We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon here after staying in Luxor
Best hotel we have stayed in in Egypt
Staff always cheerful & helpful & we did not tip them until the end of the holiday.
Needs more British as a lot of Russians.
Entertainment every evening from 9pm always something different & pretty good too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanElhawary, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this review, 8 June 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Makadi Beach to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Manuel Guardia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    280
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
385
691
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holstebro, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This review is probably at bit Biased from our previous experiences on our Egypt trip on the Nile Cruise and the Hotel in Cairo which were also supposedly 5 star - especially the cruise were far from what a European 5 star experience is. However, Iberotel Makadi Beach would maybe "only" have a 4 start rating if i were in Europe - but having seen the alternatives in Egypt we REALLY enjoyed our stay here.

Food
Nice, clean, good quality - however some dishes may be a Egypt version of a European dishs thus not exactly what you expect. Buffet theme were not 100% - as there always were the standard local and pasta dishes for the picky guest or the kids. Lunch we mostly had at the Beachrestaurant where we were almost alone sitting with a view of the promenade and the beach. Really nice staff there and food very tasty.

Rooms
Really nice rooms, cool, clean, fairly tasty interior - only the shower could be in for a little upgrade, but everything were nice and clean.


Location
Makadi is a "fake" city only with hotels. So only go here when you have seen the Real Egypt you want to. Makadi is for relaxing, snorkling, relaxing and .... nothing more really.

But for that it is perfect. Own coral reefs directly on the beach. 10 meters out we spotted different Rays as well as the multitude of Coral fish the red sea are so known for. 20 minutes at sea we were having even better visibility snorkling - even saw a seaturtle there....


Service
Ofcourse - everyone likes a tip. But the big difference from other "5 star" experiences in Egypt is that here you have super friendly staff which is not begging for tips. We had super experiences and chose to leave a good tip for a few selected staff the last day, especially as we had felt really welcome, super service and never had anyone asked for a tip ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gulgaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanElhawary, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Makadi Beach to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Manuel Guardia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Makadi Beach is fantastic located at the cost of the marvelous Red Sea. The hotel got great rooms with balchonys located in quiet surroundings. Mostly German speaking people but also some Russians and Scandinavians but everyone seamed nice and relaxed - no bad cultural experiences. The food and general servlice is excellent and much better than expected for an All-Inclusive resort. Great pools with free sunbeds and tovels and bar of course.
On the beach is free kayaks and snorkling equipment and a windsurfing and kite surfing shop. They had various board and rig sizes sufficient to my needs. I used Fanatic Freeride 145 liter and Neil Pryde Hellcat 8.2 in less windy conditions. The surfing is not inkluded and cost approx. EUR 15 pr hour.
Also at an additional fee we made a boat (high speed rip) trip to a place north of Makadi Bay called "dolphin house" and had a great day in open water swmming with wild dolphins.
Several Diver Shops for Scuba or snorkling on the reefs off the cost.
So if you need sun and beach in relaxed surroundings with great food and water sport possibilities - Makadi Beach is great for a week strees get-away. I would not choose any other resort in the Bay over this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanElhawary, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Makadi Beach to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Manuel Guardia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My earlier review from last year still stands but a few extra thoughts.

We travelled this year with Longwood again, but flight was with Thomas Cook airline. NEVER AGAIN! Truly dreadful airline and ancient plane. It was like flying with RyanAir but for FIVE hours! Everything had to be paid for which is bad on a long flight. All refreshments poor and expensive. £2.35 for lukewarm tea etc. Legroom worst I have ever flown with. Even EasyJet give you more space. Announcements so loud you can't interpret what is said and no film. Very poor.

However, on arrival at Hurghada, the Longwood reception was superb. Much better than the Thomas Cook people. Rushed through the visa queue and out within 20 minutes.

Hotel is still wonderful and although the weather was chilly on two of our days, the heated pool still allowed pool use. Food excellent and this time we used the beach Fish restaurant at lunchtime twice. Great food and service and all part of the all-inclusive deal.

Lovely staff, we never waited more than a minute for service in any of the areas. Once again we only heard one other couple speaking English, most of the guests were German or Russian and all were polite and easy going. Staff speak a mixture of German and English in the same sentence but all understand you.

Once again though, it is the evening entertainment which lets the place down. Awful animation team who all seem to think they are either at a 1950's Holiday Camp or at a school disco. Many people got up and walked out. How this supposedly sophisticated Hotel continues with such amateur entertainment is beyond me.

However, as it was cooler in the evening we spent more time in the "FunPub" which was warmer and had two really well positioned Pool tables that we used a lot.

We also took took up one of the excursions, "Desert Experience". Pickup was from hotel at 1pm and return at about 7.30. This was excellent value for about £40 each. Included was taxi both ways, 25 minute quadbiking in desert, 25 minute self drive spider cars, very brief camel, horse and donkey rides. Also included was a jeep ride into real desert, visit to bedouin village, lunch and an evening entertainment of belly dancer etc. This was great fun and we didn't feel ripped off at any point.

Good time at a great hotel with great facilities. If only they gave the largely mature guests a better evening programme,

Room Tip: All the rooms have good balcony views and hotel has strict quiet policy from 11pm onwards, so positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alanmills405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanElhawary, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Makadi Beach to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Manuel Guardia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Would have given 5 stars if it had a better evening entertainment. Really bad...
But the warm pool (34 degrees centigrade) was excellent, the personell excellent, the food (1 buffé and 2 a-la-carte-restaurants and 1 pool restaurant) good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geo-Justis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanElhawary, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Makadi Beach to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Manuel Guardia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great hotel and staff try there best,But it is post revelution Egypt and security was lacking in the streets.
The bay is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alanpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanElhawary, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Makadi Beach to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Manuel Guardia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fribourg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This place was really an excellent choice for a relaxing holiday with the family.

The resort is situated within a complex of hotels on the Makadi Bay. We stayed there for 5 days, and had a fantastic room overlooking the pool. It wasn't noisey even though at night there is always entertainment happening. The room was quite spacious with good bed, and they managed to get us a crib for our baby which was very practical!
We tried the food at the main restaurant, the pool restaurant quite regularly. The quality in both restaurants was excellent, as u have plenty of options, and its never over-crowded.For the beach restaurant, we booked for it, but unfortunately was disappointed with the quality of the food, very limited choices too.
If u were chosing between this place or el gouna, I'd definetly recommend Makadi. The beach access is much better, and the place is well developed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sre_jbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassanElhawary, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Makadi Beach to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Manuel Guardia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.9 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
3.0 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Makadi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Makadi Beach

Property: Iberotel Makadi Beach
Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Makadi Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberotel Makadi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Beach Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Beach Bay
Iberotel Makadi Beach Hotel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing