We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not 5 star”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The drive up to the resort is rather alarming past various building sites. However, the hotel itself is very nice once you actually arrive. This is described as 5 star all inclusive, it is not 5 star and it is not fully all inclusive. The hotel, pools and beach are all very clean however the standard of room cleaning is quite poor. Our bathroom mirror and basin taps were not cleaned in a whole week, they were covered in smears and water droplets. The towels are very small and not at all soft. We paid extra for a late check-out and whilst we were at the beach the housekeeping staff removed all the towels, when we queried this we were told that we could have a shower at the spa!! Not much point in a late check-out, if you can't have a shower. The beach towels are often threadbare and almost bald.
If you want freshly squeezed juice for breakfast you pay extra for that, if you want a drink after 2300 thats also extra and if you order from the mobile cocktail trolley thats also extra so it not fully all-inclusive. The 3 a la carte restaurants are also an additional charge.
The evening entertainment is absolutely awful, very low standard and I really can't understand how the hotel manager allows the entertainment staff to carry on making such fools of themselves. Its really embarrassing and best avoided.
The pools are all lovely and kept very clean but they could do with a nice pool bar other than the swim up bars. They also need an area where you can have a quiet drink in the evenings to get away from the loud entertainment.
The food was probably the worst part of the holiday, its quite low quality and the same items served up night after night. It is most definitely not 5 star quality. The lunch served at the beach bar is even lower quality and I would steer well clear. there is no service as such, everything is self-service so don't expect to be waited on and spoilt.
Also a word of warning there are no tea spoons anywhere so if you see one hold onto it, we kept one spoon with us all the time and washed it ourselves. They are like gold dust.
We have stayed in lots of 5 star resorts and hotels and this is not a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Ask to be well away from the main hotel - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padders37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStellaMakadi, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your detailed review. We get many reviews, most of which are good; however I’m saddened to see that you had several issues at the resort. We take your comments very seriously and naturally a full investigation will be conducted to make sure that we avoid any negative comments that may happen and I appreciate if you can advise us of your room number and the period you stayed at the resort.
I would like to do something to fix what happened, truly, and I’m looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Best regards,
Ahmed Kamel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    984
    372
    129
    130
See reviews for
810
1,340
99
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We have just returned from a great holiday at the Stella Makadi Resort and Spa on an all inclusive basis and can highly recommend it.

We've been to other resorts in Egypt but can honestly say that this has been the best we have stayed at. The staff couldn't be more helpful and really do care that you have a great holiday.

We flew with Thomas Cook and stayed for 7 nights from 31st May in room 3110 which was large with excellent cupboard space, a large clean bathroom and the room had lots of plug points - including one near the large mirror in the bedroom itself, which my wife greatly appreciated when blowdrying and straightening her hair.

The room was cleaned to a very high standard daily by Sayd, our room boy, who we cannot praise enough for his helpfulness and obvious pride he takes in his work. We were given fresh bottled water every day which you can also top-up for free from the various water coolers dotted throughout the resort. The only downside to the room was that all other contents in the minibar/fridge was chargeable - but this is just a small quibble. The bed was comfortable and the room also had a free safe which had clear instructions and actually worked first time (unlike other resorts we have stayed at).

The resort is well spaced out and it never felt too crowded by the pool areas. We loved the poolside beach chairs as they had an integrated head shade which you could pull over yourself, and surprisingly were actually quite comfortable. The poolside bars areas opened at about 10am, which had soft drink / water dispensers as well as full bar service and between 3.30-5pm they even served free ice cream. The beach area was large and had a large number of parasol sunbathing areas which appeared to be very popular with the German and Russian holiday makers. The resort features a long jetty that you can stroll down to the deeper water and from which you can snorkel from.

The main restaurant was always clean and the waiters attentive - a special thank you must go to Boghdady our waiter who greeted us daily with a smile and always made sure we were looked after. A big hello to Fady ( our eggs and omelette chef at breakfast) and Karam who made the best waffles and pancakes! The food was also plentiful and hot and the desserts cold - something that other resorts should take note of. Yes, the Germans and particularly the Russians can be rude and don't seem to grasp the concept of queuing, but there are some exceptions to this rule. A point to note is that in the evenings the dress code in the main restaurant does not allow shorts of any kind (even three quarter smart ones). Do not get caught out like a few people did during their stay and make sure you take some trousers.

We didn't really watch the evening entertainment so can't comment on that. We also did not get involved with the animation team daytime activities but they were never pushy and were happy to just hi!

There are excursion reps not affiliated with Thomas Cook or the hotel that do try to sell you trips by the main pool area - as other people have said on Trip Advisor, but they were never pushy and if you politely said you were not interested they didn't tend to bother you again. There was a 'quiet pool' that apparently they are not allowed to go to but we found it too quiet and much preferred the main pool area.

A big hello also goes out to Mohammed (main pool bar) who was very informative on Egyptian life and helpful with any questions we had. It was nice to have so many of the management staff stop, talk and ask if we were having a good stay - at other resorts we have barely been acknowledged. We hope the staff at the Stella Makadi continue to care about their holiday makers as it's this that sets them apart from other Egyptian resorts.

Our Thomas Cook rep - Kerry, was one of the best we have had who obviously had a genuine passion for Egypt and it's history and was always available to answer any query we may have had. One thing to note - if you do fly with Thomas Cook they have stopped all on-board entertainment during the flight so make sure you bring something to keep you entertained as we were not told this prior to departure.

We would love to return the Stella Makadi. For the price, we think it's the best resort you could hope for a relaxing and friendly holiday and look forward to returning again soon.

Paul and Sara

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank transmute73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is the second time to Egypt, first time to stella Makadi . All i can say is what a lovely hotel this was. We stayed in block 3000 which was right next to the pool, the beach bar, and the beach. The gardens are well maintained and looked lovely.
On the first day however you get a lot of people selling trips, massages, camel rides ,quad bikes trips, beauty products. We purchased quite a few of these and got to know all of staff and what friendly people egyptians are they could not help us enough.
If you do not want to be pestered by these sellers there is pool to the right of the hotel which they cannot enter.
On the beach front is the long jetty to the coral reef which you will see lots of beautiful fish.
Lunch is served from 12.30 at the beach bar, pizzas, burgers, kebabs, sandwichs and salad. If you want a proper meal you would have to go to the main restaurant, which gives you a whole range of food. When we stayed in Egypt the first time this was the only thing that let it down but not at this hotel we was very impressed.
They cleaned our room everyday with clean bedding and clean towels.
Every morning you got clean beech towels which you collected on the beach area or pool area.
The only thing i can say that let it down was the tide went out and stayed out for a good 6 hours, this does depend on what time of year you go out there of course. So for a swim we used the beautiful pool and swam to the pool bar and had a few cocktails to make up for it.
If you stay at this hotel you will not be dissappointed.
I travelled with my husband and daughter who is 14 and two very good friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bouncer003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The recent troubles in Egypt have led to drastic reductions of visitor numbers to hotels like the Stella in Makadi Bay prompting bargain basement price drops - if you see one of these offers as we did for this hotel....do not hesitate to go. As frequent visitors to the Red sea - we know that the weather will never let you down, but hotels can be variable. Rest assured that the Stella will provide you with high levels of courtesy, spacious bedrooms and excellent leisure facilities.
The clientele is wideranging with large numbers of guests from Germany, Holland,Belgium and Russia, Poland and Lithuania - but do not be alarmed, as our experience was never negative as a result of pan European guest list.
The bedrooms are large, wardrobes enormous and the beds very big and comfortable with lovely clean Egyptian cotton sheets changed daily -we had room 3107 - just a regular double room overlooking the main pool. The bathrooms seem new, clean and well equiped with rain shower and hair drier and shower gels etc. Room cleaning is carried out efficiently and water resupplied to the fridge every day. Towels in the rooms and at the beach are in need of replenishing with some newer ones - a minor grumble.
Breakfast,lunch and dinner in the Andalus buffet restaurant is always plentiful and most importantly for buffet food - hot. The rotation of themed evenings goes well beyond a seven day plan and at least gives reasonable variation. Fish is always "fresh catch" and well cooked - bread is baked in house and is delicious. Help yourself to everything including beer and wine is also a good bonus.
Snorkelling is available from a house reef reached via a long but well constructed wooden jetty - not one of the wobbling blue plastic types. The reef has good fish - some nice coral and spectacular numbers of jellyfish - all harmless thankfully.
Swimming is also available from the jetty and in numerous pools with and without animation teams and music.
Nightly shows are provided for those who enjoy "Its a Knockout" games and well intentioned amateur cabaret - a quiet drink at the beach bar is aslo available after dinner.
We travelled with Thomas Cook and must report that kerry, their hotel representative was a very competent and helpful, honest girl.
All in all - this hotel deserves to do well and for this reason we have chosen to do as they asked us and write something supportive - not least for all of their very deserving staff - people like Alah, pushing his drinks trolley around at dinner and all the waiters and the room boys. Hassan the executive chef will always listen to your thoughts about the food and like everyone else at the Stella - he deserves support.
Do not hesitate to go to the this hotel for spaciousness and graciousness.If you get a good price - you will have hit the jackpot.

Room Tip: The nearer to the beach - the quieter it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Downhillskidave50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We just came back from STELLA MAKADI.
When we arrived the staff were very friendly.
Because we like a peaceful night we had to change the room twice from blocks 2 and 5 to 6. Overall hotel and pools were well kept.
Very clean hotel, restaurant and rooms however we thought that the decor and fittings where not up to 4 STAR hotel rating . This resort has another 2 restaurants: INDIAN and ITALIAN. When we read other reviews it was stated these could be booked for an extra charge of £13.50 Well it wasn't ,when we inquired they told us the cost per person was 25 EURO with wine but not white and not Italian only red local and French. The bar staff were more then happy to mix what every cocktails we wanted. Especially BOTROS and REMON.
Very good choice of bread and sweet pastries. Rest of the food was OK, but the restaurant at meal times was like the "charge of the light brigade". If you like evening entertainment this hotel it's not the best place to go but it seemed to appeal to the German and Russians taste.
Because of this I think the other guest would benefit from a more adult retreat well away from these juvenile shows.
I went to the Spa to check the prices and all I was met was a member of staff pushing me to have more and more treatment for "better price" I booked 2 treatments, but later cancelled.I really felt intimidated as I would not expected this kind of behaviour in a professional Spa.Finally we thought the beach was quite inhospitable.

Room Tip: If you like a quite room check in blocks 60, 70,80
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn62Agnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stayed in this resort in May 2011 and had a fantastic holiday. I done a week on the Nile and my second week was spent at this resort. It is a beautiful resort with all the amenities which you will need on holiday. Just a few negatives to point out unfortunately, firstly the buffet restaurant. As a few people have already commented this can get pretty hectic and at times scary when trying to dodge waiters with trays and rude guests. Secondly the A la carte restaurant, I had been looking forward to induldging in night at the Indian restaurant but after reading the menu (tomato soup for starters?) and hearing very neagtive things i decided it wasn't worth the money. The food in the main restaurant however is more than enough with the exception of one night where we were served fish with head and eyes still present (not my idea of dinner!) Drinks were not fabulous but then it is all inclusive so you get local brands, do as we did and purchase a bottle from duty free to enjoy on the balcony.
The hotel is full of Russian/Germans who can be quite rude but do as we did and kill them with niceness.
As a final point it is worth mentioning how far away the hotel actually is from Hurghada. When we booked we were lead to believe that despite the hotel not being in the town it was only a small stroll away, it is not. It is approximately 30mins in a taxi and personally not worth visiting. The town was very dirty with no pavement and not a lot to see/ do. However if you do decide to go in for a look you are better to head to the Hard rock cafe area as opposed to the Marina as there is NOTHING there (pretty boats only).
Overall a nice hotel but it is certianly not a 5*.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xxCharl_Yxx_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

this was our second visit in three weeks and we still cannot fault it
it was five star again it was nice to be called mr.charles & mr.david again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhoughton1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing