We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,096)
Filter reviews
2,096 results
Traveller rating
1,525
420
118
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,525
420
118
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool garden bar vanilla bar asian restaurant other hotels cafe vienna world buffet gerard hanssen ahmed khairy fish building work red sea holidays wet room junior suite head waiter relaxing holiday makadi mall
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 2,096 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is really lovely.. I really cannot find fault with it at all.. As an agent i have booked quite a few satisfied clients here so thought it best to try it myself and I was not disappointed. It is a lovely location and the view from the infinity pool is lovely.. the grounds are stunning (there are a few unfinished areas such as the spa but it didnt ruin our holiday). comfortable sunbeds and lots of them.. rooms were massive and very comfortable with a huge bed and everything spotlessly clean.. staff all very friendly and helpful.. food was lovely and I cannot believe the choice on offer with being able to eat at the makadi mall and the palace and Grand Makadi hotels as part of the all inclusive too.. you are stuck for choice with Thai, chinese, Indian, italian, steak, french and more... the Asian in the spa resort was lovely and very popular so I think there is trouble at times with getting in there and bookings overlapping.....I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel or recommend it to my clients it really is great value for money... the drinks are limited on the all inclusive but there are a few cocktails and local spirits and i thought the house wine was fine... you cant expect premium brand everything for the price you pay for this hotel and what it includes .. overall a relaxing holiday in a lovely surroundings...

Room Tip: we was in room 6121 which had a lovely view over the palace resort...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jendeanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Wonderful stay at the the hotel thoroughly enjoyed.

This is the link to a movie of the Junior Suite, wonderful room, great hotel, food good but not outstanding, friendly service, mini bar included in the all-inclusive package. Great promenade along the front which is exclusively for the four hotels of this group - so great for walking and jogging without hassle.

http://youtu.be/yxym0On4oIc

Room Tip: Choose the Junior Suite.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Spent seven nights at this stunning adults only hotel with my boyfriend and I don't know where to start it was that good. Red Sea holidays who we booked though were fantastic! From the moment we were met at the airport by our friendly english speaking rep to the service by all staff through out our stay, you couldn't fault them! Food is a big part of our holiday and we had reservations due to what friends had told us about other hotels. There was no need to worry at all though! So much choice in the buffet restaurant from fresh orange juice for breakfast to fresh pasta made in front of you for dinner. If you prefer a la carte dining there are plenty of restaurants to keep you busy. We ate in the French, Italian, Spanish, fish and steak. All were excellent serving fresh high quality cuisine. Personal favourite was the steak where we chose fillet cooked exactly how we like. Egypt had really good quality beef imported so its always a winner. The hotel it's self is stunning. The view from the infinity pool across the Red Sea and mountains is something else. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool so there is no need to worry about getting up early and reserving beds. Too top would be get out and see the area around you. Paradise island and the escorted shopping tours are a must. Both can be booked through you Red Sea rep and are really good value!! Rooms are really spacious and very modern. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cal09_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have just spent a great week at the Makadi Spa Hotel. The hotel was first class and when the on-going,but unobtrusive, building works are completed it will look even better.Our room was fantastic.The bathroom was superb divided into 3 seperate areas for toilet / bidet, washbasins and a wet room offering shower and bath facilities.The bed was both yery large and comfortable and a seperate area contained 2 couches, minibar, refilled with complimentary soft drinks and beer eaach day and a wall mounted 40 inch tv with some english speaking channels.The spacious balcony had comfotable seating and offered a fine view of the Red Sea.
The eating and drinking arrangements were at first glance a little confusing but once understood offered a good range of bars and restaurants at the Spa on an all inclusive basis.The food in the buffet restaurants and the several al a carte restaurants was of excellent quality.In the restaurants it was a shame that the smart casual dress code was not more rigidly adhered to but this should be stressed more clearly at the booking stage, most people make the effort but there was always the odd "footy shirt". Guests also have the use of facilities including food and drink at both The Makadi Palace and The Grand Makadi a short distance away.However guests from these two hotels were not able to use the facilities at the Spa.There was little entertainment in the hotel but i believe that more went on at the 2 sister hotels.The pools and ground were firstclass and all the sunbeds were in excellent condition,indeed all the hotel fixtures and fittings were of the highest order.The sea was only a short walk away and the sight of fish in the water was great.
All of the staff were courteous and friendly and always ready to be of assistance

All in all a great holiday destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TullyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

firstly when you arrive at hurghada airport you will probably be treated like animals and herded to the various travel agency booths for your visa you will be charged £5 more per person to buy your visa at one of these booths if you look to the left when you enter the airport the are a row of official Egyptian banks to purchase your visa at, it will cost you $15 or £13 so take dollars.
on arrival at the hotel check in was smooth and efficient we were taken to our room and the luggage followed shortly after. the rooms were very spacious, clean and the beds large and comfy, the tv had 3 or 4 English channels but poor reception and you could not watch it from the bed only from the sitting room we had a broken balcony door and the safety deposit box battery had run out these were fixed the next day with no fuss. the bathrooms were lovely but be warned the bath took 40 minutes to fill but it was huge. we were led to believe we had a mini bar I would not call a fridge with a bottle of water in a mini bar ?
the food in the buffet was varied and tasty had some lovely Chinese meals in here, waiters were attentive and it felt more like a restaurant than a large dining room tables were cleared promptly we didn't feel the need to venture out for food other than trying the Asian which was delicious also the service in the Asian was the most efficient we had during the holiday the two guys running this were very good at their job and do try the fried ice cream it is delicious. we ate at the fish restaurant (lovely battered fish & chips) and shimmers for lunch also the pool snack bar all were nice food, though service was terrible in shimmers at lunch time there were 6 waiters but no organisation one would take an order another walk round trying to find out who the order belonged to things forgotten it was quite chaotic didn't go back for another lunch there. we went next door to the dome for food at lunch time but came back quickly, after the peace and tranquillity at our hotel it was like a canteen and lots of kids running around a very noisy place. We also tried the cove for breakfast it is much smaller than the buffet restaurant and a nice setting not so busy.
the beer at the pool bars was cold but everywhere else the cans were warm not a nice way to drink beer in a hot country. the quality of the local spirits was quite poor and limited the wine was terrible. we went to the lobby bar for cakes and coffee in the afternoon but the guy serving was adamant that it was not part of the all inclusive I believe it should have been and maybe should have argued but didn't think it was worth it. we liked the garden bar in the evenings for a pre dinner drink but that was the warmest beer usually had a cocktail because it was the most drinkable alcohol. the lobby bar was only all inclusive on the outside (not the inside) till 10am for soft drinks, tea and coffee after 10 am it was not part of the all inclusive I don't know why, only saw it used for drinks a couple of times seemed such a waste of nice surroundings.
the pool area was very nice plenty of good quality comfy sun beds all with shades there were a number of doubles and never had a problem getting one at any time of day but the prime positions were taken very early around 6.30 am in fact it was so warm people were out sunbathing by 7am.
the snorkelling was a bit of a let down compared to other parts of makadi bay but if you walk ten minutes to your left from the hotel there is a jetty which makes it easy to get straight in to the snorkelling without having to walk across the rock which is hard work.
even with the not so good things it was a very nice relaxing enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kezjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews