We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makadi Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just got back from a week of winter sun in the Makadi Spa. First impressions good, hotel nice rooms lovely, staff very friendly. The hotel I would guess about 30% occupied which was great, no queuing for food or fighting for sun beds! The one down side was they have a lovely bar at the side of the big pool which is by far the best bar in the hotel but it's not part of the all inclusive (only soft drinks) you have to pay of alcohol and even soft drinks and coffee after 6pm which just seemed really odd as you never saw anyone in there and it would have been a perfect spot for pre dinner drinks.

The food on the whole was good, our favourite restaurant was the Asian the food and service was excellent, our biggest disappointment was the steakhouse and we also found the choice and quality of food at lunchtime a little disappointing so we used to use the buffet and the Italian at the Sunwing for lunch. The Thai restaurant at the Palace was also very good. One thing to be aware of is they like men to wear full shoes in the restaurants in the evening. The Tapas bar is great to end up in if you fancy a few drinks and a snack, Ibrahim the assistant manager there is great, very entertaining which is probably the main reason we spent so much time in there.

The beach bar is nice to go to for a cocktail after a days sunbathing before going to get ready.

Take plenty of £1 coins with you, they come in very handy for tips as it's difficult to get hold of small Egyptian notes, I would say £20 would be ok for a week.

We paid for 2 massages each but personally I wouldn't recommend them, the quality of the massage was poor, the hut you have them in is very basic, they don't change the towels in between each person and both massages were shorter then we paid for.

All in all we had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel. If we went again we would eat in the buffet the first night but then book one of the restaurants for every other night, as the guests in the Spa are able to use the restaurants/facilities in the Palace, Grand, The Mall and Sunwing there's plenty choice to keep you going for a week.

Be aware if you go late in the year like we did Oct/Nov the evenings can get quite chilly so take cardigans etc for an evening.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZenaLB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

One of the best holidays I've been on, and certainly the most luxurious. The holiday was perfect from beginning to end. After feeling anxious about going to Egypt for many weeks before, we felt perfectly safe within the hotel complex.

The junior suite was huge, massive comfortable bed, large balcony, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean.

The hotel was about 10% full for the first 5 days of our week stay, and only Brits. The pools and poolside again clean, with attentive service of drinks.

We didn't have a bad meal during the whole stay. Shimmers was our favourite for lunch, and can highly recommend the Egyptian in the Mall. The Indian was probably our least favourite.

The staff can't do enough for you. Food and drinks galore. I felt so bad about the Egyptian economy and the long hours the staff worked that we tipped a lot and I would recommend others do the same.

In the evenings we sat in the Mall watching the Egyptian dancers on the big screen and smoked shisha.

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel that isn't too pretentious, unbelievable value for money, for a romantic stay, this is the hotel for you. Would return back in a flash.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MagicSpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for the last 2 weeks 11th 25th October.Myself ,wife and 2 daughters with friend.We all enjoyed every minute and found the food,room,staff,setting and facilities all more than adequate.
We enjoyed 3 trips with CET (Cairo Express Travel)...paradise island - quad bikes - 1 day shopping and at no time did we ever feel unsafe or hassled by anyone (although to be honest the shop keepers at hurghada would give Del boy a run for his money).
Book this hotel with confidence because in a few years time this hotel will be out of your price range.
We are already thinking of next year !!!!
In my opinion......
Best restaurant - Steakhouse or asian.
Best staff member - Ahmed in the steak restaurant with hamhad his "lovely".
Best cocktail - salty dog.
All in all.............................BRILLIANT !!

Room Tip: not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grunter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped here 14 / 21 October . The hotel is going through some buildings work around the hotel
But don't let this put you off . We did not hear a thing and the areas you went to if did not affect you at all . As a adult only hotel it's very relaxing and quiet . There are 3 restaurants on the night which have to be booked and the main world restaurant of all was our favourite, you could still use the other hotels for food and a drink if you want to . The drinks are Egypt brands but with decent mixtures .it's worth a stroll along the beach ( turn right out of hotel ) to see Mohamed 346 he does a mean cocktails ( if you go could you please take a bottle of Worcester source for him )
The rooms are very clean towels are changed every day there is fridge full of water.very enjoyable holiday would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a wonderful week at The Makadi Spa. We were chatting on the flight home and really could think of nothing detrimental to say about our stay.
The hotel is magnificently designed and once you find your way around very easy to get wherever you want to go.
The restaurants all serve excellent cuisine which is waiter served except for The World which is a top class buffet with every conceivable choice of food. Everything is fresh and cooked to perfection.
The rooms are very spacious and like every where else in the hotel spotlessly clean. The attention to detail of all of the staff is as good as we have ever experienced in all but the top 5* hotels of the world.
A special note must be made regarding the food and beverage manager Mr Ibrahim. He was always around the restaurants and bars making sure everything was perfect and just keeping the staff on their toes. He was always talking with guests to be sure they were satisfied with everything and I imagine they all were!
I could go on but really to sum up the whole experience was one not to be forgotten. The staff in every area should be highly praised. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave nothing is left to chance. The management must be good in building such a great team.
What a shame people are put off travelling to the area and this hotel in particular by the politics. There is no sign of any problems and our advice would be just to go and have a wonderful holiday at an unbelievably low cost.
Thanks to everyone at The Spa.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were enormous and really well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rickyth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It was our first visit to Egypt and the Makadi Spa due to reservations re: Country and Culture. However, we were educated and can only express what beautiful people and what a beautiful country. Although, the Makadi Spa was not completed - we were made aware of this before our visit but it did not impact on our experience other than fantastic. Egypt was/is going through some major political challenges and we should continue to support the country positively. Yes, everything was not perfect but more than exceeded value for money.

Room Tip: Unable to comment on the Spa due to the development being put on hold but can clearly see how amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Prior to our stay at makadi spa for first 2 weeks in october we emailed the hotel to request a junior suite on the top floor overlooking the pool. We received a reply the following day saying they would do their best to meet this request. They did us proud giving us a lovely room (6328). On arrival at hotel we were given cold face towels to freshen up & cold drink. We were then taken to the world buffet which had stayed open for our late arrival Then we were taken to our room. Very impressed everything we had asked for with wonderful views. The hotel was only 50% occupied so a very good choice of sunbeds any time of day. Not all the bars & restaurants were open but still a good choice for lunch & dinner plus the option to use 3 more hotels close by on the all inclusive package. Makadi spa is adults only so guests in other hotels could not use our facilities. Options for lunch 2 restaurants + 1 bar. Options for dinner world buffet + 4 a la carte restaurants. The a la carte restaurants needed to be pre-booked. There was a lot more choice at the other hotels & the mall if you needed it. We did not . Our favourite was the asian restaurant excellent chinese & japanese food with special thanks to Ali & Emad who gave us 1st class service every visit. More special thanks to Ali in the spanish restaurant & bar also the waiter (did not get name) who brought our tea & coffee at breakfast. More thanks to Salem our pool boy who did a wonderful job all day long & also Hassan who kept our room spotlessly clean. The rest of the staff made our holiday very enjoyable. Thank you all.So what if all the things were not on the menus. Tiles lifting in the pool. Spa not finished. This is a country with big problems & the staff are doing their best for us.Carry on supporting them they need us we dont want to loose this wonderful holiday destination & brilliant climate.Just one last point to thomson airlines we are going home to a much colder climate could do without it as soon as we get on the plane.Return flight was freezing turn the cabin temperature up a bit or carry blankets.

Room Tip: Room nos.beginning with 63 overlooking pool are generally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mozsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,004 reviews
1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,491 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#15 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing