We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will go back :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Egyptian culture is quite diffrent than in Finland, and it was...well, a little shocking. But it didn´t took long to get used to it because everybody were so friendly and it was easy to learn to know local manners. I noticed that the staff was working very long days, but still smiling all the time...
Weather was just awesome! We visited in Luxor and there was 45 degrees at Hathepsuts tempel! Maybe little bit too warm to us who come from Finland :). Well, last day in Makadi was a sandstorm and it wasn´t so nice experience. But you can´t tell the weather what to do.
Staff was great, we just have to admire their work!!!! Food was very good and service at the restaurants fantastic! Our little boy (4 years) was amazed because he got so much attention. First he was little scared but he understood very soon that the people are different here than in Finland. Animation group was fabulous and we got so many laughs. Thanks to them all :D.
Rooms were clean ja very nice, we slept sooooo well every night. Pool area was nice and we spent a lot of time there.
We also went to the beach couple of times. Beautiful place and good service. We knew that there would be people advertising their services and trying to sell everything to us. First it felt odd, but it is their way to sell their services/products.
We are planning already next trip to Saraya, I have never been so relaxed after an vacation before! Wonderful experience!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EetuSariMikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

We spent two weeks there in the sunshine.A really chill out time. Staff sooo helpful. Room cleaned to very good spec. attentive waiters on the beach and by the well maintaned pools. Tuesday evenings everyone given a questionairre which we filled in. All great except food (service in restaurants already good) Filled in comments re choices, food temperature, same breakfast, overcooked meat and vegetables in water. we also added our room number. Phone call from Christine, Customer Relations. Discussed with her my response. She asked for suggestions, alternatives, additions end I offered what I thought. The following day food was hot, variety extended, soup was no longer transparent and the fish and meat tasted like fish and meat. This continued for the rest of our holiday (10 more days) CR contacted us 3 times more. If you feel like a change try the beach the chef there is excellent. Don't wait til you are home. Tell them whilst you are there. You could save the rest of your holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyjbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My wife, wifes sister, brother in law and I have just spent one of the best all round value short holidays we have ever taken .

Hurghada airport is undergoing a huge expansion programme which made arrival a "little difficult", so to receive such a good greeting at the Saraya was brilliant.
The Bell boys showed us to our rooms after a quick induction from the reception staff,when our "all inclusive wristbands" were applied and a welcome drink administered.
The rooms were immaculate, huge with all we could have wanted, overlooking the Ganzibil pool.

It was dark by now so we ajourned to the Sunflower restaurant for dinner, where we were once again greeted effusively.
The food was excellent and plentiful with as wide a range as could be imagined.
Every day in the 2 "all inclusive" restaurants there was a different theme.
4 other a-la-carte restaurants are also available within this very large complex.
We enjoyed the ministrations on Mahmoud and Mohammad, with their ever ready tea pots at breakfast, and the more demure approach of Mary Mary Quite Contrary also.
We also found Karam the waiter an interesting experience, especially the women in the party!
Taha was also much in eveidence in the restaurant and always excellent running the Cabaret Bar.

5 pools, some quiet, some a little more lively and only 500 meters from the beach, meant that a change day by day was easy.
Waiter service at poolside and beach was superb.
There can be no better service given anywhere in the world than that received in Egypt in my experiences.
The weather was wonderful, Amber the Australian rep. was loud, in your face and absolutely perfect for the job.

The whole area is basically a gated community of about 10 huge hotel complexes, together with the partially completed championship golf course, so maybe lacked a little in local colour as it was tourists and staff only.
Utterly safe to wander about at night.
The souk as they liked to call it was a few parades of the usual tourist tat shops, but built into the hotel complex.
The men who ran them were like all Egyptian traders, though a little more restrained.

We English were in a TINY minority.
Russians, Ukranians, Latvians as well as most other Eastern European nations being hugely represented along with the Germans and a few Scandinavians.
The Egyptians on realising we were English reverted from their German into English, welcomed us "HOME" and asked why we didn't come so much any more.
I don't know the answer to that really!

Altogether a superb all inclusive 7 day break, pampered from morning to night.
If I want to be negative at all I'd say - - - - not enough English faces, a few too many toddlers and babies (mostly Eastern European) and they should ban smoking in the restaurants, bars and other public places.
But just minor irritations in what was a good holiday in a well run hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Family with 2 small kids stayed at Saraya Suites for a week. 2-3 star experience.

Rooms a bit worn/out of date, air conditioning noisy, shower clogged, floors didn't feel fresh (hate that). Pool-area noisy much thanks to disturbing sales-people (excursions, ugly haircuts and fake tats, massage, hotel activities etc.) and stupidly bad music (read: euro-disco version of "life is life" to accompany the loud and tacky "activity-staff".

Great food (yes, really) at:
Le Grill (meat) and the Indian restaurant
Good food at:
Nino's (pizza and pasta) and that asian place
Ok food at:
The Egyptian/Oriental place

Dunno about the buffet, didn't try it other than for breakfast which was ok.

Beach was nice enough, the walk to get there didn't disturb us. Recommend anybody staying at one the resort hotels to eat lunch down at the beach, very nice food from the chef at the Grill.

Overall service ok, a few ok staff members and quite a few not so informed :P ones.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happypeepsltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

My partner & 8yr old returned from the Saraya yesterday after a very enjoyable 14 night stay. We were a little apprehensive before our holiday after reading some of the trip advisor reviews - all i can say is i needn't have worried. The hotel & resort are fantastic for couples or families of all ages, plenty to do if you want or equally peace and relaxation can be enjoyed. Staff at the Saraya cannot do enought for their guests (in fact due to our holiday rep being useless we relied on the staff for assistance several times and nothing was too much trouble). Food at the Saraya is very good with plenty of choice and variation. The additional restaurants are excellent and offer a break from the all inclusive choices if you so wish. Our suite was lovely and cleaned to an exceptional standard every day. I would recommend the Saraya hotel and the Makadi Beach area to anyone looking for sun, relaxation and pleasant surroundings. This was our first visit to Egypt and certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

after reading some of the reviews on here was very apprehensive about staying there , but we found the hotel excellent , we had a lovely room next to the quieter pool,cleaned daily, the staff were very friendly and helpfull, the tamerina bar had a relaxed atomsphere for late night drink, entertainment was good with lots of activities if you like that sort of thing. we went out on a couple of excursions, one to the mamhya island is lovely, only problem we had was that we were english, ok if you were german then you were given lots of information on what was going on.
now the food, we found the variety good,there was always something we wanted to eat, you can literally eat all day if required,we just ate in the 2 main restaurants, i don't really no what people expect for all inclusive,i think you get value for money, i mean a week there all inclusive is cheaper than a weekend in center parcs! we are definately going back

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phippy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

having read previous reviews we also wondered if we would enjoy our stay. after a slight delay at gatwick and the mayhem of Hurghada airport we arrived to a beautiful hotel. the bar staff bought us drinks while rooms were sorted .the rooms you cannot fault for size or cleanliness my only little whinge is the beds are very hard. the staff in the Sunflower restaurant are fantastic we had a good laugh and joke with them all, especially Moh Sheipa and Montsauf they are first class.Adam from Animation is brilliant and a real asset to the hotel, he even cajoled me into doing water arobics and water polo.He always remembered you and had time to stop and chat.Sammie our rep was helpful but not pushy when telling about the trips and we met the 2 new reps while they got acquainted with the area, both are lively and entertaining. On the sunday night there was an awful thunder storm and we lost all electricity in the hotel, undeterred the just put out more candles and kept serving you from the bar.If you only do one trip while you are there i would recommend the 'Speeddevils' buggies going into the dessert its a real a buzz of excitement

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurdle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#9 of 30 in Makadi Bay
757 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 222 in Hurghada
6,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £71 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing