We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel lovely relaxed holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Los Alcazares
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good hotel lovely relaxed holiday”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having just returned from Stella Beach, I do find many of these reviews farcical and so surprised that holiday makers seem to have spent so much of their holiday feeling niggled about having to wait in a queue and all these other petty complaints. Honestly, yes there were times that you had to wait but queues never really more than 5 people, and at mealtimes this was only where items were cooked to order such as pancakes, omelettes, etc (a la carte restaurants excepted) which from reviews make it seem far worse than this.. Is that really an issue when you're on holiday? We never had any problem with any staff being rude , in fact they all made an effort to engage in conversation, and we found out lots about life in Egypt, family life and their experiences in working in this hotel and indeed others.
We had two rooms which were kept very clean, and toilets around the hotel were cleaned very regularly and we never had any issues on that front. The food in the buffet was varied and had a different theme every evening, so lots of choice if you took the trouble to try different items, however there was always pasta, meat, vegetables, salad available for those with less adventurous palates. Certainly the amount of food that wafted passed on people's plates didn't hint of there not being enough choice, very interesting to see how people combine their food. We also never had a problem getting a sunbed.There was always plenty at the beach, though we were able to find them round the pools anyway. In essence - this was a great hotel, our two teenagers loved it, a very relaxing holiday for us. You are in an African country, it is going to be hot, the food will be different, the staff do not speak English as their first language, however they are on the whole very good, they are catering for travellers from lots of different countries. Be pleasant to the staff, and you'll be rewarded with genuinely friendly responses, we would certainly recommend it and would very much like to return. Other couples we got friendly with at the hotel during our two week stay also shared our experience so it's very hard for us comprehend why other reviewers experience was seemingly so different to ours. It's FIVE STARS from us and a certain return to a lovely hotel, complex and area

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    977
    365
    129
    129
See reviews for
794
1,332
98
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The good. I didn't put on any weight on this AL holiday. The on-site Thomas cook rep.
The bad. Pretty much everything else.
The food. Awful, cold, tasteless and repetitive.
The queuing, which I think has been covered by everyone. Basically you queue for everything. Some simple things could have made a huge improvement.
The rooms. Dates, loose floor tiles, shower was either cold or had no pressure depending on the day.
Illness. All our party of 4 were ill. I had 48 hours where I could not leave my room and spent most of the time on the bathroom floor. Thomas cook rep sold us some local tablets. £3 for 12 and they were excellent. Don't bother with Imodium they simply don't work.
The pool. You had to be up at the crack of dawn to get sunbeds, towels were old but clean. Music. Always far too loud. So much so that it was distorting the sound and you could not hear what people were saying over the microphone. The tiling around the main pool was falling off and a number of people had cuts from the tiles.
The entertainment. Shocking. They had the same activities every day for the 14 days we were there. you could set you watch by them. 15 minutes of stretching, 15 minutes of aqua-aerobics, etc etc. There were lots of Animation staff but they seemed to do very little by way of activities. the evening entertainment was poor. The location of it was bad and all cramped up into a really small area, so very very hot and the music was too loud, the speaking elements were too fast and English was used very little. Didn't bother after a couple of days.
All Inclusive. For an AI hotel there seemed to be a lot you had to pay for. Pool, mini golf, decent service, food and drink after 11pm, non motorised water sports.
The pests at the pool. All day, every day you got pestered to buy this that or the other. No I do not want a fish pedicure, or to go on a quad safari. I'd have thought the first 15 times of telling each and everyone of them would have got the message across but no, they continue to ask every single day, every time they passed my sunbed.
The Average. The bar staff. If you tipped you got good service. Ahmed from the beach bar was good.
The beach bar at night. This became an Alacarte in the evenings during the time we were there. Pleasant atmosphere, food ok, but service slow and if you didn't get one of the 6 4 person tables the parties had to sit at separate tables. The beach bar also had seating for the bar, which we used most nights as you could hear yourself think and talk to others. Drinks were brought to your table as well so no queuing.
All in all, this was a terrible holiday and we could not wait to come home.
The Airport on the way home. They don't weigh your luggage and there is a Burger King for those who have been desperate for something safe to eat. And you can take the huge drinks you get onto the plane with you.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel to find a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mothy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

There are two hotels in this resort, Stella Gardens and Stella Resort & Spa. Going on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, Stella Gardens must be the better hotel. We stayed at the Resort & Spa (also known as the Beach Hotel).
First impressions...Flying in with Thomson we arrived at the hotel an hour later than expected, approx 10:30pm. Very speedy check-in for the party of four. (My husband Mum and Daughter) we’d booked two Pool View Rooms. Short walk to the rooms where I immediately noticed we did not have a pool view. So before we settled it was straight back to the reception. No bother at all, immediately changed room giving us a Sea View (as well as the pool view) block 5100 on the 1st floor. By 11pm, we had been back to the restaurant which had been left open for us for a quick bite to eat however no drink! I ask a passing waiter for a glass of wine and was told it was closed. So we decided to go to the bar with the hope to have a night cap only to find, they were happy to serve us a drink but we would have to pay for it. AI finishes at 11pm. So straight to bed it was.
Rooms: are basic (even with the upgrade) but spacious and very clean. No insects to be seen our whole stay. The room boy did an absolute fabulous job cleaning every day with spectacular towel art every other day. No kettle/tea/coffee in your room so if you like your early morning cuppa, take your own. 2 or 3 60ml bottles of water were left in your room every day which you could keep and refill at the many watering holes. They do not give bottled water out anywhere across the resort, you have to use plastic cups (small ones). I was surprised at the poor quality of the bathroom towels. Very thin and most were thread bare. No face towels. You do receive complimentary toiletries though – not that we used them. The pressure in our shower was very low so showering took a while especially given I have long hair! The shower in mum’s room however seemed to be fine.
Meal times: The worst experience ever.... we have been to Egypt 10 times in 4 and 5* hotels and this is by far the worst place. Although we couldn’t fault the food, once you got it!!
Breakfast in the main restaurant: cattle market. Queue for a cup of tea, queue for plates then queue for toast, and another queue for food. Then we found the Italian Restaurant catered for breakfast too. Sat in an outside building without aircon but pure bliss compared to the main restaurant. Chefs were happy, smiling and chatty. No queue for anything. They even brought your cup of tea/coffee to your table. Selection of food was more or less the same to that of the main restaurant. Well it had everything we wanted for breakfast. Needless to say, we had breakfast here for the remainder of our stay.
Lunch time: we had lunch at the beach bar. Horrendous experience the first couple of days until we got into it. Queuing for plates, queuing for a table, queuing for drinks – I think you’re getting the gist of what is seriously wrong with this hotel. Numerous occasions we had to wait for plates as they’d ran out. Wait for knife and forks and even wait for more food to be cooked. It was so chaotic at the beach bar we took it in turns to go get food and took it back to our sun beds. It just wasn’t a pleasant experience at all. The food again though was reasonable and always had some sort of burger which was tasty. They also had fresh salad and pasta which looked good.
Evening meal: we were going to attempt the main dining room until we saw the queue to be seated. Seriously, we had to laugh at this point because it was absolutely ridiculous. Restaurants whether Al a carte or the main restaurant opens at 6:30pm. People begin to queue from around 5:45pm. Unbelievable! We opted to stay on the terrace, taking it in turns to go collect our food (you didn’t have to queue, you could just go straight in and bring your food back out). They have two grills outside of the restaurant grilling fresh fish or making fresh pizza. Yep, you had to queue for this too! After a few days we settled into our routine and ate most nights on the terrace where we’d found the waiters to be ever so helpful and cheery. They were tipped well because they really did try their best to keep us supplied with drinks without too much of wait. There weren’t many waiters (obviously short staffed) so if you wanted to be looked after, you have to tip otherwise go and queue in the Bar yourself. The wine is drinkable, as are most of the alcoholic drinks. There local brands but acceptable. Tonic is Schweppes, fizzy orange was Tango and coke was coca cola. They have a range of glass sizes for your wine from an egg cup to a normal size (as in the glass you have at home). Most nights unfortunately they ran out of glasses so we had to wait to be re-filled, or they were chasing you to finish your drink so they could get them back to the bar and washed!!
Al a carte Restaurants, part of AI: There are four of these.... Italian and Indian down in the Resort & Spa/Beach and Egyptian and Chinese at the Gardens Hotel. They have two sittings, 6:30pm and 8:30pm. You cannot pre book; you have to wait for it..,.... queue that night to put your room number down. If you want the 6:30, begin to queue from 5:45pm, the 8:30pm 7:45pm. We attempted twice to get into the Italian but failed. We were fortunate a couple of nights to eat in the Buffett section of the Italian (where you have breakfast) by our Aunt who joined us a few days into the holiday asking the head waiter (at breakfast) if we could pre-book given she was disabled and we’d failed on two attempts. Bless him, he agreed. This was a nice change. A tad warm given you’re outside but the food was lovely on both occasions, really couldn’t fault it. We never tried to book the other restaurants, it was far too much hassle and the food in the main restaurant, once you got it, was good enough.
Evening Entertainment: Is never great in Egypt but we have to say, we laughed. Some of the stuff they were doing was funny. The Entertainment team is one of the best ones we’ve seen. They really do try to make your stay a fun one. It is, and I’ll agree with some of the reviews on here, more geared to the Russians/Germans than the Brits, however, most nights were “ok” and worth staying up for. The downside for us is the Terrace is the only place to sit on an evening so if you are not at your seat by 6:30/7pm, then you will struggle to find a seat outside. Everything happens in this area and it would be nice to have a quieter area, maybe the beach bar could open on an evening for those of us that would quite like to have a chat over a drink instead of been drowned out by the entertainment team every night. We also saw two incidents, one where two French families nearly started fighting. Very scary given it was right next to our table and my daughter had to move away from her seat in fear of getting caught in the middle of it. No-one came to stop it, the waiters and the management just stood and watched. The other incident was a young teenage Russian was absolutely paralytic, throwing his drink over everyone and falling all over. After an hour, he appeared to have his own personal body guard (one of the management we think) walking along side him, steering him away from tables. Again, a tad worrying as you didn’t know what he was going to do next.
The last thing I need to mention is the pools. There are two pool areas. The main activity pool which is noisy and busy and the quiet/relax pool. We chose to sit around the relax pool as it was closest to our room and “relatively” quiet. It didn’t have music playing loud anyway. Reserving of the sun beds is a nightmare. You have to be up early to get a sunbed with an umbrella by the pool. There seemed to be plenty of beds on the beach. The pool/beach towels are large and thick and cleaned every day. The sun beds... ooh they were so uncomfortable. Light weight so easy to move but the plastic web type base is hard. The backs/head rests have two or three settings which you can alter by pulling string which is hanging down at the back of the bed. Took me two days to work out how to adjust. Not the comfort ablest beds at all! The waiter (as in one waiter) at the pool bar worked hard to keep queues down and a few times, he let us help ourselves to drinks coz he was too busy serving two or three other people at the same time. Short staffed again!! Oh and beware, they don’t wash the plastic, badly scratched glasses here, they just rinse them under the tap!
So in summary, this hotel and its grounds are lovely. The management however have a lot to answer for and need to sort out staffing and...... well, everything else basically!! Some of the management (men in white shirts) were very rude and instead of helping waiters, just stood watching the chaos. Absolutely nothing about working as a “team” in this hotel or ensuring the customer has a good experience.
We had a good holiday as we made the most of it but hated this hotel and would not recommend it in anyway shape or form. There’s too much that’s wrong about it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

very rude and ignorant bar and restaurant staff
not enough glasses, plates or cutlery - not only do you have to Que for every meal to get in - you then have to Que and wait (after requesting upto 3x) for cutlery and plates to be able to get food
dirty utensils to go along with the guaranteed stomach upset to which the chemist charge anything from £15 for tablets dependant on what day it is
pushing and arguing with german, russian & italian people due to pushing in queues - i guestimate that only 5% of guests are english
rule that you can only get 2x drinks per order at the bar (we were in a group of 10 people) - que from bar right across to the door!!
5am start to get a sunbed

complain = al carte meal booked instead of queuing = 50 mins to get a drink, filthy glasses and cremated food
extra freebies and a pair of slippers each - hardly helps to compensate for 10 x days of hassle and stress for something which definitely wasn't cheap

the accommodation " looked" nice and the rooms were clean = 1 x positive only

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chubbyrhino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The room we stayed in was a ground floor room with plenty of space and perfectly working air con (this is unusual in my experience). The room was cleaned daily by the lovely staff who I couldn't fault.
We stayed for 2 weeks and on the second week there was occassions where the food became repeatative but it was enjoyable enough.....it must have been I put on weight.
The best part though is the hotel has its own privately owed section of reef which I could have swam by for the whole holiday if my partner had let me!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

never again the hotel is big and clean throughout the rooms are spacious and also well kept however the nightmare started on arrival 22.00 arrived at the hotel to find only two beds in the room when three guests staying there it took untill 0145 to find a bed after several raised voiced phone calls to reception one arrived that i wouldnt let a dog sleep on let alone my son. in the morning unless you get up at 5 am to reserve a sunbed along with the german's sorry you wont get one. The queuing at meal times were beyond a joke an hour before the doors opened polish were queuing halfway through the hotel then when the doors opened to the restaurant well it was a free for all like they had never been fed pushing and shoving even running to get there food disgusting behavior from grown adults i found myself on several occasions in heated discussions over people pushing in when i stood in a queue for over an hour to get my meal. Drinks well if your english dont expect a large glass those are reserved for the polish people which im not ashamed to say are very RUDE maybe its there culture who knows. entertainment was rubbish all in polish this hotel is not for the brits and i would not recomend it to anyone which is a shame as its a very nice vast hotel shame other spoil it. i for one will not return to stay here at this hotel but would return to egypt

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Ive been to Egypt four times and all over the world on all inclusive holidays but this was among the poorest quality I have ever experienced.

I am surprised at the number of good reviews on here from Brits for two reasons : firstly there are hardly and British clients at the resort ( mostly Russian, Polish and German) and secondly - it was genuinely bad and undeserving of the praise shown on here.

yes, it looks nice, its new and the rooms are well appointed and tidy BUT the food was the blandest, cheapest unoriginal muck Ive ever seen in my life. The buffet restaurants had flavorless food that lacked variety and were poorly staffed. I witnessed more than one scuffle and argument between staff who are frankly lacking in professionalism.

I was in the hotel 20 minutes when a waiter tried to bum a cigarette off me.

The booking system for the a la carte restaurants (which were to be fair decent) is a free for all where you have to queue for up to an hour at the front the venue with other guests who have no concept of manners or waiting in turn. I go on holiday to relax and not to be stressed by fighting for a place at a table.

The onsite pharmacy charges ten times what you should be expected to pay for the ubiquitous 'antenal' which is the only medication that deals with the tummy upset that often happens in Egypt . Best to travel offsite and pay £1 sterling instead of £15.

the lunches served at the two pool bars were no better than the buffet hall: one sandwich I was given had a pube in it and the flume bar was dishing up tepid and uncooked fishburgers in manky wicker baskets that were stained and grimy from repeated use.

the hand sanitizers in the restaurant which are there to help prevent to spread of germs were all empty and the bar staff did not have enough glasses to cope with demand. this meant that very often you were given a beer or a soft drink that was the temperature of a cup of tea.

i could go on but my advice is do not book this place as there are so many others in Egypt that will give you a good clean service worthy of the price you paid (this was not a cheap holiday by Egypt standards)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hearthemonkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#21 of 30 in Makadi Bay
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing