We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what were all the complaints about????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in November at the Makadi Spa - what can we say? - superb. The staff were brilliant so helpful & polite & nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent - especially the steak & Tapas - special mention for Mohammed in the steak restaurant & Nagi in the Tapas - both were very attentive. The View restaurant for lunch was wonderful - especially being served by Ehab & Mostafa every day. The hotel is not finished - but we knew that before we went, but the building work is unobtrusive (mostly happening indoors). When the hotel is fully finished it will be outstanding - with another restaurant & huge spa & Turkish Baths - will it still be in our price range then?.The junior suites are huge & are cleaned immaculately by the room boys every day. The beach towels delivered to your room every evening is a lovely touch.
We did manage to view the superior suites on the 4 th floor which are not quite finshed - just awaiting installation of the jacuzzi baths on the balcony!!!!
The management are excellent - always accessible - nice to see a Eurpean manager who is making great strides in delivering excellence.
We had the romantic evening meal under the stars - 6 courses with wine - absolutely fantastic even if one of us did not eat fish or seafood - great job Stefan (executive chef)
The stars of the show are the pool boys who service the pool bars - they never forgot about you & never left you without a drink & always remembered where you were. They did a good snack lunch at the infinity bar. Special mention to treble zero eight from the pool bar - a good laugh.
We are returning in May for a special birthday - so that says it all really.
We had a fabulous time - one of the best holidays we have ever had in Egypt - well done all at thr Makadi Spa. Yes there were moaners - but you get that sort of person everywhere ( if the pool had been heated we wouldn't have used it & there were plenty people who did swim in it)- we set out to have a wonderful holiday & everybody at the hotel helped us to enjoy our stay there.

Room Tip: south facing rooms get the sun & north facing rooms have a breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrygoldShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Makadi Spa. Overall we really enjoyed the hotel. The whole complex with the other 3 hotels gives you so much choice of places to eat and drink. Our favourites where the Asian and the Thai which were outstanding. The tapas was also very good. The choice on arrival was disappointing. We were told to go to the View restaurant, which is great as a bar but the food on the first night was poor, which gave a bad first impression. After a days travelling people want something a bit more special than chicken and cold chips. Luckily the experience for the rest of the stay was much better. I'd recommend a day trip to Luxor, which was very interesting. The only other negative was the pools. They are fantastic pools to look at but are soooo cold barely anyone uses them. I really couldn't understand why they felt so cold. Overall though a great spot which will be even better when the spa is complete.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from October 5th for a week. We were both concerned at the poor reviews on Trip Advisor leading up to the date of our departure, however, we are glad that we still decided to go!

Warm welcome at the hotel on arrival and speedy checkin. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the infinity pool. The room was massive and clean and included a minibar which was refilled every day. Pool towels replaced every day in the evenings

Yes there a few teething problems that we experienced mainly to do with the food. A bad experience in the tapas restaurant however we were impressed by the waiter who acknowledged the issue, reported it to the foods and bev manager (and we later found out that the General Manager was also made aware of this) and insisted on trying a different dish. The steak house was hit and miss - good the first time and hence went again, however, poor service and food the second time. The good thing about the all inclusive option is that there are several a la carte restaurants throughout the complex rather than buffets everywhere like most all inclusive restaurants. The asian restaurant was the best - we visited several restaurants at the Makadi Palace and Grand Makadi - the Sunset Grill for lunch was execellent. We would recommend to venture to the other hotels for meals rather than just sticking to the Makadi Spa.

The front office manager was very helpful - Mr Ahmed Abdel Maksoud - we spoke to him about any issues and everything was resolved asap. The pool attendents were brilliant and even had a sun glass polisher every evening!! We previously read that the staff were always asking for tips, however, at no point did we feel this. Yes we did tip, 5 or 10 Egyptian pounds (£0.50 - £1 roughly) now and again.

One tip that someone suggested to us when we were on the flight to Hurghada was as soon as you enter the arrival terminal, the Red Sea agents will point you towards the right hand side for Visas and can be very forceful! However, if you turn left as soon as you enter the terminal, there are 3-4 Foreign Exchange Counters which also provide the Visa at a cheaper price than if you follow the instructions of the Red Sea agent. We paid £22 for 2 visas - the same visas we were told that others paid £30 for 2 visas at the Red Sea counter.

Yes we will be visiting Makadi Spa again, however, when it is fully completed - amazing hotel for a totally relaxing week!

Mr & Mrs Shah

Room Tip: Visit all restaurants in the complex, not just the Makadi Spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel that raises the bar for this category hotel in Egypt. The ala carte dining is much better & trusting than buffet so the hotel is unique in this area. The food is very good for Egyptian standards that can often be hit & miss. Take it as it is not as you think it should be & you will enjoy it. The Egyptians don't quite understand European ways but they try hard.
Building works are non intrusive, it will be amazing when complete.
Area is being transformed. Good for all.
Diving good. Wreck dive salom ferry, amazing but haunting. You will understand.
We will return in future, great place for a Cheeky week away.
Enjoy & chill-out.
D&M

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArtexursixII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at the Makadi Spa for 1 week in November.Our room was fantastic. Generally the hotel is first class however there is still a few teething problems but that did not detract from our holiday. It was nice to get clean beach towels delivered to your room every evening. The French restaurant in the Makadi Mall is very good. In the other restaurants the food was not hot and a bit hit and miss. The best place for lunch was the pool bar and the steak restaurant.The cove restaurant was lovely for breakfast. The garden view was the best bar in the evening felt like an ex pat bar as it was mostly English drinking in there.The snorkelling from the jetty was fantastic we saw turtles, blue spotted rays and many other fish. On the second day I had a really bad upset stomach however there was a bug in my office the week before we went on holiday so I can not say it was down to the hotel. Take small Egyptian notes for tipping as English pounds are no good to the staff and they will come and ask you to change them for Egyptian. The staff are really friendly and go out of there way to may your stay as pleasant as possible. We would go back to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carter94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week in late October early November. The weather was absolutely perfect. Sunny skies and 32 degrees every day. All the Red Sea hotels in this complex are well planned and the location is great by the coral reef. We saw stingrays, moray eel, octopus and loads of surgeon fish. The reef is well marked for the most part. The rooms were huge and really nice.
But... The food was sometimes not good at all, especially in the View and Tapas restaurants. Even worse was the REALLY SLOW service in these restaurants. The food and service level was much better in the meat and fish restaurant. Can recommend a visit to Leonardo's in the nearby Makadi Grand hotel, great pizza!!
All in all a good stay, but this is not a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yoshiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at the Makadi Spa for two weeks in October. Most of the guests are from the UK and
Germany.
Rooms are big, modern and keept very clean.Beach towels are delivered to your room every
evening.

The pools are stunning especially the infinity pool, there are plenty of sun beds for everyone,
but if you want a prime spot then you will have to play the towel game!
We spent most of the time at the infinity pool,with Samir and his team who look after you with drinks around the pool and always with a smile.If you don't feel like moving far the pool snacks are good. The tapas bar is nice for lunch and you can escape the heat of the sun as it is cool inside, but i would not go there in the evening, there are much nicer restaurants.

The food was good, the breakfast buffet was nice and always had enough variety to please most people.
We enjoyed the speciality restaurants ,the Asian being our favourite,the food being the most consistant on every visit. It will be nice when the main buffet restaurant is open,as you will be able to eat all your meals in the Spa complex if you wish to do so. We did eat out at the other hotels, the food buffets there were good but it was very noisey with lots of children running around it was nice to return to the Spa, for some peace and tranquility.

Tipping: We did tip,we took US dollers and Egyptian pounds. Staff are so greatful. If you tip pound coins they have great difficulty changing them into notes.

Plugs: WE TOOK A TWO PIN European style plug for my ghd straightners, and they worked fine!, and the hairdryer is in the bathroom is adaquate, i have long hair and had no problems.

I think it will be next summer before the Spa will be open, but it looks like it will be worth waiting for.
Mr Hanssen the General Manager, is always around the hotel, he is always happy to listen to guests comments and suggestions, and is making improvements all the time.

Staff are a real asset to this hotel, the only negative comment i would have is that the reception staff can be a bit off handed with people (it would depend who was on duty) and we found it far easier to go to the Palace next door to change money.

To sum up, it is a short flight, with guanteed winter sunshine , to stay in a lovely relaxing hotel. Would definatly return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jasmine078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#14 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,360 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £124 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing