We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit at the Makadi spa”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makadi Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our second visit to the Makadi spa hotel from the 9th to the 20th may and I must say thankyou to the reception stuff as they are so nice and helpfull,and all the restorants to ,the food was very good and the waiters remember us from the last visit,the rooms are very nice and cleaned daily the pools are nice and clean weather was nice and hot ,we will be going there again soon as this was the best 5* star hotel we find and we have been to many hotels in Egypt ,so thankyou again to all at the Makadi spa

Room Tip: pool view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HampshireBocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the makadi spa from 13th to 23rd May. Firstly the hotel and it's grounds are beautiful, with a lovely promenade along all 4 hotels. Spa guests can use all the other hotels so if you fancy a change of scenery you can visit other bars and restaurants. The food is very good in all the a la carte restaurants but we found the buffet quite dull and same old every day. Luckily we only had to use it twice! Breakfast is also available in the cove restaurant so my advice is if you fancy a quiet relaxed start to the day then go there. Lunch is the best by far with 4 places to eat, shimmers which does light snacks, the steak house which does lovely fish and chips for lunch, the cove has a BBQ and infinity bar for burgers etc. The boys who come to your sunbed and bring the drinks are excellent but sitting at the infinity pool bar is a bit comical to say the least! A bit like the chuckle brothers ha ha, sometimes you get the wrong drink or no drink at all but hey your on holiday so no worries.
As I said all the restaurants are great and the lads in the lounge bar/tapas restaurant/ garden bar are lovely. Also the steakhouse manager is a always welcoming and friendly. Still can't work out why lobby bar is not all inclusive as it seems such a waste of space. There is another bar called the beer garden on the promenade on the right of the hotel that no one seems to use, but it's lovely in the evening to sit outside by the beach. I think there is a lot of confusion to what is and what isn't all inclusive as there is no info in the rooms apart from one sheet of paper with opening times.
The rooms are fabulous apart from not being able to shut the drawers. But they are hot. They are so big that the aircon can't cope. Again we had a few niggles with some days no coffee, other days no milk and other days no sugar, but we just laughed about it and reception got used to us ringing up for extra supplies. We stayed at the premier le reve last year which was amazing but when you think it's £300 dearer than Makadi Spa then there is not that much difference. Yes the service at the Reve was better but there is so much more to experience at the Spa. The only downside for me personally was no sparkling wine so I was limited with the drinks but that's just me. My husband and friends were more than happy with several beers and vodkas through out the days and evenings!
And if you have a late flight you get a FREE late check out room so that's a great bonus. We really enjoyed the holiday and would recommend it, just remember your on holiday and if the service is a bit hit and miss then does it really matter when your not paying over the odds? I don't think so. Enjoy :-)

Stayed: May 2014
9  Thank Adelef1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

When we arrived at Hurghada the reps meeting everyone had no details of our booking. They seemed uninterested but did let join the coach to the Hotel. Reception had no details of our booking, so for two hours we had to hang about reception with no idea if we had a room at the inn. Eventually the assistant manager found us a room. A couple of days later we had to sign a pre-printed form to say we did not want to stay at Sunworld Hotel. The fact is was pre-printed makes me suspect this happens regularly. If I was to hazard a guess Red Sea Operators book you as an 'allocate on arrival' and hope you won't care where you end up. (Some evidence to support this on forums on internet). So if you booking confirmation does not confirm hotel details, keep ringing them until they do.

Most of the reviews for this Hotel will give you a pretty good idea of what to expect. No children!
Food - book the a la carte restaurants as the buffet is limited - and if you are Wheat intolerant there is no dessert! Squeezing you own orange juice in the morning is tedious and the juicers get clogged and do not work effectively. The Asian Restaurant is a joy, the waiters are lively and you have a fun time. The steak house only has one steak, but they cook it well. The Fish restaurant is also very good. Tapas bar have lots of choice, but service was a bit mixed.
The pool - lovely didn't use it because we prefer to swim in the sea as can't do that in UK. note that if you go early in the year the sea temperature will vary a lot from the air temperature, but is ok once you get past the initial shock. The jelly fish are non stinging - so just brush them away - no need to scream the place down whenever you see one.
You will need beach shoes, but so rewarding to go for a paddle as you can see brightly coloured butterfly fish without even using a snorkel.
Entertainment in the evening is either watching the Russians from Sunworld (next door)
have yet another loud domestic as you stroll along the prom or everyone sat in reception scrolling on phones/tablets.

Room Tip: Be persistent at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Retromobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel has beautiful grounds, the restaurants were really great, our favourite being the Asian but the buffet restaurant (The World) seemed to have no menu changes for our whole stay so we ended up having curry/chinese most nights we went there. There are cakes for dessert or fruit but nothing else. We booked onto ala carte most nights because of this and were very happy with all restaurants so it didn’t hinder our stay.

The décor throughout is fab, just my style and the rooms were lovely, we had a free upgrade to the top floor with a HUGE balcony & apartment. The cleaner popped in multiple times thoughout the day with towels, not sure if this was on the hunt for tips, we did tip him well as we saw him so often so we probably fell for that one! There was an abandoned hot tub on the balcony, all hot tubs seemed to have been put on their side and dumped, but that’s fine aslong as you haven’t paid for a working one, it was around the side so we didn’t really notice it!

They seem to have missed finer details for example, bedside lights had been changed and you could see where the old ones were due to the different colours of paint, some bathroom tiles were broken and grout was darkened through use in some bits, the shower door hit the shower head when opened, all the beach towels were frayed and the cushions had holes in, the most disappointing bit was the amount of tiles that had come away from the pool, and were just sitting at the bottom of the pool, definitely not what you expect for 5*. That being said, we got fresh towels every day for the poolside which was great and the rooms were cleaned every day. The staff were always friendly & around the pool was lovely, with some really nice double sunbeds.
Reception was a shambles, a member of staff moved our books from our sun lounger while we were at breakfast and no one seemed to be able to get them back.. shame really as I asked so many times and it seemed that no real effort was made, just excuses that they hadn’t been able to get hold of the manager who took them. Shimmers was nice for lunchtimes, although the manager there just seemed to spend his time shouting at the staff who were always very polite to us.

Hand sanitiser is recommended by the rep especially after touching money and before meals so we always used it on each of these occasions, unfortunately we have suffered with stomach upsets since day 4 and are still suffering now (almost 2 weeks later). The Pharmacist charged us £10 each for pills that didn’t work so I’d recommend taking some some with you just in case as we had to queue behind others both times to get them! Something to soothe bloating and tummy pains. I’m not saying it was their food though, it may just have been from something else e.g. the pool. The air con is very noisy but it works well so it didnt bother us, but light sleepers would find it a problem.

We did feel completely relaxed and it was lovely and tranquil so we would recommend to friends, but just make sure you take tummy tablets and don’t leave your books unattended!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Miss_P_and_Mr_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have previously stayed at the grand and the Palace and thought that this year we would push the boat out and stay at the Spa. Nice Hotel. Got booked in quickly and shown to our room which was fantastic and clean but had some tiles missing in the bathroom. The pool area is great with a good drinks service, but there are tiles missing in the pool. The Buffet restaurant is nicely decorated, excellent waiter service for tea and Coffee in the morning but. The same electric music plays every day and drove me nuts! the food choice is the same every morning, but the thing that really drove me to distraction is the fact that the only fruit juice that was available you had to squeeze yourself. great you may say, freshly squeezed juice everyday, I would tend agree with you BUT. You had to queue up for at least 5 minutes every morning whilst everyone managed to suss out how to work the juicer, with most people putting half an Orange in at a time and considering it took approximately 8 halves for a small glass of juice you can imagine how long the queue got and at the end you had a nice glass of juice, very sticky hands and no means of cleaning them! Admittedly, I am not a morning person and cannot do with this hassle in the morning but why oh why can they not have someone squeezing juice to avoid the backlog, or have normal juice in jugs so you can just pour some instead of having to wait? The cartons are on every single bar in the place so it wouldn't be difficult!
We used all the A la carte restaurants and the food in general was good but, in every restaurant we went in there was at least 1 item "not available" on the menu and this was always one of the major items. We had a meal at the Thai in the Palace Hotel and when we sat down they told us that they had on Red or Green Curry - in a Thai Restaurant!!! We also found that in every restaurant that the food was never hot and at best was just warm, but that could be a British thing.
The rooms were kept very clean. We reported the fact that out Air con was not cold and the patio door didn't lock. We got the patio door fixed in 24 hours but the Air con never got sorted. The room boy was very good but. Every day he waited for us to go back to the room then knocked to give us hand towels and ask if everything was ok and waited for a tip, if we didn't answer the door he opened it and came in. Then every day the beach towel man would arrive and instead of leaving the towels outside where the wet ones were, he would knock and then wait for a tip. If you didn't answer the door he would open it and come in. This is totally not acceptable. It is even less acceptable when the towel man asked for 5 English pounds when he knew we were due to go home, other people we were with said this also happened to them.
The lads in the Garden bar deserve a mention for fantastic service and happy faces, also for coping brilliantly during a thunderstorm and carrying on regardless of being soaked!
In general this is a very nice hotel and I would probably go back although we have probably done Makadi bay enough now. However I think the Spa has cut back on a lot of staff in the last year and the training and culture of those remaining needs to change for it to be a truly great hotel. We were told by repeat guests that the hotel is sliding in standard, and the staff tip culture, especially with the room boys need a dramatic improvement. I know Egypt is a poorly paid country and we always tip as we go along for good service, but if i am asked outright for a tip, or someone stands there until asked to leave I am afraid it is crossing the line for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jules608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Reasons for rating this hotel Average.

We have just returned from a ten night stay at the Makadi Spa in April-May. This was an ''all inclusive'' package holiday booked via Red Sea Holidays. Given the time of year, it must be stated that the weather was beautiful. Great sunshine for a large part of the day. It was particularly busy at this time of year - we were told it was a full house - so albiet ample sunbeds at the pool and beach, most were taken early (this is normal at busy resorts - so get towels down early!).

I have decided to best describe this as the good, the bad and the ugly. Others may be of a different opinion however this is solely based on our experience and by no means will predicate anothers experience.

The Good

- Room was fantastic. We had room 6224. This had a huge varanda and a couple of sun beds. Also had plenty of other furniture, could have a party! It was clean (although we spotted a cockroach on our first day) but otherwise great. It was so spacious and I think on review is the highlight of the hotel.

- Ample resturants, of varying kind in the hotel and outside the hotel, at the Mall. Felt the food was not that great at them all except the Oriental resturant which was outstanding and we visited twice. Again, this was our experience so others may have a different view. We felt food was served generally luke warm to cold across the other resturants.

- The World resturant is the main dining for breakfast and evening dinner room. I referred to it as a canteen. Food was always repetitive, not great for a five star hotel, and often cold and more emphasis on quantity than quality. But plenty available here to eat on first trial, so is mentioned as a good.

- Pools were lovely. There were three in total. An infinity pool too overlooking the sea.

- Pool guys who served drinks were brilliant, always walking around offering a drink service. With a little tip at the beginning they would come back again and again making sure you were good for drinks. We liked this. Not disturbing but available.

- Shuttle service to Hurgahda twice a day is useful.

- TV great with lots of channels and some good english movie channels.


The Bad

- Sunbeds were ample if you woke up at 5am. By 9am you would be searching for a good spot. You would also find that plenty of sunbeds had towels on them for hours or some would secure more than they needed and not turn up to use them til hours later. Nothing was done about this until some complained and something was done but caused issues.

- Exursions we were misled with and not as described by the Red Sea Holiday representatives. Information generally was not great and not informing. Couple of examples here. We went on a Jeep Safari described as we would be driving a Jeep around the desert. Far from it. We sat at the back of a Jeep with another couple on the exursions and experience some uncomfortable driving across a desert only to be parked at a beduoin camp (seemed commercial) for hours sitting inside a tent and listening to the guide babble on about general stuff until we had some decent bbq lunch into the late afternoon and then sat around for a few more hours (fighting flies) until we caught a little sunset then jetted back down the desert accompanied by some unorthodox driving. This exursions could have taken place in two hours but instead wasted the best part of the day for £72 for two people. Not worth it. Also, we went on the shuttle to Hurgahda but spent hours trying to find places on a map and walked around for a long time to give up in the end. But if you want to go do a bit of shop, worth the trip.

- Room was cleaned well. However when tipped we got them do to their cleaning properly, i.e. replace towels, water etc. However, no tip and non of this was done. We finished a box of tissues on the table, and this was never replaced. Not major but shows lack of attention to detail. At times we didn't have two wash towels. Some had dressing gowns, we never had any. Didn't bother asking for any in the end.

- Misleading information from reception. For example, we ordered a taxi to Hurgahda and told many times it was 25 one way and 50 return. Assuming EGP. Only to be seated in taxi and drove to outside the next hotel where someone popped their head in to take our room number and told it is 50 Euro's. Outrageous. We declined and were never told that Euro was the currency to be charged by our reception. Why charge EURO in an egyptian country? He then offered 30 Euro. We declined and returned to the hotel and got the shuttle the next day.

- Reception staff, bar one (Mohammed) were pretty dire. On occasions I had to stand their whilst they finished their phone calls. Mohammed, took instructions from us and carried them out and left us a confirmation in our room. Fantastic. We received one room key when we arrived and later asked for another, only to be told simply no.

- Reserving al la carte resturants. Although their are ample resturants, you need to reserve. All this is a right plava and confusing and can be better managers. For example, the ones in the Mall should be booked between 1-2pm at reception, and the ones in the hotel betweem 3-6pm in lobby at desk. We once didn't book the Indian at the Mall and turned up on a stroll as it was empty. Turned away due to not booking regardless of being empty. This is quite annoying as it means queing to reserve a table but if you are snorkelling at the jetty, a slight ten min walk down the beach, then you had to head back to book before it is all booked up then head all the way back down to continue snorkelling. Not ideal. Also if your sleeping whilst sunbathing during the day, not ideal. I think they make to much of a fuss over reserving. If you have no reservation the main dining hall, The World, closes at 930pm so be sure not to miss this.

- Service across the whole, except at the pool and beach, was pretty poor. In the Resturants (bar the Oriental) it was useless. Late or cold food served, no attention from waiters. This is not a five star hotel. I have experienced much better customer care at 3/4 star hotels elsewhere in the Middle East. On certain occasions it was OK but generally nothing to write home about. Here also tipping goes a long way, when it should not have to be about constant tipping.

- ''All inclusive'' is not all inclusive. The lobby bar is charging and the resturants in the Mall charge for the majority of stuff on the menu. So be careful. Not worth the title in my opinion.

- Spa is not available at the moment.


The Ugly

- We were shown our room on arrival by one of the staff. He took a whole group of people with him which is not appropriate. Whilst the others waiting outside of our room, the staff showed us our room, which we were happy with. He blantantly stood around for ages following us, for a tip of course. Until we told him we had no money on us to tip him, so he left promptly. Disgusting given we just arrived after a long journey. It was so absolutely blatant and made us feel so uncomfortable.

- Another poor service is the beach towel guy. Every night whilst we put the beach towels outside our room, they should be replaced and put in the bag and left outside the room, especially if you have your ''do not disturb'' sign on. This did not stop him. He persistently knocked until we opened the door. Only for him to prolong giving the towels. It was obvious he was hoovering at the door for a tip. We didn't give it. This happened every evening and really disturbed us as we were getting ready for dinner or relaxing on the varanda. I would feel especially sorry for those having an intimate moment. If the door was not opened they would just open the door and walk straight in!! This happened regularly.Yuck!

- At times the room service would bring towels in the evening they forgot to put in place whilst cleaning room, a deliberate endeavour to secure a tip! Again, they, although not as frequent as the above, would do the same as above and just walk straight in if door not answered.. Not nice at all as this provided no privacy at all.


Some special shouts:

- Reception - Mohammed was brilliant.
- Garden Bar - Hani was fantastic.
- Pool service guys - great.
- Oriental staff, manager and waiter, outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Zak250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel to be met with a queue to be booked in, for 5* this is not good the male receptionist was most arrogant and set the tone for the next 2 days I had a difficult 2 days to get over to the management that 5* meant exceptional service like not having to queue for booking restaurants. I met with the manager and the F&B manager explained my upset and BANG all was sorted. We had a fabulous 5* holiday the surroundings beautiful the food sumptuous the room fabulous the staff do not come any better. With all that happened at the start it did not ruin our holiday only made it better will return very very soon and will keep returning as hotel management does not get any better than this a truly exceptional place. The staff at this hotel want your input as they truly want to be the best ( and I really think there close ) YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED If you want service as part of your holiday JUST ASK 5****

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank stu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
956 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#13 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,371 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £123 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing