We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at Saraya in August and had the best holiday ever!!! Travelling with my Husband and 3 young kids, we were made welcome the minute we got there. The restaurant staff were fantastic, the food in the Sunflower was great, obviously not all english food but im not sure what people expect, all foods meat, pasta, salad and desserts all wonderfully cooked, we were never hungry even the kids!! The kids clubs saved us many a day, the kids played and we got a chance to realx. The Entertainment staff were the best, never pressurised you into joining in but if you did it was always great fun. The free waterpark really makes this resort, waterslides for babies and the bigger kids (hubby) were enjoyed all day. The hotel is mainly Germans and Russians but dont let that put you off, we made some great friends.
Nothing was too much trouble. I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to leave a bit early at the Waterpark as the little mini bus only holds about 13 people and it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Attwoods_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    385
    77
    31
    17
See reviews for
948
456
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at the Saraya for two weeks at the end of August, this was our 4th visit and we all loved it as much as ever. The 3 times previous it has been Myself , my partner and her parents plus our daughter and has always been earlier in the year (April/May) however this time it was just us and our daughter who is nearly 7.
Egypt at this time of year is much hotter so this was brilliant, especially for my partner.
Saraya is just like coming home to a family you have not seen for ages, everyone is so kind and welcoming, they all remember you and greet you as such, our favourite person of all, Daria, was there to greet us as we arrived.
Check in was smooth as normal, sit down have a relaxing drink and wait for your room key.
The flights at this time of year arrive during the main meal sitting so it's a good time to eat.
If you are arriving for the first time it is best to start at the Sunflower Restaurant, nearest to reception, as this is the bigger of the AI areas. Once you have settled in the next morning then you will probably find yourself nearer to the Al Nakhil Restaurant. This is handy for breakfast and lunch on the AI. However try some lunch at the Caberet Pool Restaurant for a change sometimes as this is cooked and brought to you rather than help yourself.
The food is plentiful and varied, you won't like everything but you will be able to eat plenty, there is always a live grill with meats or fish. Ignore the review which mentions why dont they serve british food, this is a stupid comment!! The majority of guests are either German, Russian, Ukranian, Scandanavian etc First Choice have around 20 rooms at this hotel so there are Brits. We met some nice people from Dartford during our stay but also as normal some great people from Germany, alot of them have a very similar sense of humour to the English and they like to be with us too, the excellent manager of the hotel, Klaus, is also from Germany, he is very visible around the hotel and very easy to talk too.
Next year First Choice are offering this hotel as a Splashworld Resort as if look on line it mentions a waterpark still in it's wrapping, however this waterpark is well out of its wrapping and forms part of your AI. It is at the entrance to the resort and shuttle buses pick you up outside the hotel for the 3 minute ride. The waterpark is just brilliant for all ages, not only is the entrance free for AI but also the food at the waterpark is covered by your wristband. The only thing youu have to take is the hotel pool towel.
The staff at the Saraya are just brilliant, the vast majority of the staff where having to fast during Ramadan at this time of year but never showed it, always there with a smile and excellent service.
The animation team work there socks off everyday, all day, apart from Thursday's. The kids club is excellent, run by Yulia and Anna, who both speak excellent english, the kids all loved it and of course loved Yulia and Anna as did we all. A big huge thank you to all the other members of the team, Sameh there glorious leader, DJ Shaggy in the house, Said, Omar, and the girls, Oxana, Lera and Medina. We love you all very much.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday where you will be looked after and treated with great respect as will all your family then go to Saraya, you will not be disappointed.
One more big thank you to Daria, one very special, caring woman who we all love dearly.
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Royston G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at the Iberotel Saraya Hotel, Makadi Bay in June this year. The staff at this hotel go the extra mile to make you stay very enjoyable. Our room was kept clean and the towel art was amazing.

The Sunflower restaurant was always very busy and the food wasn't always piping hot but you could usually find something to eat. There was just one night we couldn't and when this was addressed with the management they tried to rectify the problem but it was a bit too late. As a result we had lunch cooked for us the next day by the executive chef which was fantastic.

The animation team were great and were not pushy, if you wanted to join in activities it was your choice.

The staff at the Cabaret Bar were fantastic - They went above and beyond for the guests.

We had a fantastic holiday and are planning in going back in February.

This hotel may not be everyone's cup of tea, but for us it was great.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GandTHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here from 29th July for 2 weeks, me, my husband and 2 sons 14 and 18. The transfer from the airport was about 40 minutes, just one hotel before ours and no problems along the way. 

Check in was very smooth, seated in a bar and made to feel like we were at home and served drinks. Originally we had been made to book two single rooms but one of the reception staff came over and told us we could have a royal suite and we'd all be together at no extra charge, of course we took up this offer! We were given a mini briefing about the hotel before being guided to and shown around our room which was very nice. There was a kitchen (free tea and coffee facilities), lounge, two bedrooms, dining space and even three balconies, the room was very nicely furnished throughout, also quite important to us the beds were very comfortable. Shortly after being shown around our room the bell boys brought our suitcases to the room, very friendly, but did hang around for a tip but you can't really blame them. We soon learned that in the boys bedroom the air conditioning wasn't blowing any cold air but staff sorted this out for us promptly. First night, definitely relaxing. 

The following morning we headed to the sunflower restaurant (about 2 minutes away) for breakfast which was very good, food for everyone, cereals, toast, other breads, eggs, sausages etc. We went to get towels after this about 9:30 and easily found unoccupied sun beds which was the case throughout the entire holiday, both the towels and sun beds were maybe a bit past their sell by date but they were never a problem for us. The same morning we had our welcome meeting, the rep was friendly and provided us with very thorough detail about everything and emphasised we could get any help whenever needed, should be noted however the rep himself does have quite limited visiting times and we never saw him again since the first day, but we didn't have anything to ask so again not really a problem for us. 

Now if anything was a bit of problem for us it would have been the food sometimes at lunch and quite a bit at dinner. Although we were always able to find something I'd say about 60% of the dishes available were meals that appealed to none of us but there was always pasta available and about 4 out 7 of the themed night some of dishes were quite tasty even though very unfamiliar to us all, always nice food from the grill at the front too. Should note that at lunchtimes if you don't want what seemed like similar meals to dinner ones (from the other buffer restaurant which was the only one open at lunch)  you can go to the pool bar were food like burgers and grilled chicken sandwiches were served, much more easier to find something you'd like and no extra charge.  

At this hotel we were one of very few English families and could have sometimes felt quite isolated but the staff made us feel very welcome and the guest relations team were always very keen to receive our opinions. Also pretty much everything was aimed at the English language too which we found very useful. 

The entertainment was a bit hit and miss, always things going on except Thursdays and the animation team were very hard working, would say at times they didn't seem use to English families being around but all spoke English. There was a show on each night again except Thursday, not always to our taste but the ones the animation team put on themselves were quite funny and entertaining, and some of the acts from outside the hotel were quite good too. 

The area of Madinat Makadi were the hotel is situated doesn't have that much in it, the beach isn't to bad, only a 5 minute walk, much closer than some reviews make out, also had a nice coral reef for casual users of snorkel equipment. On the beach there is another place to eat, not to bad, sandwiches, toasties etc all part of the all inclusive. Another thing to do is visit the water park which is now almost completely all open, it makes for a very good day out and we went quite a few times during our holiday, food isn't too bad there either. 

Staff at the Saraya were the people that made this hotel special for us, in the Tamerina bar one waiter always greeted us every night and knew what drinks we wanted, another always had waters ready for us when we'd be going to the beach or the water park. Around the pool,on the beach and at night times you'd be waited on all the time. You couldn't help but feel sorry for them as they worked so hard all day every day yet they still provided excellent service.  

If I were to give a few tips one would definitely be aware that you need to buy a Visa at the airport, we were totally unaware of this, and to have a chunk of our spending money gone before we'd even arrived was quite a shock. Also if you want Egyptian spending money don't bother with first choice, compared to what we took out from the ATM at the HSBC (about a 5 minute walk), the exchange rate was much better, almost felt ripped of by first choice! If like you wanted to make use of the tea and coffee facilities in the room they don't provide milk but on site there's a little market where you can get pretty much anything at quite decent prices. If you want to buy gifts, there's a shop at the water park which had prices on everything and also at the airport on the way home things seemed much more affordable in there as well. 

There's so much more I could say about the hotel but I wouldn't want to go on any longer than I already have, I hope my review has been helpful!

Room Tip: If you have separate rooms try to request to be together, chances are they'll do there best to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank naathan_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We did the Saraya on a 2 week two centre holiday . The first week was a on a criuser on the Nile. Of course things could be done to improve the cruise but it was 10 times more enjoyable than the hotel. The hotel was clean , the staff were great and very friendly. The shops werent too pushy and the waterpark ( free entry with A/I ) was a good day out. Sounds good? Sadly it could have been but none of our family had a proper meal until we finally paid for one in one of The A La Cartes. It seemed that the menu was aimed at the numerous Germans and Russians that were at the hotel. There were probably about 95% Germans/Russians and 5% British. Luckily we travelled to Makadi with a lovely Scottish Family who were on the boat with us , otherwise it would have been very lonely.The 4 hour transfer was tedious as most of it was desert but woerse was to come . We had paid for A/I for 14 days/nights but due to flight times were dumped for 6 hours in A hotel back in Luxor on the last day which wasnt A/I or cheap. Thank goodness our flights were on time as we just wanted to go home and all the memories had faded long before we left Egypt. The rep was a nice guy but more like the Scarlet Pimpernel. The list of visits was split into days and a.m/p.m visits . Out of a possible 14 visits he came to our hotel just 6 times and seemingly made no effort to find any of us. He did find time to sell us some useless snorkals ( why do I fall for it every year) There were also loads of mixed messages between what he told us and what the hotel told us. Possibly with a flight direct to Hurghada and for someone who is not worried about the food or meeting some other Brits this hotel may be ideal. It is very nice but it wasnt for us.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main road so as not to have a shop at the bottom of your stairs , they don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

we loved it very much, the staff is helpful. the lobby bar makes a lot of good cocktails. there were 2 buffet restaurants, both are very nice. the beach bar is nice when you're away from the main restaurants. there were 2 pools, both are lovely to stay by. Pool bars also are available for snacks all day.
the room is spacious and lovely.
we'd love to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ereeny_Fawzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Hello, I stayed here from July 1st 2011 for 2 weeks and this is my review.

Check in was very speedy, it was 9.30pm so not many people checking in. we were taken to our room and shown all the A/C, safe and shower works etc., cases were bought up a few minutes later. We stayed in a Family suite and it had plenty of room for us.
The room was basic and not what I would expect from a 5 star rated hotel very basic but functional for us. First morning we had a look around the rest of the hotel, staff were very attentive and keen to help, grounds very clean and tidy and the pools were clean.
Sunbeds were plentiful up until 10am but people were coming and going all day so there were usually beds to be found.
Food was the main problem for us, it was geared towards the Russians guests more than the English or Germans, in fact it was pretty poor and we survived on pasta most nights, it was so bad that when I weighed myself I had lost 7lbs, for a 2 wk all inclusive holiday this isn’t what is supposed to happen!
some days it was laughable, kids’ corner one day was....Boiled red cabbage and Beef Gulash.....a dish that made me laugh on the main buffet was Beetroot bolognaise...if your a lover of root vegi's then this is the buffet for you! but not us.

we did try one of the A La Carte restaurants, the Asian one. this wasn’t that great either. we paid a supplement to eat here, if you like your Chinese food then I don’t think you will like the stuff they serve here, don’t get me wrong, its edible but not worth the supplement.

Talking about the supplement, the best way to describe this hotel would be nearly all inclusive, Buffet was the only food place to eat, everything else was at a supplement, having been to Mexico where literally everything was included this wasn’t what we thought it was, but we had to make the best of it.

Staff were the best part of the holiday, always cheerful and happy to help, I don’t know how some of them held their tongues with the incredibly rude Russians, what an ignorant race of people, sadly this hotel is mostly populated by them. if you stand your ground with them you will find out that they will usually back down first......typical bullies!

The water park was the saving grace for our holiday, although not fully open there were more than enough slides to keep both adults and kids happy, again don’t be bullied by the Russians and let them push their way to the front, one guy pushed my kids out of the way to get to the front, needless to say he was happy to wait at the back of the queue after I had had a word with him, spineless little man!
Food at the water park was ok, better than the hotel anyday. typical fast food, burgers pizza and fizzy drinks.
there are frequent shuttle buses running from just outside the hotel, again be prepared to stand your ground as the other guests at the hotel don’t know how to wait their turn and queue, it’s a free for all!

the beach was nice, plenty of beds and shades available most of the day, food is strange like the hotel, on a hot day at the beach who wants Beef Stroganoff? another time we did have a burger there so it must change daily or weekly?

Overall we had a good time, but I would not say this hotel should have a 5 star rating, we have stayed in better 3 star places in other parts of the world and they offered more than this hotel did. would I go here again? No, but we have never returned to the same hotel twice as there are so many places to see, given the choice if I had to return to this resort I would choose one of the other hotels.
If you go to this hotel not expecting no more than the above, then I think you will have a nice time, but we paid around £3k for a family of 4 for two weeks and feel a little short changed, £2k would have been the max I would have paid if I had too.
Oh one last thing, take a good supply of Diarrhoea and stomach cramp tablets, after a couple of days we all had it and it took a good week to shake the worst of it, the hotel and tour company blamed the hot weather but can’t explain why in the last 6 years travelling the Caribbean we never suffered from this!
Hopefully this wasn’t too long a review and not too moany, but this was just our experience.

Room Tip: we paid extra for a better/bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vf12vf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#7 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#35 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Property: Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing