We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We had a really great time and we came away fully relaxed, the staff could not do enough to help you and the quality of the hotel was excellent. I would truly recommend this to anyone who is looking for good weather nice people and the ability to totally relax or if you wanted to enjoy the entertainment. Please go and see for yourselves…

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view even though the gardens a greao
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickb163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 2,925 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

first and foremost the staff here are wonderful, a special mention to Ramon bar manager, Gaber recreation manager and Mina beach bar who cannot do enough for you THANKYOU. The pools and gardens are great beautiful and clean, the beach area is lovely with a nice jetty to get you to the coral reef and a nice cooling walk. Our room was very spacious very clean with great movies 24/7 fresh water daily in mini bar. access to tea/coffee making facilities all day which was really great make it yourself just how you like it, and mugs too not tiny little cups. The evening entertainment was good something different every night. The food was good, if you dont fancy the buffet there was fresh pasta and pizza every night, the beach bar did lovely snacks during the day again something different every day with chips of course . Been to egypt lots of times only hotel ever where no one got the trots got to be a good sign. Only gripe if I have to have one was the indian and italian restaurants onsite you had to pay for with no discount even. All in all a great holiday you wont be dissapointed just go there.

Room Tip: the white wine is awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1archie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Very nice hotel, good value for money. All the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We were very well looked after. Variety and quality of the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I made a late booking to stay at this hotel for a week, and I found that, in every department, it was excellent; even to the point that it completely surpassed my expextations. I am planning to return again for the Christmas & New Year break.

Room Tip: Ask for either a sea view or pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gerrysavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Stella Makadi, Makadi Bay, Egypt. Once again we were very pleased, the Hotel, the food and the staff are all excellent. It is a shame that recent events have put tourist off but really there are no problems and especially on the Red Sea resorts. Also speaking to those who had previously been on the Nile Cruise there is no problems in the citys either. In fact no is the time to go as the place is empty with no crowds at all.
If you are worried about a holiday in Egypt - don't be, its fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverlineManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Our holiday began in style.. in the VIP airport lounge. I would definetly recommend this. We arrived in Hurghada about 16.30, and i was suprised just how warm it was. After travelling through the desert, we arrived at our hotel, and already started making friends with other fellow english guests!! There was no welcome drink on arrival, so i was a little disapointed.

We were shown to our room (facing the pool) and it was a little basic but still bery nice. There was a shower, but no bath. And to be honest i didnt 'miss' a bath for the rest of our 15 night stay!! The beds were extremley comfortable. And during my stay i requested a few more pillows. Reception were more than happy to help. We then headed down to the buffet area, which was literally a two minute walk. We were greeted by many friendly smiley staff. Lovely welcome. You may also be greeted by the hotels stray cats..and a few of them are friendly.

I wasnt overly impressed with the buffet area at first...the food i found was healthy, and there were lots of things i hadnt tried before. They do a different theme every night, and this makes it very enjoyable. Some nights there is a little bbq on entrance, and it was delicious.

Now i did get a slight funny tummy during my first week, but i get that everytime i go away. So i can pin point as to what causes it...but it didnt stop me from having a great time!!

The next day our holiday suddenly began. We met up with our new friends, and had such a good laugh. They have two swimp up bars, bout 5 pools...even though we didnt get chance to discover the entire hotel..but do so if you can!! It was big enough where we were!

The beach is a sand and shingle beach. PLEASE ignore the comments about this being a 'mud beach'. This is NOT a mud beach, it is made up of live coral. The hotel boasts its own house reef, and let me tell you. It is amazing. It was teaming with wildlife whilst we were there. The jetty walk takes a good few mins...but its nice. Half way across the jetty if your're not that adventurous, there are ladders which allow access into the sea, which is only waist deep. This part is coral free (most of it) and is lovely to swim in. Accessing the sea at the end of the jetty is like a huge aquarium. Stunning fish. We normally go to the caribbean this time of year, and the snorkelling here beats that. Very deep, but worth it. The coral reef itself is huge. You will usually find Ahmed here at the jetty, and he is more than happy to answer any questions. My partner envied his job, after all who wouldnt want to be in charge of looking after this beautiful reef!

If you are planning to go in the next couple of weeks...there may still be a few jelly fish around. Ahmen assured us these beauty's do not sting, as he proved when he let me hold one. So there you go!!

You will encounter some guys on the beach. They are extremley friendly, well mannered and simply understand if you are not interested. My partner and I, and our new friends were finally persuaded to go quad biking. What a truley exhilarating experience that was. They took us into the desert, visited a desolate beach, and took us up hills etc. It is all very safe, and they are such gentlemen, looking after you all the way. SO come on ladies...these bikes are'nt just for boys! A huge thankyou to Alli, for assisting me, and also teaching me a few tricks!! For about £20 each...it was worth it. Thomas Cook did advise us not to take part in such things....but we dont regret it.

I also took part in camel and horse riding. These were both great fun. Do make sure at some point during your stay that you greet Casanova the camel with a chocolate ice cream. He loves them!!

Back to the beach..you will find the beach bar which starts food around 12.30. Be sure to sample one of Fady's little pizza's, they go down a treat! A big thanks to him aswell. All the bar staff were excellent, always smilling and kept making me 'special cocktails everytime i visited the bar!

Back to the buffet. If you make your way down to the far end...near the 'kids' area...you should be greeted by 'Foud'. This man made every night of our stay very enjoyable. He got us a table, and had any drinks of our choice ready and waiting. As soon as they were empty...he would fetch another. Some nights he even put flowers on our table. Wonderful man. Tipping is accepted, and you will recieve fabulous service in return.

The entertainment i found was good fun. I took ended up taking part most night! The african dance theme was good. My goodness...those guys can move!! Also a huge thanks to Sasha, Karina, Darina and Jimmy for really making our holiday for us.

The drinks here are drinkable, i would strongly recommend the wine. Especially red. They also have a little cocktail bar, just outside the 'Mazeek' bar...and here you will not be disapointed ;-)

They had a beach party one night. It was probably the best night of my life. Especially with all the friends that we met. We had an absolutle scream. Music was fab. There is also a little nightclub on site, just to the left of the entrance of the hotel. We spent many nights in there! If you see 'Mina' he will be able to sort a group of people out, where you pay £8.00 each...and free bar till 3am. But we are on holiday to relax...this is just an option. Although most nights...we werent quite ready to go to sleep! The same applies at the beach party. Alternatively you can go to either for free, and pay for your drinks. They are quite cheap anyway. Do bear in mind that 'all inclusive' ends at 11pm, so just make sure you round them all in before hand!!

There is Sheesha tent on the beach, and is very relaxed and quite inside. And no...you dont have to be a smoker to experience this. It is simply steamed fruit if you like. Or, you could sit with your drink watching the entertainment, and they can bring one to your table, with your chosen flavours. Lovely. We enjoyed it so much...we bought a mini one and brought it home with us. My partner does not smoke...and enjoys this most nights.

There is a shop on site, and Maridonna was always happy to greet us. Do not be afraid to barter with there guys...its cool. They will help you with anything. Service was great.

If you want to try the restaurants...there is an additional charge...but they are so worth it. We went to the indian, it was absolutley out of this world. We both love our food, and know what we want! So you should check this out.

Also would like to say a huge thankyou to George the hotel manager who was always happy to talk to us, and assist us with anything we wanted. We already told him we might be back in August!!

Please feel free to ask me any questions, it would be a pleasure to answer.

Charmaine and Simon

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Giles_H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

First and foremost this will not be the best hotel you will ever experience in Egypt, however if you are looking for a bargain break and good standards of service & accommodation you should definitley think about this hotel.

The rooms - We were led to our room by one of the hotels porters who took took us to room 5106. This was on the 1st floor with both pool & sea view. This was fantastic, the only downside was the balcony felt very ''walled so you could not enjoy panoramic views of the resort & it didn't get much sun. We do normally like to sit on our balcony but we did not on this holiday, however this did not ruin the holiday.
We were allocated a room with two small double beds so we ended up sleeping in seperate beds as it just got too hot on a night.
The shower room was good, spacious and a very powerful waterfall shower, big sink area to keep toiletires etc. They did also provide there own toiletries aswell.
The room had a tv, which was replaced on the last day with a new flat screen.

Location - There is not much to say about the location as it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere, a long line of hotels line the Bay of Makadi. To get to the centre of Hurghada it takes about twenty minutes and the shuttle bus from the hotel is 7 euros per person and goes twice a day, either for a spot of afternoon shopping or for a laidback evening, stopping there for about 3 hours. If you preferred to taxi it, it was roughly 30 euros return.

Food & Drink - The food at the hotel was always varied and hot. To say that red sea resorts had struggled to get food imported during the troubles they always had a brilliant selection. They had a pasta station every night which was lovely. There was a theme every night, suprisingly I enjoyed the russian evening, which I was least looking forward to. They made really lovely meat tagines which good cuts of meat.
The beach bar was lovely for lunch and the beef koftas were fantastic. The chips could have done with being alot hotter though.
There are 3 a la carte restaraunts, indian, italian and sea food (saturdays only). I head mixed reviews, but the trend was that the service was very slowly. Some people waited upto 40 minutes to be served between courses. It was only 120 egyptian pounds (approx) to eat here with a 4 course meal.
The All inclusive for alcohol began at 10am till 11pm and they even had local cocktails included, our favourite was the pretty woman - raspberry juice, soda & vodka! Hossam the pool bar waitor was fantastic, as soon as we got to the sunbeds he had our fave drink made up. He was such a good sport! Was very sad to say bye!

Hotel grounds/things to do/entertainment - The hotel hosts an amazing lagoon like pool which makes its way all the way down to the beach. It was always clean and crystal clear! It was very well looked after. We spent most of our time in the pool bar in the heated pool.
The Animation team did things like water aerobics, water polo and volleyball which got people moving and off there bums, but they were never too forceful. If you wanted a quieter experience round the corner from the main pools (our room looked over it) was the chill out pool, no music, but a very cold pool.
Evening entertainment was good, but not amazing. Some things were slighlty innapropriate for young children but nothing too bad, as kids would not have got it anyway. I got roped into doing Miss Stella Makadi, hope I did the UK proud (haha!)
Cannot comment on the spa or kids facilities as we didn't partake in any of these facilities.
There is a really long jetty which goes out to the house reef, get yourself on it and look out for the fish. The hotel suffers from a lot of jelly fish but we were informed that they were not the stinging type.
The beach was lovely and flat, as you go round the coast it is up & down, up & down, but the sand is finer!

Trips - We did a boat trip & quad bike tour with the Dolphin House excursions at the the beach. We swam with wild dolphins which was just one of the most amazing experiences ever! Obviously the dolphins are not guarenteed but I came away a very happy girl! The quad bike tour was okay, wasn't anything to write home about but the team leader, Ali was very good when I was struggling with the quad.
You could do trips to luxor with Thomas cook reps which were £78pp for a day trip, I wish we had done this but we just did not have enough time to do it and relax at the same time.
You will get pestered on your first day, alot of them are nice and do leave you alone however some of them are very persistent. If you have never been to Egypt this is your time to barter the trips down, no set price and never take the figure they give you as red! Some are crafty! Fox, Zidan & Omda, especially, were lovely characters and would always just want a chat without trying to sell you something!

Overall - This holiday was a fantastic price for what it is, like the Sunrise Makadi, this was the other hotel that luckily had not suffered from the recent troubles as much as others, (some looked like ghost towns). The hotel was 60% full and was a nice amount. I cannot imagine what evening meals would be like if there were more russians/germans there pushing in!
Remember to take mozzy repellent, luckily we didn't suffer but others did, especially if you were on a lower ground room.
It does what it says on the tin, for a weeks relaxing it is perfect! We would not go back straight away as we like to try different places but would have no hesitations in going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebeccaeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
607 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.1 mi away
Serenity Makadi Beach
Serenity Makadi Beach
#12 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £51 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing