We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays we have had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is the second time to Egypt, first time to stella Makadi . All i can say is what a lovely hotel this was. We stayed in block 3000 which was right next to the pool, the beach bar, and the beach. The gardens are well maintained and looked lovely.
On the first day however you get a lot of people selling trips, massages, camel rides ,quad bikes trips, beauty products. We purchased quite a few of these and got to know all of staff and what friendly people egyptians are they could not help us enough.
If you do not want to be pestered by these sellers there is pool to the right of the hotel which they cannot enter.
On the beach front is the long jetty to the coral reef which you will see lots of beautiful fish.
Lunch is served from 12.30 at the beach bar, pizzas, burgers, kebabs, sandwichs and salad. If you want a proper meal you would have to go to the main restaurant, which gives you a whole range of food. When we stayed in Egypt the first time this was the only thing that let it down but not at this hotel we was very impressed.
They cleaned our room everyday with clean bedding and clean towels.
Every morning you got clean beech towels which you collected on the beach area or pool area.
The only thing i can say that let it down was the tide went out and stayed out for a good 6 hours, this does depend on what time of year you go out there of course. So for a swim we used the beautiful pool and swam to the pool bar and had a few cocktails to make up for it.
If you stay at this hotel you will not be dissappointed.
I travelled with my husband and daughter who is 14 and two very good friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bouncer003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 2,957 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

The recent troubles in Egypt have led to drastic reductions of visitor numbers to hotels like the Stella in Makadi Bay prompting bargain basement price drops - if you see one of these offers as we did for this hotel....do not hesitate to go. As frequent visitors to the Red sea - we know that the weather will never let you down, but hotels can be variable. Rest assured that the Stella will provide you with high levels of courtesy, spacious bedrooms and excellent leisure facilities.
The clientele is wideranging with large numbers of guests from Germany, Holland,Belgium and Russia, Poland and Lithuania - but do not be alarmed, as our experience was never negative as a result of pan European guest list.
The bedrooms are large, wardrobes enormous and the beds very big and comfortable with lovely clean Egyptian cotton sheets changed daily -we had room 3107 - just a regular double room overlooking the main pool. The bathrooms seem new, clean and well equiped with rain shower and hair drier and shower gels etc. Room cleaning is carried out efficiently and water resupplied to the fridge every day. Towels in the rooms and at the beach are in need of replenishing with some newer ones - a minor grumble.
Breakfast,lunch and dinner in the Andalus buffet restaurant is always plentiful and most importantly for buffet food - hot. The rotation of themed evenings goes well beyond a seven day plan and at least gives reasonable variation. Fish is always "fresh catch" and well cooked - bread is baked in house and is delicious. Help yourself to everything including beer and wine is also a good bonus.
Snorkelling is available from a house reef reached via a long but well constructed wooden jetty - not one of the wobbling blue plastic types. The reef has good fish - some nice coral and spectacular numbers of jellyfish - all harmless thankfully.
Swimming is also available from the jetty and in numerous pools with and without animation teams and music.
Nightly shows are provided for those who enjoy "Its a Knockout" games and well intentioned amateur cabaret - a quiet drink at the beach bar is aslo available after dinner.
We travelled with Thomas Cook and must report that kerry, their hotel representative was a very competent and helpful, honest girl.
All in all - this hotel deserves to do well and for this reason we have chosen to do as they asked us and write something supportive - not least for all of their very deserving staff - people like Alah, pushing his drinks trolley around at dinner and all the waiters and the room boys. Hassan the executive chef will always listen to your thoughts about the food and like everyone else at the Stella - he deserves support.
Do not hesitate to go to the this hotel for spaciousness and graciousness.If you get a good price - you will have hit the jackpot.

Room Tip: The nearer to the beach - the quieter it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Downhillskidave50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We just came back from STELLA MAKADI.
When we arrived the staff were very friendly.
Because we like a peaceful night we had to change the room twice from blocks 2 and 5 to 6. Overall hotel and pools were well kept.
Very clean hotel, restaurant and rooms however we thought that the decor and fittings where not up to 4 STAR hotel rating . This resort has another 2 restaurants: INDIAN and ITALIAN. When we read other reviews it was stated these could be booked for an extra charge of £13.50 Well it wasn't ,when we inquired they told us the cost per person was 25 EURO with wine but not white and not Italian only red local and French. The bar staff were more then happy to mix what every cocktails we wanted. Especially BOTROS and REMON.
Very good choice of bread and sweet pastries. Rest of the food was OK, but the restaurant at meal times was like the "charge of the light brigade". If you like evening entertainment this hotel it's not the best place to go but it seemed to appeal to the German and Russians taste.
Because of this I think the other guest would benefit from a more adult retreat well away from these juvenile shows.
I went to the Spa to check the prices and all I was met was a member of staff pushing me to have more and more treatment for "better price" I booked 2 treatments, but later cancelled.I really felt intimidated as I would not expected this kind of behaviour in a professional Spa.Finally we thought the beach was quite inhospitable.

Room Tip: If you like a quite room check in blocks 60, 70,80
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn62Agnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stayed in this resort in May 2011 and had a fantastic holiday. I done a week on the Nile and my second week was spent at this resort. It is a beautiful resort with all the amenities which you will need on holiday. Just a few negatives to point out unfortunately, firstly the buffet restaurant. As a few people have already commented this can get pretty hectic and at times scary when trying to dodge waiters with trays and rude guests. Secondly the A la carte restaurant, I had been looking forward to induldging in night at the Indian restaurant but after reading the menu (tomato soup for starters?) and hearing very neagtive things i decided it wasn't worth the money. The food in the main restaurant however is more than enough with the exception of one night where we were served fish with head and eyes still present (not my idea of dinner!) Drinks were not fabulous but then it is all inclusive so you get local brands, do as we did and purchase a bottle from duty free to enjoy on the balcony.
The hotel is full of Russian/Germans who can be quite rude but do as we did and kill them with niceness.
As a final point it is worth mentioning how far away the hotel actually is from Hurghada. When we booked we were lead to believe that despite the hotel not being in the town it was only a small stroll away, it is not. It is approximately 30mins in a taxi and personally not worth visiting. The town was very dirty with no pavement and not a lot to see/ do. However if you do decide to go in for a look you are better to head to the Hard rock cafe area as opposed to the Marina as there is NOTHING there (pretty boats only).
Overall a nice hotel but it is certianly not a 5*.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxCharl_Yxx_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

this was our second visit in three weeks and we still cannot fault it
it was five star again it was nice to be called mr.charles & mr.david again

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhoughton1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in a beautiful suite at the Stella Makadi overlooking the pool and beach area. Our suite was very comfortable, large and extremely modern and made us feel good about the hotel in general. The meals were rather less pleasing, it was all done self service style which can be okay but the food was not that appetising and I think a 5 star platinum hotel should have waiter service anyway! We had heard a lot about how good the sweets, puddings, or desserts were but were totally dissappointed here as they were all of the airey fairy type with no real substance ie: real spongy cake mix was nil. There were a couple of alternative restaurants within the complex but these charged extra whereas elsewhere in the same vicinity other same class hotels made no extra charge. The entertainment was a bit iffy here and there with some good acts interspersed with rather second rate stuff. We liked the outside seating and waiter service for drinks in the evening but not easy to find a good seat. Also a lot of Russians here who do tend to be a bit surley. The one thing that really did spoil our stay was the Hotel's Health Club touts who would not take no for an answer and who booked us in for 4 massages by sheer determination when we only had time for 2 or 3? They eventually gave us a refund on the one we could not get in but it was an effort for us to get it. If we went to Egypt again we would not go as far out from the city center as we were here. A great excursion is the dessert trip to do the Quad biking, nomad village, camel riding, 4x4's, etc; This was brilliant and very good value for money and even included a meal! We stayed here after a week's Nile cruise aboard MS Monica which I think is a good option for anyone wanting to know more about Egypt's past history. Our overall opinion on the Stella Makadi then is that it is a 5 star hotel with excellent suites but that is let down by it's dining system, quality of food and evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wraakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Just returned from a fab week at Stella Makadi Bay, a wonderful resort with just great staff, stayed in room 3106 with some of the best room service ever (thanks Mohammed) spotless clean, sheets and towels changed everyday, nothing was too much trouble, food was good plentiful and hot, with a good variety, themed nights excellent.
A few rude people in the dining room, not hotels fault though. If you like a Whiskey buy a bottle at duty free as Whiskey is not very palatable and prices to by good stuff is very high, otherwise everything else is fab, looking to go back in October, overall this was great holiday in a imaculate settings with superb staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank roadunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
631 reviews
12 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
2,543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £43 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing