We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL, GREAT HOLIDAY”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makadi Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our fifth consecutive visit to the complex, normally at the Makadi Palace. This time we booked for the Palace as I was sure the Spa wouldn't be completed in time for our holiday (and I was right!), but upgraded for our second week to the Spa. It was absolutely lovely, the infinity pool stunning and the room was faultless. The hotel is not completely open and we were told it would be completed by Christmas and all the restaurants would be completed . It wasn't a problem for us, as you could use all the restaurants in the Palace, which, with the exception of the Botanical Gardens, were very good. The Thai restaurant is excellent with lovely staff, great food and very efficient service! We had previously loved to eat at the Botanical Gardens, but it has now changed management and a large chunk of the menu was not available on the two occasions we visited. The head waiter had a real attitude problem when questioned about the lack of choice, especially as you need to book at least a couple of days ahead so they were well aware of the number of diners to expect! At theThai and Discovery restaurants, 99% of the menu is included in the all inclusive packages, with a very modest charge for additional extras should you decide to opt for them. The Fish restaurant was extremely good and the standard menu was included as part of the all inclusive if you were a full paying guest of the Spa - although the portions are enormous! If you're staying at the Palace, there is a charge, but the prices are very reasonable. There was no entertainment at the Spa at the time of our visit, but there was live music on alternate nights at the Rendez Vous bar situated in the centre of the Palace two minutes walk away, and a show on every night at Jokers Bar. I found that the staff were very strict on the no children policy, even for people wandering up to have a look around. The pool staff are very friendly, but I don't feel they overstep the mark at all. We'll definitely be booking our sixth visit to the complex for the Makadi Spa in the spring.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Makadi Spa between 26 August - 2 September 2011. We paid a premium price for an all-inclusive package with Red Sea Holidays. However, an all-inclusive package is not currently available at the hotel as it is far from finished. Red Sea Holidays told us that the only facility not available at the hotel was the Spa, however, this is not the case as majority of the hotel is not complete. The only restaurants currently open at the hotel are the steak and fish restaurants, but beware these are at an extra charge in euros.

The hotel room we were allocated was lovely, although the TV was clearly second hand which we would not have expected at a newly built hotel.

At the time we were the only guests of the hotel, all the other guests in the hotel had been upgraded free of charge from the neighbouring Makadi Palace. This annoyed us as we had paid full price for an all-inclusive package that only included breakfast and lunch, if we had not complained to the Management, then we would have had to pay for our evening meals.

The pool area was really lovely and the infinity pool was amazing, but beware of the staff serving around the pool, they can ask some very personal questions, which can make you feel uncomfortable.

We were led to believe that the hotel was adults only when we booked as this was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel, however, there were young children staying in the hotel.

There is no entertainment at the hotel other than a CD being played at the Tapas Bar in the evening and yoga around the pool a few mornings a week.

2 days into the holiday both my husband and I became ill with Egyptian tummy and had to spend £20 at the on site pharmacy, the tablets took several days to take effect by which time it was time for us to come home. I would recommend that anyone travelling to Egypt take Imodium this works better.

The Red Sea Hotels website paints the hotel a lot different to what it is currently in reality, I have no doubt that the hotel will be really lovely once finished, however, the hotel is not ready to receive paying guests on an all-inclusive basis and is a 3 star at best at present.

Room Tip: Junior suites usually have a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T1502KWricharda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Anne5905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Petra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank Kirstin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,012 reviews
1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#15 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing