We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
1 review
“Superb Hospitality”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We must say the large & impressive complex of hotels within makadi bay were superb , cleaniless & attention to their guests was extremly good . Our view was far too many germans & russians & that meant changing from our british reserve to a little bit more european style first come first served attitude . We also made a mistake of thinging things would be cheaper but take from uk on all things unless after cheap tourist tat at airport .
Food at hotel was very good & lots of choice , we found eating early was better as choice became less the nearer to 10 pm . A trip on glass boats was good @ 20 euros per adult & children free , Gold spa was very good & "barter" for good deal from touts who call on beach / hotel pool areas.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractor252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    411
    80
    33
    21
See reviews for
1,119
500
53
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Tip early, beautiful settings, clean excellent, great staff hotel/beach, rooms excellent. Beach 10 mins nice walk. Very hot and dry need lots of moisturiser. Better suited 4 families, no entertainment for adults only disco you have to pay. States coffee/tea but have to pay �10 Euro a week. 6 hotels in resort like mini village. 6 restaurants have to pay for 4 even if inclusive like us dont agree with. Imported stuff expensive local stuff cheap. Be prepared to be pestered on beach need to haggle alot. Although few niggles place was beautiful and enjoyed sun and relaxation. Not many English people though.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel and it was the best 2 week holiday we have ever had.When we arrived we found the room very clean and spacious and was well kept by the cleaners for the 2 weeks.We used the ganzabil pool which was heated and quieter than the other pool,the staff at the pool bring you drinks all day long so you dont have to move off your sunbed
We always ate at El Nakhil restaurant the food was always very good,hot and plenty to choose from the staff in here were excellent our waitor Metwally really looked after us,they seem to work long hours but are always smiling and happy to see you.
Throughout the day there is plenty to do we played tennis and table tennis we also went for massages at the makadi spa which we highly recommend.Only went to the beach twice (we prefered the pool) just a short walk through the gardens.
The animation team were brilliant there is always lots to do in the day time if you want to join in,then of an evening they put on a show in the saraya theatre which was always good fun.We cant wait to go back to the Saraya next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevAnt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

just came back from this hotel,think they may have been having problems with the food, as we were bombarded for feedback the whole holiday.From asking to fill in comment forms at dinner, which they became very insisent yoy do!! To relation people walking round asking you. It was very intrusive. The hotel was ok nothing outstanding, nice friendly staff. Food very mediocre, and lacking choice, we didnt eat till going on 9pm, but then the main items would be gone, even though dinner was til 10pm. Rooms comfortable, and well maintained. We paid for dine around once, disappointing, went to the grill, cant see why its dine around when its on the same complex, 10euros each, plus around 14 euros for the bottle of eygptian wine that was free everywhere. On the whole a good holiday, spoilt by too many questions.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank therbertswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokkola, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Egyptian culture is quite diffrent than in Finland, and it was...well, a little shocking. But it didn´t took long to get used to it because everybody were so friendly and it was easy to learn to know local manners. I noticed that the staff was working very long days, but still smiling all the time...
Weather was just awesome! We visited in Luxor and there was 45 degrees at Hathepsuts tempel! Maybe little bit too warm to us who come from Finland :). Well, last day in Makadi was a sandstorm and it wasn´t so nice experience. But you can´t tell the weather what to do.
Staff was great, we just have to admire their work!!!! Food was very good and service at the restaurants fantastic! Our little boy (4 years) was amazed because he got so much attention. First he was little scared but he understood very soon that the people are different here than in Finland. Animation group was fabulous and we got so many laughs. Thanks to them all :D.
Rooms were clean ja very nice, we slept sooooo well every night. Pool area was nice and we spent a lot of time there.
We also went to the beach couple of times. Beautiful place and good service. We knew that there would be people advertising their services and trying to sell everything to us. First it felt odd, but it is their way to sell their services/products.
We are planning already next trip to Saraya, I have never been so relaxed after an vacation before! Wonderful experience!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EetuSariMikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We spent two weeks there in the sunshine.A really chill out time. Staff sooo helpful. Room cleaned to very good spec. attentive waiters on the beach and by the well maintaned pools. Tuesday evenings everyone given a questionairre which we filled in. All great except food (service in restaurants already good) Filled in comments re choices, food temperature, same breakfast, overcooked meat and vegetables in water. we also added our room number. Phone call from Christine, Customer Relations. Discussed with her my response. She asked for suggestions, alternatives, additions end I offered what I thought. The following day food was hot, variety extended, soup was no longer transparent and the fish and meat tasted like fish and meat. This continued for the rest of our holiday (10 more days) CR contacted us 3 times more. If you feel like a change try the beach the chef there is excellent. Don't wait til you are home. Tell them whilst you are there. You could save the rest of your holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyjbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My wife, wifes sister, brother in law and I have just spent one of the best all round value short holidays we have ever taken .

Hurghada airport is undergoing a huge expansion programme which made arrival a "little difficult", so to receive such a good greeting at the Saraya was brilliant.
The Bell boys showed us to our rooms after a quick induction from the reception staff,when our "all inclusive wristbands" were applied and a welcome drink administered.
The rooms were immaculate, huge with all we could have wanted, overlooking the Ganzibil pool.

It was dark by now so we ajourned to the Sunflower restaurant for dinner, where we were once again greeted effusively.
The food was excellent and plentiful with as wide a range as could be imagined.
Every day in the 2 "all inclusive" restaurants there was a different theme.
4 other a-la-carte restaurants are also available within this very large complex.
We enjoyed the ministrations on Mahmoud and Mohammad, with their ever ready tea pots at breakfast, and the more demure approach of Mary Mary Quite Contrary also.
We also found Karam the waiter an interesting experience, especially the women in the party!
Taha was also much in eveidence in the restaurant and always excellent running the Cabaret Bar.

5 pools, some quiet, some a little more lively and only 500 meters from the beach, meant that a change day by day was easy.
Waiter service at poolside and beach was superb.
There can be no better service given anywhere in the world than that received in Egypt in my experiences.
The weather was wonderful, Amber the Australian rep. was loud, in your face and absolutely perfect for the job.

The whole area is basically a gated community of about 10 huge hotel complexes, together with the partially completed championship golf course, so maybe lacked a little in local colour as it was tourists and staff only.
Utterly safe to wander about at night.
The souk as they liked to call it was a few parades of the usual tourist tat shops, but built into the hotel complex.
The men who ran them were like all Egyptian traders, though a little more restrained.

We English were in a TINY minority.
Russians, Ukranians, Latvians as well as most other Eastern European nations being hugely represented along with the Germans and a few Scandinavians.
The Egyptians on realising we were English reverted from their German into English, welcomed us "HOME" and asked why we didn't come so much any more.
I don't know the answer to that really!

Altogether a superb all inclusive 7 day break, pampered from morning to night.
If I want to be negative at all I'd say - - - - not enough English faces, a few too many toddlers and babies (mostly Eastern European) and they should ban smoking in the restaurants, bars and other public places.
But just minor irritations in what was a good holiday in a well run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
875 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 222 in Hurghada
6,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Property: Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing