Egypt, however if you are looking for a bargain break and good standards of service & accommodation you should definitley think about this hotel.

The rooms - We were led to our room by one of the hotels porters who took took us to room 5106. This was on the 1st floor with both pool & sea view. This was fantastic, the only downside was the balcony felt very ''walled so you could not enjoy panoramic views of the resort & it didn't get much sun. We do normally like to sit on our balcony but we did not on this holiday, however this did not ruin the holiday.
We were allocated a room with two small double beds so we ended up sleeping in seperate beds as it just got too hot on a night.
The shower room was good, spacious and a very powerful waterfall shower, big sink area to keep toiletires etc. They did also provide there own toiletries aswell.
The room had a tv, which was replaced on the last day with a new flat screen.

Location - There is not much to say about the location as it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere, a long line of hotels line the Bay of Makadi. To get to the centre of Hurghada it takes about twenty minutes and the shuttle bus from the hotel is 7 euros per person and goes twice a day, either for a spot of afternoon shopping or for a laidback evening, stopping there for about 3 hours. If you preferred to taxi it, it was roughly 30 euros return.

Food & Drink - The food at the hotel was always varied and hot. To say that red sea resorts had struggled to get food imported during the troubles they always had a brilliant selection. They had a pasta station every night which was lovely. There was a theme every night, suprisingly I enjoyed the russian evening, which I was least looking forward to. They made really lovely meat tagines which good cuts of meat.
The beach bar was lovely for lunch and the beef koftas were fantastic. The chips could have done with being alot hotter though.
There are 3 a la carte restaraunts, indian, italian and sea food (saturdays only). I head mixed reviews, but the trend was that the service was very slowly. Some people waited upto 40 minutes to be served between courses. It was only 120 egyptian pounds (approx) to eat here with a 4 course meal.
The All inclusive for alcohol began at 10am till 11pm and they even had local cocktails included, our favourite was the pretty woman - raspberry juice, soda & vodka! Hossam the pool bar waitor was fantastic, as soon as we got to the sunbeds he had our fave drink made up. He was such a good sport! Was very sad to say bye!

Hotel grounds/things to do/entertainment - The hotel hosts an amazing lagoon like pool which makes its way all the way down to the beach. It was always clean and crystal clear! It was very well looked after. We spent most of our time in the pool bar in the heated pool.
The Animation team did things like water aerobics, water polo and volleyball which got people moving and off there bums, but they were never too forceful. If you wanted a quieter experience round the corner from the main pools (our room looked over it) was the chill out pool, no music, but a very cold pool.
Evening entertainment was good, but not amazing. Some things were slighlty innapropriate for young children but nothing too bad, as kids would not have got it anyway. I got roped into doing Miss Stella Makadi, hope I did the UK proud (haha!)
Cannot comment on the spa or kids facilities as we didn't partake in any of these facilities.
There is a really long jetty which goes out to the house reef, get yourself on it and look out for the fish. The hotel suffers from a lot of jelly fish but we were informed that they were not the stinging type.
The beach was lovely and flat, as you go round the coast it is up & down, up & down, but the sand is finer!

Trips - We did a boat trip & quad bike tour with the Dolphin House excursions at the the beach. We swam with wild dolphins which was just one of the most amazing experiences ever! Obviously the dolphins are not guarenteed but I came away a very happy girl! The quad bike tour was okay, wasn't anything to write home about but the team leader, Ali was very good when I was struggling with the quad.
You could do trips to luxor with Thomas cook reps which were £78pp for a day trip, I wish we had done this but we just did not have enough time to do it and relax at the same time.
You will get pestered on your first day, alot of them are nice and do leave you alone however some of them are very persistent. If you have never been to Egypt this is your time to barter the trips down, no set price and never take the figure they give you as red! Some are crafty! Fox, Zidan & Omda, especially, were lovely characters and would always just want a chat without trying to sell you something!

Overall - This holiday was a fantastic price for what it is, like the Sunrise Makadi, this was the other hotel that luckily had not suffered from the recent troubles as much as others, (some looked like ghost towns). The hotel was 60% full and was a nice amount. I cannot imagine what evening meals would be like if there were more russians/germans there pushing in!
Remember to take mozzy repellent, luckily we didn't suffer but others did, especially if you were on a lower ground room.
It does what it says on the tin, for a weeks relaxing it is perfect! We would not go back straight away as we like to try different places but would have no hesitations in going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebeccaeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Hotel is well laid out around a series of swimming pools, with a long pier leading directly to an excellent house reef. This had good snorkelling at all states of the tide.
The whole hotel was kept spotlessly clean by the very attentive staff.
There was a wide variety of generally well prepared food available at the buffet. The one exception to this was the fish, which generally apeared to be over-cooked.
The rooms were large, well appointed and immaculate. Ours were towards the seaward end of the complex, which I would recommend for anyone who, like me, does not appreciate loud music from the evening entertainment.
The complex's sandy beach, while ideal at high tide for the large numbers of kite surfers, was unsuitable for swimming (Too shallow at high tide, drying out at low tide). However the hotels on either side had excellent beaches which we used without any problems.
At the time of our visit the on-site dive school had not resumed full operation after the recent political problems, but their friendly staff arranged a good days diving from Hurghada, including transport, equipment, lunch and Nitrox.
In all an excellent relaxing holiday.
If you have ever considered visiting Egypt, now is the time to do it. There are some amazing bargains to be had, queues at the tourist sites virtually non existent, and the extremely friendly people are delighted to see you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fungasafariuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

well what can i say this hotel is amzing all the family loved it we thought oh no is this gonna be a crap hotel like some of the others in egypt. But when we got there the staff was very friendly the pools were very clean and thwe rooms!!!! were a fantastic size with great veiws the beds were comfy.The first full day were amazing me and my brother would not get out of the pool .we was both on a lilo sipping our cocktail whitch were asmazing and my mum and dad actually came into the pool!!!!!!!! Because there was a pool bar built into the pool we spent lots of time there having ice cold drinks.While the rest of the family did that i dicided to go snorcaling.There was a massive peir goin out to the coral reefs if your a fan of snorcaling i can garentee you will love this holiday i totally recomend it and me and the family will definatly go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwibamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We booked this hotel through Travelrepublic just as the uprising in Egypt was coming to and end & managed to get it at a great price. We needed a bit of winter sunshine so thought it would do the trick. We were not disappointed.
We had booked a private taxi transfer with a2b transfers & were met at the airport to be guided away from the visa queue. We were taken to a separate desk, paid the visa charge & had our passports stamped straightaway with no waiting. We were then taken to our taxi & driven to the Stella Makadi to start our holiday. What a great service!
On arriving we were greeted with smiles by Oksana & her team on reception. Very efficient quick check in. All staff very polite & helpful throughout our stay.
Our room was very spacious & nicely furnished. New plasma screen tv & mini bar. The beds are probably the most comfortable we have slept in when abroad. The bathroom was a good size with a walk in shower & nice vanity unit. Clean towels & bedding provided everyday & the room was kept spotlessly clean by our cleaner Medhat. What a great bloke! Lovely origami with the towels when we returned to our room at the end of the day.
Having never booked an all inclusive holiday before we were a bit concerned as to what food would be available. We are people who cook from scratch everyday & do not eat takeaways or convenience food but we needed have worried. The variety & quality of the food was fantastic & we ate something different every night. I do not eat red meat & have intolerances to wheat sugar & yeast but did not have any problems finding something I could eat. There is a notice in the restaurant advising that they can cater for food allergies so for anyone with a restriction it seems they are willing to accomodate. Food was always hot & we didnt have to wait for a table (hotel about 60% full). I do not understand any of the previous negative comments about the food. All the waiters were very courteous & attentive being prepared to seek out any food type you asked for not on display. Thanks to them all & headman Nady.
Beach was great with plenty of sunbeds some with wind barriers.Clean beach towels everyday & lovely smiles & banter from Aymun & the boys.
We didnt experience the evening entertainment as its not our cup of tea so I cant comment on that. We spent our evenings in the bar as it was a bit chilly outside.
We went on the Quad Safari from the beach & had a brilliant 2 hours in the desert. Lovely bunch of guys running the trip felt very safe in their hands.
Took a ride on Casanova the camel which was fun. Thanks to Tiger who looks after him.
All in all a great holiday & a credit to George the manager & his team of staff. Well done to everyone at the Stella. Would definitely consider a return visit.

Room Tip: take low denomination egyptian notes to tip with
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annettelee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews