We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food alone is not so stella”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stella has great food and service but there are a number of unacceptable issues : the coral reef has been decimated and is a just a brown rocky sludge , ruined with overdevelopment and the beach is non existant just a pile of imported sand ( notice the lack of direct beach photos!). Although the Hotel has a first -come first -serve policy on sunbeds it does not stop the Germans and Russians rushing out at 7.30am with their towels to bag the top pool spots and then decide if they will put their " all inclusive" behinds on the reserved spaces later in the day . The animation is abysmal and the internet is unavailable in the room and 5 euros an hour from reception. For a newly built 5 star Hotel this is poor.

So Stella is not good for kids , sea swimmers, snorkellers or internet users but great if you have sharp elbows for the buffet and like tanning ,eating and drinking all day.

What made me write the review was the pushy Stella management pressing us on our last day to write positive reviews here to " help Egypt".

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are best, avoid the Stella Garden , it is a building site.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,912)
There are newer reviews for Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

We went to the Stella Makadi in November and had a wicked time. Mohammed the cleaner was excellent and our room was cleaned to perfection - we had a different animal made in towels on our bed each day and he even folded our clothes up. The guy at the heated pool bar - sorry cant remember his name - made the best cocktails ever and was very funny. The food was very good and i loved the fried eggs every morning.
I would definatley recommed this hotel was clean friendly and lots to do on the beach we went para-sailing and on the sofa beds which were both amazing.
We loved this hotel that much we have booked to go back again in May and cant wait.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Ladies and Gentlemen, let we leave here some feeling of staying in the hotel Stella Makadi. We have spent actually 1 week of our vacations there. 29.01.12 -05.02.12. New hotel. Everything is new. Very good food. Actually I do not eat meat and there I found a big variety of everything I like: lots of vegetable, fruits, different side dishes and good prepared fish. Of course a lot of cookes hand made ))) Room was very nice. The beach is 7 minutes by foot (we stayed in Stella Garden - it is second line from the see). Corals!!! which is not so usual for Hurgada... Godd staff - waiters, cleaners etc. etc. doing there job with pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyubov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The staff were attentive, cheerful & caring. All the areas were spotless including gardens, pool, apartments. The food was of a good standard, plentiful and had a good choice. We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Came to the Stella Makadi Resort Last year for 1week, All inclusive as a last minute holiday change and i am GLAD that it got changed!!!
Room's are beautiful! Bathroom's tiled with power shower, Bed's so comfy you will not want to get out of them! We was on the 6th block and had view's of the quiet side of the pool, most of the room's have either a pool side view And/Or Sea view.
Downside to the Stella Makadi..entertainment was in German/French/Spanish..everything BUT english. Not a good resort to bring young children to as the only thing to do is snorkel/sunbathe.
We went in January and the weather was around 25Degrees at its LOWEST!

Would recommend for Adult's looking for a cheap getaway to a hot destination :)

Room Tip: 6th block face's Adult's pool
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeekaPinkiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I went to this hotel for my birthday in may 2011. I thought it was absolutely lovely. It was quiet, just enough people there. We upgraded our room to sea view so the room was right on the beach and definitely worth it. All the staff were helpful. Everything was always clean , pool was lovely and all the sunbeds were clean. Definitely would go again..I payed £300 for 5 nights all inclusive. Some people on here just are not realistic.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownsuga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

i spent the last week of January 2012 with my family in this wonderful hotel. The kids enjoyed themselves the most. i enjoyed the beautiful beach with a very long jetty that takes you to a nice spot to enjoy snorkeling with wonderful corals although no much fish at that time. there are several swimming one heated but still i would prefer the beach sun and sea. Food was great you can enjoy the main restaurant open buffet and the dinner in several restaurants , Italian, Indian and Lebanese. animation team was very active especially at night. also animation team was very active especially by night. i think its a wonderful place for relaxation and enjoying sun also most important rates are very good for the services and resources available.

Room Tip: you can get family suite better close to the kids club and pool and beach
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahmed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
588 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#44 of 222 in Hurghada
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing