We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and enjoyment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxation and enjoyment”
Reviewed 20 February 2010

My partner & 8yr old returned from the Saraya yesterday after a very enjoyable 14 night stay. We were a little apprehensive before our holiday after reading some of the trip advisor reviews - all i can say is i needn't have worried. The hotel & resort are fantastic for couples or families of all ages, plenty to do if you want or equally peace and relaxation can be enjoyed. Staff at the Saraya cannot do enought for their guests (in fact due to our holiday rep being useless we relied on the staff for assistance several times and nothing was too much trouble). Food at the Saraya is very good with plenty of choice and variation. The additional restaurants are excellent and offer a break from the all inclusive choices if you so wish. Our suite was lovely and cleaned to an exceptional standard every day. I would recommend the Saraya hotel and the Makadi Beach area to anyone looking for sun, relaxation and pleasant surroundings. This was our first visit to Egypt and certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    395
    78
    31
    19
See reviews for
1,000
477
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

after reading some of the reviews on here was very apprehensive about staying there , but we found the hotel excellent , we had a lovely room next to the quieter pool,cleaned daily, the staff were very friendly and helpfull, the tamerina bar had a relaxed atomsphere for late night drink, entertainment was good with lots of activities if you like that sort of thing. we went out on a couple of excursions, one to the mamhya island is lovely, only problem we had was that we were english, ok if you were german then you were given lots of information on what was going on.
now the food, we found the variety good,there was always something we wanted to eat, you can literally eat all day if required,we just ate in the 2 main restaurants, i don't really no what people expect for all inclusive,i think you get value for money, i mean a week there all inclusive is cheaper than a weekend in center parcs! we are definately going back

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phippy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

having read previous reviews we also wondered if we would enjoy our stay. after a slight delay at gatwick and the mayhem of Hurghada airport we arrived to a beautiful hotel. the bar staff bought us drinks while rooms were sorted .the rooms you cannot fault for size or cleanliness my only little whinge is the beds are very hard. the staff in the Sunflower restaurant are fantastic we had a good laugh and joke with them all, especially Moh Sheipa and Montsauf they are first class.Adam from Animation is brilliant and a real asset to the hotel, he even cajoled me into doing water arobics and water polo.He always remembered you and had time to stop and chat.Sammie our rep was helpful but not pushy when telling about the trips and we met the 2 new reps while they got acquainted with the area, both are lively and entertaining. On the sunday night there was an awful thunder storm and we lost all electricity in the hotel, undeterred the just put out more candles and kept serving you from the bar.If you only do one trip while you are there i would recommend the 'Speeddevils' buggies going into the dessert its a real a buzz of excitement

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurdle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockpork
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks in egypt first week with tompson on nile cruise on the CROWN PRINCE .We cud not fault it .We wer 24 hours delayed because of snow so they put us up in airport hotel dinner and brekkie then off next day .Cant be helped but handled very well by tompson.The boat was beautifull ALL the staff fantastic cabins great and trips well organised cairo museum AMAZING.My only comment would be when the rep is pitchlng for tips for the staff telling us the pittance they get paid is wrong tompson should make sure they are paid a proper living wage. week 2 MAKADI SARAYA HOTEL the hotel is clean staff ok the food is DISGUSTING DISGUSTING DISGUSTING .The same thing day in day out TASTELESS pasta grey potatoes coz they had been reheaed so many times ,TOUGH beef and chewey smelly cicken and fish yuk yuk yuk we ate out 4 times .There were birds flying round dining room desease carrying birds landing on the food and staff standing watching .Arep who we did not see after the first day local drinks who s taste bore no resemblence to the real thing and to top it off to catch a 18 10 flight they turffed us out off hotel at 08 25 am .FIRST CHOICE you will defo be our LAST or NEVER choice but tompson you are top

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

6 of us aged between 30 - 65 stayed at the wonderful hotel from 01 Jan for 7 nights. We had not originally booked to stay here, but had a change by Thomson and were slightly worried about what would greet us from reading previous reviews. We should not have worried and realised that reviews are based on a matter of Personal Preference.

We have travelled to Sharm and Taba and must say that we fell in love with Makadi Bay and felt that this hotel was the best we had stayed in over our previous 3 visits to Egypt.

The hotel was very well designed and laid out and the best way of describing it was a calm oasis. All the staff were totally exceptional - going that extra mile to make your stay
comfortable and for you to feel very special. None of the staff looked for tips, however, we appreciate the poor wages they receive and because the service was exceptional, we had no problems with rewarding this service - oh boy - the service we received was out of this world.

Our room overlooking the smaller of the two pools was very spacious and exceptionally clean, the room safe is free. There is a charge for drinks from the mini-bar, however, water can be obtained on your all inclusive deal from any of the bars (there is no restriction) and you can get this in small or large bottles.

The amenities at the hotel were excellent, and the animation team were excellent. They all took time to have a little chat but not in an intrusive manner and worked very hard day and night providing shows and activities.

There was a good mix of nationalities at this hotel and yes the British are in the minority, but that was not an issue to us. We met some lovely people from scandanavia and russia and everyone was friendly and well mannered.

There have been some very negative comments regarding the food at this hotel, well we were very impressed with the food. The choice at breakfast was typical of Egypt, although the fresh fruit, pastries and bread were beautifully fresh and the lads who cooked at the egg station, very entertaining. We found the choice during the evening to be more than adequate, there was always a theme to the evening, the soup was always piping hot, the pasta station fantastic and there was live cooking at the bbq area every night and a good selection of hot dishes. I can honestly say that we only ate at the hotels
eateries and not one of the six of us suffered the merest hint of an upset stomach. We always ate at the smaller of the two restaurants (not the Sunflower)

We were able to enjoy lunch at the beach or the a la carte restaurant by the main pool and both were fantastic - if you go to the a la carte pool restaurant, look out for Mamdouh he is a dead ringer for Freddie Mercury and will give you a rendition of his songs if you acknowledge this.

We tried the Italian restaurant one night, and had a fantastic evening here as it was my husbands birthday and they went out of their way to make it special, the food was excellent and good value for money.

The walk to the beach was lovely through picturesque gardens and was less than 5 minutes, there was a jetty which you could snorkel off or you could walk in and snorkel too, we were very happy with what we could see so locally without having to do a trip.

There is a little noddy train bus which will take you around the resort too.
This is good to do, and helps you to get your bearings and a feel of the resort,

This is a wonderful hotel for families, couples groups of friends, there is something for everyone, cannot wait until we can return to this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lennonabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My husband & I have just returned from this hotel after spending Christmas & New Year there. It was our first ever Christmas away from home, so we were really looking forward it.
The hotel is perfect in everyway, the rooms are very spacious & clean, the staff are second to none, they just cant do enough for you to make your holiday just right & are some of the freindliest people we have ever met. The New Years Eve Gala was very well organised & was a credit to all the management & staff...................................so it is with regret I have to write this BUT..........the food was a real let down!!!! Neither my husband nor I are fussy eaters & we've never ever complained about food in any hotel we've stayed in before, but we both agreed that the food was pretty poor. Breakfast was okay, but the evening meal choice wasn't very good & what choice there was, was often only just warm.

We stayed at this hotel for a week arriving early evening on Christmas day (Friday) and from Wednesday up until we left on New Years day I haven't eaten a thing due to being very ill with sickness & diarrhea and my husband was also ill with diarreah too.

If they sorted the food issue out at this hotel I wouldn't hesitate to go back again or recommend it to freinds & family, but until they sort the food out my advice to anyone reading this review who is thinking of booking or who has booked to go, please air on the side of caution when eating the food.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rube109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Just returned from this wonderful hotel,they could not do enough to make your holiday truely great, the staff look after you so well, food good choice, amenities all good, location you are within easy reach of beach, shops etc. Had a smashing week in the sun, would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janwoo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#7 of 30 in Makadi Bay
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
7.7 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#36 of 222 in Hurghada
5,722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Property: Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing