We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has all what it needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Has all what it needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Visited this hotel in last august. It has a mediocre lobby but do not let that make u feel bad.cause appearances do not matter. Rooms are clean & comfy. pools are cheerful & well taken care of.The two main restaurants offers good food.Staff is active & friendly. The only let down is the beach which is 15 minutes walking distance and there is no shuttle.
As for night entertainment u woud not be satisfyed about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yasser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    368
    76
    31
    16
See reviews for
911
424
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent 2 weeks from 5 - 20th of October and had a great time and met some wonderful people. On arrival we were quick to be advised what was on offer and shown where to get some food at El-Nakhil reatuarant. We went to our room and were taken aback by the standard and size and also the cleanliness. A good start. The following morning we went to the meeting with the rep who informed us of what was on offer. We met a lovely family from England, Rich, Christina and Morgan who made our 1st week absolutely superb. Waterpark was amazing even though I came a cropper on 1or 2 of the slides.The animation team deserve lots of credit, special mentions for Joe, Wissam, Stas, Shady, Sam, Kshusha, Nadia and Suzy, any I've forgotten, I'm sorry, you were all great. That also applies to the barstaff and waiters from all bars and restaurants. Food was great in the a la cartes although a little chaotic in Sofra and Asian in parts. Le Grill steaks (fillet) were to die for and Hossam was a great host.
Pools always plenty of sunbeds, but irresponsible parents letting kids run fast around the pool areas made this a hazard and not a sight for the faint hearted. An accident in the pool of the toilet variety, made us laugh as the staff had 7 or 8 signs up but some guests would wander in and start swimming, thinking they had the pool to themselves !!!
The room were kept spotlessly clean by Saher and the towel arrangements were always a delight to come into after a day out.
Now comes the small detail of what spoiled part of our last day. On checking out we were given a bill for LE250 for taking the water (still) from our mini-bar, which on any other holiday, has always been free. This was never explained to us that it was chargeable and we requested to reception staff on the second day we would like it emptied as it removed any temptation to use the soft drinks/chocolate. This never happened. So everyday our cleaner would restock our fridge with 3-4 new bottles. We could have walked 40-50m and got as many as we needed from the caberet bar or restaurant for free, but as we were never told the bottles in the mini-bar were chargeable we used them in ignorance. The money was not the issue it was the principal but reception staff and management were not for budging to start with, a gesture from them was to say they didn't want to ruin our holiday, so halved the bill. This could have been handled much more easier if from the start we were made aware of the charges. I didn,t want this to leave a sour end to a great holiday but im afraid it did put a damper on things.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slangerup
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just returned from eight great days at saraya resort i'm compelled to make this review. Every person working at this hotel is dedicated to serving you as a guest. No doubt this hotel is one of the best reviewed hotels i've come across. My family and I would like to thank Saraya Resort staff for making our vacation the most relaxing, mindful experience - EVER.

It's an all inclusive concept that works best that way. The cleaning are excellent, the pool area is huge, poolside bar-service is excellent - there is only positive things to mention.

Be aware though of the smooth talking people trying to convince you to buy a pedicure, hairstyling or snorkling trip etc who wanders around the pool in the morning. - we had a bad experience trying this - take the trips organized by your travelling agent.

Positive ratings from Denmark
Anna&Dennis

Room Tip: a 1 room apartment was more than big enough for our family of four 2 adults and 2 children (6 and 8)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DennisMielcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a relaxingg week at the Makadi Saraya. After a two and a half hour delay we arrived very late at this resort, and had a very warm welcome from all the staff on duty. After a smooth check-in and being shown to our room to find a variety of finger foods (gesture as late arrival.)

We had a brilliant room on the third floor, overlooking the activity pool from the balcony, and the quiet pool, when we opened the door. The room was always nice and clean and we looked forward to seeing the towel art everyday.

The restaurants were lovely, clean, bright, and served a big variety of food. There was something to suit everyone, plus they had themes ever night. I would like to say a “Big Thank You” to Ali who worked the El Nakhil in the morning and Sunflower in the evening. He always remembered how many sugar's my husband had with his coffee (Not an easy thing to remember). He just made us smile and could not do enough for us.

The beach is a short work from the hotel, but well worth a look and the staff down there are also friendly and do anything you want.

The activity team were good and had a few days of Aqua Gym, with a fun team member. Who had a thing about the number 7. Plenty of other activities going on around the resort to.

Went on a few excursion through the wonderful rep “Mohamed”. Would recommend the Snorkelling and Quad biking.

Overall we would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday a happy and relaxing experience, to which we a re happy to recommend to friends and family too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dozenredroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were very concerned having read some of the reviews about this hotel, but please do not worry. This is a wonderful place, excellent staff who cannot do enough for you, especially Remy at the bar and Sheba in the Sunflower Restaurant. The hotel is spotless and the food is good too, always plenty to choose from and very varied from day to day.

Rooms are very large and also kept very clean, also the lovely towel art every day which we found on our return from the pool or beach was a nice surprise. The beach staff are excellent too, and food served from their own little beach hut at lunch time.

We went on the Cairo and Luxor Trips - quite tiring but so worth it if you have the time. Make sure you have a hat though, it is extremely hot and no shade.

We would recommend this hotel to anybody, so please ignore the negative reviews, I think they must have stayed at a different Hotel!

Please do contact me if you need any information, happy to help.

Room Tip: We were in 1252 which overlooked the quiet pool, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMMATHUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just had a weeks holiday at the makadi saraya. My wife and i arrived late evening and was greeted a warm welcome.The rooms are very clean and spacious and through out the week a variety of animals eg. elephant and allsorts of creations, done with towels.A big credit to Mohamed Akhmed room 1372. The room over looks the ganzibil pool, where there was no problem getting a sun bed. The pool bar boys Kamel and Hossam could not do enough for you. They would even wake me up at 4'o clock in the afternoon with a few beers and say "hello its beer time." The restaurants are spotless.and have a wide variety of food.The al a carte ones in particular are very good.Special mention for Mohamed Saad who works extermely hard to make sure you enjoy your meal (the chinese restaurant) the beach is clean and all the staff there are really friendly and can't do enough for you. We used to have a drink at night with our german friends at the blue cafe where we met the funniest waiter called Rami , this young man made our nights fun. All in all our holiday was brillant and very very relaxing the staff and everybody at the Saraya made it so thank you.
Steve and Carole. Manchester, England

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkey234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Makadi Saraya resort. Got to admit we were a bit concerned having read the negative reviews that had appeared in the weeks prior to our arrival however our experience at this hotel/resort was fantastic.

Every aspect of the hotel gets full marks. Cleanliness, food, entertainment, service, staff etc are all first class.

On matter of food I wonder when I read Brits moaning about the type of dishes served here whether they think they are travelling to Blackpool rather than Egypt. Also given that there are a lot of Russians, Germans and a few other European nationalities, why do they expect the hotel to serve up a menu of pie & mash or fish & chips every night? Overall the choice and quality of food was very good and especially in the al la carte restauants which I highly recommend.

The next aspect of our stay which made it memorable was the staff. From the moment we arrived to our departure we were looked after by a team who truly know how to make you feel welcome. Every waiter, barperson, and animation team member did all they could to look after us and ensure we were happy...plus we had the added excitement each day of guessing what 'masterpiece' the room attendant was going to create with our towels!

Some staff deserve a special mention. Firstly, Max from the animation team who genuinely added to the 'fun' of it all (how much energy can one person have???). From the pool bar, Ahmed & Moustapha seemed to have an uncanny ability to turn up with a fresh drink just as the previous one had finished. Finally there is Remy who is one of the bar waiters in the entertainment area. Remy is one of the nicest and polite young men you could wish to meet and his continuous smile and willingness to look after his customers make him a credit to the hotel.

I can sincerely say that the hotel far exceeded my expectations and I am more than happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#6 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
7.8 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Property: Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing