We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 7 nights in Makadi Spa. It was 27 -30 degrees, the pool service was brilliant with a drinks waiter and sunglasses cleaner at your service. It's immaculate inside and out, with a lovely little chap constantly cleaning the pool side toilets and on hand to pass you hand towels.
Food is delicious, breakfast consisted of a continental breakfast as well as a cooked - something for everyone. Lunch, you have three options depending on what you fancy, casual bar food, a light snack restaurant & a three course. My birthday fell mid-week, Ibraham helped make my birthday celebrations very special, setting the table up with flowers and special cocktails, they sang to me and produced a personalised birthday cake. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    276
    87
    14
    10
See reviews for
111
882
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Having just spent a week here I am convinced this was the best hotel on offer. Fabulous! I had a junior suite which was superb and have no complaints whatsoever. There was a great choice of food and places to eat within the hotel complex, the pool areas were lovely and the beach was great, although I would advise taking beach shoes as you have to walk on rocky coral to get out to deep enough water to swim in.
Despite the spa not being open we all had massages and fish pedicures which were being offered by professionals in the beach area. The staff are extremely courteous and nothing is too much trouble so I would whole heartedly recommend staying here. The added bonus is it is child free for those of us wanting a peaceful break!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A relaxing a comfortable hotel, no the spa is not open we all know this. I will not go over rooms again as I think with over 350 reviews people now know the are spacious and clean and the towel boy knocks even when the do not disturb is on.
We like it here it is quiet and relaxing. Mahmoud the pool boy knows what we like and when to bring it, I am beginning to think he is a mind reader, anyway he just knows!!!!!!!
we visited the Asian for teppanyaki twice and twice for the standard menu. Botanical Garden in the Palace Hotel twice and the Thai also in the Palace Hotel. The tapas restaurant in the Spa has previously had a patchy but is currently really lovely great little dishes followed by fab main courses, Jaspers is currently closed and the chef that was in charge of Jaspers is now in the Tapas therefore obviously standards have hit the roof.
Room request via Stephanie were fulfilled without problems. Mohammed Salah takes care of almost everything even if its not his remit.
Wagdy at the lobby bar thank you for our morning tea and pastries.
There are a few little issues i.e. Jacuzzi pool is out of action with tiles missing. Curtains at the lobby bar are frayed to the edges. but this is Egypt where recent issues have lead to a halt in any building or updating/upgrading work. This is not the fault of the staff they really do the absolute best with what they have. We will go again perhaps in April and November this year as it gives us just what we want - peace and quiet. See you soon Gerard

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I am writing this review whilst I am still at Makadi Spa - I came here to start my new book ( As a writer I am always looking for a relaxing and inspiring locations and I have found one! ) I cannot begin to say how wonderful this place is - Stunning location, friendly service and people, beautifully clean and the food is absolutely delicious. My room is overlooking the infinity pool and sea and each morning I wake up feeling refreshed and relaxed. I am leaving tomorrow and feel like I want to stay another month! I came with my family who have really enjoyed the selection of restaurants, the pools and lovely walks along the sea front. This has been the best holiday - THANK YOU to everyone at Makadi Spa x

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was there in Nov for 7 nights and due back in March 2014. It has still loads to offer and loads due to open.

Have to say if I am really going to be picky the Bars in the evening are not that great, there is a fantastic and very comfortable lobby bar which used to be for all inclusive but no longer for some reason which is a great shame as it was a hub to get to meet others as it had a nice long bar.

Other than that the food and service is still Excellent and worth every penny.

Room Tip: The Spa is still not open and the Gym you have to pay extra for so unable to comment. In Fairness th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dodgyted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The Makadi Spa exceeds expectations of all inclusive in Egypt. We were warmly greeted and checked in to a lovely room with great views of the pool and sea. We were 3 friends travelling and had 2 suites. We were disappointed to discover one queen size bed in each room tho staff were very accommodating providing bedding for the sofa bed (frustrating tho when we specifically requested a twin room some 11 months in advance).
Food, service and drinks were really good - surpassing experiences in Sharm. The options were endless amongst this hotel and the others in the resort tho we opted to stay and use facilities in the hotel because it's adults only and because the service was excellent. A particular shout out to Mohammed at the pool bar and his excellent attention to us at the buffet on New Years Eve and Head waiter Mohammed at the fish restaurant. Their service focus was terrific.
Buffet on NYE was superb...the chefs had done a brilliant job!
A shame the spa isn't open yet (we were advised of this fact before we arrived and a small discount made by Red Sea holidays as a result) as the alternative provided in the beach huts really isn't to standard tho not in the control of the hotel.
Service can be slow in the lobby bar though everyone is pleasant. A little constructive critique would be to ensure more reception staff at known peak times of departure. Service was slow and really felt for the one man trying to serve everyone checking out....he needed more support.
All in all a great week's holiday and would definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Nikki71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Makati resort comprises a number of hotels: The Spa looks the newest and has a splendid facade on arrival. Although still not totally finished (the spa isn't yet done, some areas being built), the staff are wonderful, the food is excellent and there is a large choice of restaurants to dine in. The grounds are lovely with a heated and an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Use of a fairly good gym, tennis courts & equipment is available although you have to pay extra for this.
The suite we had was gorgeous & cleaned properly every day.
The only negative was the quality of the alcoholic drinks (as we were all inclusive). We paid for premium Egyptian drinks as being on the resort, there was nowhere else to go. A bottle of drinkable wine was £25, whilst a gin & tonic cost £6.50 - still Egyptian makes but more palatable.
The hotel is tranquil, with no children and plenty of sunbeds both around the pools and on the beach. Def worth a return trip.

Room Tip: Check room before accepting, ours was a bit dark so they moved us to a bigger, brighter one without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#14 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing