We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Gettaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 25 May 2013

As a group of friends, we have been coming to TIA makadi for quite sometime now considering its location in Makadi bay on the red sea as well as its numerous activities by day and night as well.
The rooms are nice and there is some sort of ease during the check in. I recommend the all inclusive package with the aqua park to enjoy most of the services the hotel has to offer.
I believe that one of the main strengths of this hotel is their daily activites and in particular the animation team, they are excellent, hard working and quite friendly with all their organized beach and pool activities that are enjoyable for both adults and children in addition to their night shows that are quite amusing and often we don't feel the need to get out of the hotel.
The service staff, housekeeping and laundry are effecient and friendly.
However, they need to work a bit more on the quality of their food.
I would recommend the hotel for those who are looking for a relaxing carefree holiday on the red sea

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Well back home to cold rainy England after another memorable holiday at Tia Heights.
The hotel, staff and food get better each time we visit. The new Aqua Park is an amazing addition to the hotel, great fun for us big kids lol. The addition of a new restaurant for western europeans is great, serving many dishes that we love to eat at home. Once again I cannot believe that tour operators in England have not snapped up a deal with this hotel.
I never feel the need to complain about anything regarding this hotel and its staff, but I do have
one little point to make. The animation team work long and hard to keep you entertained but it would be so much nicer if the females on the team could actually speak to you in English. In previous years this has never been a problem, but this time we were basically ignored by the girls on the trip because they had little knowledge and understanding of the English language,
except for one called Jaqui (sorry about spelling) who was really nice.
So now looking forward to our next holiday at Tia in 2014
Thanks again you guys for such a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angela766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a wonderful place were I really enjoyed my stay.
I recommend this resort to anyone wants to spend a vacation in a place which respects the guest and a staff who really know what is the meaning of hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WaelAnwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is very nice and clean maybe to much spacious hotel resort. We were accommodated in lovely room with beautifull far-reaching view. Food was delightfully with the large choise of fresch courses. All staff were very helpfull and friendly. The beach was relatively small but near was pretty coral reef so we could snorkeling.
In the hotel we bought a trip to Luxor where we saw all the beauty of this ancient city and it was an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bama7417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

the hotel is quit old and rooms need maintenance.
the food is not good at all ,no variety specially the deserts.
the aqua park is the most wonderful place in the hotel and if you have to stay there that will be only for the aqua park .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdelrahman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Greetings
Thank you for your comments and your feedback. I am glad you liked the Aqua Park and you and the family did enjoy it. It is truly one of our best features as you stated and many guests come especially for that. We are in a mission to renovate the whole hotel in which we did complete the main building and we are committed to finish the rest by the end of the year. As for the food; we did hire new specialty chefs in all area to augment the talent we have and improve food qualities and presentation. I would like to thank you again and assure you that we are working hard to improve our hotel and in your next visit you shall see the dramatic positive change. I wish you happy and successful day!! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

19-26 April 2013. My sister-in-law and I have just returned from our 3rd visit to Tia Heights and unfortunately I think it may be our last. Although we had a lovely time, the dip in standards was quite noticeable during this visit.

On arrival we were upgraded to a lagoon room, being returning guests. The room was huge and situated right on the beach front which was great, but being two ladies we felt a little isolated at night, therefore we requested a move. We were allocated another lagoon room – 7502 and found the location to be good.

The room consisted of good size twin beds plus an extra bed in the corner. Although a little tired around the edges, the room was clean and very spacious (a lot more spacious than the main building rooms). The room attendant came in daily and changed the beds, towels and replenished the water in the mini bar. He also left us little flower arrangements in vases and on towels. Bottles of Coke, Sprite and Fanta are still complimentary in the room on your first day but these are not replenished.

On our previous visits we found the food to be the only negative about the hotel and unfortunately this remains the same. This year there is a restaurant upstairs (the Jasmine) which is for western Europeans only – not quite sure how they get away with that! We ate in there a couple of times and found it disappointing. It was empty with no atmosphere whatsoever. The food was a smaller selection of the food from the main restaurant downstairs.
The main restaurant was still as chaotic as ever, with dirty tables and people pushing around.

Like last year, we ate in the seafood a la carte restaurant a couple of times and would still recommend this, plus it’s very reasonable for a good meal. Amr and Ahmed still work there and they remembered us from last year and really looked after us.

We spent 2 days on the beach and the rest of the week by the beautiful pool. The pool bar area looked like it needed a good clean around the edges in the water - in the area where people sit at the bar.

Bassem, the waiter at the beach bar, also recognised us from last year and really looked after us with drinks. We didn’t have to move from our loungers - though we did tip him well. It was well worth it and he was a lovely man.

We found a lovely quiet spot at the pool, well away from families with children and the music from the day time activities. This was very pleasant and relaxing.

Apart from an English couple who kept themselves to themselves, we were the only Brits in the hotel during that week.

As already mentioned, we feel the hotel is looking a bit tired in areas. The reception area has some beautiful large glass doors leading to other areas of the hotel and on our previous visits cleaners would be polishing the glass at all times of the day. This year, we didn’t see them cleaned once and they looked really grubby, which stood out to us. The toilets in the public areas could be cleaner too. This may seem trivial, but it’s just a small example of how we feel the standards are slipping.

We had a lovely holiday, but think we will be trying another hotel in the Hurghada/Makadi Bay area next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Greetings
First of all I do apologize for any inconvenience you might have encountered in our hotel. Clearly you are a loyal guest and we do appreciate you and value your business; therefore I would like to assure you that we are working hard to bring the hotel overall to higher standards. You have stated that the housekeeping is great and service at the seafood restaurant as well as the beach was great and the staff remembered you. That is what we are all about, we are trying to make our hotel “your home away from your home” and we do train our staff to remember guests especially our repeat guests. We are in the process of renovating the whole hotel we did finish the main building and we are renovating the other two building soon including the roads. I do not want you to lose faith in your home and our staff we definitely will live up to your expectations and on behalf of all our team we want you to come back to see the positive change we have made in the hotel. I wish a good day full of sunshine!! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I like this hotel from a family prospective, beach is crystal, aqua is very nice, room was good, pool too big, food average (can manage my selections), animation is good, but it was too crowded because of the eastern a lot of Egyptians made the food experience horrible I chose not to eat from the main restaurant, even the restaurant manager advised to go to the Aqua restaurant but it is not air conditioned and far.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
2 mi away
Serenity Makadi Beach
Serenity Makadi Beach
#13 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £24 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing