We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun
Nearby Hotels
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
LABRANDA Club Makadi(Makadi Bay)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort(Makadi Bay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Makadina(Makadi Bay)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Steigenberger Makadi(Makadi Bay)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
345
149
17
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
149
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelanimation teambeach volleyballexcellent staypool barrecommend this hotelspecial thanksmohsenwaitersholidaytennisseachefsjazcairo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2011

it was my third visit to this hotel and i am planning for the fourth on sept. i just want to thanks all the staff there they are all kind and nice specially the animation team , there is a lovely spa next to the hotel you ll really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahmed010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This is one of the smaller hotels in the Madinat Makadi. The standard is the same as with the other Jaz hotels in the same category but more relaxed and easy going. Immaculate grounds and friendly staff , the food was varied and tasty, fish is served quite often . You get cake and cookies at tea time ! It's a fair walk to the beach and they have a bar there with a nice setting and serving snacks at lunch time. Although the hotel is on an AI scheme you need to pay extra for bottled water from the mini-bar.
Normally the receptionists at hotels have their own way special lofty way to deal with guests, not so here these are true gentleman. We had a good laugh when I answered the wake-up call with a "thank you for calling room 343". Tatiana, the russian guest relations is a doll. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikerLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Makadi Sun, weather was very hot, rooms were lovely, service was fantastic, food was really good, bit weird some evenings but you could always find something you liked, but hey you are in Egypt and the food is always going to be catered for all different nationalities, the breakfast however was amazing as was the food at the beach bar. Went on snorkeling trip with tiger tours, they were fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leggyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

we stayed at this hotel in september and were spoilt ,only word for it ,from day 1, we where the only english peolple here ,but that was not a problem, nothing was too much trouble for ALL the staff , from the top to the bottom, food was very good ,and the one day we missed dinner due to lateness of trip ,the waiter who had looked after us ,had some food sent directly to our room and this was at,10.30pm, cold towels brought round the pool to cool you down, ice creams ,drinks ,fruit kebabs ,they just kept coming ,this was the only holiday i didnt want to come home from , 10 out of10

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treacle018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The reception will NOT call a taxi you have to use the hotel cars that will cost you $80.00 for around trip to towen a 10 minutes ride, the restaurant had RATS runing around .staf is very rood at reception.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherif123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelierSun, Manager at Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Vacationer,

I am sorry for responding rather late to your review but I have to say that this is a rather unfair review.

So I am taking the opportunity to correct a few things here.

But let me fist apologize that we were not able to satisfy you on your holiday.

There are several ways to go to Hurghada and the staff at the reception is surely assisting to find out which way suits you best.
Theer is a shuttle bus leavin Madinat Makadi three times daily for now 6 EUR about 8.50 US per way which makes 17 US and is far from 80 US.

Teh same counts for the Limousine service which is an external taxi service provided through a third party. The cost for a round trip with the driver waiting for 2 hours in Hurghada is 250 LE which makes 42 US as well not even close to 80 US.

The drive to Hurghada takes approximately 25 to 30 minutes if the road is empty it might even take you longer depending on where you go.

There no hotel car in use for guest transportation.

I am now working for the hotel since more than one year and a half, since I started there has never ever been anything in the restaurant that was grey and four legged. At most there might be a desorented sparrow in th erestaurant or the normal occasional fly.

I wish you a nice day and all the best

Franziska Hansen
Executive Assistant Manager
Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun.com

eam@solymarmakadisun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews