We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holiday Oasis in the desert”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A large hotel on the coast of the Red sea.
Perfect for a romantic holiday because it has large territory, many pools and bars.
Hotel has a medium size reef in the sea next to its territory, which makes possible to snorkel and dive within hotel's borders.

Room Tip: spend some time in Pool Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Artem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    413
    228
    155
    232
See reviews for
706
461
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LUXOR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this wonderful hotel from June 9th to June 16th. We have stayed at Tia Heights for many years and keep returning as it is such a wonderful place to chill, relax and recharge the batteries before returning to Luxor to run our Holiday apartment rental business.
We had rooms in the main building overlooking the pool and sea in the distance and it is worth paying the extra to be in the main block.Many thanks to Michael, the General Manager who sorted out a booking problem with Travel Republic on arrival. Room was always clean with plenty of bottled water and soft drinks provided as well as kettle/tea/coffee. If this is not in your room you only have to ask and it will be brought for you.
Beach is wonderful with lots of sun beds. Pool is huge and very clean and we preferred the quiet pool in front of the far wing of hotel away from the crowds and children.
Food was good and plentiful so also thanks to Chief chef Hasheem and all the other chefs and the many kichen and serving staff.Nothing was too much trouble for them. We tried 2 of the speciality restaurants--- fish and steak and both were exceptional.
All the staff--management,reception, room,pool,restaurant,bar and animation are an asset to this hotel and they will do everything they can to make your stay special.
We would recomment Tia Heights to anyone with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOSTRISLuxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and positive comments following your stay with us. It was a pleasure to see you both again and we were delighted to see you both enjoing yourself once again. It great to see you tried our speciality restaurants-I personally like them as the food is about the most authentic you can get in Hurghada,therefore it shows our efforts are paying off. I hope we will have the pleasure od seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality- Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Tia Heights, Makadi Bay is an absolutely wonderful resort. It is very well managed by the Manager, Mike Booker, whom catered for our every need, he was always on hand if we needed him and very accomodating. The hotel was clean, spacious, air-conditioned and not over-crowded. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and would do everything for you. The staff go above and beyond thier call of duty, to give you the best possible experience whilst you stay. The chefs are on hand to advise on the menu, whilst you take time to decide on what you will choose. There is so much choice, a diverse menu, all freshly cooked, good ingredience.

The pool area is clean, and well kept. Everyday, the pool attendants would be cleaning the huge pool. You never felt claustrophobic, as the pool and lounge/sunbed area is huge, so you could sunbathe in peace. The amenities with the entertainment team are also very good (night and day), so you can get involved if you feel the need, or they cater extremely well for familes with children. There is a pool bar and also a restaurant at the pool, so you don't need to go up to the hotel for lunch if you so desire. You can walk along manicured lawns, along well set out paths to the beach which is attached directly to the front of the property, easy reach, clean, great sunbeds with shade, plenty of them, for the hotel only. The sea is wonderful, warm, clean, soft sand, and there is a coral area quite close to the shore, so you don't need to be an expert diver or snorkeller to see the most beautiful coral fish, great experience!!

The evening is catered for with the entertainment team, but you can also just sit out looking at the stars, with a drink and a shisha pipe, very relaxing. There are small restaurants over looking the beach, if you fancy a change ffrom the main restaurants.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends, couples, families. Its a wonderful experience, well situated, clean, accomodating. I would definately re-visit Tia Heights, Makadi Bay
Kind Regards
Clare Hurmson

Room Tip: The rooms attached to the main hotel are apparently nicer than any detached rooms, although the furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare-WillMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Clare and Will sincere thanks for taking the time to write about your positive stay with us at tia Heights. It was great to welcome you both as I enjoyed your company a great deal-my inspection trips around the pool are not the same now - I miss Will's sense of humour and Clare's dress sense and therefore hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality- Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the Tia Heights from the 30th May 2012 for one week. The hotel is impressive. The common parts are kept very clean. We had a room in the main building overlooking the pool which was very nice. The general manager is a Mr Michael Booker who runs a very efficient ship. All the staff are very eager to please and do everything they can to make your stay great. We had already spent a week on a Nile cruise, but when we do Egypt again we will return to the Tia Heights for at least 2 weeks. The hotel has two resturants in the main building, if you want a quieter meal experience use the Safaga resturant as the main resturant can get very busy. There are other resturants on site. We ate at the Steakhouse which was excellent. The chinese looked good and the italian was also good. You never have to fight for a sunbed on the beach as there are hundreds. We would recommend the Tia Heights to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building as these are more convenient for the resturants and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive160554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your positive review - it is greatly appreciated by us all. It was good to welcome you and I enjoyed our little chats and the brief shopping expedition to Hurghada- I hope you are still enjoying the magnificent watches you bought! I hope to meet up with you both again in the near future.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality. Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Recently returned from a ten night stay, which was our sixth stay at this hotel. We have been staying at this hotel since xmas 2004. We intend to visit again.
We favour the lagoon rooms, even though they need updating they are spacious with a good size balcony, with views towards the sea.
We love the location with the hotel on the beach, always able to get a sunbed any time of the day. The sea is lovely to swim in, there are also outside swimming pools and also an 25m indoor pool. There is also a gym and spa. The Staff are all lovely and happy to help, greeting us throughout the hotel. A special thank you goes to Chef Mahmoud Mostafa, for looking after us so well in the resturant, who always had something special for us. Looking forward to seeing him again soon. We can't forget Mr Michael who also made our holiday special, encourging us to go to the shisha bar of an evening, and lay back on the cushions and look up at the stars. My husbands' glass was never empty! lol See you all again soon !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen-steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Helen and Steve- It was very kind of you to write such positive comments regarding your recent stay at Tia Heights. It means so much to us to hear such kind words and I am sure the Chef will be delighted to see your thanks too!

From us all at Tia Heights, we thank you and wish you both well and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality - Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager - Tia Heights Resort

Email: m.booker@tiaheights.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I have only good memories from this hotel. Food was really perfect! Every day something new, and everything was really tasty.
First they put us in Dune rooms, but we payed for Lagoone. We came after midnight so we waited till the morning, and they gave us the most beautiful room with the view on most amazing swimming pool and the Sea,
Swimming pool is really huge and clean, and I was spending much time over there.

Animators are great, there is always something to do on the beach, as well in the evening. We were there ALL INCLUSIVE and we didn't have to spend our money at all!

I don't like to go at the same place twice because I would like to visit as many places as possible, but I would definitely come back to this resort.

Room Tip: I would stay away from Dune rooms, because when its hot outside it is a bit far to walk away. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Billiana- Firstly it was great to welcome you all the way from New York City. I was pleased to read your kind comments and am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The Lagoon rooms are very popular with many guests as they are spacious for people travelling as a family and are situated in our beautiful garden areas. The Dune rooms are our standard rooms, but are still popular popular with many , but as you say they are situated in an elevated area. The difference in price between our flagship Main Building rooms and the standard rooms is not that high therefore I would advise anyone who is looking for the best to contact their travel provider and get the full details.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future. In the meantime sincere regards from us all at Tia Heights

Sincerely

Michael Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality- Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

It was a nice vacation for the family together with our friends, nice beach, staff were OK

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hello Islam-thank you for your kind review-it is appreciated and to welcome our friends from Saudi Arabia.

Kind regards

Michael Booker
Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)-Member of the Institute of Hospitality
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
2.3 mi away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#23 of 30 in Makadi Bay
883 reviews
2.0 mi away
Serenity Makadi Beach
Serenity Makadi Beach
#12 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Property: Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Address: Safaga Road | Red Sea, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#24 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing