We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel strange circumstances”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“superb hotel strange circumstances”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

the hotel when we arrived was accomodating 1200 people and it was v busy, dining room was ok you could always just about find a table, food superb-couldnt fault in any way. after 3 days the russian, german and scandinavian tour operators pulled out dut to unrest in egypt and left just about 100 british guests rattling around in a large complex, sometimes of the day it was like the Marie Celeste, the vast majority of staff have been laid off but i must say the staff team were superb, nothing was too much trouble with the exception of the reception staff who i found to be somewhere between snooty and haughty. Very good value for money, only one pool is heated so the others were very quiet, you could always find sunbeds and shade even when the hotel was full. Nothing to do really outside of the hotel and the hotels entertainment was dire but we were quite happy to stay in the quiet bar out of the way of silly games being played for the amusement of german guests

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettynod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    982
    372
    129
    130
See reviews for
809
1,339
99
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Maybe not the best time to try our first trip to Egypt but left with no choice by Thomas Cook--take it or lose your money, however the Makadi Hotel was definitely the best choice. A huge hotel, spotless rooms and food cooked before your eyes and to your own standard. I would certainly go again if only to appreciate the atmosphere when it is full and to see if we missed out on anything as there were so few people in the hotel. This however meant there was no crush in the restaurant and the food was plentiful although one guest did comment that there had been more meat the previous week--not sure if this was to save money or that they just could not get hold of any with all the problems in the country. There was definitely a laying off of staff while we were there and we did feel extremely sorry for the Egyptians as they are very polite and obviously not well paid. We are in our 60's and quite picky. CHOOSE this hotel!!! Tip those who do not push. They all accept the English £1.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy52pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Very nice hotel, clean, friendly helpful staff, good food. Perfect for a winter break although I would probably wait until March as it was extremely windy so was slightly chilly most days. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want lots of nightlife as although there is entertainment every evening (very amateur) and a nightclub on site there is nowhere else to go in the vicinity. The food in the main restaurant was tasty and plentiful and a different theme every day but I would certainly recommend the Indian A La Carte Restaurant for one evening. The boat trip to Mahmaya (Gifton Island) was also worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Just returned from two weeks at the Stella Makadi we arrived on the 25th January just as the troubles had started, but this did not stop us from having an amazing time. Unfortunately we couldn't go on an of the trips other than to the Hard Rock Cafe (not much good). But there was plenty to do at the resort. The staff working there are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble, they even managed to get the football results for us!! People from other countries were rude at times but the staff took it in their stride and just gave us an even better service. The staff did not expect tips but the service they gave deserved them and more. The two other restaurants there, Indian and Italian, well we experienced the Indian and wouldn't recommend this, other people we spoke to said the same about the italian. The grounds are immaculate with the gardeners working throughout the day. The rooms were spotless and again nothing was too much trouble if you wanted extra towels and water they were provided immediately. The pools were dlean and the heated one was heated which was a bonus. The fitness suite was okay, but if I was going to recommend improvements anywhere it would be here, more running machunes, cross trainers, bikes and even a rowing machine would be a bonus. But not everyone goes the gym on holiday. The spa treatments were amazing and I would recommend just sampling one of the treatments you will be hooked, the best I've ever had. Would I recommend the Stella, most certainly. Would I go back, already looking to go back in September and again in January. If you go pack some old clothes if you can, the staff don't have much we left most of our clothes there!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie281170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Me & my mum went to the Stella resort for a week at the end of January. When we arrived at hurghada airport it was a little hectic as you have to buy a visa, which they don't tell you when you book at the travel agents. All you have to do is fill out a card & pay £13 Stirling. We were then directed to our coach where there was a man demanding £1 for putting your bags on (this is the norm in Egypt, just make sure you have lots of pound coins with you). It was about 30 mins from the airport to the hotel, so not too bad. When we arrived we went in to the hotel reception where we were checked in very quickly, we were then taken to our room by one of the bell boys. The rooms are a really good size with good size beds, which where quite comfy. There is also a safty deposit box in the rooms which they do not charge for. There is a fridge in all the rooms, which is stocked daily with water this is free with your all inclusive, you have to pay for everything else in the fridge. The restaurant is a bit unorganised, but once you get the hang of it it's not too bad( beware of the russians, they don't wait & will try & push you out of the way, just stand your ground). The food is good & replenished all the time. There is also 2 other restaurants on site which are chargeable, its not mentioned in the brochures. The hotel is right on the beach, there is a long jetty that takes you to the deeper water which is great for snorkelling with lots of fish. There is a beach bar so you can get lunch & drinks, so you don't have to go to the main restaurant if you don't want too. The staff are really friendly & helpful, again they will expect to be tipped, as two lady's on our own we did get pestered quite a lot the first couple of days, but we made friends with the entertainment manager who's name was gaba, he looked after us & put a stop to it, we did offer him a tip for all the help he gave us which he declined, he just wanted us to enjoy ourselves, which we did. We would defiantly go back to this hotel. We where there at the beginning of the troubles, but didn't feel unsafe at anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finchmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Just returned on Friday 11th.. Went with Thomas Cook.. Not so good airline.. bit of a cop out by not having entertainment due to "Every one uses ipods and iphones" so it's a way to save money.. Also sausages on the way out and back !!! .. Anyway on a more serious note.. We deceided the night before to go (due the situation in Egypt) however we were completely right to do this. It turned out that the only clients were I would guess about 80/100 English so therefore the hotel was only about 20% full. I did feel sorry for the staff who due to the situation were in fear of their livelihoods and indeed they were the most helpful/polite/good naturned people we have come accross in many a year. As other reviewers have said there is always a themed night every night and the first couple of nights a bbq was there however presumably due to lack of clientelle this stopped after 3 nights. Most of the food was prepared fresh and on all occasions the chef was busying himself checking everything was ok. Whilst the food selection was not on a par to an "RIU" hotel you must rememnber this is Egypt and the standard of variety may not be as varied. However for a week we always found something to eat. As previously said the staff were excellent and obtaining or being served drinks was never a problem. The room was of a good standard and always cleaned well and a couple of days with the usual flower/towel arrangements. Some guests have stated that is is a hugh complex however we did not find this so. There are 3 alcart restaurants there, the Italian and Indian and the seafood (Saturdays only) but we did not try these. The charge for these is £12.50 plus your wine however I was told by the rep you could chose the house wine (which to our mind was acceptable) which was served foc. All in all a very good holiday under the circumstances and as said you could not fault the staff for their attentifness.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLIENOMATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I decided to go on my 1st holiday alone. I had been to Egypt before and stayed in Sharm el sheikh but wanted to visit a different area.

I chose Stella Makadi because of the reviews I'd read and the way it looked in the photos.
I was abit apprenhensive about travelling alone , but there was no need to be.

I was not dissapointed with the Stella Makadi it was beautiful the architecture was amazing. The rooms were spacious and very clean, The bedding was changed daily and I was even left a fruit basket on my last night. Although its a big resort. I expected it to be very busy and noisy in fact it was the opposite it was quiet and very relaxing . Staff fell over themselves to keep you happy.

I met loads of people who made my holiday very enjoyable.There was a shuttle bus for 7 euros which took you into Hurghada centre where there was an abudance of shops to buy suvenirs.

The food was good and varied each day with different foods from around the world.

A big thankyou to Micheala and Dean who helped me to relax on my 1st night by sharing a good few drinks at the bar. I would return to the Stella Makadi again as I had such a restful time. Walking along the beach, sitting by the pool and reading my book enjoying the sun and scenery.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing