We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have just returned from a two week holiday at the Sol y Mar Makadi Sun. As this was my second visit to this hotel I was concerned that it would not live up to my expectations but was I wrong. I don't know how they have done it but they have improved the service they provide. This time I was accompanied by relatives who had never been there before and they were so impressed that they are planning to return with us in March of next year. I cannot begin to describe how good the staff are, I wanted to mention individuals but find it impossible to do so as every staff member cannot do enough for you and are so pleasant and polite as well as having a great sense of fun. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the place is spotlessly clean, the food is great and everyone goes out of their way to ensure your every need is met. I can't wait to return !.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you have any problems with stairs request ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr T, General Manager at Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Amr Tarek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very nice hotel, which corresponds to 4 stars. It was great, it was not veľký. Great staff willing. Rooms clean, daily tidi.Area nice, clean beach.Food excellent.
So all we were actually happy.In March ve2mi water was not hot, but fit.We recommend a trip to Luxoru.V March the temperature conditions - up to 32 degrees Celsius.It was a wonderful experience, aside from a strike of traders who prevented us access to the Valley of the Kings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr T, General Manager at Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your comment.

We looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Amr Tarek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just came back from a weeks stay today - Was very good service from start to finish - polite and helpful staff - hotel was spotlessly clean as was our room - food was good (very tasty and no sign of the egyptian belly after a weeks stay:-) - short pleasant walk to the beach surrounded by beautiful gardens - lovely private beach with good restaurant - great reef with lots of fish just off shore went snorkling there on most days - you also get waterpark entry (with all food and drinks included) for the waterpark just up the road included with staying at the hotel.....no queues was perfect and spotlessly clean -- Will definately be returning next year with family and friends -overall a great holiday experience:-)

negative points.....be wary of beauty/massage treatment salesmen around the pool/beach area - they claim to be from a spa but are actually from a dodgey salon in Souk Makadi is a complete rip off - Instead go to the Jaz hotel next door which is 5 star and is a professional spa

Room Tip: none of the rooms face the road or anything dodgey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnKirstyexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

First of all i would like thank every and each one in this hotel for what they presented to us.
We really felt at home and shocked because we found it better than many 5 stars hotels in hurghada.
Hotel is very clean, rooms are ok and food was tasty with lot of choices.
Everyone was smiling at you trying to satisfy you.
The animation team was really funny and active we enjoyed activities with them.
Everyday when i come back to my room after breakfast i find a special decoration on the bed with flowers and baloons.
They presented a tart and bottle of water for free in the 1st day.
Most of the visitors are from germany and some from russia and we were they only egyptians in the hotel.
The only negative point is inside your room u can find a door to your neighbor room!!! It is locked from both sides but you can hear everything from the other room, and when i tried to highlight this point they answered that some groups asks to have 2 neighbour rooms with a door in between.
Again many many thanks, will recommend to everyone and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohamedHany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is very nice with lots of personal services, nice and clean rooms which are certainly big enough, the hotel is very nice situated near the shops of Makadi Souk and La Loca discoteca. While staying there we were given the possibility to go every day for free (shuttle bus + entrance) to the nearest Aqua Park Sinbad, which is very cool for young and old (don't forget water shoes!), the staff is very friendly and the service just perfect. It is a german guests hotel but as belgians we felt very good aswell. It is not such a big hotel but very quiet though and enough and very good animation for young and old.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Aqua Park is really nice and we enjoyed time there. It is less than 5 minutes by shuttle bus, which passing every 15 minutes. Beach is 10 minutes walking away from the hotel. It is small private beach with limited places and you have to be there before 09:00 morning to guarantee place on the beach. However, Sea and Sun are fantastic. Food was tasty but limited choices. Staff were friendly and let you feel at home. Overall, It was nice holiday with family for 3 nights and we are planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just returned from two weeks holiday. This was the best hotel we have stayed at in Egypt, the attention to detail is superb. It is small friendly hotel with great staff who cannot do enough for you. The food is excellent and caters to all tastes so there is no need for anyone to go hungry. The animation team are great fun and offer a wide variety of activities but they will leave you alone if you do not wish to join in.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and every day there was a different towel sculpture on the bed. The location is great as it is both close to the beach and only across the road from the Souk where you can buy anything you need.
All in all we cannot say enough about this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. Needless to say we will be returning.

Room Tip: If you are not good with stairs ask for ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#7 of 30 in Makadi Bay
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
966 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £48 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Makadi Sun Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing