We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“more than we expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

First of all i would like thank every and each one in this hotel for what they presented to us.
We really felt at home and shocked because we found it better than many 5 stars hotels in hurghada.
Hotel is very clean, rooms are ok and food was tasty with lot of choices.
Everyone was smiling at you trying to satisfy you.
The animation team was really funny and active we enjoyed activities with them.
Everyday when i come back to my room after breakfast i find a special decoration on the bed with flowers and baloons.
They presented a tart and bottle of water for free in the 1st day.
Most of the visitors are from germany and some from russia and we were they only egyptians in the hotel.
The only negative point is inside your room u can find a door to your neighbor room!!! It is locked from both sides but you can hear everything from the other room, and when i tried to highlight this point they answered that some groups asks to have 2 neighbour rooms with a door in between.
Again many many thanks, will recommend to everyone and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohamedHany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    83
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
113
135
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is very nice with lots of personal services, nice and clean rooms which are certainly big enough, the hotel is very nice situated near the shops of Makadi Souk and La Loca discoteca. While staying there we were given the possibility to go every day for free (shuttle bus + entrance) to the nearest Aqua Park Sinbad, which is very cool for young and old (don't forget water shoes!), the staff is very friendly and the service just perfect. It is a german guests hotel but as belgians we felt very good aswell. It is not such a big hotel but very quiet though and enough and very good animation for young and old.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Aqua Park is really nice and we enjoyed time there. It is less than 5 minutes by shuttle bus, which passing every 15 minutes. Beach is 10 minutes walking away from the hotel. It is small private beach with limited places and you have to be there before 09:00 morning to guarantee place on the beach. However, Sea and Sun are fantastic. Food was tasty but limited choices. Staff were friendly and let you feel at home. Overall, It was nice holiday with family for 3 nights and we are planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just returned from two weeks holiday. This was the best hotel we have stayed at in Egypt, the attention to detail is superb. It is small friendly hotel with great staff who cannot do enough for you. The food is excellent and caters to all tastes so there is no need for anyone to go hungry. The animation team are great fun and offer a wide variety of activities but they will leave you alone if you do not wish to join in.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and every day there was a different towel sculpture on the bed. The location is great as it is both close to the beach and only across the road from the Souk where you can buy anything you need.
All in all we cannot say enough about this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. Needless to say we will be returning.

Room Tip: If you are not good with stairs ask for ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Excellent stay for our whole family, including 78 year old. All staff were so attentive and helpful, even when we had poorly tummies the staff took food to the room with their 'special' tea for us. Head chef always come of to see us and make sure we were ok. We were the ony English family and they couldn't do enough for us.
Would definitely return, small but oh so friendly with great facilities and animation team to keep you occupied , but they will also leave you alone if you do not wish to participate.
A great holiday and would recommend to anyone who likes the Egyptian heat.

Room Tip: We requested low rooms because of my 78 year old father in law, got poolside rooms, two interconnect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

What can i say apart from this was a fabulous holiday in a great hotel. Friendly staff clean rooms lovely food. Must tell you we did the overnight trip to luxor was worth every penny. The whole experience and sight seeing was amazing its a must.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knightvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

just came back from 1 week of vacation in mid October.

Positive:

- friendly staff (if you hear a lot of stories on that you need to tip just to get any service in Egypt, we were presently surprised)
- very clean rooms
- animation team which is animating but not annoying

Negative:

- food variety: stay with the local selection at the buffett which was mostly good but 6 nights of the same pasta, pizza and salads were a bit bland

- Pool temperature: the temperature of the pool was far too cold. even the local animation team had their challenges getting in the water. The highlight was the Hotel's General Manager who seriously said, that the pool wasn't being heated yet because only from the 1st of November it would be cold and then they would start turning on the heater (Thanks for being so energy efficient).

All in all an OK but not spectacular vacation...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowGlenLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#7 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.8 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun

Property: Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Makadi Sun Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing