We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a brilliant week's stay at this hotel. Staff at all levels very helpful and friendly, equal to the best I have had in nearly 30 visits to various Egyptian resorts. Everything exceeded expectations. The food was good, the a la cate meals, courtesy of First Choice, were exceptional. Beach 300 meters pleasant walk away was excellent. Food, drink, ice cream and towels provided. Good sea entry points avoiding coral for plain swimming, reef off the beach good for snorkeling. I saw 30-40 species of fish far side of reef in clear water, very pretty with lots of giant clams. Snorkeling gear expensive to hire so bring your own if needed. Entertainment generally good, the Kenya show especially.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room by smaller pool, which is heated as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014. We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a really good week of sunshine staying at this hotel which is a very special place and a super choice if you want great food, accommodation and service.

Everyone from the management to the room cleaners were always there with a smile and would do whatever they could to make your holiday the best it could be. The food and drink were both of a really high standard and you can eat and drink from sunrise to late if you want.

The pool area's are great because you have a family pool where the animation team keep everyone entertained and another quieter pool where you can just relax' both with pool bars. In each area there is a heated swimming pool during winter months.

As for the bedrooms the one we had was fab, with three beds, kitchen area and all the usual facilities like tv, tea making equipment and mini bar (which incurred addition charges,) but we did not need this.

There is a ten minute walk to the beach but as I have mobility problems and I managed it, this shouldn't cause any probs as the hole area is very flat. The beach itself is lovely for walking, snorkelling or sunbathing with wind breakers around all the sunbeds. there is also a beach bar that provide waiter service.

A couple of tips if you travel in the winter months, always take some warm clothes as the evenings do get very chilly at times. also there is a visa charge at this area , so when you get to the airport go to the Egyptian bank to purchase rather than the tour operators desk. the tour operators charge a premium of about £3 each compared to the bank. in addition there was no queue at the bank!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ericd468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014. We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Recently returned from a two week holiday at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone. We were a party of 11 ( 8 adults and 3 kids) and we were all made to feel really special.
The minute we arrived we were met with cocktails ... The hotel is lovely. We were shown to our rooms (all in the same block ) and were pleasantly surprised at how spacious they were,
The rooms and hotel are spotless ... The staff work very hard .. And still manage a smile for everyone.
The animation team were the best especially Ibiza who always made us welcome.
We would like to say a special thank you to the reception staff, the pool bar staff and the guys in the restaurant. Who went the extra mile to make my mother-in-laws birthday one she will never forget.
Couldn't fault a single thing ... The food was excellent especially the al a carte restaurants.
The water park was perfect for the kids with a bus running every 30 mins straight to the gate.
The beach was a short walk... And was lovely( all inclusive at both could not be faulted.
We will definitely be returning in the future..... Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caz280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel, especially to Ibiza from the animation team, the colleagues of the reception and the service team of the bars and restaurants.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014. We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Myself & my husband spent 10 days at the Saraya at the end of November booked through First Choice. This was our 2nd time at this hotel. We decided to go back because the first time we went the staff were so wonderful & treated us like royalty, it enticed us to go back again & I'm so glad we did. In summary, the hotel was spotless, the staff were so wonderful & friendly & polite, & the buffet restaurant food was absolutely fantastic! I'm a vegetarian & every night there was so much choice. I would say the buffet restaurant food is so much better than when we visited in 2012 so whoever the chef is at the moment please make sure you keep him! The animation team were brilliant especially Ibiza. He was so friendly & really added to making our holiday so good. We had a good fun time with him & really enjoyed the shows especially sitting out under the stars.The waiters & staff all do a fantastic job & are so friendly.The hotel wasn't busy at all & it was nice to relax around the pool with the radio playing Swiss Pop. There's another "quiet" pool you can relax around if you don't like the music or you can always go to the beach for the day. The majority of the guests here are Russian, then German & then English. Beach towels are provided & you get free passes to the waterpark which is just up the road & takes a couple of minutes by mini bus to get to. There's a small walk to the beach as this hotel isn't beachfront but it does have it's own private bit of beach with sunbeds & shade & a bar serving drinks & lunch.
Overall the staff at this hotel are fantastic & this is what made us come back. We will be back again & have recommended you to our friends. The food is fantastic, the cocktails are to die for & the staff are truly wonderful. ps Transfer time from the airport is about 30-40 minutes but it's worth it.
Please say a big hello to Ibiza & thank you to the pool bar staff for all the yummy chocolate milkshakes :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thommy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel, especially to Ibiza from our animation team, the pool bar staff and our executive chef.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014. We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Went last February (apologies for the late review) and loved the hotel. Big rooms, hard working staff, and good variety in the a la carte restaurants. Only complaint was that it wasn't hot enough at the time 18 - 25C so the sea was a bit cool, but you can't blame the hotel for that. The water park was amazing for the kid, so that more than made up for it. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itravell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel, especially to…

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort and HolidayCheck Award 2014. We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Weve just returned back to U.K from a fantastic week in this hotel,the staff welcome you as part of their family,highly professional team,from reception to the bars to the catering staff and the cleaners,nothing to complain about. we went with first choice all inclusive and we were able to eat in all the restaurants,would definitely recommend using the ala carte restaurants,we had this all as part of our package,just had to book a table for these at reception,used these 5 nights out of the 7, the other evenings we used the buffet which had plenty choice,deserts were very good,especially the cakes and pastries, the staff on the beach are amazing,many thanks to them both,kind and helpful and hard working to make things run smoothly.
we were waited on with drinks,food at lunch,pizzas from the clay oven! chicken in pitta bread,fresh fruit,ice cream,cocktails,mocktails.snorkerling was good too,keep an eye on the flag system,green is the best for seeing the fish,there is hire available for snorkelling gear on the beach,not expensive! there is a camel on the beach for a trip up and down on the sand,both my daughters went on and it was brilliant,you can haggle for prices for this and also in the shops,dont be embarrassed to say no and take time with getting the price your happy to pay.Also part of the all inclusive was the splash world,was a great laugh,rides were great,also food available there with our package,drinks too! Give this hotel a go,you wont be disappointed,any tips then

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aldreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, Holiday Check Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award and Tripadvisor Best Family Resort. We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,
Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Saraya Resort for 10 days over Christmas. Myself, husband and 3 boys age 9,14 and 16. We had a fabulous time, couldn't fault a thing! Resort was great, accommodation clean and very comfortable,food was varied and plentiful and the weather was lovely! The animation team made us all,particularly our sons, feel very welcome and kept us busy with activities during the day. We loved every aspect of our holiday, the Christmas Eve gala dinner was great and the Water Park included in the First Choice holiday package was a huge hit-we visited 3 times during our stay and even spent Christmas Day there! Overall a fantastic hotel - I would recommend it 100%, we have already booked to go back next year! Any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melstar000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, Holiday Check Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award and Tripadvisor Best Family Resort. We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,
Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
3.0 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £60 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing