We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but much better hotels in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Ok but much better hotels in the area”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This resort is made up of 2 sister hotels - Stella Makadi Gardens & Stella Makadi Beach. We stayed at the latter - smaller than the Gardens, and as its name suggests, is on the beach.
Check-in: Efficient, friendly staff gave us hotel information & our all inclusive wrist bands. We had arrived prior to the 2pm check-in time so our room was not ready but was just waiting to be inspected by a supervisor and wouldn't be long. We had to wait 90 minutes.
Rooms: Arranged in blocks around courtyards. Spacious with ample storage facilities. Despite our long wait for our room to be inspected, the bathroom sink was dirty. Fridge/minibar in all rooms but only bottled water free as part of all inclusive. Other drinks including beer, wine & soft drinks are payable. Decent size balcony but chairs uncomfortable so we moved our room chairs outside. Daily change of sheets & towels.
Grounds: Beautifully landscaped with trees, shrubs & lawned areas. Very clean.
Beach: A little crowded but quieter and with sturdier loungers to the right of the hotel (near the horses & camels). The jetty takes you to the diving/snorkelling area & is about 1/4 mile long.
Pools: Activity pool & quiet pool both with swim-up bars.Water freezing cold so only a few brave swimmers. Quiet pool right next to kiddies spash pool so not quiet at all.
Restaurants: Breakfast, lunch & dinner served in buffet restaurant. Its a complete shambles. Lots of choice but so disorganised with some guests not understanding the concept of queues. English & German guests can breakfast at the Italian a la carte which is much smaller & quieter but still has a reasonable choice.
Lunch is also available at the beach restaurant which gets crowded between 12.30 & 2 & we did stuggle to get a table most days. Food is good with a selection of hot food, pizzas, salads, breads & fruits.
Evening meals can also be taken in any of the 4 a la cartes - Italian & Indian at Stella Beach, or the Chinese & Lebanese at the Gardens. All have a good menu choice, decent food and ok service. Staff will offer you the wine list (payable of course) but we found the white/red & rose house wine to be very palatable.
All a la cartes open at 6.30pm for dinner & have 2 sittings - 6.30 & 8.30. The current booking system is to arrive before 6 & give your room number to reserve a table on a first come first serve basis.
You are not allowed to take food out of the restaurants but many guests do. The hotel does not provide room service.
Staff: Most are very friendly & helpful & work hard. Exceptions to this were the towel boy who spent most of his time on the phone; the waiter at the quiet pool who spent all his time flirting with female guests instead of serving; and the manager of the Italian restaurant who we found quite rude & arrogant at times.
Entertainment: Usual singing/dancing/quizes near the central plaza from 9pm or enjoy a quiet drink at the beach bar.
We found the hotel to be just ok. Most guests (90%) were Russian, Scandanavian & German who, forgive the generalisation, do not understand the concept of waiting and have no manners.
We have visited Egypt & Makadi Bay several times and have found far better hotels than this so will not be returing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    984
    372
    129
    130
See reviews for
810
1,340
99
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

As the title suggests these items are the current in thing for the Russians to carry away their all inclusive carry outs.What they couldnt get on 3 or 4 plates each and up to 5 containers of fruit ,was carried away in plastic boxes for???afters?
This was a fabulous holiday spoiled by the 80% occupation by the population of that country.
Lovely decorated sweets, cakes etc were attacked in minutes completely trashed and the remnants binned by the staff in disgust.
We waited in line for the chinese restaurant at 5,55pm we were in places 11and12 at 6.25 on opening we were in places 25 and 26.
Other things --
At the airport beware the visa rip off .
T c Cook air crew announced that visa cost £15 it is as low as £10 in some places .
Arriving at the air terminal they try to herd you straight ahead to the £15 con men .turn sharp left as you enter and the last line is title t c cook bank where you should pay between £10 and £12 .We paid £23for 2 in front they paid £20. In the rip off line it was as much as £30 for 2
Agree all the pools are cold
the rooms excellent .clean sheets daily
Cleaning service immaculate to all areas
The gardes and laws pristeen with no leaf out of place
The glasses racks at convenient places alongside the pathways is a good idea which other hotels would do well to follow .
The animation team were much the same as most others. crap .
it could have been better if they had served beer at the venue but to have to negotiate 6 flights of steps to get a beer from reception only added to the misery .
The people ho paid £300 for medical must like parting with money
We paid £2 for a course ot antinal tablets 2 years ago in Sharm and my wife used 3 of the same box of tablets again at the mikadi but nothing dramatic .The staff we found very helpfull ,efficient and jolly .I have a rule that the odd person who indicates that they want a tip never gets one.
This applied to the coach driver who waved a box with coins in under my nose,the same guy that sat rivetted to his seat and let the whole of the bus forage for their own cases .
Yes a brilliant holiday completely over shadowed by fellow travellers .
Would not go back to this venue which is a pity because the entire staff deserve to be supported for their efforts .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3larryg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boortmeerbeek, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a great holiday at stella garden. Everything was perfect, clean, ... One big disappointment: although the brochure says heated pools, there are none. Guest relations explained it that way: the pool is just named 'heated', that doens't mean it is heated (wtf?).
For us and my son in particular the water was to cold (20°), and that's way we didn't swim in the pools. Guest relations tried to explain that the water in the heated pools is only heated in winter (untill the end of march), but the animation team said that even this isn't true. Yet we went swimming in the sea (25°). And even there are several kids pools (with a depth of 50 cm) but there is no play material like slides... And to continue the story, when we want to shower in the evening, about 6 pm, there was no hot water in our room, so we need to take a bath in the morning or very late in the evening.
If Stella could solve this problem it would be for us the best hotel we know in Egypt.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at Stella gardens, went with my husband and 3 children, 4, 10 and 12. The kids loved the animation team, daily activities, mini disco and really good night time entertainment. The gardens looked the better of the two hotels to stay at with children, lots of pools and better sand to play in than on the beach, but it is only a short walk to use facilities at the beach hotel. The family room was lovely and clean and spacious, the food was excellent my 4 year old is a fussy eater and my 10 year old is a vegetarian and they both had plenty of food to choose from. The drinks were also really good, proper brand soft drinks and the local beer and wine was very nice.
You no longer have to queue up in the mornings for the a la carte restaurants it is now first come first serve, they changed this part way through our stay and this was much better.
Definitely recommend the snorkeling off the end of the jetty we were surprised by how many different types of fish we saw. Also did the horse and camel ride which was good really friendly guides.
Overall the whole family agree this was their favourite ever holiday, great food, spotlessly clean everywhere and extremely friendly staff would love to come back again one day.
Only slight negative comment is that we had to pay an adult price for our children including 4 year old who ate and drank far less than the rest of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuthall, Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Just come back after booking only few weeks in advance. Read other reviews on tripadvisor before booking and would definately recommend this place. The while place is unbelievably clean everywhere including the public toilets by the pools which were all immaculate.

It is about 50 mins transfer and a little out from hurghada town which was find for us as we wanted a quiet holiday. The food was ok in the buffet restaurants although we found the pool side food better at the sister hotel next door (Stella beach) next door. Good shuttle service to sister hotel every 15 mins where you could spend day on beach- only 3/4 mins by shuttle.

The ala carte restaurants were good and included in the all inclusive and would recommend trying all 4.

Staff great, if you too them they do appreciate and take extra care so worth doing!!

Everyone was very polite including General Yehya who security officer for both hotels.

I would go again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zehnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Spent a week at stella makadi gardens in march and it was just what i needed. Fabulous chilled out holiday. The room was fantastic, very spacious, clean with a lovely bathroom, also unlimited amounts of bottled water left in your room. The hotel's grounds were immaculate, and also the swimming pools, some of the cleanest I've ever seen. buffet food was fine, there was always something to have that was enjoyable. The al a carte restaurants are the best to eat at (the chinese was my favourite), but only if you can get in. After being told on our first day that the restaurants were full after queing from 9am (reservations only open at 9am) we then realised to get in we would have to get there at 8am. we did this and we were still in a queue! This is very unsatisfactory, we did not have to expect to queue for 1hr 15 mins every morning to be able to book into one of the ala carte restaurants. so be prepared for this and also for people trying to push in from the sides - don't allow this, make them queue like everyone else (this is generally the Russians)!! That was the only negative about the hotel, but unfortunately until they sort this out and find something to improve this, i wouldnt go back - i dont expect to have to queue over an hour every morning on my holiday. Make sure you go to the beach and do the snorkelling, it really is fantastic. Overall, great hotel and would go back if it wasnt for that one negative about the al a carte restaurants. but if you dont mind queing in the morning then i'm sure you will really enjoy your holiday here. Carly

Room Tip: We stayed near the relaxing and heated pools which we found to be great because you could eat breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane R, Personal Assistant to GM at Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Ms. Carly,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

At Stella Makadi we believe that it’s only through listening carefully to guests comments and suggestions we would be able to identifying possible concerns that may exist throughout daily operation subsequently, taking whatever corrective measures might be necessary to recover any concerns in a timely manner.

During your stay, the ala carte restaurants were available through a prior reservation daily from 09.00 am till 13.30hrs. for limited number of persons at each seat up to the maximum capacity of each restaurant “this was planned to ensure qualified service to every guest booking the a la carte.

Currently the a la carte operations changed for First come – First serve. The two seating’s times are 18:30 and 20:30.

However, let me assure you that guest’s criticism will always be our engagement to achieve constant improvement and to continue to strive for the maximum guest satisfaction wherever possible.

I hope your experience won’t prevent you from visiting us again. As we place a great value on your continued relationship with Stella, hope to be able to welcome you soon.

Sincerely,

Viviane Riad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNDEE
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have just come back from 2 weeks at the Stella Makadi Gardens. The hotel is beautifully laid out and very very well looked after. Housekeeping is of the highest standard.
There are pools almost everywhere so you are never far away from a spot to lie & sunbathe or swim (pools could do with being heated in the winter months though). The beach with its huge jetty and colourful fish are only a few minutes walk away.
The food is of very good quality but the choices are very limited. (pasta almost every day for me)
There are 4 a la carte restaurants on site, the Chinese is very good and the Lebanese is excellent, food and service is first class. The Indian is below average and the Italian is very poor.
The purpose of our trip was to enjoy a relaxing holiday and in short the only real problem with the hotel are the Russian guests, they are the most rude and arrogant people! The hotel really need to manage this, they should be made to queue on the buffet restaurants like everyone else. British & European guests stress levels were far higher than they should be on a holiday we have paid a lot of money for.
A wee tip for you if you are not from Russia is to go to the Lebanese restaurant for breakfast, much more civilised and relaxed atmosphere to enjoy your breakfast rather than being pushed around by Neanderthals ! The buffet restaurant at the Stella Beach is better laid out and the food was better.
We have to mention Mohammed from the Lebanese as well as Mr Ayman, these guys really know their customer service. Nothing was too much trouble for Mohammed and is a real credit to the hotel.
Refat & Mohammed in the main bar were also really good guys, both of them made us feel welcome and created a fun atmosphere in the bar every night. They are both so friendly and welcoming. It's guys like all we have mentioned that make customers return.
We would also like to thank Andrea from guest relations, we mentioned a couple of minor niggles to her and both were dealt almost before we had finished telling her. She is a lovely girl, very approachable and friendly, she shows a genuine interest in the guests. I would go so far as to say she is the best we have dealt with across our many holidays.
We did the "shop & rock" trip with Thomas Cook into Hurghada and would rate it as one of the best. We would not however recommend the sand buggies trip called "Speed Devils", the carts are in poor condition and the facilities are the worst imaginable !
Ultimately the best way to judge a holiday is the answer to the question, would we return?
Yes, we would definitely consider a return to the Stella resort but will be clever enough to contact Andrea first and find out when its not Russian season !
We would definitely recommend this hotel, just be aware of the Russians and their behaviour!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDGDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing