We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is very nice and clean maybe to much spacious hotel resort. We were accommodated in lovely room with beautifull far-reaching view. Food was delightfully with the large choise of fresch courses. All staff were very helpfull and friendly. The beach was relatively small but near was pretty coral reef so we could snorkeling.
In the hotel we bought a trip to Luxor where we saw all the beauty of this ancient city and it was an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bama7417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

the hotel is quit old and rooms need maintenance.
the food is not good at all ,no variety specially the deserts.
the aqua park is the most wonderful place in the hotel and if you have to stay there that will be only for the aqua park .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdelrahman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Greetings
Thank you for your comments and your feedback. I am glad you liked the Aqua Park and you and the family did enjoy it. It is truly one of our best features as you stated and many guests come especially for that. We are in a mission to renovate the whole hotel in which we did complete the main building and we are committed to finish the rest by the end of the year. As for the food; we did hire new specialty chefs in all area to augment the talent we have and improve food qualities and presentation. I would like to thank you again and assure you that we are working hard to improve our hotel and in your next visit you shall see the dramatic positive change. I wish you happy and successful day!! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

19-26 April 2013. My sister-in-law and I have just returned from our 3rd visit to Tia Heights and unfortunately I think it may be our last. Although we had a lovely time, the dip in standards was quite noticeable during this visit.

On arrival we were upgraded to a lagoon room, being returning guests. The room was huge and situated right on the beach front which was great, but being two ladies we felt a little isolated at night, therefore we requested a move. We were allocated another lagoon room – 7502 and found the location to be good.

The room consisted of good size twin beds plus an extra bed in the corner. Although a little tired around the edges, the room was clean and very spacious (a lot more spacious than the main building rooms). The room attendant came in daily and changed the beds, towels and replenished the water in the mini bar. He also left us little flower arrangements in vases and on towels. Bottles of Coke, Sprite and Fanta are still complimentary in the room on your first day but these are not replenished.

On our previous visits we found the food to be the only negative about the hotel and unfortunately this remains the same. This year there is a restaurant upstairs (the Jasmine) which is for western Europeans only – not quite sure how they get away with that! We ate in there a couple of times and found it disappointing. It was empty with no atmosphere whatsoever. The food was a smaller selection of the food from the main restaurant downstairs.
The main restaurant was still as chaotic as ever, with dirty tables and people pushing around.

Like last year, we ate in the seafood a la carte restaurant a couple of times and would still recommend this, plus it’s very reasonable for a good meal. Amr and Ahmed still work there and they remembered us from last year and really looked after us.

We spent 2 days on the beach and the rest of the week by the beautiful pool. The pool bar area looked like it needed a good clean around the edges in the water - in the area where people sit at the bar.

Bassem, the waiter at the beach bar, also recognised us from last year and really looked after us with drinks. We didn’t have to move from our loungers - though we did tip him well. It was well worth it and he was a lovely man.

We found a lovely quiet spot at the pool, well away from families with children and the music from the day time activities. This was very pleasant and relaxing.

Apart from an English couple who kept themselves to themselves, we were the only Brits in the hotel during that week.

As already mentioned, we feel the hotel is looking a bit tired in areas. The reception area has some beautiful large glass doors leading to other areas of the hotel and on our previous visits cleaners would be polishing the glass at all times of the day. This year, we didn’t see them cleaned once and they looked really grubby, which stood out to us. The toilets in the public areas could be cleaner too. This may seem trivial, but it’s just a small example of how we feel the standards are slipping.

We had a lovely holiday, but think we will be trying another hotel in the Hurghada/Makadi Bay area next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Greetings
First of all I do apologize for any inconvenience you might have encountered in our hotel. Clearly you are a loyal guest and we do appreciate you and value your business; therefore I would like to assure you that we are working hard to bring the hotel overall to higher standards. You have stated that the housekeeping is great and service at the seafood restaurant as well as the beach was great and the staff remembered you. That is what we are all about, we are trying to make our hotel “your home away from your home” and we do train our staff to remember guests especially our repeat guests. We are in the process of renovating the whole hotel we did finish the main building and we are renovating the other two building soon including the roads. I do not want you to lose faith in your home and our staff we definitely will live up to your expectations and on behalf of all our team we want you to come back to see the positive change we have made in the hotel. I wish a good day full of sunshine!! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I like this hotel from a family prospective, beach is crystal, aqua is very nice, room was good, pool too big, food average (can manage my selections), animation is good, but it was too crowded because of the eastern a lot of Egyptians made the food experience horrible I chose not to eat from the main restaurant, even the restaurant manager advised to go to the Aqua restaurant but it is not air conditioned and far.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LastDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was my fourth visit to Tia Heights - we go back every year because of the glorious sunshine and beach. The snorkelling is excellent. Although the food is bland and basic, we have never been ill, which is a real plus for egypt (you often hear the horror stories at the airport on the way home). However this year was a real disappointment, the service was poor (fewer staff than usual) and although the rooms were cleaned every day they were still filthy. The hotel is now looking tired and I don't understand why they are investing in new rooms when they should be refurbishing the old ones. Over the years we have stayed in the hotel rooms plus the Dune rooms. The dune rooms are generally larger and quieter, so that is usually our preference. It is a good hotel but time for us to try somewhere different.

Room Tip: Request a dune room close to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Greetings;
Thank you for your objective comments. As you mentioned this is your fourth visit to Tia Heights that means you trusted Tia and we did meet or exceeded your expectation several times. Thanks again for being objective about food and you did state that food if good but bland. As far as staffing level we did adjust the level of staffing to provide good service to our guests, as you know after revolution there is overall shortage in labor however we did recover from this challenge. Just to assure you since you are very familiar with our hotel that we are already taking the steps to renovate the hotel especially the Dunes area as well as the lagoons area and you shall see this improvement by the end of this year. As you mentioned it is a great Hotel and we are very proud of it and we do not want to disappoint you, so I shall wait for you again for the fifth time and I assure you that we will be at your expectations and we shall exceed it. I wish you a pleasant day full of sunshine and thanks again for your comments. Regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

CONS:
1. food quality --> not so good. it's edible and it relieves your hunger. but if the "food experience" is an important part of your vacation then definitely DONT go to this hotel
2. housekeeping --> i have only one thing to say, it took them 3 days & about 7 calls to the reception to bring me a blanket for the extra bed i ordered for my kid.

PROS:
1. the "all inclusive" compensates food quality for quantity, you'll never be thirsty or hungry again...in your life, ever. beside breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner, you also get free drinks around the clock from all bars and restaurants in the hotel (which are everywhere), AND you get 50% discount in specialized restaurants within the hotel premises, AND you can use the minibar contents once during your stay, AND you can even call the reception and have them send water bottles to your room.
2. great water-sports center, very friendly team and the prices are very un-5starish, i took some windsurfing lessons which were FANTASTIC, took the kids on a glass boat trip that was ok for my kids and really boring for me, and went to a dolphin show that really wasn't worth the time or money spent.
3. AQUA PARK IS FANTASTIC especially if you have kids,
4. swimming pool is HUGE and never crowded although the hotel was overbooked
5. the beach is ok
6. rooms are quite spacious
7. staff are quite friendly and helpful, they seem to sincerely want to help you although they don't often succeed.

shortly: perfect trip for a family with kids if you don't really care about eating fancy hotel food and want a good fun trip for a moderate budget. and i definitely recommend the "all inclusive + aqua park" package.

Room Tip: "lagoon" rooms are more spacious, quiet and midway between the beach and the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sha3sha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I rested in this hotel in April. I was with my friends. We decided to celebrate my birthday here. Everything was amazing. The hotel presented me a cake and congratulated the whole team, it was wonderful surprise. I want to note that all the stuff are helpful and friendly. In this hotel there is a big Aqua park with many slides. We recommend Tia Heights and will come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
2.3 mi away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#22 of 30 in Makadi Bay
947 reviews
1.9 mi away
Serenity Fun City
Serenity Fun City
#11 of 30 in Makadi Bay
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#23 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £29 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing