We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and generous hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hurghada, Al Bahr al Ahmar, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and generous hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

The time I spent with my friends, relatives and their families was really great. All staff members starting from the manager, receptionists, room service personels, hostesses and housekeepers were so nice and thoughtful. They made our stay they responded instantly to any request with a real smile. The hotel in general is good, meals were rich and clean and the available activities and entertainment programs were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moheb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    151
    53
    17
    16
See reviews for
204
258
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

After about two weeks of wonderful stay at this property, my family forgot precious family jewelry in the room.
Within a couple of hours of sending an e-mail to management, the rings were found and safely returned to me.
Now, what were the odds of this happening? Incredibly low.
Great job, Nadja Korndörfer and Thomas Huth, for maintaining the highest standard of integrity in what can sometimes be a challenging environment. Your conduct in this situation would be nothing but exemplary for others in the industry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khachatur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Egypt Is very good . I went to cleopatra in hurghada. There are 8 pools . Very nice people that work there . There is 1 pool bar . There is lobby . There is lots of restaurant's . The wifi is rubbish in the hotel . It is the best holiday I have ever had . It is really hot ! I would love to go there again .

Room Tip: I think the rooms were lovely I stayed in room 4151.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are a family of 5 & have visited Egypt many times, staying in a variety of hotels in Sharm & Hurghada this hotel was definitely the best! We booked a double family room, I have a daughter of 17 & twin boys of 9 so was expecting it to be a tight squeeze, but those of you who also have more than 2 children will know there is not that much choice if you all want to be together, but we were pleasantly surprised to be given a 2 bedroomed villa at no extra cost. My husband & I had our own room & so did my daughter and then there were 2 single beds in the lounge for my boys. We also had a table & chairs & 2 sunbeds on our large patio it was perfect, & cleaned daily. There are 5 pools in total, the 2 main pools have the pool bar in between them along with clean toilets. One problem we always encounter on holidays is the lack of sunbeds where people put towels out the night before or at 5am this was NEVER a problem at the Cleopatra, there was always enough sunbeds no matter what time of day you came out. We stayed by the activity pool and our pool attendant MOHAMMED (see photo) looked after us everyday making sure we got our favourite spot, he worked so hard all day long 7 days a week keeping the pool area spotless & he never expected anything in return, unlike many other hotels we have stayed in. Although his English was not perfect he made such an effort everyday with our whole family especially the kids. The animation team were also fantastic, especially KIYA, ROCKY & VOVA (See photo's) great fun, great energy & made such an effort to ensure your holiday was just as much fun as you wanted it to be. The evening entertainment ran on a 2 weekly schedule so a different show every night of your holiday. The hotel also does the red flag system so if you don't want to be disturbed by the animation team you just pop your flag on your parasol. The food was OK & plenty of it & you could get food almost 24 hours a day if you wanted. The guys at reception were always very helpful, especially, RAMY (see photo) who aways went that extra mile to ensure your needs were met. The hotel is directly on the beach, out of all the hotels I've visited in Egypt this one had the best beach, the best & very substantial pier & the best marine life. You could safely walk out in the sea for quite a distance, making it very safe for children, & without the need to snorkel could see a variety of fish & rays. If you did decide to snorkel off the end of the Pier the amount & variety of marine life was fantastic. The hotel has its own few shops but if you want to shop outside of the hotel you need to get a taxi to the shopping mall which takes about 15 mins. All in all this hotel was perfect for our needs nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff & they always looked happy in their work :) If I was to be really picky I could say they could improve on the following: more ice available for drinks in the evening buffet & they sometimes ran out of glasses but never for very long, more choice for vegetarians & better quality beer/spirits. However NONE of these would stop our family from returning again. Thank you Cleopatra we hope to see you again soon xx

Room Tip: Villa's near the beach & activity pool were quiet yet not too far to walk to pool or restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marwood5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive stay at this beautiful hotel. It is a very secure hotel and had everything you could wish for. It was exceptionally clean and the staff were welcoming, accommodating and friendly. The snorkelling off the hotels exclusive pier was amazing and only a 2 minute walk from our hotel room. There were lots of pools accommodating for all ages and needs. The food was varied and tasty and we had no difficulties finding something we all liked. As previous reviews have stated this is a hotel favoured by Russians and Germans and we met some very friendly people of these nationalities- we were a minority as English people but this was not a bad thing- all activities catered for all different languages. The weather was beautiful and VERY hot but the air conditioning in our very comfortable room was a godsend! Would recommend this to anyone wanting to go Egypt- fabulous!

Room Tip: The beach hotel within the resort was a good location- a little bit away from the main reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

+ Everything there in Cleopatra was so good especially rooms, service, restaurant and the Smiley Great Egyptians Stuff which I know they almost from Upper Egypt.
+ Just Internet Services was not that good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Overall a great hotel.
Room (4/5): Good room that was cleaned daily. Could have been bigger - family of 4 and they put 2 extra beds in the room, not leaving much space for anything else. That said, we did book promo room so maybe that's why. Location of the room was perfect, just by pool and easy walk to main building.
Service (5/5): Fantastic staff and great animation team (many thanks especially to Miss Kiya) and the hotel guest service staff and the manager (the guest relations manager was really helpful with checking our return flight information). The pool staff were friendly and helpful too.
Food (4/5): the restaurant food was very good. There were all the basics like pizza and chips for the kids, as well as lots of variety of other dishes. There was also plenty of salad etc. There was lots of food during the day available from the main pool bar (crepes, melon etc). My favourite was the cold beer on tap (I wouldn't recommend the wine though)! You had the option of going to the seafood restaurant and the Italian restaurant once during your stay. We did both, but the seafood one was very mediocre and the Italian wasn't much better - the staff need a lot more training TBH. I would stick with the main one or book the BBQ one.
Entertainment (5/5): there were so many activities arranged by the animation team and we all tried several (e.g archery). The evening entertainment was good and mostly included dancing by the animation team, to background music - I would have preferred more professional shows (eg. Egyptian dancing) ocasionally.
Cleanliness (5/5): All the hotel was well cleaned and maintained. I often saw staff looking after the pool or landscaped areas.
facilities (5/5): What we really liked about this hotel was the fact that there were so many pools to choose from (animation, sport, relaxation,family) that we didn't have to worry about getting up at dawn to grab a lounger, although it did get busier in the 2nd week. The hotel has a large safe in the room (free), which helped. Also, the main lobby has free wifi (I think) and may spent time surfing etc! You do get pestered a lot by people trying to sell spa treatments, safari rides etc but at least you can ask for a 'red' flag and this should indicate that you don't want to be disturbed. Just happens at most hotels, so something to get used to.
Other:There weren't many brits there - mainly Germans and rude/arrogant Russians (just avoid them), but this wasn't an issue as the staff could communicate well in English. The hotel has a great beach and there is some snorkeling - I would go to the reef on the left of the jetty. We went onto Hurghada town but I would advise against this as its quite far and costs about £30 return, just to get souvenirs!

We had a great 2 weeks there and would consider going back again. Lastly, a word of advice. When arriving at the airport, bring US$ for the visa - go straight to the bank on the left, as you enter the airport building and do NOT give your passport to any agent!! They will sting you for 'handling fee' for visa! Ignore any such requests and get visas from little bank kiosk on left.

Many thanks to all at the hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Family_trips_etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.9 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
3.3 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay

Property: Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleopatra Makadi Bay Resort is situated at the Red Sea close to Hurghada city and located directly at a water front private beach. The resort was previously managed and operated by the Aldiana Group and is now re-opening with a new concept for luxury seekers under the flag of the Cleopatra Luxury Resort.The resort is situated at the Red Sea and amounts a total area of 300.000 m². The complex offers 530 rooms divided into two to three floors buildings which are fitted in a lush garden area. The spacious pool area and the wide spread complexes offer sufficient place to retreat. Central points make it easy to get in touch with other travelers. A vast array of services and facilities is on offer, including a state-of-the-art SPA with certified professionals who offer a selected range of pampering treatments and therapies for the utmost relaxation.Guests of the Cleopatra Makadi Bay will savor the fine taste of international cuisines and the unique hospitality in all our bars and restaurants. In addition to this do the resort feature a number of shops, a supermarket, a bazaar and a pharmacy that meet the different needs of our guests.We promise an exceptional holiday in Egypt in an extraordinary ambiance for all kinds of travel purposes such as leisure or business.With Cleopatra Makadi Bay’s selected All Inclusive standards you can dine in two different restaurants and enjoy chilled drinks in various bars while lounging at the private beach. Each evening offers entertainment for big and small. 5 pools, one of them heated during winter season, provide a fantastic refreshingly experience under the sun. Our on-site diving center gives you the possibility to explore and discover the unique underwater world of the Red Sea, starting at our popular house reef.Privacy and tranquility prevail in this exclusively luxurious resort at the Red Sea. Visit us and experience the clear skies, azure sea and the magnificent beauty of the dramatic mountain ranges in the background. Sheer amazing landscaped grounds and refreshing pools under the all-year-long shining sun make you’re your most precious time in the year memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldiana Makadi Bay Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing