We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have recently returned from the makadi spa and missing it already.. we had no experience of any problems at all. The food was lovely in all the restauarants (so many to choose from) all of a high standard. The complex it's self is gorgeous and a large majority of guests are english :-) most people we spoke to had been to the makadi spa and back for more.. so that in its self is a good sign of a fantastic complex. Everything you could possibly need is there. I must say that all pool attendants were so so friendly and if you go down with your towells in the morning they lay your sun bed for you.. the service was exceptianally brilliant. The snorkelling is a must here.. the life under the red sea is mind blowing. We also done the sun rise.. we got up at 4am popped to the beach and about 4.45 up come the sun from the sea.. truly amazing. The rooms are gorgeous, showers/bathroom lovely and living room with sofa's and big tv on the wall was great.

We loved this holiday met some great people every one was so friendly and i want to be back there now !!

Just one little bad point was the air conditioning in the room and hotel its self.. needs attention especially as when we left at the weekend it was about 46 and getting hotter by the day.

A perfect holiday - would we go back - YES

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lizbanks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    273
    87
    15
    9
See reviews for
109
866
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Makadi Spa, hotel was excellent, stayed in room 6347 over looking pool, still some works on going but don't let that put you off the sound of a hammer can be quiet soothing!, food was good, best restaurant by far was the Asian, but best waiters by far were Ashley cole and Mahmood Travolta in the Tapas restaurant, they couldn't do enough for you, thank you guys :)
Did the Luxor trip, very long day and to be honest once you've seen one tomb you've seen them all, but it was worth the trip just to listen to the tour guide Emat,very knowledgeable guy and his stories were very interesting, this hotel is great if you just want to fly and flop and do literary nothing , well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliandy5046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have recently returned from my second visit to the Makadi Spa. First time last October and then again at the start of May. I was pleased to see how much of the building work has now been finished although there is still so much more to go including the Spa itself!! The World Buffet now offers an excellent choice for breakfast and an extensive evening menu. Not being the biggest fan of dinner buffets I was pleased that even with a far larger amount of guests booking for one of the other evening restaurants was never a problem. The standards and service at all the restaurants has also improved not that it was bad in the first place but now for an all inclusive hotel it is better than many restaurants here in England. If you fancy something special Jaspers restaurant offers 5 star service and food - not part of the all inclusive package but for €45 per head it's an experience you will not forget - even down to the chef coming to our table at the end of the meal to discuss the meal and the experience - a very nice touch.
All the rooms are an excellent size with good facilities and private balcony but we took a look at the new pool rooms and jacuzzi rooms they have on offer. These rooms are some of the biggest rooms I have seen in any hotel anywhere in the world (and I have stayed in quite a variety in many countries). Not only are the rooms huge but so are the balconies, equipped with tables, chairs and sun beds but most importantly your very own private pool or jacuzzi. We decided to upgrade to a pool room - being the first guest to stay in one of these rooms. There were a few slight issues but only because the room was just finished. Having a private pool was just so nice - not ideal for those who like to do some serious swimming but lovely for a cooling dip throughout the day and what better way to finish the day.
All in all this is the perfect chill out resort for couples or singles who just want excellent weather and relaxing surroundings with good food and drinks included. We are looking forward to returning again at the end of the year and again hope to meet up with some of the same waiters and staff who welcomed us back on our second visit. It's a added bonus when they genuinely remember you despite the amount of guests they deal with.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Let me start by saying that after reading some of the reviews I wondered what hotel they were staying at and what they expected for the price they were paying.This is one of or the most sociable hotels I and my wife have stayed in after years of holidaying in Egypt. The staff were always helpful but what made it for us, apart from the clean rooms, excellent food choices, private beach, good drinks etc etc was the attitude of our fellow holidaymakers. Making new friends and acquaintances was really fun in the Garden bar and round the hotel area.
After two weeks of chilling out this is definitely the place to go to recharge those batteries.
With the 5 restaurants on site ( soon to be six ) the food, although not always to my personal taste, was beautifully presented. With Essam and his crew serving breakfast in the cove and his alleged brother serving lunch in shimmers, to Fayiz at the beach bar not forgetting the double act of Hany and Ossama in the Garden bar who never once held their hands out for tips the service was excellent and fun.
There are bars and events going on in the sister hotels if you are into that sort of thing and there is also another 14 plus eating venues that we could have used.
We had room 6313 which overlooked the Makadi Palace and the sea and was very spacious with a 30 ft by 20 ft balcony. The room was kept really tidy by our housekeeping boy who left a few pleasant designs on our bed which looked amazing.
Although the Spa was not open and yes, there is work going on as there is throughout Egypt, this did not distract us from a glorious holiday. So much so we have already re-booked for September this year.
To sum up, this is a great hotel with great staff, good food a relaxing atmosphere and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you want sunshine all day rooms 6313 6315 6317
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bakes4fs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel gets some great reviews of 5/5 which may be worthy to those individual. This hotel is NOT perfect and people should push for improvement.

Overall the hotel is excellent but in or visit there were some negatives - air conditioning in the room and lobby atrocious, service inconsistent (mostly excellent one or two very rude), there should be a lunch time buffet, charging at the lobby bar ridiculous approach and the booking system for restaurants a bit random. If you want a beach where you can walk in to the sea and swim you will be disappointed.

Let me also emphasise the positives - fantastic rooms , the world buffet outside beautiful, fish and steak restaurants amazing, pool area very relaxing, reception staff very helpful, great views and and a sunrise worth getting up early.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hithereitsmeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is really lovely.. I really cannot find fault with it at all.. As an agent i have booked quite a few satisfied clients here so thought it best to try it myself and I was not disappointed. It is a lovely location and the view from the infinity pool is lovely.. the grounds are stunning (there are a few unfinished areas such as the spa but it didnt ruin our holiday). comfortable sunbeds and lots of them.. rooms were massive and very comfortable with a huge bed and everything spotlessly clean.. staff all very friendly and helpful.. food was lovely and I cannot believe the choice on offer with being able to eat at the makadi mall and the palace and Grand Makadi hotels as part of the all inclusive too.. you are stuck for choice with Thai, chinese, Indian, italian, steak, french and more... the Asian in the spa resort was lovely and very popular so I think there is trouble at times with getting in there and bookings overlapping.....I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel or recommend it to my clients it really is great value for money... the drinks are limited on the all inclusive but there are a few cocktails and local spirits and i thought the house wine was fine... you cant expect premium brand everything for the price you pay for this hotel and what it includes .. overall a relaxing holiday in a lovely surroundings...

Room Tip: we was in room 6121 which had a lovely view over the palace resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jendeanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Wonderful stay at the the hotel thoroughly enjoyed.

This is the link to a movie of the Junior Suite, wonderful room, great hotel, food good but not outstanding, friendly service, mini bar included in the all-inclusive package. Great promenade along the front which is exclusively for the four hotels of this group - so great for walking and jogging without hassle.

http://youtu.be/yxym0On4oIc

Room Tip: Choose the Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#12 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing