We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best holiday ever”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

we stayed at this hotel in september and were spoilt ,only word for it ,from day 1, we where the only english peolple here ,but that was not a problem, nothing was too much trouble for ALL the staff , from the top to the bottom, food was very good ,and the one day we missed dinner due to lateness of trip ,the waiter who had looked after us ,had some food sent directly to our room and this was at,10.30pm, cold towels brought round the pool to cool you down, ice creams ,drinks ,fruit kebabs ,they just kept coming ,this was the only holiday i didnt want to come home from , 10 out of10

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treacle018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    119
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
140
183
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The reception will NOT call a taxi you have to use the hotel cars that will cost you $80.00 for around trip to towen a 10 minutes ride, the restaurant had RATS runing around .staf is very rood at reception.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherif123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelierSun, Manager at Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Vacationer,

I am sorry for responding rather late to your review but I have to say that this is a rather unfair review.

So I am taking the opportunity to correct a few things here.

But let me fist apologize that we were not able to satisfy you on your holiday.

There are several ways to go to Hurghada and the staff at the reception is surely assisting to find out which way suits you best.
Theer is a shuttle bus leavin Madinat Makadi three times daily for now 6 EUR about 8.50 US per way which makes 17 US and is far from 80 US.

Teh same counts for the Limousine service which is an external taxi service provided through a third party. The cost for a round trip with the driver waiting for 2 hours in Hurghada is 250 LE which makes 42 US as well not even close to 80 US.

The drive to Hurghada takes approximately 25 to 30 minutes if the road is empty it might even take you longer depending on where you go.

There no hotel car in use for guest transportation.

I am now working for the hotel since more than one year and a half, since I started there has never ever been anything in the restaurant that was grey and four legged. At most there might be a desorented sparrow in th erestaurant or the normal occasional fly.

I wish you a nice day and all the best

Franziska Hansen
Executive Assistant Manager
Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun.com

eam@solymarmakadisun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed here 15-22 March 2010, having booked independantly on the web as we needed somewhere with good reviews within our price range. I aim to make this review as detailed as possible, answering all the questions I had since there are not many English reviews on here...

The room- we had a lovely spacious room, with superking bed, sofa, table and chairs, desk, nice clean and tidy bathroom. The bed was really big and very comfortable- not really hard like others I have encountered in Egypt.

The room was well maintained and cleaned everyday and Nasser the room assistant couldnt do enough for us. Every day we had a different towel sculpture, and little souveniers on our last days. Our air conditioning unit was very loud and sounded broken, Nasser got maintenance people to come and look at it right away.
I got some mossie bites on the first night and we asked for some spray, they came and sprayed right away and also left us a plug- in repellant. The next day a chap arrived with industrial fumigator and did the room again. Excellent service and much appreciated!

Our room looked out over the pool, it was quite near the bar end so could be quite noisy at night but always quietened down by midnight so nothing too disturbing.

Facilities - There is a computer to access the internet in reception. It costs 25LE for 30 mins, not too bad at all.

The hotel has a pool, gym, tabble tennis room, a pub with the sheisha pipes, a pool bar, restaurant , kids club and a section of the beach. It also has many many other facilities shared with its sister hotels on all sides. More pools, archery, tennis courts, basketball hoops, boules, volleyball court, Beach bar, showers and changing.
Really great facilities for a small ish hotel.

To get to the beach you walk between the neighbouring hotels Club Makadi and Sensimar. It is a really pleasant walk through gardens of lovely flowers and takes about 5 mins - not bad at all. It is flat all the way so accessable for wheelchairs and pushchairs.- The hotel also has ramps built into all the stairways around the complex so accessability is good.

The beach is sandy with sunbeds and shade parasols, they are fairly crammed in though, we could always find sundbeds if needed. Beach towels are provided by the hotel and you can change them each day if clean ones are needed, you hand in a card at the pool hut and get the cards back for check out.

The beach bar serves drinks all day, ice creams and also snacks such as chips, sandwiches and pizza, it was often busy at lunchtime but we never had to wait too long.

Snorkelling -
For us the attraction of the hotel was that is had good snorkelling for the area, much of the hugharda area has been destroyed but the hotel has a good reef not far offshore.
For beginners there is a little reef in the fairly shallow water to the left towards the jetty, you do have to swim across a deep section of water to get to it though. Slightly to the right is a much bigger section of reef, the inward land facing area is just rock, if you swim through the channel and round the back the seaward reef is teaming with corals and fish of many many kinds- we didnt see any eels, turtles or rays in our trips to this reef but they are frequently spotted on boat trips around the area.When we were there there was a strong wind and the current is pretty strong in places, you need to watch you dont get swept into the reef. There are still some stupid people who were feeding the fish and touching the corals despite the many signs throughout the hotel. Such a shame they dont realise or dont care about killing off the gorgeous reef. (Bread is not good for the fish and touching and breaking coral kills it- leaving the fish etc nothing to live on).

When we were there the sea and air were both about 24 degrees, we found wearing a wetsuit shortie meant we were warmer and could stay there longer swimming.

There is a company called Tiger Tours on the beach that offer snorkelling day trips out to Giftun and other islands, we paid 550LE for 2 of us for the day which included lunch and a pick up from the jetty by the hotel. For many excursions you have to get a bus to Hurghada to then get the boat out so they were ideal. They also run glass bottom boat trips, parasailing etc. The guys come up to you on the beach and by the pool but again they do not hassle you and a simple "no thanks" and a smile and they move on.

The hotel pool is lovely, not too crowded when we were there, always sunbeds available and you can move them in and out of the shade as you wish. There is a nice shallow section for children to play in safely.

There is a good packed programme of daily activities but they dont hound you if you dont want to join in, I did the water aerobics once, good fun and not serious at all.
We wanted to do archery but they only do it once a week and we missed it.
They also put on various shows in the evenings, similar to other egypt hotels, the spinning man, belly dancing etc.

I should mention as other reviews have, we were the only English we encountered all week, the hotel is linked to german and russian tour operators, i would say it was 95% german when we were there. This fact may put some people off but I have to say it wasnt a problem for us at all. The staff all spoke basic english and were all encouraging and said they wished they got to speak with more english people! We had no problems at all with the other guests - and sunbeds cannot be reserved with towels for more than 2 hours so no problems there!!

The hotel is in Madinat Makadi, a kind of village made up of the Iberotel and Jaz chain hotels, it has a Souk- shopping centre in its centre, mostly souvenier shops but there is a pharmacy with english speaking staff and dead opposite the hotel a small supermarket. Also a pizza place and a few different restaurants.

The hotel also has a doctor available 24 hours and there is a clinic shared with the neighbouring Sensimar which you can go to each day to speak to someone if needed.

Food-
Firstly, we had no problems at all with upset stomachs and did not hear of anyone with problems. The hotel proudly displays its food hygiene certificates from the tour operators, all the chefs wore latex gloves in prep of food and changed them regularly, we had no concerns at all.

The food was varied in that everyday you could chose from, pasta dishes, fish, meat, salads, various vegetables and BBQ meat or fish. I eat very bland food and my partner loves spicy, we we both well catered for. There was always lots of gorgeous fresh bread available too - yum! Each evening there was a sort of theme with one night being egyptian local dishes.
Breakfast again was varied, with cereals, fruits, cold meats and cheeses, pastries galore, as well as hot eggs, beef sausages etc.
My only niggle is that nothing was ever hot, warm but not hot unless you got it straight off the grill of course.

The rooms have a mini bar with choc and drinks in but it is really expensive when you think the drink downstairs is free and all inclusive! The supermarket opposite is cheaper if you need a choccie fix.
You get a free 2litre bottle of water on check in, these are 2 euros each if you want them after that but water is freely available at all times from the bars so we didnt see the need. There are the usual drinks included in the all inc, 7up, pepsi, fanta, local alcohols, - local lager sakara is fine and pleasant. There is also a massive selection of flavoured teas, coffee, hot chocolate etc etc.

I think thats it! If you want to ask me any questions plesae do get in touch. This is a lovely hotel, good food, good facilities and friendly helpful staff. It is not the place to go if you are looking for nightlife and clubs, in fact I dont think Makadi Bay as a whole is really the place for that sort of holiday. It is quiet and family friendly. We would go back again and will recommend it for those looking for a decent but not over priced hotel.

I will add some photos and videos if I can upload them!

For the hotel - one useful thing would be a washing line on the balcony or in bathroom to hang wet swimming clothes.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Travelbuggirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We enjoyed a very good holiday at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly & helpful. The food was good with a variety of dishes. Melany the customer relations manager did a very good job and was always interested in any ideas for improvement. The rooms were ample in size and it was a great pleasure seeing the daily different towel decorations. We travelled with our sons who are in their twenties and they also enjoyed themselves. The walk through the beautiful gardens was always a pleasure. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would happily come again. The only thing we found really disturbing was the way that the questionnaires were distributed during supper, there should be another way of doing this, so that it is more anonymous. The waiters were anxious about the reviews.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This was my first all inclusive holiday and the first time travelling to Egypt.
We booked this holiday through Skyhols.com. This resort is about 30 minutes from Hurghada Airport. Skyhols was a bit of a pain, to get in contact with them, they don’t reply to emails, so it’s best to ring with any queries. When we got to Gatwick, although we had our tickets, all four seats were in one name on the system, but that was sorted quickly and then we were good to go. As part of a large holiday company, our accommodation was arranged through Libra, so that’s who we had to see at Hurghada airport.
Word of advise though… at Hurghada airport, look out for your travel rep to pay your £15 visa fee to, it’s quite chaotic and people will try to help you (not necessarily in the right direction).

From then on, nothing was a stress. We were met by our rep who took us to our hotel in Makadi Bay. Our bags were taken from us as soon as we arrived and we were given our wrist bands for all inclusive and a tour of the hotel by the Hany, who worked in the evenings when we were there. The hotel is clean and well attended with beautiful landscaped areas and well maintained. We arrived with time to have some dinner in the buffet style restaurant and even though it was late in the service, there was still plenty to choose from

The rooms are a good size and comfortable. Ours was on the third floor and looked over the pool. They come in every day to tidy and make beds etc and make beautiful decorations from towels with flowers for you. There’s a bottle of water waiting for you when you arrive as well as an information pack about the resort and prices for spa treatments etc. There is also the all important air-con and safety deposit boxes that are provided free of charge.

We were the first English guests in the hotel for a while, which is manly used by Russians and Germans, and as a group of four girls, it wasn’t long before we were affectionately known as “The English”. The staff were mostly bi or multi lingual so no problems with communication, and most of the other guests spoke or attempted English (put us to shame really!) They really seemed to really enjoy having English guests and are looking forward to having more. Melanie was the guest advisor and really helpful! Any questions, no matter how stupid you think – ask her! Very polite, cheerful and her English is great. She would pop up at the hotel and on the beach and check you were ok.

The animation (entertainment) team are very enthusiastic and had a well organised programme from aqua aerobics and yoga to darts and belly dancing. They will come round and ask if you would like to join in, we just joked and said we were the “Lazy English” (another label  of our own doing) Patrick, Kimo, Ahmed and Sasha we’re mostly floating around our hotel (in between all the activities), checking that everyone was ok and having a good time. In the evening there was a show in the theatre between the two hotels, a mixture of in-house and traditional themes, lasting about an hour. They were all very conscious of making sure there were no problems and always in a good mood.

The food was great! Different themes every night, BBQ and outside oven for pizza etc with plenty of choice and ALWAYS smiling faces from the staff. The food wasn’t biased towards any particular culture but a great mix of everything. In the evenings, there was a pasta chef and dessert chef on hand to prepare food for you inside and more chefs outside making pizza etc. We had no problems having rice or salad, the food always looked fresh and appealing. The waiter service was good, very helpful and efficient and they always offered to get you another drink if your glass was getting empty.

At the pool bar, you can get drinks and snacks through the day (afternoon tea/ice cream etc) and then in the evening, most people would sit around this area after dinner. Moustafa and Sameh were there to help if someone didn’t understand what you wanted, (e.g. a rum AND coke is a rumcola!) If you went to the bar to order your drinks, they would bring it to where you were sitting, then come and check if everything was ok and if you wanted another. It wasn’t over the top, just excellent service.

When you arrive, with your door key, you get a towel card, this you swap for a HUGE towel that you can use by the pool or at the beach (both places also have free sun beds and umbrellas) The pool guys are friendly and come and help you with the umbrellas and take away empty cups etc. The hotel is next to the Makadi Marine, and you just have a short walk through to find the beach, there is a snack restaurant there providing you with your all inclusive drinks and sandwiches/pizza etc. There are some guys selling trips etc, but when you say no thanks they are just happy to ask the normal questions (where are you from etc) then leave you be. Take a snorkel and mask with you – or you can buy or hire them there. The fish and reefs are amazing! You can also have a camel or horse rides on the beach (you pay for these) – a bit better than donkeys at skeggy! 

All inclusive is until midnight, then after there is the Sunbuco Bar open until 2am. This is relaxed with good (dance) music provided by Tito and a great sparkly outdoor area (the shisha bar) you pay for any drinks after 12.

ADVICE: It was really hot when we went – drink plenty of bottled water! (you can buy big bottles from the supermarket across the road and get glasses of water from the bars) As it’s breezy as well, you don’t notice the heat as much so be careful about burning.

All these guys work LONG hours, but always have time for you, are chatty and very polite. It was a real pleasure to stay at this hotel.

My advice…visit the lovely people at the Makadi Sun, you’ll struggle to find a more relaxing holiday anywhere else! Writing this doesn’t do the place justice – go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeicestershireJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

The Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun is one of several Sol Y Mar resorts within this large complex. It is a 40 min drive from Hurghada airport and is the prime location within makadi Bay. Within the complex there are numerous 'animations' including the traditional belly dancing, whirling Durvishers, etc along with the caberet shows and sketch show put on by the animation time.Within the resort are the numerous gift and trinket shops along with a small supermarket. Hurghada and Safaga are perhaps a little too far to vist unless you feel the need. The meals are of the 'International buffet' style, but they often theme the meals e.g. oriental, fish, carribean,etc so the meals are not so repetative as in other all inclusive resorts. Rooms are spacious, and well appointed. common areas clean and plentiful, with no shortage of sun loungers, or space to place them. Pleasant out door bar area and eating area when the weather allows( whilst we were there, a cool breeze persisted in the eveng and late afternoon). Customer relations staff were on constant patrol talking with guests, and ensuring best service. Clearly the mantra of the hotel is ' ..is there anything else we can do for you?' as the service level is probably the highest I have ever witnessed. From the Room boy, Bar service, reception, and waiters, all were proactive in giving service, and taking pleasure in doing so. The resort is mainly German, French, and Russian guests, but Brits need not feel out of place as the staff are all multi lingual and so are many of the guests. A genuine 4star resort with 5star service. For those who dive I would recommend Aquarius Diving, and not Extra Divers who are on site. Aquarius will collect you and their boat is only a walk away.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1diverdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We have recently stayed at the hotel and have had a fantastic holiday the staff are a credit to the hotel and made the holiday special for us.There was just enough to do we went as a family of 4 with 2 x 16 year olds and we all had a great time and would almost definatly return.Although we were the only English in the hotel the hotel next door had some English staying so if you wanted company you could find some.The rooms were spacious and always cleaned to a very high standard.The only downfall to the hotel was the Food as it catered for the other nationalities most of it seemed very bland however this would not prevent me from going again.The Animation team were very good and the guest relations did a very good job.If you do visit this hotel the pool attendant Hassan is the best and make sure you say hi to him from us.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MGNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#9 of 30 in Makadi Bay
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.2 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun

Property: Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Sol Y Mar Makadi Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Makadi Sun Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing