We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gin & Tonic White Wine with Ice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gin & Tonic White Wine with Ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We returned for our 5th two week stay at The Makadi Spa in April 2014. The main difference to our previous visit was that the Hotel was full to capacity compared to around 25% occupancy back in November but this made NO Difference to our stay Sunbeds plentiful, restaurants so many to choose from all available ( although small gripe I think they could improve booking system) it did not feel full to the point I thought the staff were just winding me up as it was still so peaceful. ALL staff from General Manager Gerard Hanssen down are so helpful and pleasant they just cant do enough for you. Gerard is seen daily walking the grounds talking to guests making sure everything was to their satisfaction. Yes the SPA is yet to open and a small amount of building work is still going on BUT YOU KNOW BEFORE YOU GO! and it makes no difference to your holiday as its hardly noticeable Yes there are some tiles missing in the pools SO WHAT! this is still a fantastic Hotel. We have been to Egypt nineteen times now and this Hotel is the best by far. No Children No animation team you can go next door if you want any entertainment but this hotel is for sheer relaxation even part of the beach is for SPA guests only. We have had a different room on each of our previous visits all rooms excellent clean and to a high standard. Look forward to returning in October for another two weeks of bliss..

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic ones facing the Makadi Palace are cooler rooms facing pool have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julian_brownrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    273
    87
    15
    9
See reviews for
109
866
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We chose to stay at the Makadi spa to celebrate our honeymoon as we had previously visited the hotel in September 2012 and had a lovely holiday. However this time round we were came home feeling very disappointment.
I had emailed the hotel a couple of months before our visit, explaining we were returning quests on our honeymoon and would love to have the room we had on our last visit or if not possible a room with a pool/sea view. When we arrived at the hotel late at night, we were shown to our room and instantly we felt that this wasn't going to be the honeymoon we were hoping for. The room was on the side facing the makadi palace and far from what we had last time.
I went to reception and politely asked if there was any rooms facing the pool available, they replied no they were full. I stressed to them how it was our honeymoon and I'd emailed the hotel previous requesting a specific type of room and was upset this couldn't be sorted in advance.
There was nothing they could do they said so in the end I gave up asking.
The room was kept tidy and clean by housekeeping, as they were last time and the mini bar stocked with water, beer and juice near enough everyday.
We never got disturbed by the towel staff like we did last time which was a lot better. We just made sure the do not disturb sign was kept on whenever we were in the room.
The pool area was clean, but the infinity pool wasn't the most inviting even in + 40•c heat.
Tiles missing, lights hanging off the sides, dirty plasters floating around. I know that in order to fix the tiles then they would have to empty the pool but it was like that nearly 2 years ago and I'm sure something could have been done in that time?
We always managed to get a sunbed on a morning by the pool.
Regarding food at the hotel,
We ended up eating in the world Buffett many nights. (Which was nice and always a variety to chose from),as even when my husband was first in the line at 3pm to book restaurants for the evenings we still never managed to get what we wanted. The Asian was the best by far and it was on our last visit. The steak was OK, didn't have the majority of the steaks on the paying menu which didn't surprise us after last time when they always seemed to have run out if everything.
We tried the Italian in the Mall one evening aswell and the food was average. We both had a main course each and a drink each and about half hour after we left the Italian we received a call from a waiter at the restaurant accusing us of not paying for the beer my husband had? Not once when we were there did we get shown price lists, we asked for drinks which were included in AI..
the drinks that are included everywhere else in the complex. My husband said he would go to reception and sort it the next morning as we were about to go to bed and the waiter insisted he walk back to the hotel and pay that night.
They made us feel like thieves.
Overall our honeymoon was just OK, we tried to make the best out of our time there but after a few days we were ready for home. It shouldn't be like that...
We spent all of our wedding money to come here and we feel cheated out of what should have been a great time away got us both. We wouldn't visit again as there are many places to see in the world.
The hotel has the chance to be an amazing 5* resort but at the moment doesn't seem to be quite there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank York_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just completed our third visit to the Makadi Spa, having now been three times over the last 3 years. We are fortunate to have been to many great hotels all over the World, but I would say for sheer value for money, the Makadi Spa is difficult to beat.

If we consider a typical day. You wake in a spacious, air conditioned room that feels new and extremely clean. Standards are high, the king size bed and large 40"+ television being good examples of this. We have had different rooms on each visit and views from all of them have been excellent.

We would breakfast at The Cove Restaurant, which was quieter and more intimate than the main buffet. Breakfast was probably my favourite meal of the day, which is saying something as all the guests we spoke to agreed that the food in all restaurants was extremely good.

The pools were beautiful, although there are tiles missing in a number of areas. This is we are told being addressed. As the hotel is adults only, there is a quiet and relaxing ambiance. The staff around the pool were truly excellent, regularly bringing drinks. We found tipping little and often meant that you were particularly well looked after. Staff would remember the drinks you liked and sometimes bring them unprompted, which was excellent. We got to know the head of the team around the pool, Hamed Mohamed, who was extremely courteous and a credit to the hotel.

Lunch was available from a number of a la carte restaurants. This hotel is truly 'All Inclusive', so you don't need to spend anything and still eat and drink to a very high standard. Four courses were available at each meal if you could manage them. Waiters were generally fast, polite and efficient.

The Red Sea is famous for its coral reefs and the House Reef, right off the beach opposite the Infinity Pool, won't disappoint you. You will be astounded by the abundance of fish and coral. Not to be missed!

Late afternoon we would go to the Beach Bar for cocktails. The Bar was run by Mohammed Sa'eed who quickly gauged our taste in cocktails and looked after us very well. His Ice Coffee was also fantastic as he would freely admit himself.

Evenings were spent in one of the various a la carte restaurants or in one of the many bars. There is nothing noisy about the hotel and everything feels intimate and relaxed. If you want entertainment, you can find it an easy walk away at one of the connected sister hotels where as a resident of the Spa you have free access.

We went in July, which many would consider the wrong month to go as temperatures are normally in the high 30's. However, there is almost always a good breeze and, as you are in a desert region, humidity is very low, so you don't find yourself getting nearly as hot as you would expect. I can honestly say I found the heat no worse than most places in Southern Europe at that time of year.

If I had to find criticism, some sun beds and parasols need to be replaced, but this is not obvious on first inspection. The Jacuzzi was closed and indeed has never been running in our 3 visits. The rule that towels should not be laid out before 8am unless you are on the sunbed with them, was not observed. You were requested to wear shoes in the restaurants in the evening, which was all part of the high level of dress code that was trying to be achieved, but is less comfortable than sandals or flip flops in the heat if sitting outside. I stress however that none of these points impacted the enjoyment of our holiday.

News of unrest in Egypt probably accounts for why many would not consider it is a good holiday destination currently, but for me this is foolish. There is no sign of any problems anywhere and regardless once you are in the hotel complex there is no need to leave and you are completely cocooned from the outside world. Hence, now is the time to take advantage of such great value.

So in summary, a beautiful hotel with lovely staff, which is excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are a family of 8 (adults) with just a week available, we decided to return and to proudly present the Spa hotel to our adult kids and partners. I emailed guest relations in advance (Stephanie) who was outstanding. Honouring our requests for rooms together and also receiving upgrades to the larger suites overlooking the pool/sea, we were all very pleased and surprised. Whilst there we had a couple of celebrations anniversary and a birthday, restaurants booked on our behalf with the obligatory cakes/singing all done with a smile, wonderful service & food to match (steak and tapas/Spanish) we sampled the fish restaurant which was excellent, Asian again very good. Food options as spa guests are really extensive with the added Sunwing as well as the Palace & Grand along with the mall too many to try for a week! but to be honest the Spa restaurants are the best.

I too, like others who have commented, cannot believe the poor reviews about staff and hotel facilities. From the moment of arrival to departure we experienced nothing but a courteous service from everyone we met. I guess it's how you treat people and what you make of a holiday.

If I were to summarise our stay at this wonderful hotel it would be quiet luxury with wonderful views out to sea, classy furnishings, wonderful friendly staff, great food and fantastic value for money.

With trips galore off site to explore, although our snorkel trip whilst very hot 40+ was very windy with strong current made it difficult to swim. But great price and glass bottom boat, we saw plenty of fish and a turtle. Booked at the sunwing beach 3 hrs.

Go see for yourself, I'm sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank staffsfamilyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We travelled to Makadi Spa at the beginning of June for ten nights .We love this hotel for total relaxation and we got just that once again! We find it very difficult to fault this hotel and reading the reviews on here so do most others but have to say am just so surprised at some others and really question if they stayed at the same place !! We arrived late at night after an awful delay our room was ready for us thankyou so much to head of reception for more than meeting our requests regarding this having emailed in advance .All the staff at this hotel will go out of their way to help if they possibly can.A special mention to Mohammed Mohammed who looked after our room he wasabsolutely excellent very unobtrusive and every request was met with a smile. The restaurants are all good and we felt that both fish and steak restaurants were even better this year.Our favourite however is once again the Asian we actually had aproblem with our booking one evening however this was dealt with so courteously by the Food and Beverage manager and we were able to go another evening for our Teppanaki Two of the staff in here are exceptional. We preferred to eat our breakfast at the cove as it is quieter than the main buffet but that is personal choice food is just as good at either. Lunches can be taken at various restaurants but our favourite is shimmers love the menu up here at lunch time and the staff are wonderful hello to all of you and a big thankyou.This hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff work tirelessly to keep it that way as do the gardeners who work very hard keeping the grounds beautifully. This hotel provides exceptional accommodation and a totally relaxing environment for us all to have a wonderful holiday which is why so many people keep returning including us and if you do have a small problem talk to someone about it you can be sure they will go out of their way to put it right.Thankyou to Gerhard and all the staff for making our holiday perfect once again and we will see you very soon .

Room Tip: We like a room on a higher floor with sea and pool view but all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VincePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned back from 4th visit to the spa in 20 mths it just keeps getting better it was in the 40s everyday of the 2 weeks with not much breeze so very hot. As usual all the restaurants were busy and lovely food with good variety the Asian is my and most other peoples favourite so a must. The buffet breakfast is good and I looked at buffet dinner and it looked amazing but too busy for me lots of national dishes from about 10 nations. The garden bar at night is best if the breeze is about. The lobby bar is a/I but only certain times Check 6/7 and 9/10 I think. NO members of staff will be anything other than helpful and polite so the women beware is not to be concerned about There is a cash machine through the tunnel outside the Indian and Chinese restaurants feed it a £20 note and you'll get 240 Egyptian easy. Please get Egyptian notes for tips as £1 coins are a pest later in your trip as they need to change them for paper. they like English notes for coins better exchange when they bank them. I was too helpful and have come home with 145 coins !! Turn left at beach door and walk for 10 mins and you'll come to the pier for snorkelling a pain getting back out but funny to watch If you turn right you'll hear the kids in sun wing after the beach bar about turn I say !!! If you're going soon enjoy remember the culture and you'll be ok. I'm going back in November as I like the peace and quiet. Take all lotions and potions as very expensive Drink lots of water and don't overdo the beer and food you've paid for it but no need to be greedy. Enjoy. Thank you all at the spa again mr d xoxo

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Inkidinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have just got back from the makadi spa hotel we had a fantastic time we were a bit sceptic reading some of the trip advisor notes .Well all I can say is the bad comments are rubbish and people need to get a life the staff were all fantastic and never once pursued you for tips but the were also very grateful if you tipped them the hotel was lovely and staff fell over backwards to help you.You could use any of the other hotels facility's and some of the restaurants were fantastic ,the Asian and the Thai just wished we had stayed longer to try more.the only thing I would comment on was the lobby bar was a waste since it was not all inclusive so never got used and such a lovely part of the hotel, the only other thing I could say is that the pools in very small areas needed some maintenance of tiles but with the heat it is hard to do but I would recommend anybody to go ,it very quite and if you want more you can just go next door and come back later to the peace brilliant.

Room Tip: No but good wifi in lobby and free desk top computers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#12 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing