We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a nice relaxing winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for a nice relaxing winter break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Very nice hotel, clean, friendly helpful staff, good food. Perfect for a winter break although I would probably wait until March as it was extremely windy so was slightly chilly most days. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want lots of nightlife as although there is entertainment every evening (very amateur) and a nightclub on site there is nowhere else to go in the vicinity. The food in the main restaurant was tasty and plentiful and a different theme every day but I would certainly recommend the Indian A La Carte Restaurant for one evening. The boat trip to Mahmaya (Gifton Island) was also worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    971
    362
    128
    127
See reviews for
781
1,323
96
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Just returned from two weeks at the Stella Makadi we arrived on the 25th January just as the troubles had started, but this did not stop us from having an amazing time. Unfortunately we couldn't go on an of the trips other than to the Hard Rock Cafe (not much good). But there was plenty to do at the resort. The staff working there are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble, they even managed to get the football results for us!! People from other countries were rude at times but the staff took it in their stride and just gave us an even better service. The staff did not expect tips but the service they gave deserved them and more. The two other restaurants there, Indian and Italian, well we experienced the Indian and wouldn't recommend this, other people we spoke to said the same about the italian. The grounds are immaculate with the gardeners working throughout the day. The rooms were spotless and again nothing was too much trouble if you wanted extra towels and water they were provided immediately. The pools were dlean and the heated one was heated which was a bonus. The fitness suite was okay, but if I was going to recommend improvements anywhere it would be here, more running machunes, cross trainers, bikes and even a rowing machine would be a bonus. But not everyone goes the gym on holiday. The spa treatments were amazing and I would recommend just sampling one of the treatments you will be hooked, the best I've ever had. Would I recommend the Stella, most certainly. Would I go back, already looking to go back in September and again in January. If you go pack some old clothes if you can, the staff don't have much we left most of our clothes there!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie281170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Me & my mum went to the Stella resort for a week at the end of January. When we arrived at hurghada airport it was a little hectic as you have to buy a visa, which they don't tell you when you book at the travel agents. All you have to do is fill out a card & pay £13 Stirling. We were then directed to our coach where there was a man demanding £1 for putting your bags on (this is the norm in Egypt, just make sure you have lots of pound coins with you). It was about 30 mins from the airport to the hotel, so not too bad. When we arrived we went in to the hotel reception where we were checked in very quickly, we were then taken to our room by one of the bell boys. The rooms are a really good size with good size beds, which where quite comfy. There is also a safty deposit box in the rooms which they do not charge for. There is a fridge in all the rooms, which is stocked daily with water this is free with your all inclusive, you have to pay for everything else in the fridge. The restaurant is a bit unorganised, but once you get the hang of it it's not too bad( beware of the russians, they don't wait & will try & push you out of the way, just stand your ground). The food is good & replenished all the time. There is also 2 other restaurants on site which are chargeable, its not mentioned in the brochures. The hotel is right on the beach, there is a long jetty that takes you to the deeper water which is great for snorkelling with lots of fish. There is a beach bar so you can get lunch & drinks, so you don't have to go to the main restaurant if you don't want too. The staff are really friendly & helpful, again they will expect to be tipped, as two lady's on our own we did get pestered quite a lot the first couple of days, but we made friends with the entertainment manager who's name was gaba, he looked after us & put a stop to it, we did offer him a tip for all the help he gave us which he declined, he just wanted us to enjoy ourselves, which we did. We would defiantly go back to this hotel. We where there at the beginning of the troubles, but didn't feel unsafe at anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finchmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Just returned on Friday 11th.. Went with Thomas Cook.. Not so good airline.. bit of a cop out by not having entertainment due to "Every one uses ipods and iphones" so it's a way to save money.. Also sausages on the way out and back !!! .. Anyway on a more serious note.. We deceided the night before to go (due the situation in Egypt) however we were completely right to do this. It turned out that the only clients were I would guess about 80/100 English so therefore the hotel was only about 20% full. I did feel sorry for the staff who due to the situation were in fear of their livelihoods and indeed they were the most helpful/polite/good naturned people we have come accross in many a year. As other reviewers have said there is always a themed night every night and the first couple of nights a bbq was there however presumably due to lack of clientelle this stopped after 3 nights. Most of the food was prepared fresh and on all occasions the chef was busying himself checking everything was ok. Whilst the food selection was not on a par to an "RIU" hotel you must rememnber this is Egypt and the standard of variety may not be as varied. However for a week we always found something to eat. As previously said the staff were excellent and obtaining or being served drinks was never a problem. The room was of a good standard and always cleaned well and a couple of days with the usual flower/towel arrangements. Some guests have stated that is is a hugh complex however we did not find this so. There are 3 alcart restaurants there, the Italian and Indian and the seafood (Saturdays only) but we did not try these. The charge for these is £12.50 plus your wine however I was told by the rep you could chose the house wine (which to our mind was acceptable) which was served foc. All in all a very good holiday under the circumstances and as said you could not fault the staff for their attentifness.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLIENOMATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I decided to go on my 1st holiday alone. I had been to Egypt before and stayed in Sharm el sheikh but wanted to visit a different area.

I chose Stella Makadi because of the reviews I'd read and the way it looked in the photos.
I was abit apprenhensive about travelling alone , but there was no need to be.

I was not dissapointed with the Stella Makadi it was beautiful the architecture was amazing. The rooms were spacious and very clean, The bedding was changed daily and I was even left a fruit basket on my last night. Although its a big resort. I expected it to be very busy and noisy in fact it was the opposite it was quiet and very relaxing . Staff fell over themselves to keep you happy.

I met loads of people who made my holiday very enjoyable.There was a shuttle bus for 7 euros which took you into Hurghada centre where there was an abudance of shops to buy suvenirs.

The food was good and varied each day with different foods from around the world.

A big thankyou to Micheala and Dean who helped me to relax on my 1st night by sharing a good few drinks at the bar. I would return to the Stella Makadi again as I had such a restful time. Walking along the beach, sitting by the pool and reading my book enjoying the sun and scenery.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Never written a review before but read many!! Hotel was better than we expected and great value for money.
Every where was really clean, plenty of choice of food in the main restaurant, the Italian restaurant was also very good and worth a visit as it was a nice atmosphere and a change from the buffet. You could also eat at the beach bar if you didn't want to go in for lunch.
The staff were all lovely, very helpful and attentive. around the pool bar we didn't even need to order after a couple of days, as the barman knew what we liked to drink, great service!! We will definately return to Stella Makadi, very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philnjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Stella Makadi 25.01.11 to 02.02.11 and had a great time. Note that this period covered the first few days of the unrest in Cairo. While we were there there was absolute calm at the resort, and the staff were helpful and friendly at all times. Tourism is their livelihood and they make sure you have a good break.
The hotel was built in 2008, so is very new, thoughtfully designed and beautifully lanscaped. The complex is pretty large, including three a la carte restaurants in addition and about 6-10 small shops, so it is not essential to leave the site, but we did, one day, for an island trip. One of the pools is heated, the sea was also warm, with many colourful fish on the reef near the beach. There were plenty of activities, for those that want them. We ate in the main restaurant all the time, the variety was very good and we focussed on the salads, as it would be easy to over-eat on all inclusive.
The day of our return was meant to be a general strike, but there was no sign of it either on the resort or at the airport. Obviously, tours to Cairo and Luxor had been stopped, though. We went for an enjoyable relaxing, sunny break from the English winter, and found what we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petegromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#20 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing