We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, clean & friendly personell!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, Nederland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great resort, clean & friendly personell!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our first time Egypt and it was a last minute decision instead of Asia. After doing some online research and reading many bad reviews and experiences about Russians, we had our doubts if Egypt was the right choice. We went with no expectations to Egypt and chose Stella makadi resort because they had the best reviews on TA. We have to say, This resort was suprisingly wonderfull and we enjoyed every day of our holiday! The resort is very clean and so are the spacious rooms. You can eat buffet or in 1 of the 4 a la carte restaurants, its delicious and clean also. The resorts have lots of pools, good snorkling/diving spots, all day activities organised by the amusement team.

Special thanks for the staff/team of the Indian & Lebanese restaurant, they were wonderfull & fun! Most of the staff of the resort were very friendly and helpfull. If we go back to Egypt, Stella Makadi resort will surely be our favorite!

*Note We didnt left the resort by choice. Luxor is 3 hours driving & Cairo is 6 hours driving.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank F_Goudriaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    981
    369
    129
    130
See reviews for
806
1,338
99
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

...but: yes, there has to be a but.
The first but is mostly a warning about travelling to this area: the electricity may fail, or partially fail, for the whole of Hurghada for a while. We had about one day in total of our two weeks where there was no air conditioning and only limited power available in the rooms. The lobbies and restaurants were still air conditioned though and the staff did all they could to make things pleasant enough.
The second but: be prepared to have stomach troubles, as the running water has different bacteria to what Europeans are used to. Immodium won't help, but the medication available at the resort's own pharmacy is extremely effective and you will be back to normal within a day or two at most if you are one of the unlucky ones to be affected (my guess is one in 10 guests gets the runs).
The third but is really a blessing in disguise: the main restaurants may leave you wondering if it was worth paying for full board. And the truth is: yes it is. But don't eat in the main restaurants if you can avoid it. There are four great á la carte restaurants on site: Casa Mia (Italian), Taj Mahal (Indian), Layil Beirut (Lebanese) and ... a Chinese one that I have forgotten the name of. The food in these restaurants, and the service, is simply incredible. In particular the Italian restaurant is amazing - they have the option of a buffet, the food is as good as I have had at any Italian place anywhere, and if you are lucky enough to be served by Shazly Mohammed then you will never ever want to go home. Of all the great staff, from stewards to bar and reception staff to waiters, Shazly was simply the best. He went out of his way to look after the needs of us as a family with young children and he always had a friendly smile. I would choose this resort again just to be certain of such great service.
If you do go here, make sure to snorkel at the end of the pier. The hotel's own coral reef is quite something and a good warm-up for snorkelling the reefs further out to sea as part of a day-long dolphin and coral cruise.
The Kids Club is great - thanks especially to Sophie.

Room Tip: The Gardens complex is newer and the pools here are nicer, but try to be towards the bottom close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed here on a solo diving trip. I did not use the in house dive centre, but i used an alternative. The diving and reefs are very good, being the Red Sea...underwater nature is going to be good.

Food was average for a buffet style all inclusive. It seemed clean and tidy and tastes fairly good. It was by no means a British Standard 5* hotel. The food was Internationally themed, which was not surprising considering the resort was full of multinationals - but none the less...good.

The rooms I had was very big with a queen size double bed. Full working TV and mini fridge and also fully operational Air Conditioning.

I was more than happy with my stay and I would go back.

Room Tip: Further away from the reception, means closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schinnen, Limburg, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It was our 5th time in Egypt! We had a good time in Stella. The rooms are large and clean. Mohammed did a very good job every morning! The buffet restaurant was a bit chaotic. At dinner you have to get your own drinks, that's not the problem. The problem is that the bar is too small for all the guest. During our stay we've noticed a change in that. The waiters came and asked you. Our airco was broken but after 5 phonecalls and 3 days later it was fixed! We had a wonderfull time with the animators, especially Momo, Nile and Ealenor! We're not into the games or sports but everybody was nice to us! Every morning a little chat wasn't too much for them. As to the food, we've had better. There's not much variety, the salad buffet was great! It's a bit flavourless, a pitty for such a large hotel. We keep a good memory of our stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariëlle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

..but we had a lovely, relaxing time.

Our first impression on arriving at the STELLA GARDENS was that it didn't look that impressive. There weren't many plants in flower and there was no wow factor, however it did grow on us! We thought the STELLA BEACH looked more attractive to be honest. We would class this as a 4 star rather than 5 star as there was an lack of luxury touches but we enjoyed our stay.

On check in, we had a small problem with our first room, it was on the ground floor and seemed to have an infestation of huge ants - it also only had twin beds in it (we are a family of 4). However, we were moved after a little delay to a 2nd floor room with a king bed and they brought in one larger than average single which our 2 little boys shared. I am not sure that they would have got in a second single bed though... The rooms were lovely and newly decorated,beautiful bathrooms, comfy mattresses, new pillows, large balcony, fab air con, TV etc.

We were in block 36, which is the bottom end of the GARDENS, closest to the BEACH. There was a regular shuttle bus to take you to the BEACH complex or it is only a 5-10 minute walk - although in the searing heat that feels like a long way! Lunch options were limited in the GARDENS - the nasty buffet was a no go for us, so it was either freshly made sandwiches at the wave pool, chips and pitta at the slide pool. We tended to made the long traipse down to the Beach Bar as the lunch there was very nice with lots of choice. The complex is enormous to pick your location carefully.

Temp was 42 degrees when we left, pools were 28 and the sea was 29 (like a bath!). Take insect repellent - I had 50 mosquito bites on my lower legs one eve (hotel doctor is fab!) although didn't get bitten on any other occasion.

Water slides were a disappointment but the wave pool was a huge hit with out children. There were always plenty of sunbeds at all times of the day so no need to get up early to bag one. The sunbeds were great with a canopy too although there was a little less shade than we would have liked, particularly around the kids pools. There seemed to be an obsession of the pool attendants of not allowing cotton clothing in the pools and they queried our children's UV sun/swim suits on several occasions and needed some persuading to permit them to be worn in the pool. However, they seemed content to turn a blind eye to local women going in the pools fully clothed, jeans and all! We couldn't understand it.

The house reef is amazing! It surpassed our expectations and was better than Sharm and Taba. The water is crystal clear, the coral is stunning and a huge variety of fish which you can see from walking along the pier without even getting on your snorkel! Parrot fish, puffa fish to name a few I could identify but so many beautiful colours and varied aquatic life. We also did the snorkelling trip with Hero at Piano Diving which was a fab excursion! We saw lion fish and eels in the lagoon, beautiful conch shells etc.

We also did the quad bike safari (excellent) and the semi-submarine trip (fab but a long way in a hot, overcrowded bus with lots of picks ups).

The themed restaurants were all AMAZING - the Lebanese, Chinese, Indian, Italian. You can eat in them as many times as you like and there was no need to book when we were there. We were never turned away. Service and food was of a very high standard. However, the downside is that they run on sittings (6.30 or 8.30). The 6.30 was earlier than we would have liked and the 8.30 too late for our little ones. A hidden gem was the Italian buffet - this was not well publicised and very under utilised. Access through the Italian A La Carte but they run on the same sitting times unfortunately. Shazly was a star! We ate here the most as we found the buffet restaurants pretty terrible - the Blue Pharaoh in the GARDENS particularly dire. Reminiscent of a staff canteen, poorly organised, too hot, flies, always waiting for the hot food to come out, poor clearing/laying of tables, queues for drinks, etc. We even witnessed guests blaring out music on speakers at their table. Definitely the weak point of the hotel.

It's true what they say about the sales people around the pools. We were constantly bombarded and our polite, English demeanour wore thin. One of the sales people was a particular pest and would not leave us alone and was eventually banned from site for a week. It is worth telling Guest Relations (lovely, helpful Lena) about any such problems.

There is a large shopping complex just outside the BEACH where you can buy everything, inflatables, beach wear, pharmacy, souvenirs etc. Not too pushy and always up for a haggle.

The staff were particularly helpful and friendly throughout the resort. We had a number of issues whilst we were away (accidents, sickness, lost property) and everyone was so kind. Our room attendant was amazing and even brought me flowers, reception offered to bring us tea to the room, hotel doctor was excellent, guest relations kept calling to check we were OK. 10/10 for the staff - it really did help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geocachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Amazing weather, friendly staff and the best part was the daytime activities with the entertainment team! Also the food was delicious and the rooms and the whole hotel was overall really clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahhhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at this resort with a family of 4 adults a kid of 5 and a baby of 11 months.
Checking in took over an hour for god knows what reason. The checkin agents where discussing in Arabic so couldn't catch all what the problem was except that a room was not ready yet, although we arrived way after official checkin time (14h). When I finally said, get me the keys to the rooms because we have two exhausted small kids that need to eat and sleep we where handed the keys.
The resort is all inclusive, something I normally do not take or prefer but because the grand parents of our two boys joined and we planned to go scuba diving on some days, it made life easier for them to go to eat in the resort.
Service of the staff in the restaurants is not really fantastic. Some are doing their best but these few unfortunately cannot compensate for the ones that are working there just to collect a pay check. Long lines at the drinks stand were daily routine and no one cared to crank up the personnel to assist and make it go faster. I suspect this is their way of saving cost, less drinks served. The alcohol aside from the beer and the wine (which is not fantastic but one does not expect Egyptian wines to be the better wines in the world), the other alcohol was just not drinkable. I tried their Gin, Whisky, which looked like a Johnny Walker Red label bottle but if you looked closer it said 'Johnny Warder', hilarious but also sad. It was clear they diluted the alcohol with water before serving it again to reduce cost. The water used to dilute smelled and tasted like pool water, so I left it at that. You could get "premium" drinks but at a high cost. Must be the basics of their business concept. The impression I could not shake off was that their very first interest was to make money and put any level of service as a second, if at all.

Again, not all was bad but for the money paid, some better service and quality could be expected.

All in all, we stayed in Egypt in various resorts, ranging from Hilton to Intercontinental, The Ritz etc. This resort by far was the worst we stayed in on overall rating. Doesn't mean it's really bad but don't expect too much in comparison to what you pay for it. I think there must be better alternatives around in Makadi Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,243 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#20 of 30 in Makadi Bay
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing