We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shakey Start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shakey Start”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel to be met with a queue to be booked in, for 5* this is not good the male receptionist was most arrogant and set the tone for the next 2 days I had a difficult 2 days to get over to the management that 5* meant exceptional service like not having to queue for booking restaurants. I met with the manager and the F&B manager explained my upset and BANG all was sorted. We had a fabulous 5* holiday the surroundings beautiful the food sumptuous the room fabulous the staff do not come any better. With all that happened at the start it did not ruin our holiday only made it better will return very very soon and will keep returning as hotel management does not get any better than this a truly exceptional place. The staff at this hotel want your input as they truly want to be the best ( and I really think there close ) YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED If you want service as part of your holiday JUST ASK 5****

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    290
    89
    14
    10
See reviews for
114
932
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I am staying at the Makadi Spa at the moment and wanted to say how disappointed my husband and I have been with the service and all inclusive package that we are supposed to have. Every bar and restaurant has a hidden agenda with extra charges all the time. The potential here is huge but the small mindedness spoils things. This morning my husband and I took a trip and ordered a breakfast box as we were leaving the hotel at 5.30am. There was no box or bag and we were told to eat it quickly as the coach had just arrived. I asked if I could take some oranges as that was the only portable food I could see behind the bar and was told it was an extra charge!! We have had a good day on our excursion which we paid extra for and the hotel hasn't had to
feed but I am still smarting at this hotel which is clearly not the five star boutique hotel it claims to be. The saga continues....I asked for a late dinner reservation but again was told Spanish tapas only. Let's see when we get back tonight. Am writing this on our tour bus that has wifi!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bleathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First visit to this lovely hotel in April and I was very impressed with most aspects of the hotel. The quality of the rooms, the excellent design and layout was well planned and the food was above expectations for an all-inclusive resort hotel. There is plenty of variety of food choices within the hotel although best choice was definitely the Asian restaurant which stands out above the rest. Eating outside the hotel, particularly in the Mall was very disappointing but worth a visit to see how the other half live!
Pools were very good particularly the infinity pool and the General Manager explained the problem with the loose and missing tiles which does need to be resolved quickly.
The beach is very crowded as it is used by all the other Red Sea hotel guests and feels very noisy and busy as it is full of children and the beds are very close together. Best snorkelling is to the left side of the long pier off the Makadi Grand with excellent coral and fish to be seen.
Only minor complaints are that the hotel is very busy and full of mainly Germans and Russian guests so you do need to get up early for a prime spot on the beach or around the pool, the air conditioning is very noisy so you just have to get used to the noise or buy some earplugs to sleep at night and some of the rooms have poor views of either the gardens or other hotels. Recommend a pool and sea view room on the highest floor possible and if you ask nicely they will try to move you if you are not happy.
Overall a beautiful hotel, well run by a good management team with superb food choices and excellent value for money.
Special mention to top employee, Ahmed (Beach Boy) from the Infinity Pool Bar team, what a lovely man, top marks for excellent service with a smile.
I plan to return very soon.

Room Tip: Recommend a pool and sea view room on the highest floor possible and if you ask nicely they will try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

It is a while since I travelled to the Makadi Spa, but my husband and I felt it was the best hotel in Egypt including hotels in Sharm.

We are traveling back in Sept and cannot wait to try the new restaurants as these were not open previously.

It is a shame the lobby bar is now not inclusive we thoroughly enjoyed sitting there of an evening with our tea and cake.

We visited the Italian restaurant in the mall twice during our week, pizza was to die for.

Does any one know if guests at the Makadi can now use the waterpark in the hotel next door?

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 0774caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Before we went to Egypt I had read several reviews with none of them really answering any of the questions I had, and mostly people picking fault in little things such as ripped towel bags which really wouldn't affect your holiday or help with finding out info on the hotel which we found to be quite lacking on the hotels website. Down to Red Sea to add more detailed descriptions about the area and layout of the hotel. For example:

Stating that there is little to no entertainment at the hotel, great for some people but if you wanted a little something you had to visit a neighbouring hotel which would be swarming with kids, not exactly something you wanted if you've chosen to stay in a child free hotel.

Also making it more clear which bars are all inclusive and which ones aren't. We had a few incidents when we thought particular bars were all inclusive but weren't. Especially in other hotels as we were led to believe we could drink in any other hotel with our Makadi Spa wristband.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and tried their best to accommodate our needs,nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Our one main gripe about some of the staff was them hovering around us for tips (particularly the cleaners of our room) which made us feel less likely to tip them because of it. Although the general manager did say to only tip if we felt happy to, the staff didn't seem to follow that, but the lads we did choose to tip we're very appreciative of it.

The food in all of the restaurants was great, didn't have one bad meal, or upset stomach! The Asian was our favourite of all, but just watch out for the 'catman', he's an interesting character! All of the food in the hotel restaurants was all inclusive which we were unsure about before we arrived. We visited the French restaurant in the Mall one evening, it was a nice place and the food was good, but most things on the menu were extra, I had a steak which was a big chunk of meat, cooked lovely with French fries and that was 125 Egyptian pounds. We didn't eat in any of the other restaurants there but the sports bar we visited charged us 30 Egyptian pounds for a beer and 35 for a can of diet coke. As we only wanted one, the barman seemed to want us out as soon as we had finished, even though the bar was empty.

One tip regarding restaurants, is we found that booking certain restaurants 24 hours in advance wasn't early enough, so try and book 2 days in advance so you get the time you want. We did it for the last evening of our honeymoon so we had a lovely end to the 2weeks stay.

Overall, apart from the few negatives we encountered, we had an amazing honeymoon and wouldn't have changed the location or hotel for anything. It was exactly how we wanted it to be, quiet, laid back and with a camel ride or two! The trips we went on were excellent value for money and we had a great time, and also met some lovely people along the way, Linda, jimmy, Bev and Alan. We've taken some great memories home from a great holiday in Egypt and would definitely do it again.

Room Tip: Our room was spot on, we stayed in 6326 and had a great view of the pool and of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissRoll22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Makadi Spa for 2 days before going on the Grand Rose fora 7 day nile cruise. The cruise was a must and very enjoyable we met a great bunch of people our rep Shamarie was fantastic and so knowledgeable about the ancient Egyptians. It was an amazing experience. We then returned to the Makadi spa and we had a different suite from the previous week was not as good as the first suite we had. The hotel was lovely apart from the Russians who seem to treat everyone as beneath them. The staff were very helpful. Lovely and relaxing as adults only which is what we wanted. Mixed feelings on whether we would return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous Easter break back at work a week and wishing I'd won the lottery so I could go straight back. Once you remember it's Egypt and not all can be perfect currently in the current political climate puts things into perspective. That said The Makadi Spa team should be proud of what they are achieving. Some tips fly with Monarch still provide an in flight meal no doubt included in the price. Don't forget to take 15 for your visa when you land and some small denomination notes, dollars even, for tips not expected but if you receive good service why not say thanks, the staff don't earn UK wages and work long and hard. Beach towels not needed provided and leave outside your room changed each night. Take advantage of booking the different restaurants worth the daily booking chore. Finally must say a special thanks to Hany Shaban in the lounge bar for his excellent service and looking after us on our holiday an ambassador for the hotel one of the reasons we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#14 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing