We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip to Makadi Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Return trip to Makadi Spa”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I am fed up with reading the bad reviews on this potentially fantastic hotel. My husband and I visited in May and were so impressed we recently returned. Yes there are a few teething problems but this is usual in new hotels. What everyone seems to be forgetting is what you are paying for what you are getting. The rooms are first class and would be costing more for B and B in the UK than you are getting here on and all inclusive basis. Some people just love to complain and yes I did voice my opinion on a few points to Gerard the General Manager when I was there and he took them on board and they were rectified. We witnessed complete abuse towards some of the staff by guests which, in my opinion, was totally unacceptable. The staff bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable and even though they may have run out of one thing or another for a short time don't let these minor issues deter you from booking this beautiful hotel and enjoying a really relaxing time.

Room Tip: Top floors give best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    296
    89
    14
    10
See reviews for
116
947
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Returned on 28th Sept after 2 weeks. An interesting holiday with both high and lows. Roll up and see the side shows.1 - fighting guests featured in the Asian restaurant, 2 - the mystery of the disappearing steak in the steak restaurant, 3 - the invisible fish in the fish restaurant. Seriously though we had a good time. The hotel, decor, position, cleanliness, general staff no complaints. There did however appear to be a shortage of 'on the ground' staff but lots of 'shirts' giving directions to them, a case of to many chiefs and not enough indians Points raised by guests were taken on board by staff but did not seem to be implemented/listened to by the 'shirts'. We do have criticisms but to quote Graham 'we were not waiting for a bus' so having to wait a while for meals is not a problem to us, the wine was free!. Our room was on the right hand side of the hotel so no experience of noise. Queueing to book for meals was a pain and does need to be addressed, a point raised by many. Being able to use all the adjacent hotels to eat was nice and enjoyable. Thai restaurant at the Palace, great, wonderful staff, manager should be working in a Michelin star venue. Nice not to have kiddy noise. Maureen says we met some nice people, for once we agree. Hi to Chris & Keith, Dawn & Graham, Gary &, Angie, Barry & 1 i Sonia and the 3 ladies from London who are convinced they know us! Would we return, yes without a doubt, we holiday to chill!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

...except there seemed to be quite a culture of moaning, I think it became a bit contagious amongst the guests. There were some guests whose mouths opened and moans fell out-you get them everywhere but they can start off a real culture. I am really surprised to read the recent reviews. Yes, there were flaws but honestly, 2 stars???????

Plus points:
Beautiful spotless rooms, pool area
Most comfy sunbeds with soft fresh fluffy towels daily
Never having to visit the bar, always served at sunbed/sofa
Fabulous snorkelling fron the beach
Amazing weather, not too warm at nights
Witty humour of all the staff who really tried to please and were always courteous to us
Gorgeous views over breakfast and lunch
No creepy crawlies
Peace and quiet and no cramming of sunbeds
Some really lovely meals dining outdoors
Decent quality rose and g&t

Room for improvement:
Booking system for dining
Consistency of food quality across all restaurants
Navigating your way across the 3hotel sites
Needs a bit of gentle entertainment at night
Some restaurants in other hotels more fitting to 3star hotel

We paid £750 and thought for all the coffee, wine and drinks we had, and lunches, if you compare to a half board costs plus spends it was ok value for money. We've been lucky enough to holiday in the far east and Caribbean recently where food and service was amazing g as was the £££!), and were a bit wary of Egypt in general. However we had a lovely relaxing holiday, and got what we paid for. We tipped at the end of the holiday for those staff who had gone the extra mile for us, and didn't feel uncomfortable not tipping otherwise. We still received good service and didn't wait long for anything and certainly didn't feel we'd been penalised for not tipping.

Would we return? Possibly, for a chill, but there's a big world out there to visit
Would we recommend? If you want a quiet week chilling, sleeping well and switching off from a busy life, you'll have a great time. Just leave your moans at home, holidays are short and there's always good stuff going on to bring you home with a good set of memories

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

as the title says , beautiful rooms, surroundings , views and weather, that's it..hygiene there's not much of that, a waiter in the lobby bar serving two glasses of water ,opens the bottle ,smelt it ? poured it out tastes one ? then takes it to a table. poring the canned beer in to glasses ,the waiter laughs ,i ask whats the matter feel the glass ,it was red hot just come out of the washer,he served them . so if you want a laugh sit at the bar.i also agree with others pool bar and beach bar glasses given a quick rinse, i stopped using the plastic pint type of glass and had it in the plastic throw away cup the size of a mouth wash cup . the food was of a poor standard,the Asian gets good praise because its the best of what you've got . you don't go to a hotel and have to book and travel to next door ,witch you could of booked for a few hundred cheaper. cleaners are always after tips even after you leave a tip they will come knocking and knocking until you answer expecting more, the towel man can be the worst ,he will wait till you come back after you relaxing day ,you leave your towels out side ,you put your do not disturb button on (,that's posh ) and think we will take a shower ,covered in suds ,knock knock knock try's to get in, but the doors on a catch ,went to the door here's you towels can you change 10 euro , that happens every other day,all he does is change your pool towel and expects a tip ever day. leaving, the bell boys bring your cases down and put them outside then come up to you in the lobby, how they know its you , please identify you cases 1st tip , 2nd tip when the coach arrives you get your cases you've just tipped for ,take them to the coach another bell boy takes them off you and asks you to come with him to make sure they all get put on . and finally i don't know if the spar read these comments ,but i scoffed the chicken ,peas, and carrots on the plain.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lovesithot_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Myself and boyfriend went to the Makadi Spa for a week away to relax and unwind. The hotel and surroundings are beautiful, rooms finished to a high standard and the housekeeper kept it really clean.
Amazing pools, fab weather and we always managed to find a sunbed on a morning.
What did spoil our holiday a little was the service, we found it was a daily thing to be waiting quite a while for our food (mainly on a lunch time) and on an evening they always seemed to have run out of most things available to us on AI, it was an effort to get a meal sometimes that we felt like just going without.
The best food we did have was at the Asian and we got great service here - def recommend.
It is a beautiful hotel and has the potential to be 5*.
If the service issues are addressed then we would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank York_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

after arriving late friday sept 21 we greeted with cold towel and drinks shown to our rooms which were great (noisy aircon) aside ,went down to tapas bar for snack which was awful 3 cold pasta dishes and 1 beef sandwich which consisted of 2 slices tomato and something resembling spam,this was an omen tough we did not realise at the time we were asked to book all evenig meals in advance.we were all inclusive but the said menus were very limited in choice so we ended up paying for most evening meals complained to gm and were fobbed off with bottle of plonk we declined to drink the complex was a paradise but food was average even with paying staff were non existant unless tipped and even then got things wrong coffee came cold in chipped cup to beer came from a can. warm room staff were great and one guy in breakfast bar tried his best i would not recommend any one to book here grossly overpriced and gm just full of excuses staff need a reality check as does management avoid at all cost our holiday was ruined so upsetting considering cost which we were informed would be higher next year

Room Tip: above tapas bar facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel.

This hotel has a long way to go before its a 5*. We were booked AI. Our room was very nice but lacking the luxuary as in no towelling robes,slippers, tea/coffee, iron and ironing board. Not enough towels and a very heavy winter duvet. Requested a blanket only to find the duvet cover minus the duvet!!!

The restaurants pretty much the same comments as previous and recent reviews. Faulty towers springs to mind. Will not repeat as reading same comments becomes boreing.

Beware if you should be unfortunate to have any accidents as I found out whilst helping a young lady who badly cut her foot on one of the sunbeds. Blood all over the place and waiters running around whilst this lady shouting for help. I rushed over to find her foot bleeding badly. I asked the waiter to bring a First Aid kit whilst applying pressure to her foot. Could not beleive what was produced. The kit contained cotton wool not sterile packed (loose) couple of small finger plasters and a very large bottle of iodine. When I asked for some rubber gloves nothing. A second waiter also came with another kit. Same contents. I could not beleive this. Having treated this lady I asked them to dispose of the dirty cotton wool etc. On returning from washing my hands to find all the solid rubbish in the bin at the side of the sunbed!!! The hotel Doctor no where to be seen and no follow up from anybody (Mangers take note).

Doubt very much if will return to this hotel again. Its such a shame as it has the potential to be 'the jewel in the crown' of the Red sea Hotel chains. At the moment it wouldnt make the bell on top of Noddys hat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a-bird649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing